Fort Pierce, FL 
Gordy Road Share
Uploaded By: tnadkins Hole #11 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 161ft.   3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Blue Tee Sign



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Best Course in South FL

1    4/22/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: roclover
Played: 143  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signage, fantastic usage of available land/obstacles, good mix of shots and shot selection/choice on each hole, not busy, well manicured, easy to navigate and overall a fun course to play.

Cons: No elevation... but hey, it's FLORIDA.

Noise from the highway was a little annoying, but I tuned it out after a few holes.

The water holes may intimidate you, and alligators may eat your disc.
Other Thoughts: This was an unexpected gem for me. I was traveling down to Miami to visit my sister and stopped in at Deerfield beach for the day. Decided to check on the off chance that there may be something in the area and found out that it was basically right under me!

One of the greatest things about this course is how "Florida" it is. There's really no where else where you could play a course quite like this. I was also delighted by the AM and PRO options. I played twice and felt like I was playing a full 18 as opposed to a slightly longer repeat (which seems to be the case in many courses).

From the AM tees it's mostly a mid-range/putter accuracy game with good risk/reward to get those birdies.

The PRO tees actually allowed me to throw some drivers for the first time of the day including the 500+ foot bomb on hole 9.

I've played just about every course in south Florida and this little 9 hole is my favorite. I would come back in a heartbeat, and intend to stop here again next time I'm visiting family in FL.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun!

1    7/20/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: theGryphon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A short and very fun course. As I walked the course it almost felt like a well groomed ball golf course. I like the alternate tees. Played the short ones for a nice warm up 9, then played the long ones.
Cons: Need trash cans! On the plus side it seems most of the trash on the course is put into one or two piles. There wasn't lots of random litter.
Other Thoughts: Will return to play. This course is 45-50 min from my house and it's currently the only course I'll even consider playing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Wild Course

5+    8/16/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: Lamprim
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Summer and Fall, very low traffic. Winter and Spring brings people out daily. Friendly locals who host random draw doubles handicap matches on Wednesday evenings(maybe not so much when it's wet). Well groomed fairways and greens. As mentioned, after pulling into the County Park the gate to the course parking lot is open now. The basket for nine is now a hanging basket. That's a pro, right?
Cons: Summer and Fall, the roughs are rough! Grasses...grasses...two to three feet and they hide discs well. Fennels and other large weeds reach seven feet in some places, especially hole 4. Many of the trees have been recently trimmed and a good bit of the smilax and grape vines that trap discs in the trees have been pulled out, but the trees are always hungry. Watch out for fire ants! I've been pulling out the sand spurs, shouldn't be any now. If we get a decent tropical storm or a hurricane half of the course WILL be under water, and the fairways and green at 4 WILL hold bass.
Other Thoughts: Early morning visitors have a great chance to spot deer, bobcats, or hogs. Lots of snakes too. Watch out if a thunderstorm comes up, don't chill under the oak at 9's basket. The tree has been struck before. Good stuff.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/25/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: GordyRdLocal
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is fairly well maintained, fairways are well defined, usually fairly empty (not too well known yet,and off the beaten trail) The course is in a county recreational park with only hiking trails and fishing, no playgrounds or ball fields. This means it's almost always just Disc Golfers that you come across. Well marked signs on each tee. Baskets are in excellent condition.
Cons: The roughs are very unforgiving!!! Especially in the summer when the grasses can get up to 3 feet high. Don't take your eye off your disc!!! Not enough garbage recepticles. Middle thru late summer means VERY wet and marshy, with some really killer mosquito populations.
Other Thoughts: This is my "Home" course so I might be a little bias. However it really is a fun course. The "Locals" have added a new tee for # 6 which used to have just the one . You will find it as you walk the path from # 5 to # 6. It has a carpet tee pad (for now). If you come any time other than the rainy season, this course can be a blast. Monday thru Friday during business hours, you will think it's your own private course. Oh yeah, that dreaded walk from the parking lot is a thing of the past. As "slipdisc" said, there is a dirt road going back to the parking lot and we convinced the county to leave it open at all times. The lake DOES have Gators, a couple of four footers and at least one eight footer, so be careful when trying to retrieve any errant discs!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice little course

2-4    6/15/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: slipdisc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think it great to have a course in the area. A nice 9 holer and fairways are kept mowed, well marked. It is very private which is nice. A couple of water hazards make it interesting. Quite a lot packed in a small course.
Cons: GPS wont get you there!
The directions on this site are accurate.
Other Thoughts: Some have mentioned the long walk to 1st Tee. If you come in the recreation area and go past the main parking lot on left, there is a dirt road off to the right, go through the gate (if open ha), that will take you to a small parking lot right at the 1st Tee!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A fun little course

1    1/25/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: rjgarment
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Secluded, Like having your own private course.
Cons: Tall thick "bedding" grass makes finding your disc a bit of a pain. Water hazards are designed to challenge the backhanded player.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't mind a little less authenticity in regards to local foliage, i.e. shorter grass. The tall grass REALLY makes it a pain to find your disc on a few holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Shhh! Lets keep it a secret.

5+    1/4/2007   1/16/2009
Review By: cocopop
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is my favorite 9 hole course. Even though it is a short course, it still has some good distance holes that top 4-500 ft. The shorter holes can be tricky and very rewarding. It is off the beaten path so it is never played. You aren't gonna loose too much plastic here unless you really try to.
Cons: The walk from parking to hole 1 is way long. There aren't any facilities so bring lots of water, especially in the summer! Oh ya, SAND BURRS, they're everywhere. Wear pants or long sox.
Other Thoughts: My cousin made the Tee signs and helped design the course so I got to play it very early on, but not in a while.

Final thought;
If you got the nuts, go for the shot on 3 across the pond. It's about 325ft across to the fairway. It feels good when you hit it, but it's the only real opportunity to loose plastic on the course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice spot

5+    5/1/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nobody plays here! I've been here over 20 times and never seen a single person, although I've found a few discs. The layout isn't actually forward and backward like the previous review suggests. It's dual tees. Red and Blue. There is a nice fishing lake that comes into play on a few early holes. No water otherwise. There are no real mature trees here so loosing a disc isn't a problem other than the taller palms which eat discs like cookie monster on cookies! The course is well groomed but by who? Not sure. Seems like the county parks association takes care of it. Easy layout, with a few switchbacks.
Cons: Not easy to find. County parks also gates it during the wet season and into the summer. Not being able to access the parking lot adds about another 3000 feet in and out to the whole walk.
The Florida turnpike is overshadowing the course, so it's often windy and often noisy.
Other Thoughts: Over all a decent design, good baskets and little traffic. A nearby park offers some scenery and some gators!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Way back up in the

2-4    8/6/2008   8/7/2008
Review By: grynreeper
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very well taken care of from the looks of it. The hole info signs at each of the tees (both red and blue) give a very nice appearance to the course. The fairways are marked with approach flags which help guide your shots on some of the trickier holes. The flow from hole to hole is quite good. The overall design of the course utilizes all of the available land and "hazard" areas very effectively. The course loops around very well right back to the first tee. There is good distance on most of the holes with some at, or in excess of 500 feet to the hole from the red tee. All of the baskets seem to be kept up very well. The last perk about this course is that it seems like the course is being developed for a full 18 holes at some point. Right now the course is just played backwards (which is also marked quite well) to make a full 18.
Cons: The parking area is quite small right at the entranced to the course. Also, the first tee is a bit of a walk from the parking area - at least half a mile. The course was very "marshy" when I played it, although it was Florida during the rainy season so I cannot really say too much. It is VERY easy to loose a discs on some of the holes due to high grass/weeds and thick foliage or deep (one is a pond) water hazards. If you haven't perfected the art of a straight throw yet, I would recommend shorten, more intentional throws. Lastly, not really to due with the course in particular - but in the summer it is HOTTT!!! Bring plenty of water for the long walk to and from the course and for the time you spend playing as well.
Other Thoughts: I would really like to return to this course later in the year when some of the water on the course and a lot of the bugs (mosquitoes) as well has disappeared. I believe it would greatly enhance the dynamic of the game-play and allow the course to be fully appreciated for its layout, challenge and beauty...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.