San Francisco, CA
Golden Gate Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #10 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 86
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next >
 Rookie's Review of GG Park

6/30/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: mjheckman
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: GG Park is bigger than Central Park in Manhattan and you can really get the sense of how big the park is when you play this course.

I have wandered and run through GG Park dozens of times, but have never really experienced the wilderness of the park until I went out last weekend and had my first experience of disc golf.

The canopy of eucalyptus trees and ivy force you to make accurate throws... if you don't you will pay for it!

I was amazed how organized and well kept the course was. Plus, all the people I crossed paths with were really cool and mellow (typical SF)... no one was pressing and in a hurry.
Cons: If you need food or beverage make sure to bring it with you... there's not much located near by since you're way out in the Avenues.
Other Thoughts: Although this was my first outing of disc golf it will not be my last. My buddy told me how lucky I was to have this course in my backyard and I agree! I went out and purchased a couple discs and plan on playing GG Park regulary.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Impressed

3/25/2008   4/4/2008
Review By: danno133
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very nice , challenging course with a big variety of trees. Very clean , not even the cans and bottles that usually lay around the pads on most courses.
Cons: 1710 kilometers (1062 miles) From home!
Other Thoughts: Very Few trees died in the making of this course,(although a few were slightly damaged by the time we finished playing)

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: mgoofy24
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Love it, its close to where I live. Mach III baskets. Love the course layout, very challenging for the space provided by the city.
Cons: Waaaaaay too crowded on weekends and some weekdays. Don't like the fact that SF is so smoke friendly.
Other Thoughts: Love this course!!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A world-class course

5+    1/18/2008   1/18/2008
Review By: bneely
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2010
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Completely professionally installed course, from elaborate support walls holding up elevated tee boxes, signage, this is a work of art. Set in a beautiful park setting, with tall eucalyptus trees providing a lot of the challenge as far as tee shots are concerned. Mostly wooded, but a handful of more open shots. Three pin positions for each hole, in some cases with drastically different difficulties. Course can play very easy in all A positions, or fairly difficult in all C positions. Excellent variety of lefty/righty holes.
Cons: Some of the most interesting and challenging C pin positions are only able to be used in tournaments. Course can be crowded on weekends, but if you start early there should be no problem.
Other Thoughts: The SF Disc Golf Club is a true testament to perseverance and hard work, for fighting 7 years to get this course installed, raising over $50,000 to install it, and doing a perfect job of design, installation, and maintenance. Huzzah!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 SFDG

12/17/2007   1/11/2008
Review By: uofc2003
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This course is fabulous. Many difficult tees where there are trees, trees, trees.
Cons: Crowded and slow on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: To address the other reviewer of this course: there is no poison ivy in California. There is no poison ivy on this course.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 The place

7/5/2007   11/6/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
0 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: Nice wooded course. Well mentained
Cons: poision ivy

0 of 24 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.