Disc Golf Store
San Francisco, CA
Golden Gate Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #3 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 369ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 86
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fantastic Improvements

5+    5/2/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: staffordaddict
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: they have done a ton of work to tidy the place up, and it really shows. if the grass they've planted holds, it will be sweeeeet. lots of tight and hard holes, a few nice easy holes, good variety.
Cons: it gets crowded and it's so crowded, that people don't let you play through.
Other Thoughts: when the course was first built, I liked it. over the past couple years, it got kind of nasty - dirty, garbage, ugly weeds, and some spots where the homeless spent the night. all that nasty seems to be gone and as of 5/2/2012, the course really looks fantastic. on facebook someone described it as looking like a japanese garden. i think that's a good description of some of the holes with the new green grass and cool trees.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great at Golden Gate

1    3/12/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: BlackCrow77
Played: 154  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, this place was excellent! Great scenery with a mixture of tree types. Many challenging shots-short and long. Concrete pads with signage a plus. Good elevation changes.
Cons: It was a little crowded. A few holes are in close proximity to each other (cages are built behind the tee to protect players). Like any city park watch out for the oblivious...
Other Thoughts: Having only played this once, I noticed the multiple pin placements, this allows a good variety at a course. Met some locals and ended up playing entire round with them. I'm sure I would have easily figured out the layout, but was cool having experts around. You'd be crazy not to check this place out when in SF area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course in the Park

2-4    3/8/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: RAW32728
Played: 193  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In the city of San Francisco, so you could get there without a car. The park is well maintained and that includes the DG side of things (which we rarely see).
The course is a bit short, but will test your accuracy.
It is easily navigated and keeps you interested to see what the next shot will be around the bend.
Cons: There wasn't any water to be had on the course, and the restrooms were only available at the start of the course, though that wouldn't deter most guys. Ladies, you'll want to plan. Crowding can be an issue so its definitely best to play early while the crowds are down.
Other Thoughts: The course has plenty of elevation changes to make it interesting and shade is a welcome thing where I come from and I wish I had this course near my house.
Loved playing here, just wish I could have met some locals to play doubles or league with.
PLAY THIS COURSE TWICE!!! You won't regret it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/4/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is the best course ive played. the course is set up well, clearly marked, and had multiple basket locations. very clean, there are people who walk the course picking up trash. most of the baskets are visible, but theres a few blind shots. the park is well maintained.
Cons: ive never played a course with so many people on it! i must have played at the peak of the day because i probably waited at least 10 - 15 minutes on each hole. make sure to bring something to drink, cus theres nothing out there. a lot of recreation traffic, heads up.
Other Thoughts: if in the san francisco area, i recommend this course. its a lot of fun.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 GG Park

5+    2/8/2012   2/14/2012
Review By: Sitzmann420
Played: 70  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Right in the middle of the city
-Beautiful park setting with all kinds of eucalyptus trees, wildlife, and friendly people a like
-Has a good variety of right hand backhand and side arm shots.
-A few ace runs and decent amount of lengthy holes as well.
-Your'e in San Francisco
-Well designed trails, tee pads, tee signs, and layout.
Cons: -It can get crowded on the weekends.
-Pedestrians sometimes walk through the course obliviously.
-A few of the holes back track through to get to the next tee which can be a little dangerous
-It gets wet, windy, and cold ( Pro or Con)
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is great to play almost anytime of the year. You can easily find parking on the outskirts of the park or in marx meadow. I would have to say this is one of my favorite urban courses, just fantastic.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, great community

1    1/31/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: Masonian
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained even though free
Beautiful trees and elevation changes
Friendly players
Right in the middle of San Fran, in one of the world's great urban parks
Cons: Very few long holes
Busy even on a weekday afternoon
Other Thoughts: The course has a low ceiling of trees throughout almost all of the course, and lots of tree obstacles. Best for the finesse players. Bombers might feel deprived.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unique

2-4    12/25/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: n8director
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Set in a large and beautiful park. For the most part, you'd never know you were in a city.
-Free!
-Parking not a problem
-Obvious that locals put the time in on this course. Landscaping is impressive.
-The back 9 makes for very good golf. Felt like a better test then the front.
-Very nice tees and signs.
-Trees and other plants in abundance and quite varied.
-You get to throw a nice variety of shots, and even get to pull out your driver and throw hard a few times.
Cons: -Lacks some of the amazing elevation changes and water challenges that other Nor Cal courses have.
-Occasionally finding the next hole was a little tricky. I hadn't been here in years. I imagine another go around the course would have fixed this. All the same, a few more next tee signs wouldn't hurt.
Other Thoughts: I can't comment on crowds, as we were there on Christmas Day. Others were there, but we never had to play through and didn't feel rushed either. This is a real gem given the property it sits on in a major city. Nice work by the local players/clubs to make the course look and play great.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Happy Birthday to me

1    8/20/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: jmp55
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Plenty of challenging shots. And although challenging, still a lot of fun for a noob. Really well maintained. Nice shade cover and a cool San Francisco breeze.
Cons: Couple tricky shots with a decent chance of losing a disc. Can get a little crowded.
Other Thoughts: I'd been saving this one for a special occasion and my 32nd birthday seemed like the perfect time. Had great weather, my best round to date, and met 2 different groups of people that we played with for a few rounds. Good times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    9/18/2011   9/21/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Scenic course located in massive Golden Gate Park. The baskets are multi-chain DGA MachIII's and the tee pads are concrete of sufficient size. The golf here is fun. The holes make good use of elevation (would you expect anything less in San Francisco??). Multiple pin positions enable this course to change from lefty-friendly to rightly-friendly to nicely balanced depending on the whims of the people with the keys. The tee signs had nice secure indicators of current pins positions (see picture in gallery). While not heavily wooded by Northern standards there are enough trees that you need to mind your lines to score well; but the "rough" is not so thick that you get torn up or have an unrecoverable shot. Nicely maintained course. Netting in place to protect downline teeboxes from errant throws. Benches on many (all?) holes will help when you're waiting for the group(s) in front of you to tee off. The park shares space with other recreation areas but is generally secluded enough that you won't have much interference from non-golfers. There are restrooms facilities in the park (one located across the street from basket #18). The street parking seems abundant even when the park is crowded.
Cons:
Really, really crowded with lots of noobs on a weekend. Several blind holes require taking a look ahead for first-timers. The basket on #14 sits on the edge of a significant drop-off which you're not supposed to be on because of erosion control... so don't overthrow this basket. #15 and #16 throw back and forth on each other so be extra careful here. The course flow can be a bit unclear with backtracking on #6-#8 and a long walk from #16 to #17.
Other Thoughts:
There are several mandos in place well marked with signs on trees, they're there for safety reasons so please mind them. Kudos to the club that maintains this course, you guys have done a fantastic job.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Golden opportunity

1    1/23/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: Olorin
Played: 295  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The course is in the midst of a huge multi-use park, so you can forget that you're in the middle of a sprawling city. Clearly, hundreds of hours of work have been put in on the design, landscaping, and ongoing upkeep to make this a beautiful course.

Design
Terrain- I loved the great variety of mature trees including pines, hardwoods, redwoods, Eucalyptus, and Kumquat among many others. There's a good mixture of tree lined woods holes with mostly wooded mixed terrain holes.
Multiple basket positions- the course has 1 tee pad with 3 basket positions on each hole.
Fairways- good variety, well defined, many fun holes with a good balance of left, right, and straight holes.
Elevation changes- lots! Most holes have some sort of elevation change.

Basics
Tees- very nice framed concrete
Signs- colorful, with basket positions labeled
Maintenance- the local club does an incredible job of landscaping and keeping the course looking nice.

Amenities
Steps, paths, and logs that mark out the fairways
Tons of benches and trash cans
Map- a useful map is available online
Cons:
-Directions to the first tee-- we found the general area of the park, but finding the first tee was very confusing, so we wasted a good bit of time and that was frustrating. The map didn't seem to match the roads we were on in the vicinity of the course.
-Crowded! Because the course is so nice, it was really crowded on a Sunday afternoon, with lots of people waiting on every hole. You have to be prepared for some waiting.
-A few navigation issues: There's a long walk from the 6 basket back to the 7 tee. From basket 16 there's a long walk to find the 17 tee.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925)

I think that if I was a local I wouldn't play here on weekends afternoons because it's so crowded. But as a first time visitor I really enjoyed myself; the terrain was just fantastic, and I definitely want to play here again!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My Enjoyment Ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

You can read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews
----------
I'm always trying to improve my reviews, so if you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a Personal Message here on DGCR to tell me what is wrong with it. I'll be grateful for the feedback.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.