Gonzales, TX 
Gonzales DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #13 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/12/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a Houck course so you know you will get quality tee pads and tee signs, and this course offers that. This course presents nice DISCatchers that are in excellent condition. There is a nice mix of shorter to longer holes varying from open to tight holes. This course really lets you stretch out your arm especially on the long Hole 9. Navigation is pretty easy because you make two loops. 1-9 and 10-18 to finish right by your car.
Cons: There is not a parking lot, so you have to park on the side of the street. There are a few long walks starting with 9-10 and then after you tee on 18 where you have to walk over the huge bridge( both of these holes you have to use the bridge). The only other negative is that the land doesn't offer much change so John couldn't really use his talent. So, the course became a little repetitive because the lack of different shots.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course a 3 but I really think it is a 3.2( I rated low to lower the average review to where I thought it should be).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

long par 5's

1    3/2/2013   3/4/2013
Review By: Cgkortz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Nice concrete pads
- Navigation of the course was easy
- Great challenging course with lots of trees
- Long Drives
Cons: - Tall Weeds
- Ants Piles everywhere my disc landed in 4
- No parking but along the street
- Holes seem repetitive
Other Thoughts: Nice course overall on a side note there is not a Bathrrom or Gas Station for miles.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    2/22/2013   2/24/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is situated in a nice park in a small town off of I-10. the population of Gonzales is only ~7,000 so the course seems for the most part empty and un-used.
-There are nice long concrete pads with grooves in them to help with traction. the Discatcher baskets are remarkably clean; they have no graffiti on them like you see on most discatchers on other courses.
-The park had an open feel but there were trees strategically placed that made it tough to get to a few baskets.
-Standing on the tee pad for #16 looking down the hill was very beautiful. The designer of the course really utilized the elevation of the park well.
-Navigation of the course was easy. You can see the next tee pad from the previous basket. The signs are all very nice at each tee pad.
Cons: -The location of the course is pretty poor. Off of I-10, Gonzales is still 15 miles down the road. This is probably one of the more unknown nicer courses in Texas due to it's location.
-A few of the holes seemed repetitive. The longer holes were very nice but it is hard to really pick out a "signature" shorter hole.
-The walk from 9 to 10 is sort of long but the bridge that you have to walk across is pretty cool and unique.
Other Thoughts: If you are a player that likes ace runs at every hole, this is not the course for you. Most of the baskets are surrounded by trees making aces hard to come by.
If you are going down I-10 and have a few hours to burn to stretch your legs, this is the course to do it at. It is a bit of a shame that no one really is in a good proximity to the course but I suppose it makes the trip that more exciting.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    10/2/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: Safbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete tees and tee markers. Mix of play through light trees and rolling hill or two.
Cons: Park is rather narrow with streets on both sides. When I was there they had over 3 in of rain so it was wet and in the low areas real wet.
Other Thoughts: Nice course for beginners or for a quick round. Has a few nice longer shots and several close ace able. Just a fun little course. 11 still no basket.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gonzo Gonzales

2-4    3/28/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the second course I ever played when I started playing disc golf and I thought at the time it was awesome. Some interesting challenge holes here. Interesting basket placements as well as some fine ace and birdie opportunities. The two long holes, 9 and 16 will challenge the best disc golfer as far as drives and getting around the various trees that are in the fairway. The signature hole on 18 that is by the historic bridge includes a toss across the creek that runs in the park. Some great challenges as well as good concrete tees that are grooved for what I presume is good for foot grip in wet weather.
Cons: Unfortunately, this course has been let go for so long that currently it is barely playable. Weeds permeate the course. A golfer has to look closely where the disc is thrown due to a disc being buried in weeds. I lost a CFR Champion Archangel on hole 9 due to this very problem. I looked for an hour and still couldn't find it. Basket on hole 11 is still not there. No trash cans and no restrooms.
Other Thoughts: This, to me, is still an awesome course. And could be again when they do a complete mowing of the park. I am afraid they are going to need a hay baler due to the length of the weeds in some places. Mow and replace the basket for hole 11 and this course could be tournament-ready. Great design. Kudos to John Houck.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course on the outskirts of town

1    12/17/2010   12/17/2010
Review By: Guru10
Played: 39  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Organization. I really liked that there are 9 holes on one side, 9 holes on the other. Not hard to navigate, but took a little wandering as it was my first time out here.

The challenge is deceptive. Just like many Houck courses, this course sets a premium on placement and accuracy. There are several alleys and lines on each hole, as trees are scattered but in a natural way for a course to follow. Every direction is used; left, right and straight. Lots of tunnel shots. Most of the front 9 are tight, narrow alley shots, but some open up. The back 9, it seems, is where the holes open up, requiring not only placement but distance as well.

Pretty course. At first, this course seemed very open. But as the course played on, you get the feeling of being in a much bigger park. It's size is deceptive and also a smart use of the available land. The bridge after the first 9, on the way to the back 9, is pretty cool. I played in the winter, when everything was gray, but I bet this course is gorgeous in the spring.

The tee pads are great. Level, just the right length, and textured, which is something you don't see often. Instead of being smooth, like a sidewalk, there are grooves in the tees that add grip. Nice.
Cons: The thorns on the first 9 are annoying. Pants recommended. I wore shorts and had to constantly stop to pick thorns from my socks.

Lack of elevation. The course seems flat for the most part. Back 9 feels like it takes advantage of the gradual hill more than the front. Minor really. The placement of the holes and the pace of the course off-set this.
Other Thoughts: Although a bit of a drive out from San Antonio, this course was well worth it. The course is very well laid out, a challenge, even to those with experience. 2 legit par 5s and some fun par 4s made for a long round. Overall a great course with a nice mix of challenge and fun.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Upkeep

5+    6/16/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: danielminnich64
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great challenging course with lots of trees, long par 5's, varying elevations. This course is relatively unknown. I play weekly and rarely see another player on the course.
Cons: Recently the upkeep has been bad. The grass is knee high in spots and several of the trees need to be trimmed as they are dragging on the ground. I have only seen it mowed once in the past 2 months. Very unfortunate because it is really a great course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/18/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: thomp23
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I like the fact that its an 18 hole course. The concrete T-pads are great to throw from. Trees scatter out all over the course which can make for some heavy thinking before throwing.
Cons: I can't think of many cons except they placed some more trees on some holes. The course was hard enough as it was but now I think they over did themselves.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/21/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2009
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You park along a street and play 1-9 on the west side of the park and then you play 10-18 on the east side of the park. This is nice because you can stop by your vehicle at the halfway point or just play a quick nine holes anytime you want.

The John Houck design means that every hole has at least one tree that is right in the line you need to throw to get to the basket. It seems fairly open but there are just enough trees to force many different types of shots while some holes let you choose a few different routes to the pin.

There are some monstrously huge live oak trees on this course. Hole 1 has one such tree with a canopy that touches the ground and the basket is on the other side of the tree. There is one small tunnel through the canopy for you to go through.

The variety of distances and pars is good with holes from 178' - 894', two par 5's, two par 4's.

Hole #16 is pretty epic. It is the longest hole on the course and has a great elevation drop so you can really air it out. The rest of the course is pretty flat except for a few uphill holes.

The concrete teepads are rougher than than any I've ever seen which came in handy because it rained the day I played.

The signs are very descriptive with hole #, distance, par, and line to the hole map.
Cons: There are some long walks between holes that really add to the already long course. After hole 9 you have to go over the historical bridge to get to hole 10.

There is a historical bridge on the property and there may be tourists parked around the course looking at the bridge. There is definitely some potenial for people or their vehicles to get hit by stray discs. This is also the area where afterschool teens like to hang out and may be parked in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in the winter after a year long drought. I think it will be much prettier in the spring when the trees have their leaves and the grass is green and hopefully we get some rain. I will come back and take pictures then.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.