Disc Golf Store
Davison, MI 
Goldenrod DGC Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: Alex.Kiras
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The thing I liked the most about this course was the difficulty of it. This is not a good beginner course, there is a lot of places to loose a disc. Regardless of that there were still plenty of challenging shots that really test your imagination.
Cons: plenty of places to loose discs...
Other Thoughts: met a few local guys, everyone seemed really nice and helpful. Great course, I'll defiantly be going back.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bipolar Course

1    8/22/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: ChargerRacing
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A lot of fun, challenging holes.
- Not a specifically forhand or backhand heavy course. Its well rounded in terms of shot selection.
- Even the short holes, while good birdy ops, were challenging and you had to play them right.
- For the most part a very good balancing of risk and reward.
- I found myself loving the course design most of the time. Most of the holes are very well layed out and use the land extremely well.
- Good, but not overly punishing, use of water.
- Huge picnic area with a practice basket and port-a-johns make the area great for a day trip.
Cons: - No holes where you can just let loose and throw hard.
- Teepads were rubber mats, which became very slick with any amount of sand / dirt on them, and some were missing.
- Signage was incomplete and, when present, somewhat vague.
- Several holes I absolutely hated. These holes (mainly 1, 14, 15, and 17) seemed like they lacked an actual fairway. They were cluttered with trees with no particular flow, design, or art to where they were placed, which is one of my biggest pet peeves. When a designer does this, players then find themselves just hoping their throw doesn't hit a tree, rather than thinking their way through a hole and choosing a shot strategically.
- The course, while dry when I played, seemed like it could get very swampy.
- If you have bug spray (like I did) the bugs aren't an issue, but if you forget it, they are thick.
Other Thoughts: This is a course with great potential. Its in a very pretty location that is a decent drive from a population center, so it isn't very crowded. It is very well layed out and fun to play. With the addition of some better (or even complete signs) and the thoughtful removal of some trees on select fairways, this course could easily be a four star course. If you are in the area or within an hour or two and wanting a new course to play I would definitely suggest a round at Goldenrod.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 hidden water

2-4    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Some good shots
- Lots of interesting water hazards
- Disc Golf only park!
Cons: - Rubber tees: uneven, some broken or missing, covered in mud and sand.
- Tee signs mostly trashed, some holes could be hard to find.
- Blind shots into rough patches w/random hidden ponds everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Decent for what it is- lots of poke and pray and random shots, half the holes are fairly decent and not too rough.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough

1    9/1/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: kw83028
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety. Have to use many different shots. Tough course. Laid out well. Playing tough courses like this are helping me learn the game quickly.
Cons: Rubber Tees, Hidden Water Hazards. Luckily I didn't lose a disc on this course. There are quite a few holes with hidden ponds that could easily be hit on an errant or tree shot. There isn't a good map of the course. It would be great to know where some of those water holes are. There is graffiti and trash on the course.
Other Thoughts: Challenging! Could easily lose a disc in water if you're not straight!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 bugs bugs bugs

1    8/14/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: yes s1rr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you put your disc in the water, harriet the hobbit who walks around with a long disc retriever will go find it for you, throw her a finders fee and be on your way!
Cons: very difficult very frustrating, THIS IS A GOVERNMENT BREEDING GROUND FOR MOSQUITOES AND HORSEFLIES, bug spray will only help a little as the bugs will still swarm you the entire rd.
Other Thoughts: play in spring and fall not the summer. check hole number 5 thats my only ace

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/1/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: Chris.converse
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots big arm, great bends nice layout
Cons: younger crowd killing the course, lots of people tearing it up. many regulars maintain the course and have done well. lots of bugs to the distracting point.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/20/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2009
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
--The maintenance is pretty good, but its more of a natural course than like a city course though. Goldenrod is not like any course you've ever played! The layout is mostly tech but it has 3 or 4 big arm holes. The layout runs through moderate woods, tight woods, open fields, a big river, and all through and around random swamps.
Cons:
Course Navigation--
Its hard to follow. You must print a map from this site if youve never played here. Theres no maps at the course.

--Not first time friendly here!! I've brought friends here for the first time, and even with me telling them where the water hazards are, they still lost a couple discs. I go here alot so I got it on lock, but I can almost guarantee the first time you play here you will lose at least 1 disc in some type of water.
Other Thoughts:
Access To Course--
Located on Irish rd. Park is on left hand side (coming from I-69), its on the other side of a small bridge (kinda hard to see and easy to miss the entrance. A good indicator that your almost to the park is you'll see a bmx track on the right hand side of the road, its about a 1/4 mile past that).

Once in park, hole #1 is on the left hand side of the parking lot.

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.