Delaware, OH 
Gordon Holton Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 280ft.   4 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Red Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Witty and Winding

1    4/18/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course that plays mostly around and under canopies of mature trees. A few water hazards accentuate a moderately challenging and majorly fun round of discin'. Nice use of what little elevation changes the park proffered. Fairly well marked and an mostly easy-to-follow layout never had me scraching my head as to where to go next. Amenities abound and the course was very well maintained - A nice large park that had a great atmosphere. Literally right off of US-23 as well so easy access to play. Not very crowded when I played although it was a Wednesday at like 2 in the afternoon so not sure if that's an accurate portrayl of foot traffic. Loved the crazily winding streams through a couple of the holes - that added a nice touch. Nice big concrete teeboxes on both the pro and am tees - were in great condition as well.

THERE IS A PLAYOFF HOLE!
THAT IS WICKED AWESOME!
Cons: Course is fairly easy. Really no underbrush what to speak of, only mature trees as obstacles. Exceptions to this rule are holes 7-8, 11-12 and 17. While I enjoy an easy course, there weren't any signature holes to create a memory and make me want to come back. I found the course fair as you didn't have to hold many lines, so you can just keep it in the vaciinity of the fairway and be all set. Course moved well although there are two walks - a short one around the corner betwixt 3 and 4, and a long one across a lot separating 11 and 12. next tee signs would've been nice here.
Other Thoughts: Walkthrough (with grades):
#1 - Nice start shooting the gap and down a hill with the pin not-quite-precariously placed at the edge of the seawall. a huge drop off beyond the target to the beach below can ruin your approach. 3.5/5
#2 - a twister through moderate woods with the pin up a very slight incline. to the right: that same dropoff to the beach below. 3/5
#3 - good tunnel rip with a ridge following the length of the hole on the right. pin is placed on said ridge and is difficult to approach through some shrubs. 4/5
#4 - a 90 degree anhyzer is no trouble using your forearm. 2.5/5
#5 - a nice pick-your-poision hole, choosing either L or R of a line of mature trees 3/5
#6 - easy rider underneath the canopy 2/5
#7 - cool drive will set up a tricky approach into the woods to a pin in a small clearing 3.5/5
#9 & 10 - Twin shots with mature trees as your obstacles. standard fare. - 2.5/5
#11 - wide open lazy hyzer. 2/5
#12 & 13 - Twin shots over a zig zagging creek with pin placements up on a ridge making your approach cautious. probably the best two shots on the course. 4/5
#14 - the pro tee lets you take your chances over a lip of the lake, the am is amiable. 3/5
#15 - short, tight anhyzer with hidden pin. 3/5
#17 - nice shot over the ravine that is 13's fairway. make it to the other side or your toast. 4/5
#18 - fair finish with a smaller tunnel shot into a clearing to hit the pin 2.5/5

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

1    10/11/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice concrete tee pads
- Beautiful scenery
- Secluded
- Easily accessible/easy to find
Cons: - Hole-to-tee can be confusing at times
- Tee signs have laminated paper that was missing or severly damaged on quite a few holes
- Hole layout hugs the roads a bit too tight for many holes
Other Thoughts: Overall a solid course, and worth a round if you are in the area.

Primarily a technical course, but a few holes are open enough to get a good long drive in if your accuracy is decent.

A few great holes in the woods. The course hugged the park roads and parking lots a bit too tight for my taste, especially considering the expansiveness of the park. When the holes meandered though the woods, the course was top notch. Too often though, holes were in more open areas (although still lots of trees) alongside roads with baskets placed in difficult locations. Wasn't so keen on those holes, which was about half the course.

The transition from hole-to-tee on quite a few baskets was frustrating, I even had a copy of the course map on my phone and still had difficulty navigating at times, particularly from Hole 11 basket to Hole 12 tee.

Definitely a fun course and worth a play if you are in the area or if you live nearby. I was visiting friends in Columbus and having already played the excellent Brent Hambrick course, I wanted to try a new course.

Hambrick and Holton are the only two Columbus-area courses I have played as of Oct. 2009, but if I had to choose between the I would go with Hambrick for sure. If you can play both, they're both worth a round.

Also, the photos for this course are a bit misleading as the trees get quite full with leaves and increase the beauty and challenge of every hole.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Without An Identity

1    9/2/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Stan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Any course set in a State Park is worth playing and this is no exception. There is a mix of wooded and open holes. The wooded holes make this course worth playing as you get to explore some unique land and interesting paths. The course requires some thought and accuracy but isn't overwhelming.

Unlike others, I found the couse easy to navigate. I played by myself and only was confused twice. Each tee pad shows where the next hole begins.
Cons: The open holes really leave a lot to be desired. The holes themselves are fine...basically a 300ft shot with a large tree or two to avoid. However, the open holes are lined with streets and parking lots which completely takes away from the State Park feel.
Other Thoughts: If the open holes felt more secluded, I would have rated the course a bit higher. But with spending 1/3 the time around blacktops, I felt it was an average experience. The wooded holes are great and make the course worth playing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Can be confusing for first timers

1    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: fender36
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Challenging course that requires less power and more control.
- Quite a bit of the course is shaded so you dont melt when playing during the summer.
Cons: - Can be challenging to find the next hole if you havent played before. Hole g really will throw you for a loop as it isnt labeled. Simply having a course map near the parking lot would really help out the new players.
- Mosquitos can be a bit of a nuisance because of all the water nearby.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.