Davison, MI 
Goldenrod DGC Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
good course if not flooded

5+    9/5/2013   7/27/2015
Review By: jamesdevin
Played: 40  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.2 Years
Pros: water in play on many holes
good variety of holes(long,Short)
some hills but mostly wooded
easy to navigate
par 2 hole
Cons: flooding is possible
some blind tee shots
bugs can be real bad
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course that has a good variety. hole #4 can be flooded if there's a lot of rain. The bugs can be nasty because there is water on many holes, mostly during the summer though. I have always liked this course and will continue to play. I recommend this course if your are looking for something new.

nice exclusive course.

1    1/13/2014   1/13/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 254  Reviewed: 249  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- Area is disc golf exclusive. Course has it's own entrance (can be entered from boat launch area) and parking. I'm sure people could use the course as walking trails but I'm not sure.

Routing and nav-- course flows pretty well. maps are available on DGCR and other places.

Baskets-- all there and in good repair. easily visible with orange reflective tape. Not all baskets are visible from tee so scouting may be necessary.

Challenge/variety/risk v reward-- this course will challenge about every portion of your game. long holes, short holes, lefts, rights, water, elevation.. use of water here is a highlight for sure. there a lot of little sink ponds throughout the course that could gobble a disc right quick. The second component is the rough. while not crazy thick, you will be punished for errant throws. there is a bit of elevation here that will challenge the last part of your game.

Teesignage-- in decent repair. a lot of graffiti and other missing pieces but where the poles are complete, maps, par, distances (accurate) and next tee signs are helpful.

Loopage-- course plays in two loops so playing 2 9-hole loops is a nice bonus to only have to play 9 if you want to.

Facilities-- there are plenty of garbage cans and picnic tables on every hole. makes for a nice round when you can rest if needed.
Cons: Teepads-- we were here in January so it wasn't much of a deal but I hate rubber teepads...

Transitions-- #5-#6 in the winter is like suicide. walking along a small ridge covered in small bamboo plants is tough, add in ice and it's damn near impossible.

Lengths-- there is one hole >400' and the rest are 200-350ish. not a ton of distance but with the thick woods, it's not really surprising.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is nice. a few small tweaks could help it be fantastic.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 work on pads

5+    9/28/2013   9/28/2013
Review By: CadillacMike
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 33.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great lay out.
Cons: work on pads.

not related to course but this web site. a brief review is better than no review. your insistence on content does not necessarily lead to better overall results.
Other Thoughts: work on pads. think cement

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 CASS BENTON NORTH

1    7/27/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 87  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Course has fantastic terrain and plenty of signature looks from the tees. Really great shaping here. A truly rolling terrain on several holes, and while the elevation changes aren't huge, the designers utilized it at every opportunity. I won't bore you with a play-by-play here, but rather run down a few of my favourite holes.

The first three holes cut some wide, worn paths through standard Mid-Michigan forestry. #2 has a deceiving slope following the right side of the fairway, but once you come upon the pin, you realize the drop off isn't that bad. A lot of hidden dangers lurk just outside the rough at Goldenrod, and it was interesting that this once it was actually the opposite - looking dangerous from afar, but truly un-troublesome.

#5 is a spectacularly designed: a small ridge to throw off of, with a narrow strait before you, opening to reveal a twisting, undulating fairway, with a fairly disastrous slope on the right and thick shoal on the left, just beyond which is a drop off to a stagnant pond below. Control over power is valued here, as you want to cut through the strait and drop your disc to set up your approach around the left shoal that blinds your view of the pin. A great technical look with crazy risk/reward - this is one of the best holes at Goldenrod.

#10 and #11 are twin visions to behold. The former is a cutthroat anhyzer through some pretty dense trees, but with plenty of lines to choose from, and good landing spots no matter what your choice. If you can somehow weave your way through and birdie this behemoth, I think it would be equal parts skill and luck that would help you achieve it. Gotta love that type of balance from a hole. The latter of the two is an awesome ace run from atop the biggest hill at Goldenrod, but be wary - if you overshoot here you will be in trouble. Hidden from your view at the tee pad is a steep descent into a riverbed just beyond and to the left of the pin. Use a spotter or you will be searching if you go in. Another great example of Goldenrod's risk/reward factor.

#12 starts a loop around a big bullfrog pond, and the "hidden dangers" abound again. Seems like every time you walk up on your disc, water is glistening in the sun behind the shoal. This loop contains six holes, two of which really stand out. #13 is an insanely narrow and sharp anhyzer with water on both sides. The rough is fairly thick here so I think you're OK in terms of going into the drink, but I would definitely recommend a spotter for this one, probably about halfway down the fairway, so they have a sight line on both the tee and basket. It's seriously like a 75 or 80 degree angle. #16 is the sister hole of #5, although buried in the woods. Two ridges dance up and down, with the pin located atop the one furthest to the right. Multiple lines again exist here, and a huge rollaway is possible if you miss on your approach. A very memorable hole.

#18 finally frees you from the foliage, although there is a patch on your approach. The practice basket has been made into a playoff hole, which is beyond cool! A dirt tee is on the far hill next to a charcoal grill, and creates a nice downhill bomb with a picket fence as your main obstacle, should your round end tied. I wish more courses had this; a great touch!
Cons:
The only con to state here are the tee pads. They are rubber, so slippage is very easy even if they are cleaned off and dry. I could see on a couple of holes that these were actually placed over some older gravel tees. Pretty sure I would've preferred the gravel! We ended up just throwing from the dirt which worked out well. Of course concrete is best, but even if someone just came and removed these it would be an improvement. These terrible tees knock this 4-star course down to a 3.5 for me - little things like this really differentiate the best courses from the rest, and unfortunately Goldenrod's tees knock it down a notch.

I can totally see mosquitoes being a problem here as well, since the majourity of water hazards are indeed stagnant ponds, but with the drought conditions going on this summer, this was a non-issue. Maybe if I played through when they were rampant it would knock another half-disc off of my rating... I could see this course being like Willow in that regard.

Another possible con could be the sameness of the course. It all plays through the same standard set of Mid-Michigan woods, and has a very similar feel to, say, Holly Woods for example. But while the land the course is built on is fairly static, I think the designers did a great job in breaking up the terrain, so no deduction here. In fact, I think this is a PRO rather than a CON for me.
Other Thoughts:
Overall, this is a wonderfully designed course and it's been treated as such. You can tell Goldenrod is really worn in but not destroyed at all. There were plenty of benches and trash cans, and I thought the course was fairly clean. Some of the previous reviews state that it can be very busy, and I can see why. Most of the underbrush is gone and as a result the fairways are mainly dirt, but this does not affect your round at all. Layout is concise and really easy to follow; no chance of skipping a hole or doubling back. What really blew me away were the multitude of lines available on every hole and the overall shaping of the holes themselves. Really, really well designed, and you can tell it is only getting better with age. Very well done, and darn near champion caliber IMO. Recommend Discin'!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

2-4    5/8/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: Mac423
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice technical course with serious risk vs. reward on several holes.
Surprised me with how visually appealing the landscape was for central michigan.
The biggest "pro" in my experience here was the people, although the course was VERY busy, and waiting was necessary on many tee's. We joined up with several locals we met on the course, and ended up playing it through 3 times with them. This made course with a high probability of losing a disc MUCH less risky.
Cons: Water hazards everywhere (this could be a pro if your into scavenging)
Technical course does not favor long drivers.
Some seriously thick rough that will take a few minutes to find a disc in.
A few blind hyzer shots, so use a spotter, and scout holes before throw.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to Brian and Matt for the rounds, and teaching us the course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Goldenrod

5+    9/22/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: Tross
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very challenging course but lots of fun. The course teaches you how to throw around, under, and above trees and bushes.
Cons: Easy place to lose your disc's and lots of mosquitoes so bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course more times then i can remember.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 goldenrod

5+    8/11/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: LEFTY360
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good course for all players. nice mix of long and short holes, though heavily wooded. Good use of water hazards. course rewards acuracy more so than power. park is pretty clean and free to play. picnic tables and trash cans are placed near most of the tee pads. exelent course layout aside from the walk from 11 to 12 and 17 to 18.
Cons: most of the water hazards are stinky stagnant water, can be very frustrating at times. throws not placed in the fairway can easily dissapear into the thick woods or under the leaves on the ground. lots of poison ivy and mosquitoes. course floods in the spring.
Other Thoughts: overall a good course. bring bug spray. also i think they have enough land to easily accomadate 24 holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My Very First

5+    6/21/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: Discgolf Duncan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: -It's a challenging course with lots of areas that call for precision.
-A good mix of long and short holes.
-Lots of tables at the holes to sit and take a break if needed.
-The course is just for disc golf, so no interruptions from park-goers like on a city park course.
Cons: -Lots of water to lose your disc in.
-Mosquitoes are horrible at all times of the day.
-You may be in the thick woods looking for discs a lot.
-No bathroom or Port-a-John that I've noticed.
-No running water for refills.
-The closest market is a few miles away.
Other Thoughts: If you ever lose your disc, Harriet the Disc Finder is a great help. She's out there almost every time I go out. If Harriet finds one you lost, she posts it on a board near Hole 1. Just remember to put your name on your discs so she knows who you are. After a few weeks, she sells them so she can have money for her Mid-Summer cook out on the course. She a wonderful and caring lady who just loves to crowds and the sport.

 Time for Fun

5+    5/15/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: AKasprzak
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging but fun holes. Great course for all types of players. Clean most of the time. Good for families. A great disc lady that will always call you if she finds your disc
Cons: Alot of bugs in the spring, because there is alot of water but that what your should expect everywere this time of year. Floods up pritty bad this time of year. missing alot of tee pads but mostly level dirt were they where.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to all my friends just remember to bring bug spray. We like this course alot and play it offten.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, very challenging.

5+    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides a great challenge for any level of player, not very beginner friendly but i've been playing it since i started and learning on this tough course makes anyone play better on other courses. Not a very confusing layout, never end up throwing the wrong basket like at some courses. Also there are plenty of people willing to go in for your discs, many wont even charge you.
Cons: Some bad water hazards, a lot of graffiti on the course from local casuals that don't take the game seriously. Also for about a month or two the mosquitoes can get very bad.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.