San Francisco, CA 
Golden Gate Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #15 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 92
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    1/19/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 80  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.5 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: so many different hole locations. great for wooded shots, some open shots, and some elevation. the course looks amazing and almost all of the nets are gone now allowing for better lines on some holes. great tee pads and maps on the tee. pin indicator lets you know where the pin is at and how far it is. great locals, and friendly passers by.
Cons: several paths through golden gate park go through the disc golf course. people typically do not interfere with play but some take a while to walk down the path and this is when you have to wait.
Other Thoughts: the meadow is a great place to get in some warm up drives and also hit some approaches to make sure your ready to take on the course. its conveniently located next to the first tee.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Really fun course!

1    6/10/2008   1/18/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very pretty course and also quite challenging with a lot of trees to shoot around and through. The course is pretty rugged, with some good hiking as you walk the course. There are multiple pin positions, but I found it dificult to locate some of the baskets from the tee box on my own. There are concrete tee pads and good baskets.
Cons: This is a tough course to navigate on your own and is hard to find in Golden Gate Park if you've never been before. An errant shot on this course can easily end up in some brush where it will be dificult to find your disc. There are nets everywhere to protect the trees giving the course a little bit of an aritificial feel. Some other reviewers have commented on how crowded the course is, but when I went it was not crowded at all. I wish there were more people there because I could have really used some help finding my way around.
Other Thoughts: This course is in the middle of a HUGE park. I mean HUGE. I know because I ran all over the western half of it trying to find the DG course. (For some reason it wasn't pictured on the map that I had) I played the disc golf course while my wife and sister and brother in law rode bikes...and I definitely made the right decision on that one because this was a fun course to play.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Bang the chains

1    10/20/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: flyskyhi
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes are picturesque and the terrain is varied. Some really hard holes! Great hole maps. Just a really fun course that demands many shots. I really like hole 11 (think that is right) across the valley.
Cons: Weekend crowds. Just drags. Back 9 can be hard to navigate, esp. holes 13-17. Getting from a finished pin to the next tee tends to be confusing. Friendly folks will help you.
You see a lot of dog walkers and the like on a few holes and there are some tight OB markers surrounding their trails. The tree nets are the mean disc catchers that they look like.
Other Thoughts: I really like playing this course, but appreciate my local guide! Might get lost otherwise!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 When in SF

1    10/14/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: beauzen
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 36 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Reasonably challenging and some good holes.
Cons: Very crowded; like a previous reviewer said, I don't appreciate the 'prison' shots; need some help to find your way around, the first time.
Other Thoughts: I hope there's room in the park for another course, or two. They sure could use it.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 WOW

7/10/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.3 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Scienic
-Long holes
-Right in the middle of the city
-The best signs I have seen on a course. A dial on the sign shows which pin position the hole is in.
-Concrete tee pads
-Well maintained
-Friendly locals that have worked hard to get their corse this nice
-Very wooded
-Great use of the land
-Dual loops for each 9 holes so you can stop back by the car
-Free parking (a huge plus in the city)
-3 pin positions per hole
-Good variety of lefty and righty holes
Cons: -Some holes feel slightly repetitive
-Nets around to protect trees and tees, get in the way sometimes
-Some OB's feel unnecisary
Other Thoughts: This was a great course, maby a little hard to find your way around for the first time, but I had a guide.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little park, has to work around some park regulations.

6/28/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 38  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.2 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Cons: City has required that for the protection of trees that some nets be put up on a couple of holes. This is understandable, yet in terms of playability very cheesy.

There is also a hold that has a net almost completely covering the left side of the tee. I believe it is for protection of the next tee pad which is fairly close, but it really weakens the hole takes away any shot but a RHBH.... which is sad because it one was one of the cooler holes on the course.

Poison oak on a few holes.

A couple of "prison" shots on holes with no shot at the basket.
Other Thoughts: This course is very well maintained and shows a great amount of effort put into the sport. It is an enjoyable course to play.

However, it shows some of the downfalls of the the game currently as they are having to work around the park regulations and having to "compromise" with what they are giving by the city. I believe they have done a good job with what they have, but it is sad to see the sport being controlled like that. The only real way around this is private... pay to play courses, and that is a whole other debate.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Rookie's Review of GG Park

6/30/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: mjheckman
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: GG Park is bigger than Central Park in Manhattan and you can really get the sense of how big the park is when you play this course.

I have wandered and run through GG Park dozens of times, but have never really experienced the wilderness of the park until I went out last weekend and had my first experience of disc golf.

The canopy of eucalyptus trees and ivy force you to make accurate throws... if you don't you will pay for it!

I was amazed how organized and well kept the course was. Plus, all the people I crossed paths with were really cool and mellow (typical SF)... no one was pressing and in a hurry.
Cons: If you need food or beverage make sure to bring it with you... there's not much located near by since you're way out in the Avenues.
Other Thoughts: Although this was my first outing of disc golf it will not be my last. My buddy told me how lucky I was to have this course in my backyard and I agree! I went out and purchased a couple discs and plan on playing GG Park regulary.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Impressed

3/25/2008   4/4/2008
Review By: danno133
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very nice , challenging course with a big variety of trees. Very clean , not even the cans and bottles that usually lay around the pads on most courses.
Cons: 1710 kilometers (1062 miles) From home!
Other Thoughts: Very Few trees died in the making of this course,(although a few were slightly damaged by the time we finished playing)

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: mgoofy24
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Love it, its close to where I live. Mach III baskets. Love the course layout, very challenging for the space provided by the city.
Cons: Waaaaaay too crowded on weekends and some weekdays. Don't like the fact that SF is so smoke friendly.
Other Thoughts: Love this course!!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A world-class course

5+    1/18/2008   1/18/2008
Review By: bneely
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2010
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Completely professionally installed course, from elaborate support walls holding up elevated tee boxes, signage, this is a work of art. Set in a beautiful park setting, with tall eucalyptus trees providing a lot of the challenge as far as tee shots are concerned. Mostly wooded, but a handful of more open shots. Three pin positions for each hole, in some cases with drastically different difficulties. Course can play very easy in all A positions, or fairly difficult in all C positions. Excellent variety of lefty/righty holes.
Cons: Some of the most interesting and challenging C pin positions are only able to be used in tournaments. Course can be crowded on weekends, but if you start early there should be no problem.
Other Thoughts: The SF Disc Golf Club is a true testament to perseverance and hard work, for fighting 7 years to get this course installed, raising over $50,000 to install it, and doing a perfect job of design, installation, and maintenance. Huzzah!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.