San Francisco, CA 
Golden Gate Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #8 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 92
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
extremely hard

1    8/6/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: blazer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of pros here, central remote location, plus always great weather. Every person I ran into here was extremely passionate about the sport. The locals are very friendly and inviting, and extremely helpful if it is your first round here. Immediately off the bat I could tell the sense of pride and creativity that went into the design of this coarse, and the hard work of the people that keep it nice, which I was told by someone that a group of people do regularly. The baskets are in good shape, almost like brand new, and the paths are mostly lined decorative wood logs to mark where you walk, also the signs are fully intact and non damaged. There is a very helpful coarse map at hole 1, if you take a picture of it with your I Phone, you will be good through the coarse on navigating it. there is concrete tees and trash cans so the place stays non littered. tricky shots involved (at least for someone with my small skill set). Some incline and decline shots along with interesting pin placements, one of which was on tops of cut logs like stepping stones about six and a half feet in the air.
Cons: Probably the only cons I found was that the coarse was difficult to navigate and so that might propose a problem, but most likely no because they have the map, and people always carry their cell phones with them now every where we go. Another con is that the park isn't just used for disc golf which obviously that means pedestrians walking causing you to wait, also people don't always wait for you to pay attention that you are blocking their shot so pay attention for flying discs. One last con on the day I went was that they were getting ready for Outlanders, which I think was a concert going on, so I can't hold that against the coarse itself, but with the fencing they put up, around the park, and completely blocking off hole ten's basket it was a challenge to get around, but we did not let that stop us
Other Thoughts: I will definately be back when I can. It was awesome even with the 3 hours of driving one way it took us to get there from home.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Top Notch

1    7/18/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: getchofil
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage at all holes. Tee pads standard sized with a few that had been extended. With the course laid out in two, nine hole loops, there's the great break to just run the front or back nine.

The course is very well landscaped, clearly marked paths, with signs that the course is consistently being worked on (piles of leaves waiti to get picked up, and what looked like a stack of bricks for extending more tee pads.

The course requires a good variety of shots, necessitating well shaped shots.", making for an extremely fun round.
Cons: This is definitely a multiple-use park, but throughout the round when others were near by, they were pretty respectful of the fact that this part of the park was for disc golf. There were some people who were just Iivious, but even with signs posted, stating "Entering Disc Golf Course: Watch for flying discs," you can't really expect everyone to read, right?

There are probably a few spots where fairways get closer than I'd have liked but the course isn't anything new and probably just means that I need to have better control. For those few holes that they can see the distinct possibility of discs getting near other fairways there are netted fences ( so a positive from what I was trying to note as a negative, which the folks who run the course have already noted and made the improvement).
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course when it comes to fun holes, difficult shots, and in a gorgeous park full of 100ft+ trees (providing shade and cover from rain), through much of the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fore Tee Nine

1    6/30/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Tee areas: 4'x10' flat, concrete, often with extended walk on/off. Teesigns showing all/current position. Benches.

Overall ambiance - tall trees providing plenty of shade, rolling, grassy terrain, mulched, log-lined paths leading to/from tees, playing in but mostly hidden from the urban environment.

Two nine-hole loops/ Practice basket.
Cons:
Perililous to non-players. Pedestrian path alongside some of the front nine, and another path winding through part of the back nine.

Perilous to other players. While nets have been erected to protect some of the tees from drives on neighbouring fairways, there remain several areas where adjacent tees/fairways/baskets are dangerously close to others.

Multiple times backtracking (and sometimes crossing fairways) is a requirement to reach the next tee - make sure you move from basket-6 to tee-7, as you'll pass tee-8. Moving from basket-16 to tee-17 (essentially, walk back almost the way to tee-14, then look right) is not obvious - you'll definitely need a map or local to play here as a visitor!
Other Thoughts:
Disc golf is just one of many activities to be found in this famous park, so any non-players ought to be able to find something to entertain themselves while players take on the course. On the front nine, elevation change is present but typically subtle, with the large trees forming fairly generous throwing lanes. The day I played, I had to throw a number of right-turning shots on the front, typically needing a moderately-sharp turn mid-fairway, with the baskets being 250'~350' away.

The elevation on the back nine is more pronounced/varied, but nothing extreme. While the tightest hole (#13) is found on the back, the back nine is actually more open, with the trees not coming into play as often, and/or for not as long a duration. Unlike the front, the throwing lanes aren't so much defined/enforced by the trees, as the odd tree or three needs to be missed as the disc travels from tee to basket.

Lots of nice, pretty holes, but as a favourite, I'll go with number-18 - a fine finishing hole, downslope in its near entirety, the scattered large trees creating an elongated S-shape as the optimal form.

Fun course with lots of good holes - just too many trying to share the same space!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Move over Rice A Roni!

1    6/15/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Golden Gate Park DGC is one of the better 'urban' courses you will ever play. I love the large trees in play with slight elevation changes that make you throw a moderately tight line while also choosing your landing area (and the way in which your disc lands) carefully in order to get birdies.

The course has nice long concrete tee pads and the tee signs are screwed or bolted in to tree stumps next to each tee pad. The tee signs show all three basket locations (A, B and C) with large trees as landmarks. I played mostly the 'C' positions which were a little more challenging due to being longer or more treed but also presented a few more blind basket locations. There is a good mixture of 'lefty vs. righty' holes on the course as well. I feel the challenge here is right for most amateurs and probably a little too easy for gold players.
Cons: The holes are designed right on top of each other but not really any crossing fairways. The course gets really busy however and this exacerbates the problem and makes you look over your shoulder constantly for incoming discs, luckily they have put disc catching nets surrounding the tee pads and benches to protect you from incoming speed 13 drivers gashing up your face.

The majority of the holes are moderately tight lines with shorter holes, so no open 450+ foot hole for those players who can really throw. It challenges a specific type of skill set and driving isn't one of them.
Other Thoughts: There was a hot dog/snack/drink vendor near hole one who looked like he was making bank because the course was full the day I played. Also near hole one was a lady selling basic Innova/Discraft discs and looked like there were 5 or 6 large boxes of discs to go through.

Golden Gate Park (Not the DGC) is a truly wonderful and very large park with many things in there to see. If you decide to walk around in between rounds look for the nice lady selling organic ice cream and frozen yogurt with homemade cones in the taco truck, best ice cream I've ever had! Strawberry ice lollie was amazing as well and cheaper than Baskin Robbins.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Close to perfect

5+    5/18/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: mdegs
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes and elevation. Some wide open shots, but many trees and other natural obstacles. The best free, public course I have played. Patrick Brown and the local crew put in a ton of effort here and it shows.
Cons: Crowded on weekends so get an early start! Some tee signs need help (broken placards / missing 'D' positions) but I'm sure they'll get fixed in time.
Other Thoughts: Fun weekly singles league on Sunday mornings. Closed during Outside Lands and Hardly Strictly.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun, technical and scenic course

1    4/30/2014   5/1/2014
Review By: jonathanwaldo
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cam to SF for a conference and HAD to get in some disc at Golden Gate Park. It did not disappoint!
- Park is accessible from many parts of the city via public transportation.
- Many holes have a technical element such as a tight fairway, blind shot, elevated pin. I didn't bring nearly as many discs as I should have for the number of shots required.
- Course is fairly clean for a free public course in the middle of a city.
- Makes excellent use of the land and elevation.
Cons: - Although there are some tough shots, there aren't very many over 350' and many in the 200 range. Understandable given the limitations on space.
- Erosion is not out of control, but it looks like it has been a problem.
Other Thoughts: This course has that tough to quantify good vibe to it; I left feeling like I wanted to spend the rest of my time there. Highly recommend if you are anywhere in the Bay Area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    4/19/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 28  Reviewed: 24
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signs
Great pads
Great pin placements
Beautiful scenery
Great location
Discs for sale on site (at times)
Hot dogs for sale on street
Restrooms close by
Parking seems to be easy to come by
Picnic tables for relaxing before & after rounds
Cons: Can get busy in the early afternoon
If there is a festival or other events in the park, there will be many many people in the park
Bikers, picnics, and walker/runners not always paying attention to golfers (just be mindful this is a busy area)
Other Thoughts: Bring water & snacks, please use the waste buckets and don't litter this beautiful course. The feel of a wilderness setting, but in the middle of a city. This is a great place to play for all skill levels. Signature hole #11 is amazing. Blind shots to some placements, will require a fairway walk to see basket. Love this course and will play again many times.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My favorite bay course, crowded

2-4    4/11/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: tenayaguevara
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful setting
- Varied but not frustrating holes
- Great use of the terrain
- Dedicated volunteers who help maintain the course
- Pretty good signage
Cons: - Gets pretty crowded with people, especially weekends
- A few spots where there could be better instructions to get to the next hole (14 to 15, 16 to 17)
- pedestrians sometimes get lost in the course, though not as often as I would have guessed given the location
Other Thoughts: I live in Berkeley, but would choose this course over berkeley's course every single day. The beautiful location, the variety of holes and signature holes (11, 15, 18) make me wish I could play here all the time.

The only problem is just how crowded it gets. Disc golf is great, but I wish there were some way to make it less crowded all the time. I mean, berkeley is never crowded, but that's because it's a terrible course. The Bay Area could use another course like this in the metro parts (McLaren, Tilden, Marin somewhere?).

Anyhow, I digress. If I were you, I'd find some way to play on a weekday. I haven't tried weekday, daylight evenings, but I imagine they are not as bad.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lovely, accessible fun course

5+    11/16/2013   1/18/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 32  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - broadly accessible but challenging for most. It's truly remarkable that a wide range of skillsets will genuinely enjoy playing here.
- Nice variety of hole layouts and alternate basket positions
- In pristine shape. Each hole seems manicured. Signage is wonderful. Flows well
- Fun, moderately wooded location. In the middle of the city but it sometimes doesn't feel that way.
- Stands up well to inclement weather. The large trees protect you from excessive wind and moisture. The sandy soil drains water quickly. Playable in almost all weather conditions. Frequently foggy so just bring a small towel to wipe down your discs between throws
Cons: - Commonly over-crowded. Wait times can get terrible due to back ups, especially in the back 9 where fairways criss-cross.
- Whether it is newbie hipsters or jackass regulars, I've come across more unpleasant folks here than any other course I've played at
Other Thoughts: If you're visiting the area, this is a must-play. During non-peak hours, you're almost guaranteed to play an enjoyable round. It's beautiful and accessible to a wide skillset. Unsurprisingly, this course attracts hoards of players year-round

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Party!!!

2-4    10/10/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If I was homeless I would live here. There are plenty of spots to set up camp. My first time playing this sweet jungle of a disc golf course was this year's (2013) Safari tournament. The course is great, there are a wide variety of holes that let every style player make a run at those slick metal baskets. There are even a couple holes that make excellent use of the "DEATH PUTT", while you're there you can get a hat or t-shirt with to show that you made the "DEATH PUTT". Tee pads are kept clean and made of this new age technology called concrete. You never have to worry about slipping off the front of one and giving your friends an excuse to laugh at you. While I can read, the tee signs at Golden Gate Park were designed by a genius, even the illiterate could understand where the next basket is and how far they will have to throw to hit that ace. The course design is excellent as long as you are patient and don't mind letting the occasional jogger/biker/dog walker/hippie/transient/Asian recycling lady/man pass by you while you decide which line you are going to take. I was able to play a few extended holes across the street and they were also well designed.
Cons: Crowding is a biggie here, with so many people working on their hipster appearance I could see how disc golf attracts them. On any given day you can see a pack of skinny jeans sipping on Colt 45's moseying around making their way from hole to hole. Luckily hipsters are cool people and will let you play through, the more fortunate might even get a contact high while teeing off. The only other downside as mentioned above are the bystanders. Most will get out of your way pretty quickly, the only exception is the recycling people. They are like raccoons searching though the garbage cans for that tasty morsel we call recyclables. Have no fear though! The locals have trained these thrifty collectors to keep quiet and move away from the tee pad while golfers are teeing off.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and I really enjoyed playing it a couple times. Any and every time I'm in the Bay area I'll make sure I get a round in. The local club and players take good care of the course and make in enjoyable for all. Golden Gate park is a very happening place and I'm glad they included disc golf in their lineup. Hopefully the city will allow the course to expand one day making this a top tiered disc golf destination.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.