Shreveport, LA 
Clyde Fant DGC Share
Uploaded By: aillet Hole #2 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Not my cup-o-tea...but kinda fun.

5+    3/26/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clyde Fant is known for 2 things around here: a pretty cool "final 9" holes, and the fact that it's lit for 24-hour play.

The regular 18-hole course is set on a median where Clyde Fant Parkway splits, and the highway lights keep it lit all night. I've never played here at night, but I've been told that even with the highway lights, you still have to keep a close eye on your discs.

The 18-hole layout is mostly short with some minor elevation changes on most. There are only a few holes where a 2 is out of the question. The pins for these holes are switched every few months.

The 18-hole course makes pretty good use of the land available (which isn't much), but the only part that I'm really fond of is the "West 9". After hole 18 you can cross under the highway through a tunnel to play these longer holes that offer a lot of sharp elevation change. These 9 holes are set on a thin strip of land that rises in the middle to a very thin plateau, which makes for some very difficult landing / green areas. Compared to the normal 18 holes, the West 9 is much more difficult, but more fun to play in my opinion. These are also the only holes that have any kind of "rough".
Cons: The 18-hole original layout is very cramped, and on certain holes can be downright dangerous. When I played there the first time, there were some very confusing mandos that didn't make any sense at all until a local pointed out that they were for a different hole than I was playing. The general flow of these holes isn't very smooth, and you'll most likely have to do a little investigating your first time through.

It's hard for me to put my finger on the exact reason why, but many of the holes feel "gimmicky" on the 18-hole layout.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, it's worth your time to stop and play, but otherwise I would recommend any of the other 3 courses in the area over Clyde Fant. The only reason I would travel back to this park specifically would be for the Shreveport Ironman Discgolf-a-thon or a round of night-time golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    2/15/2008   8/7/2008
Review By: aillet
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2008
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As already mentioned, this course is lit and there are players out every night until about 10:00. Even though this course is limited in landscape since it is in the median of a major parkway, there is significant undulation and foliage to make each shot unique. Not to mention the fact that every 2 months or so, the pins change to one of three different locations. This course will test all of your shots.
Cons: Weed and Thuggery, but what public area that is lit at night doesn't have those, huh? Those aren't really a factor, but make sure to play with a group if you play at night, just in case.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I was introduced to disc golf on, and I have thoroughly enjoyed it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

6/5/2008   6/5/2008
Review By: ChrisULM
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Trees provide shade during the summer time. Grass is well kept.
Cons: The course is somewhat boring in my opinion. None of the holes are that special and you play many of the same type shots over and over.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, but there are much better courses in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Night play

7/11/2007   1/2/2008
Review By: aclay
Played: 97  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 30.2 Years
Pros: Lit for night play, easily its best feature. 27 holes in one location. Good use of terrain on third 9.
Cons: Very little variation of terrain on front 18. No facilities.
Other Thoughts: The course is lit, but the lights are intended for walkers and not disc golfers, so some holes are kind of dark. You'll want a white/light disc if you play at night, and even then you could easily lose a disc.

 Lit for night play!

1/25/2007   7/23/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
Pros: Lit up at night. who could ask for more! I only played it after dark so I can't speak to how it plays during the day!
Cons: pretty wide open, Maybe thats a good thing!
Other Thoughts: being from NY it was a pleasure to be able to play without snow on the ground in January! I liked the course and would play there again!

 Clyde Fant

5+    6/30/2008   7/13/2007
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2009
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lit for night play. Excellent for hot summer days and after work. Concrete tee pads. the park itself is beautiful with lots of trees.
Cons: Not very well marked. There is not a lot of terrain variation. No signature holes.No bathrooms or other facilities.
Other Thoughts: I would play there again. The night play is it's best feature. the course is in a median of a divided road and the lights are not specifically for the course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.