Fort Pierce, FL 
Gordy Road Share
Uploaded By: tnadkins Hole #10 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Red Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    4/26/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 204  Reviewed: 201  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first couple of holes here gave me second thoughts about planning a day around a trip to Gordy Road. (to be fair I did not notice that the first hole had a blue tee until I found that the following holes had two tees each and looked at the map) Straight shots down a road for the most part, with water to the left but not really affecting play. I remembered a squarish lake from google maps and was thinking, "eh, another around-the-lake course?" Then I got to 4 which blew away those doubts. What a beauty. Gracefully curving fairway, edged by some tall grass and then dense brush just beyond that on either side. As the path lists to the right, the basket is just at the end of the fairway. It's a hole I want to throw a hundred times before going back to the first three holes.

5 is nice too. A similar look to 4 but a bit shorter with a late gap before a sharp left hook. Then I found out that the pond isn't a square as I thought. 6 is a hell of a carry. It is a long way across, (estimating 370) especially as it will force RHBH players to finish right to avoid ending up in the brink. That leads to 7, in my opinion the best hole on the course. It's stunning from either tee. The blue is another carry, though shorter than 6. Over water, over marsh and onto a wide peninsula. I might actually prefer the red tee. Straight down the peninsula, with marsh to the left and thick woods to the right. If there was ever a time to throw a straight shot, it when stepping up to 7 red.

The remainder of the holes don't match up to that four-hole run but it's solid gold from 8 to 15. Quite challenging golf from either tee from the most part. The tees often present a significantly different look but don't provide a huge disparity in difficulty. From any tee, this course is not for the timid golfer.

New signs that are really fantastic stand near tees that one could have few complaints about. It's all on a really nice piece of land with surprisingly scenic terrain give how close to the highway it is. Located right on the junction of I95 and the Florida Turnpike, it's a great place for an experienced player to stop and play a round.
Cons: The course could be considered a jack-of-all-trades, but it's really more a master-of-none. It's not a great destination course, because, well, it's not. It doesn't have that feeling of awe. You won't walk away thinking, "can't wait to play there again. There are some good holes but nothing truly memorable and it doesn't play well enough for first-timers.

It's also not a great travel stop. Again, it doesn't play nice with first-time players, and it's a bit too long and a bit too heavy with lost disc potential to be a quick-and-easy, get off the highway and play a round course. Shame since it is so close to a highway.

And though I think it plays better with experience, it's not really an everyday course either. Twice a month on league day? Sure. But I wouldn't want this to be my go-to local course that I play most of my rounds on. The rough is too rough and the inevitable disc searched would get tiresome.

In any case, while I felt the course had some great holes, as an entire course it didn't really pull together. I mentioned 1 and 2 above but 17 and 18 were even more disappointing. I realize that the course had to get from the parking lot to the main section and then back but that's a high percentage of holes that don't work.

But even in that bulk section of the course that sports solid holes, the course as a whole is awkward. There is no flow. Constant backtracking to tees that aren't in obvious spots. Blues and reds with odd spacial relationships. 14 and 15 stuck in that corner where you have to sorta cross part of the front nine. It takes away from it, especially as a first-timer. The navigation could generously be described as spotty. It's just tough to find your way around at times which will leave many a player frustrated.

That won't be the only source of frustration for players on their first trip to Gordy Road. These fairways, though accurately mapped have a lot of places where seemingly good tee shots will leave a disc in tall grass or thick shule. It barely needs to be said that this also not a good place for inexperienced throwers.

The far position for the baskets are often less than excellent. A lot of courses have this issue. The local players want alternate pin locations and of course they want the new locations to be harder. So they put them about thirty feet further along and maybe stick them into the woods a bit. And most places, but especially here, the new pins are worse. They turn holes into tweener holes. They introduce more luck. More than anything, they ruin the flow of a hole. The fairway leads to a logical place and then boom, no basket. It's just over there. I can't count the number of unused pin locations here that made me think, that's a nice basket spot. When alt baskets are added to a course, really they should stay in the standard locations for the majority of the time and be moved for league play and kept there for maybe a week per month. Basically, if the new pin placement is so good, why didn't the designer just put it there to begin with.
Other Thoughts: Finally, are there any locals on here? Hole info and pictures are incorrect.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gordy road

5+    3/23/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 80  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 20.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many pros where to start. First the challenge & variety of shots is unmatched by the courses in Ft. Lauderdale/Miami area. Long & short concrete tees on all 18, new signs & baskets for new 18 layout, no crouds, watter holes, fairways that look like a ball golf course (winter) with manacured grass fairways that transition to short, then longer/taller rough.
Cons: Can be a disc eater. Weeds very tall on 17, 18 & 19. No return to car until 18. A bit in the middle of nowhere for a south Florida resident. Can be standing water aound by 10-11 after rain. Not an easy flow & hard for first timers to negotiate even with signs. This was to preserve some of the original layout.
Other Thoughts: If you are driving north to Disney or down to south Florida on I-95 or Turnpike this is a don't miss in winter when rough is down. It is only 2 minutes off the highways. The palm trees, weeds and water can eat discs. Bring some sacrificial lambs for first time. As you can see from the pictures taken in July, the rough is very tall in summer. Restroom by parking lot for the ladies. Picnic tables by parking area. Since it is far from home bring lunch & spend the day. Trash cans by rest room only so pack in-pack out. Dont be a dirty disc-r. This is a hard course that is not for beginners. Some of the Reds play like White or Blue level. The Blue tees here play like Gold level with the long water carries & rough.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

not for beginners!

1    9/6/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: TiVo713
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a beautiful course, with great teepads, new baskets, and very well laid out. On the course map it doesn't look like an impossible course...
Cons: ...however the fairways are wayyyyy too narrow, i'm talking like 5-10 ft wide mowed grass with knee high grass everywhere else. It hadn't rained in a few days and the course was pretty wet with areas flooded. If you're a beginner, i would not recommend...
Other Thoughts: While I'm a halfway decent disc golfer, i was going up to a tournament with my ultimate team. I provided loaner discs for everyone. By hole 6, they had thrown 7 discs either into the water, into trees, or lost in rough grass never to be seen again even with a teamwide manhunt. Would it kill you guys to open the fairway up a tiny bit? Being a ft lauderdale player, i'm used to more open spaces like tradewinds, easterlin and indian hammocks.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

a VERY challenging course

5+    2/17/2013   2/18/2013
Review By: Bocephus_Moonshine
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course has two concrete pads per hole and multiple pin positions on most holes. This course will challenge you to become a better player.

With three water holes, the league gives you the option of taking a two stroke penalty to throw from the short pads, which don't cross water.

The new signs have been installed, making it easier to navigate the course!
Cons: With narrow fairways and tall grass on both sides, you can spend a lot of time looking for discs, especially when you play alone.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the area because it's made me a better player. If you come out for the Saturday morning handicap and play in a group, it's not so bad. The course has recently been expanded from 9 to 18 holes, and every hole has a pair of concrete pads (blue and red).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Gordy Road DGC

1    12/25/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Together Gordy Road Park and the Up The Ten Mile Creek Disc Golf Club have put together a very fun and challenging course. The course has recently been upgraded to eighteen holes from the previous nine and is a welcome addition. Highlighted by the lake with its water carries, some tight fairways, and the punishing rough, there's plenty to test golfers of all skill levels. Two tee pads per hole, perfectly sized with a nice rough finish provide a couple of options with the multiple pin placements that keep things fresh. The baskets are in newer, in great shape, and of course they catch well.

Not unlike the few Florida courses I've played, there are not many elevation changes throughout the course. Instead, it relies on the other natural characteristics of the land. Namely, the before mentioned lake that not only asked for the couple of water carries from the longs but it'll also show it's face on a couple of holes where a bad drive will have you flirting with the water too. Demanding fairways and thoughtfully placed baskets tucked in areas guarded by trees and a variety of palms will add to the challenge. Overall I felt like the holes favored left handed back hand or right handed flick throwers so that can add to the challenge if righty anhyzers give you trouble. An elevated basket was also a nice touch for a change of pace midway through the round.

The course itself is in its own area of the park with seemingly no chance for other park users to interfere with your round. Ample parking with bathrooms available make for a nice touch. Eighteen's basket, being near the parking lot, doubles for a practice basket. Finally you'll find a nicely trimmed course with the grass cut to define the fairways and paths from hole to hole.
Cons: A lot of the cons here will go away with time . At this point lack of signage would be the biggest complaint. But as mentioned by a couple of locals this is on the to-do list. Secondly, and this is purely a personal preference, I thought there was way too much shule when you get off the fairways. It could be very easy to lose a disc on errant shots or bad kicks off trees. At times even a decent shot can be unfairly punished in some cases.

The nearby landfill stinks pretty bad and the smell found its way to the course on a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I'd suggest playing with locals your first time out. Because of the lack of signage (as of 12/12) and the opportunities to lose discs, someone guiding you around and the added convenience of having a spotter will save you a bit of frustration.

If you're passing through, it's a quick stop off the turnpike or I-95.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    8/14/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: Hitman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well groomed, multiple tees and baskets. The course was mowed down the fairways and it was marked fairly well. I had no trouble navigating to the next hole my first time out. Tees are concrete pads.
Cons: Tall grass to the sides can easily hide a disc (and a snake) causing a pause in the action. Keep it on the fairways. It is only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: This truly is a nice little course to play for everyone. Me3t some nice people while I was there, very helpful and informative. Hopefully they will add some more holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Camp Bubbles Swinger Shanty Town

1    2/10/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Dual tees on this course allows for varying levels of play. The long tees definitely add some difficulty which includes some water carries.

2) Challenging course with all of the tall grass and brush in spots. There really aren't that many shots that are just straight out there for you. You need to work your disc all directions and have a ceiling on a few of the shots too.

3) Nice signs have Hole#, Distance, par, and a general map of the hole. They also go one step further and post photos of what the approaches look like so you can use it as a way to figure out the landing area and what angle you might want to take. I have never seen this before but I think it is a great idea.

4) #9 is a very interesting basket location. It is set on a raised mound of soil. It feels a little like a bunker soldiers would hide behind. I like the subtle alteration to the norm that this creates.

5) Fairways were mowed but they aren't super wide, but at least they clear a path for you to feel somewhat safe as you walk down the fairway.

6) The elevated basket on #6 is also a pretty cool thing. It's on a relatively simple hole so it adds a level of challenge on the putting.

7) Excellent variety in distance on this course. The dual tees also really alter the range of the holes too.

8) Painted posts indicate the tee areas. They are color coded for which tee you are playing.

9) Number of the hole is located on like a 4x4 post on top of these homemade baskets. There never is a question about what basket you are throwing at but it helps in navigation as you pass by another basket you can more easily figure out which way you are going next.

10) 10) There are restrooms and plenty of parking available. There is also a sign showing you where you need to walk to get to the first tee. One more arrow is needed but at least they point you in the right direction.

11) Excellent property with a large lake, some rolling Florida wetland and low areas. There is a variety of trees and foliage here which makes for an interesting property.
Cons: 1) The only issue I have with the signs is they will eventually break down from the sweltering sun because they are just laminated pieces of paper. Moisture will get under the lamination and the paper will disintegrate.

2) There was only 1 snake sighting but I am sure there are hundreds out in the tall grass. Perhaps they aren't out much this time of year but I was fearful the entire time walking through the tall grass. I know my wife didn't really want me walking all around the course.

3) This course will also force you to look for your disc at many times. While the shots aren't totally blind, there is a lot of plant material and tall grass that you can easily end up in.

4) I would say this course is far from beginner friendly.

5) The rubber tees have shown their age ripping in parts and falling apart at the edges.

6) Homemade baskets are single chain and do not quite catch like all other baskets.

7) No garbage cans that I can remember and the only bench I remember was at #9 basket.
Other Thoughts: Camp Bubbles is located on the way into the park after you cross the bridge you aren't sure you are supposed to be crossing. I think the most logical explanation of the name of this camp is that they are a bunch of swingers that live in the two RV's and the one house on the property. They also have a pet turkey apparently because it followed me up and down the road right there. I think it was waiting to be fed. I even backed up my car and it followed me that way. Or you could take a look down below the bridge and see all the bubbles from the small waterfall, but I would like to think that this was a shanty town of swingers.

I wonder if the rogue deer that jumped out of the woods as we were walking towards #1 was also from Camp Bubbles. We were scared when it jumped out because we had no idea what the noise was and then it started to charge us for a few paces and then it jumped back down off the path into the low area and through the natural area.

The biggest thing that makes me want to give this course a bad rating is actually an unfair reason to rate the course lower. Basically it is the naturalness of the area and the fact I guarantee there are plenty of deadly animals off to the peripheral areas on this course. As the course is designed it has some great holes and unique features and it should be rated accordingly. While my concern for my life is a factor I cannot let that part take too much off the course rating so I am keeping it at a 3.5 when in actuality I would be less likely to come back because of the snakes and scorpions and whatever else might be in the tall grass.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

1    2/6/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed/thought out course, takes advantage of the space provided well.

Good signage; clearly marks where pro/am tees are

Baskets vary in elevation, adding a dimension to some of the holes you don't often get in FL.

Course requires a bit of finesse

Beautiful area
Cons: Large lake, good luck retrieving any lost discs

Not all holes are pro & am, some are combined; add to that some slightly short holes (< 200 ft.), and you get one or two short pro holes (i'm a rank amateur, so this didn't bother me)

Walkways are a bit narrow, and unless you're super accurate, you may end up in some brush

Just to be nit-picky, I-95 provides the soundtrack here;

Check for TP in the bathroom before you sit down!
Other Thoughts: OK, so this course is like a hidden treasure of sorts. Only 9 holes, but what it lacks in length it makes up for in scenic beauty, ease of navigation and design. I think it being Super Bowl Sunday had something to do with the fact that we only saw 1 other person, which was nice. On the west side you have beautiful FL scenery, the lake is large and nice to look at, and on the east, just beyond I-95 there's a gorgeous mountain (read landfill) view.

At the risk of sounding redundant, the place is well maintained albeit a bit narrow; if you're a noob like me it's easy to get into the brush.

Also, we didn't take a dirt road to hole 1 like the directions said; we parked near the entrance by a big DISC GOLF sign (you can't miss it). There's a trail just beyond that to the right, & 150-200 yards down is the first tee.

The only reasons I give this place a 3.5 & not a 4 are that it's only 9 holes and a bit cramped.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 holer

1    12/20/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: 21111
Played: 84  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes 3 and 4 from long tees are two of the best anywhere. fairways are mowed.
Cons: Fairways need to be widened or Atleast landing areas developed to make it more enjoyable experience.
Other Thoughts: Nice use of the terrain, like the elevated basket on hole 6.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gem in FLORIDA

1    4/24/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: bennyb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well groomed
Friendly locals (they like to Turbo putt)
tons of fun obstacles
Cons: Lots of obstacles
Close fairways
Only 9 holes. Though there are long and short tees
Signage a little confusing
Other Thoughts: Cool little spot.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.