Delaware, OH 
Gordon Holton Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Must Play for Central Ohio

2-4    6/27/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + aesthetically pleasing scenery throughout course.
+ Doesn't get crowded
+ Lots of fun wooded holes that require accuracy.
+ Plenty of hole variety with regards to lines that need to be taken to the pin.
+ Varying terrain
+ Concrete short/long tees in great condition
+ All the necessary park amenities
Cons: - A couple of the transitions between holes would be confusing if you just show up there and start playing.
- Extra hole at end shoots on practice basket,
Other Thoughts: If you are traveling through Central Ohio this course and Brent Hambrick Memorial are the two that most locals agree, myself included, you must play. Unlike Brent Hambrick there aren't really any holes on the 18 that are open. But course condition, layout quality, and challenge I find to be very similar.

The land that you play through gently changes elevation but it is apparent that you are not playing a flat course which I find wonderful. The scenery is ... serene. Lots and lots of trees which add challenge and visual beauty. The course plays along a lake which you can see from a handful of the holes. The water never really comes in play ... but you can lose a disc in there if you shank one and somehow don't find a tree along the way to the shore. Overall its a pleasant hike as is with all the joy of disc golf along the way.

Signage I can't really add to pros or cons. The signs are there but pretty ugly. Yet the information on them is good. I'd really love to see the signs remade.

On the matter of the transitions between holes, they have been covered in length on other reviews, but I do feel the need to say that they are indeed confusing at times. The two extra holes (between 11/12 and after 18) are nice and while I like them being there because who doesn't want to let one fly when they see another tee and basket, I think they add very little to the over all quality of the course. Both are less challenging than the rest of the course and their presence, especially the one between 11/12 is genuinely confusing to players new there and not in the know.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Can be confusing for first timers

1    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: fender36
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Challenging course that requires less power and more control.
- Quite a bit of the course is shaded so you dont melt when playing during the summer.
Cons: - Can be challenging to find the next hole if you havent played before. Hole g really will throw you for a loop as it isnt labeled. Simply having a course map near the parking lot would really help out the new players.
- Mosquitos can be a bit of a nuisance because of all the water nearby.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very technical

1    4/8/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: spookytay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: it's a very technical course. Not really a power long throw course, but many holes are wooded and the pin is very strategically placed.

Nice concrete tees, but some are short and require a run up, gets muddy with lots of rain
Cons: Two holes mixed in the middle, before 12 and the one after 18 (this one is actually throwing at the practice basket before hole one, but it makes for a good final hole) may throw you off, but the course is a really good challenge.

It looks like they are still working on the pro tees, I think I only spotted one on the course, around hole 9 if I remember correctly.
Other Thoughts: A new favorite, I hear they play doubles around 11am on Sundays

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/30/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Great Variety
Nice Use of Elevation
Beautiful Scenery
Lake Comes Into Play on A Couple of Holes
Challenging
Great Layout
Ample Parking
Restrooms Near First Tee
Benches at Every Hole
Pro and Am Tee Pads (Some have three tees)
Very Well-Maintained
Cons:
Couple Long Walks Between Holes
Other Park Go-ers Seem Clueless and Can Get in the Way
Course is Prone to Being Swampy and Can Flood
Tee Signs Could Use Some Work
Other Thoughts:
This is a really nice course. The layout is great, with plenty of variation.

First two holes play along lake, if you go too far right on hole 2 you can make into the lake.

Hole 3 is one of the tougher one on the course in my opinion. The distance is pretty decent and the alley to throw through is pretty narrow.

Once you finish up with hole 3 you come to one of the tricky parts to navigate on the course. Follow the trail that leads out of the woods, past the basket for three, and follow the tree line, past the pond, around to the right and you will see the tee pad for 4.

Hole 4 is a big anhyzer (RHBH) around the tree line. Keep an eye on your disc here, to the right the wooded are has a lot of downed trees and underbrush that can eat your discs if your aren't careful.

Holes 5 and 6 are pretty straight forward, you can see the basket from the tee and there are some larger tees in the fairway, but you just pick your line and go with it.

Hole 7 shoot back into the woods. Its a long hyzer from the wide open into the woods. Once you are in the tree line its another 50-70 feet to the basket.

Hole 8 is pretty short, plays in the woods.

Holes 9 and 10 are out of the woods and across the driveway for the parking lot. The are more open, but still have large mature trees in the fairway to block that perfect line to the basket.

Hole 11 takes you back into the woods. Hole is a bit shorter, but very technical. The basket is located across the bridge and up the hill. There is a good risk/reward here, if you choose the wrong path or don't execute you can end up back down the hill and in the small creek.

After 11 you keep going up the hill and out of the woods. Straight into the field you will come across an extra hole (G).

After G you head across the road, right of the playground, for hole 12. This is my favorite hole on the course. Its like a bigger version of 11. The basket is located on top of the hill and there is a stream running through the hole at the bottom of the hill. Its is a bit of a shorter hole, but still can be very challenging.

Holes 13-17 are mostly wooded, and each have there own challenges. Most of these holes also provide you with nice views of the lake, although it really only comes into play if you have a really, really bad throw.

Hole 18 opens up a bit to finish it out.

This course is one of the best in the area. In my opinion it is right up there with Hoover (Brent Hambrick) which to most is the premier course in this area. This course has great variety, and can be challenging for even more advanced players. I have played this course multiple times and never have I had to contend with crowds, yet another thing that make this course wonderful. I can't count the times that I have went to Hoover and couldn't even get a parking space and then drove up Gordon Holton and there not be a soul on the course. Get out and check this one out guys, you will enjoy it.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem!

5+    9/16/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: Myers
Played: 94  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great views and visually appealing. Set in Delaware State Park with a great view of the lake on many holes and coming into play on a few holes. A great layout that flows well with hole 18 ending close to hole 1. A variety of shots required including distance and control. Both short and long tees are marked with both tees creating challenge. Very creative in design and placement of pins and tees. With completion of concrete tee pads this course will definitely be in my top 3 for central Ohio. As of 11/1/08 the course has concrete tees for all short tee pads. Adequate parking at hole one with a practice basket adjacent to the lot as well. Additional parking can be found next to hole 14 and 15
Cons: not much to speak of here. If anything there are a lot of low ceiling shots. Many of the fairways play under tree limbs or through a corridor of trees. This is a great touch for some holes but the low ceiling gets to be very repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This course is well designed and is enjoyable playing from either set of tees. A PDGA c tier event was held at the course in June 2008. When all improvements are completed I could see this being a very popular tournament location. The course is 19 holes currently. After completing hole 11 play hole G and then continue on to hole 12. Shooting par from the longs is a great round and just staying under par from the shorts can be tough sometimes. Defeinitely a great destination that includes camping, a beach, and boat access. updated 7/1. All tees are completed with concrete installed. rating updated to a 4 from a 3.5 which says a lot considering it is only 1 of 2 that I rated 4 or higher. Doubles on Sundays at noon $5.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.