Davison, MI 
Goldenrod DGC Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #16 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 fun course i'll never play again

1    8/1/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: bigjohnd24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging, with wooded fairways, open hyzers/anhyzers, and water on about half of the holes. The design sends you in 2 loops: front 9 and back 9, which would be great for quick rounds. You need to keep your drives honest, otherwise the woods or water will eat up your bag. One of the more intriguing course layouts and design that I have seen.
Cons: BUGS!!! I cannot stress that enough! We had to leave 3 holes in to go get spray, and they still destroyed us. This took away a lot from this course, due to the distraction and sheer rage they gave me.

This course really needs better mapping. We got lost from 5-6-7 and getting to 12 was way out of the way. It would also be great to know where the water is on most holes, cuz you shoot blind into 'phantom' ponds that swallow discs out of nowhere. Also, the tee pads are rubber mats that are slippery and ripped apart. By about hole 13, I was really done caring.
Other Thoughts: I honestly feel bad giving this course a 2.5, but the mosquitoes and no knowledge of water on some holes really made it the worst disc golf experience I've ever had. My buddy and I liked how everything was set up, but both said it's not worth the drive.

I suppose if you go covered in DEET and have a guide who has played here several times, it would be great playing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/25/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: Beastman
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice challenging course --- you must bring your "A" game. Plenty of trees you must hyzer or anhyzer around and plenty of water to lose a disc on. A great course to test your skills.
Cons: Rubber tee mats can be slippery and a few are torn. Extra water hazzards in spring but have dried up in June. BUGS are horrible you must bring spray. Trash cans are on most holes people NEED to use rather than tossing trash on course. Course can get busy in the afternoon or weekends.
Other Thoughts: A great course to test skills. Wish people would respect it and keep it clean. Bring plenty of discs you will lose one the first time you play here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Chanllenging Course but Enjoyable.

5+    6/4/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: Bitaddict
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some cool unique shots. This course can be challenging at times for a beginner(ie water holes and this foliage).
Cons: Bugs! Course can get muddy if its played within a few days of a rainstorm. I've lost a few discs here and i consider myself a pretty decent player so bring your "A" game. A lot of new people here trash the place with garbage. Can get pretty crowded at times. No concrete tees-only mats that can be slippery.
Other Thoughts: This course if fun to play early/late in the season. You will avoid bugs and thick woods this way. Bring something to drink. There are no concessions. Bug spray is a must. If you see some trash please pick it up. Help out everyone who likes to play a clean course. I would appreciate it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lot of trees!

2-4    8/3/2008   6/10/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Had some pretty challenging holes, many of which have plenty of trees to avoid. This course offers a variety of different hole layouts, with elevation changes, trees, dog legs, and water hazzards. I saw many trash cans and benches throughout the course.
Cons: Rubber tee pads don't offer the best footing. Although most holes had signs, holes 1,2, and 18 didn't. Can get real congested with groups of people at times making it hard to play a quick round. Many of the signs that were there were vandalized with graffiti.
Other Thoughts: This is a real fun and challenging course. I highly recommend playing here.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/1/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: Chris.converse
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots big arm, great bends nice layout
Cons: younger crowd killing the course, lots of people tearing it up. many regulars maintain the course and have done well. lots of bugs to the distracting point.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I Grew Up At Goldenod

5+    2/12/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: landwhale07
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Holes being in the woods forces you to have a good balance of power and technical skills.

Well kept up, You'll see members of the Flint Town Flyerz cleaning alot.

Great people, they'd love to show you around and help you out with disc retrieval.

Lots of leagues
Cons: Frustration is the reason most people don't like it. tree into tree into tree if you're not careful.

During bad weather, the course suffers.
Other Thoughts: Goldenrod never disappoints.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Real Fun

1    11/14/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: NSGDdoesdyes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome layout, wide variety of elevation and terrain changes, you'll have a great time.
Cons: There is a lot of water. Tee pads can be slick in the rain.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time and had no problem. We played a game of Wolf through 30 holes. I would have to say that this is probably the most fun course I have played yet. When I went there were maps of the course and score cards near hole one in a plastic container. Definately play it if you have the chance.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

7/25/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: DGPlayer7
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really good course layout. Great hole variety, good ratio of open holes to more wooded ones. Provides a good challenge.
Cons: A couple of water hazards that you have to worry about
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing the course. Offers a lot of variety and allowed me to use a variety of different shots.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/20/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2009
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
--The maintenance is pretty good, but its more of a natural course than like a city course though. Goldenrod is not like any course you've ever played! The layout is mostly tech but it has 3 or 4 big arm holes. The layout runs through moderate woods, tight woods, open fields, a big river, and all through and around random swamps.
Cons:
Course Navigation--
Its hard to follow. You must print a map from this site if youve never played here. Theres no maps at the course.

--Not first time friendly here!! I've brought friends here for the first time, and even with me telling them where the water hazards are, they still lost a couple discs. I go here alot so I got it on lock, but I can almost guarantee the first time you play here you will lose at least 1 disc in some type of water.
Other Thoughts:
Access To Course--
Located on Irish rd. Park is on left hand side (coming from I-69), its on the other side of a small bridge (kinda hard to see and easy to miss the entrance. A good indicator that your almost to the park is you'll see a bmx track on the right hand side of the road, its about a 1/4 mile past that).

Once in park, hole #1 is on the left hand side of the parking lot.

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.