Delaware, OH 
Gordon Holton Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Red Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Something new every hole

2-4    4/19/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 177  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The family of Gordon Holton should be proud: this course is a gem in a beautiful park with majestic trees, a gorgeous lake, and rolling terrain that all come into play throughout your experience. Almost every one of the (20) holes at this disc golf course in (Ohio's) Delaware State Park feels different from the others. From the down-slope opener with a guarded basket - 25 feet in front of a twenty foot drop to the water below, through the fade shot back to the optional 20th (also used as the practice basket), you'll throw power drives up a 400 foot gap between tree rows, tricky, right-turning blind shots with nasty rough if you cut it too tight, and woods-threaders … and everything in between.

The use of elevation is wonderful, but not overly taxing: you have a few shots where you'll be able to see the treacherous woods - valley - creek beds - etc. that could wreck your score, while at the same time be tempted by the fact that you can choose multiple lines to get across the space between you and your goal (I'm thinking of holes 11 through 13 and 16 through 18 here). There are water carries from a couple of the long tees (7 & 14). There are long tee holes over 430 feet (9, 10 & 13), if that's your cup of tea. And there are even some pretty risk/ reward opportunities, if you can hit the perfect line (2, 8, 16, for instance).

The park has been tremendously well-maintained the times I've visited, and the course has nice concrete tees (14 holes also have long tees), newer signage that's very easy to spot, quality DGA baskets in good repair, benches and trash cans where needed, abundant parking (four lots adjoin sections of the course), park 'restrooms' (OK, outhouses), and a nice kiosk with map and 'happenings' by hole 1. Even though the course meanders over many, many acres of the park space, it plays through fairly smoothly and quickly because there aren't too many long treks between holes

Intermediate to Advanced disc golfers will do well to break 60 for the 20 holes, but the course has attractions for players below and above those skill levels. It's a very well-balanced, fun experience. Well worth the trip, with even more quality courses (The Players' course at Alum Creek, and of course, the Brett Hambrick Memorial) fairly close by if you traveling into the area. The state park obviously has camping, boating, and hiking options, and you're really close to the north side of Columbus and all of its attractions.
Cons: The course can be pretty muddy in the spring, so come prepared for that. Though most of the paths to the next tees are intuitive and well worn in, you may need the map to find hole 4: it's out to the clearing at the dual ponds, and around the bend to the right. Then, I'm pretty sure they've done some extending of the pond left of the 7th fairway in between my two visits. It's unfortunate that they placed a park bench in line with the long tee shot. You will want to turn to your right after the 17th basket, and not head out by the parking lot looking for 18. There is the awkwardness of having a hole 'G' (for Gordon?) between 11 and 12, or if you skip it to play only 18, having the one long walk across the parking lot there. Finally, it's a little unusual to have the 'spare' 20th hole finish back to what arriving players will be warming up on as a practice basket.
Other Thoughts: I've only played three rounds at Gordon Holton, but already have a wonderful memory I'd like to share. On the 260 foot hole 8, I parked a glidey River seven feet past the pin. Not unusual, except for the fact that I had just released the disc a hair early and inadvertently made that shot through the gap in the V-shaped tree on the left side of the fairway! There couldn't have been more than 2 or 3 inches on either side of the disc as it slid through the air between those trunks. Could never have made a shot like that had I called for it. (Can you tell I love this game?)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/3/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: ChuckinDeucesACE
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Classic MOODG design. Tight lines through the woods that require both hyzer and anhyzer shots. Open holes still have large mature trees that pose threats to errant shots. Unlike Alum Creek all of the pin positions have cement tee pads. Numerous picturesque holes.
Cons: Some tee signs are missing. Flooding also has caused a sever out break of mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: Sunday doubles are always fun.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Terrific

2-4    1/19/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole is unique here. I never felt like I was throwing the same shot off the tee on each hole. There are two sets of concrete tees with benches by many of them. Hole 1 is a great starting hole from either tee with the severe drop off towards the beach directly behind the basket. Some holes have some cool elevation changes. This course is great for experienced players or beginners. 3 is an awesome long tunnel shot. 12 is a great multi route hole with risk and reward coming into play. I like the mix of opener shots and wooded gap shots and tunnels here. It is a great balance. The signs for getting to the course once you are in Delaware State Park are great as well.
Cons: No tee signs on the long tees. Some of the signs are gone/damaged. The course could use a few more navigational arrows. Baskets do not catch the best. There are a lot of flat holes. Some of the longs feel like tweener holes and almost everyone will 3 them. This course can get very muddy.
Other Thoughts: I will definitely be coming back. One of the top 3 in the Columbus area up there with Hoover and Pickerington.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good choice in Central Ohio

1    1/13/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall this was a very fun, enjoyable, challenging course.

* 2 sets of tees, many forcing different lines from the long (as opposed to some courses where the longs are just a bit longer)

* Concrete tee pads, good quality baskets, and available restrooms

* Course forces multiple types of shots, and will punish one dimensional players.
Cons: * Very few trash cans

* Poorly drained areas of the course hold water, and many baskets were extremely muddy.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed my round at Holton, and will be making the 45 minute drive to play this course again. However, I probably will not do so unless the ground is very dry, as I played the course after several inches of snow had melted, and the course was muddy enough to diminish my enjoyment significantly.

This is a moderately long course with many holes that force you to hit tight lines. As such, it was a bit much for me as a newer (or to be accurate, very rusty) player. However, it gave me to opportunity to work on scrambling, and trouble shots from the rough. Regardless of feeling slightly overmatched I will still play this course again, as I enjoyed it more than the Hambrick or Griggs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Witty and Winding

1    4/18/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course that plays mostly around and under canopies of mature trees. A few water hazards accentuate a moderately challenging and majorly fun round of discin'. Nice use of what little elevation changes the park proffered. Fairly well marked and an mostly easy-to-follow layout never had me scraching my head as to where to go next. Amenities abound and the course was very well maintained - A nice large park that had a great atmosphere. Literally right off of US-23 as well so easy access to play. Not very crowded when I played although it was a Wednesday at like 2 in the afternoon so not sure if that's an accurate portrayl of foot traffic. Loved the crazily winding streams through a couple of the holes - that added a nice touch. Nice big concrete teeboxes on both the pro and am tees - were in great condition as well.

THERE IS A PLAYOFF HOLE!
THAT IS WICKED AWESOME!
Cons: Course is fairly easy. Really no underbrush what to speak of, only mature trees as obstacles. Exceptions to this rule are holes 7-8, 11-12 and 17. While I enjoy an easy course, there weren't any signature holes to create a memory and make me want to come back. I found the course fair as you didn't have to hold many lines, so you can just keep it in the vaciinity of the fairway and be all set. Course moved well although there are two walks - a short one around the corner betwixt 3 and 4, and a long one across a lot separating 11 and 12. next tee signs would've been nice here.
Other Thoughts: Walkthrough (with grades):
#1 - Nice start shooting the gap and down a hill with the pin not-quite-precariously placed at the edge of the seawall. a huge drop off beyond the target to the beach below can ruin your approach. 3.5/5
#2 - a twister through moderate woods with the pin up a very slight incline. to the right: that same dropoff to the beach below. 3/5
#3 - good tunnel rip with a ridge following the length of the hole on the right. pin is placed on said ridge and is difficult to approach through some shrubs. 4/5
#4 - a 90 degree anhyzer is no trouble using your forearm. 2.5/5
#5 - a nice pick-your-poision hole, choosing either L or R of a line of mature trees 3/5
#6 - easy rider underneath the canopy 2/5
#7 - cool drive will set up a tricky approach into the woods to a pin in a small clearing 3.5/5
#9 & 10 - Twin shots with mature trees as your obstacles. standard fare. - 2.5/5
#11 - wide open lazy hyzer. 2/5
#12 & 13 - Twin shots over a zig zagging creek with pin placements up on a ridge making your approach cautious. probably the best two shots on the course. 4/5
#14 - the pro tee lets you take your chances over a lip of the lake, the am is amiable. 3/5
#15 - short, tight anhyzer with hidden pin. 3/5
#17 - nice shot over the ravine that is 13's fairway. make it to the other side or your toast. 4/5
#18 - fair finish with a smaller tunnel shot into a clearing to hit the pin 2.5/5

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 An "all day" course

5+    4/20/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: discmasternuke
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: First hole. 3rd hole. 9th hole. Entire back 9.
2 bonus holes
Excellent maps and tee pads
Excellently placed foliage
Cons: tiring because of elevation changes and pace of play
LOTS of thorns
Large tree on 4 makes ace or 2 almost an impossible score
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course with every obstacle available; rocks hills trees water and thorns
This course can be played all day and will never get boring
This course is fun to play with a large group because of all the different shot shapes that players are forced to create

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ohio Meet 2011 with RTS FTW!

1    9/24/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very pretty and scenic park. Lots of old trees and lush green vegetation. The terrain is easily traversed and mostly flat. Good place for a disc golf cart.
- Extremely nice mixture of open air shots and a lot of technical shots around objects. The fairways on the more technical shots are thin enough to challenge the better player but still allow a lower level player to not feel overwhelmed. This course has left and right turning shots, under and around obstacles.
- The overall distance is good but seems low even though there are 4 holes over 400'. I will add that even though there are 4 holes below 250', those holes are mostly well balanced with trees to get around. Even the 170' hole is a challenge!
- Multiple Tees
- Concrete Tees are in excellent condition
- The Tee Maps are done very well and also give the direction to the Next Tee
- Baskets are in excellent condition
- Delaware Lake adds a nice water hazard, especially on Hole #1
- Excellent upkeep on the park. The grass is well mowed and even the wooded areas are kept clean and clear.
- Low traffic from non disc golfers and most likely from disc golfers alike. The course is secluded away from most other activities.
- Lots of benches!
- Entrance is marked by signs leading you to the disc golf course
- Very nice Kiosk with a map and scorecards
- The map is accurate and helpful
- Practice basket by the Kiosk also doubles as the basket for Hole #20
- Trash cans are located throughout the course
- Multiple parking lots
- Picnic tables to meet and greet throughout the course
- There are 3 bathrooms located throughout the course
- Amenities. The course has a playground and sand volleyball. But the park is HUGE. The park has kids nature events, camping (cottages etc…), laundry, basketball, horseshoe, lots of playgrounds, rental for about anything including golf discs, boating, fishing, swimming, hunting… The list goes on. So bring the family for a great day and play a round.
Cons: - The numbering system for the holes can be confusing. It would be much better if this could be redone in a complete numerical order.
- The course flows decently. You can park at Hole #1 and end Hole #20 right at the parking lot. But navigating the course can become difficult at times so bring a map. This will come in very handy around Hole #G.
Other Thoughts: - There are only a few elevation changes on a few holes but this certainly does add to this course. A few to note is that Hole #1 starts off with a slight downhill grade and Hole #12 throws uphill over a water hazard that is zigzagging back and forth on the fairway.
- This park has a very natural setting in beautiful Delaware State Park but it is located a decent drive from the highway.
- I hope that someone gets some new photo's up on DGCR for this course. It really looks MUCH different than the current pics.
- Many, MANY of the very nicely located trees that make some of these holes have so much character and challenge have a big red 'X' on them. I guess these are Ash trees soon to be cut down. This will GREATLY affect how this course is played. I can only hope that the state can afford to replace these trees. If the state cannot do this I foresee a few baskets being moved at the minimum. Very sad.
- This course certainly had some very challenging holes but this was offset by some very nice open holes with only a few trees to get around. Just a great mix.
- The most challenging hole is #12. Any errant hit in this tight fairway could drop you into the O.B. that is the water hazard all along the center of the fairway.
- My favorite hole is #14. I love the beautiful view over the water from the Long Tee!
- This was a fantastic course but I do not label this as a course to travel a long way to play, however, this course combined with some of the other courses located nearby would certainly be worth a long drive and make a great full day of disc golfing.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Well Rounded

1    7/23/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
[Baskets]: Excellent condition, well maintained.

[Tee Signs/Maps/Markers]: Basic signs at each hole. Signs are decent; including hole number, direction, distance, and next tee location. Par has been hand written on the post. There is a map online and informative bulletin board near the first tee. I did not notice a map at course though.

[General Course Design]: Course flows well from hole to hole. Course starts and ends close to the parking lot.

[Foliage Maintenance]: Areas around the baskets were clear. Wooded areas were clear of debris. Trees are nicely trimmed and grass appears to be cut regularly.

[Benches & Trash bins]: There were benches at each tee box. A few trash cans available and I did not notice any trash on the course.

[Elevation]: Great use of mature trees and elevation changes. The course uses the open and wooded areas of the park to the fullest extent, alternating in and out of the woods every couple of holes.

[Signature Holes]: Several potential signature holes. A variety of hole distances requiring many different shot selections. The course offers a good mix of tight, technical shots and a few opportunities for open bombs.

[Tee Pads]: Concrete, good condition, both pro and amateur tees, and in some cases even a third, all concrete.

[Restrooms]: I noticed a couple restroom facilities throughout the course.
Cons:
[General Course Design]: There was an extra hole in between 11 and 12. Although this is not really a bad thing, it did add some confusion not knowing this beforehand. I do not recall seeing anything about this before we played.

[Foliage Maintenance]: There were a lot of downed trees through the wooded area. This added to the hazard of the elevation changes, so you had to be careful walking up and down the hills through the woods.

[Tee Signs]: Some of the tee signs were missing the map/information. Perhaps they were damaged and being replaced? The only other thing about the signs was a glare from the sun. Several of the signs would cast a bright sun spot toward the tee pad and on a couple occasions, it would hit my eyes right as I was in the middle of my tee shot.
Other Thoughts:
This course was fun to play, and not so tough that beginners will be discouraged. As a beginner myself, the course was challenging enough to force me to consider my shots before throwing.
There is plenty of parking available with a short walk to the first tee. Several picnic tables near the beginning of the course and a few shelter houses scattered throughout.
The nicest state park course I have played, and in the top 5 overall. Definitely worth checking out if you are anywhere close to Delaware.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great course!

5+    7/9/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: JSdisker44
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All tees are marked and holes are easy to find. but, i have probably played this course about 100 times, so a first timer may have some trouble. has a phenomenal variety of long, short, left curving, right curving, open and wooded holes. Course is challenging, but not frustrating. i, being thirteen can still achieve even par or better. my favorite hole may ctually be number one. 17, 18, 2, and three are also exellent
Cons: not many cons on this course. some people may say there are too many trees, but overall a great course
Other Thoughts: give this course a visit, it will be worth the trip!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course after the Worlds Prep

2-4    6/29/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Gordon is a complete course located on a expansive section of Delaware State park. The course has lefty and righty holes, elevation, and water shots. There are some long bomber holes and some shorter more technical holes. The dual sets of tees are both concrete of adequate length. The baskets are top quality. The course appears to be very well maintained. A lot of the wooded holes have tight lines to hit and low ceilings to stay under... these holes will frustrate less players, challenge better players, and make everyone's game better in the long run. The course went through a pretty major facelift to prepare for PDGA AM Worlds in the summer of 2010. The long concrete tees were installed and a slightly tweaked configuration was created (15 short tee played to 16's basket, and 17 had a new shorter tee position). Brand new tee signs are being installed as of Summer 2010. Restroom facilities are available by hole #1, as is a practice basket and course info board. The practice hole actually has a small concrete tee pad after hole #18 and can be played as the 20th hole on the course if desired.
Cons:
Can be difficult to navigate in a couple spots your first time, so print a map and you shouldn't have any trouble. Transitions between some of the holes is somewhat long and you'll cover a decent bit of distance between holes. This really is a well designed, and it's a personal preference, but I wouldn't mind seeing a bit more bomber type holes vs. the technical ones.
Other Thoughts:
The course goes by a couple different names, most commonly referred to as "Delaware" by the locals. The holes are numbered as #1-11, "G", #12-18, and lastly the practice basket hole "#20". The pictures on DGCR as of Aug 2010 that show the course without foliage are misleading for anyone playing in the Spring or Summer... it looks a lot different when the leaves are in. After the recent facelift I'd say this course probably qualifies as a destination course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.