Disc Golf Store
Towson, MD 
Goucher College DGC Share
Uploaded By: huskie2husker Hole #6 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 from the dogleg



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A 10th Hole!

5+    10/13/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: KevinTheRandom
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 1/29/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well groomed course and concrete tee boxes.
There are some trees and obstacles to shoot around which make it a challenging little course.
It has definitely grown on me the more I play it.
Cons: As others have mentioned, the holes are very close to each other which makes it slightly annoying if there are multiple groups playing.
Also, If you have a bad throw into the woods during the summer, good luck finding it!
Other Thoughts: There is a short 10th hole! (See map entitled "Hole 10" under the Links/Files tab)
The concrete tee box says P on it which i assume means practice. But the basket says 10 on it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

1    3/29/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: dashiellx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful Concrete Tee Pads
Very Well Maintained Grounds
People not playing are considerate
Cons: Small, narrow fairways
Pretty much every hole doglegs to the right
No legal parking during school hours
Other Thoughts: Very nice little course that is quick to play. The tee pads are great. My main issue is that every hold doglegs to the right as if there wasn't much imagination used when creating the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Goucher College

5+    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: paul_dgcr
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located on a strip of land next to a college campus road.

All holes are par 3. Fairway and putter discs are enough.

Tees are nice concrete pads that have the hole information on them.

Most obstacles are lightly wooded trees or dog legs around clumps of bushes.

Obstacles and dog legs make it surprisingly difficult to make par for a round of 9 holes.

Have never seen others use the course. Very quick to play a round of 9 holes.

Baskets and tees are in good shape,

Beginner friendly.

Even though it is in a major city, course is quiet and scenic

Nice course to mix in with the other local courses to keep things fresh.
Cons: Holes are close together which could cause some safety issues, but as mentioned, I've never seen others playing.

If unfamiliar with course, it is easy to throw at the wrong basket.

Hole 7 runs very close along the side of the college road where O.B. is the curb. Need to be aware of cars when on this hole so that you don' t hits cars as they drive by.

Many holes have long or thick grass which can stop the disc immediately when hitting the ground. No skipping.

Beer cans can be found many times on the fairways during school. Not so much when school is out.
Other Thoughts: Course is fun and easy to play. My guess is that the course was put there as an activity for the students.

Challenging to make par for a round of 9 holes

Not a destination course, but definitely worth playing if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Small Tight Course

1    4/10/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice little course in the back corner of the college. The college grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. The course is set up in a small corner of the college. It's amazing how they fit nine holes into such a small part of the campus. The tee pads on this course are awesome. They are long and concrete and have the information on the hole engraved into a metal part of tee box. The course does use a variety of shots which makes the course interesting and has you use more than one disc.
Cons: The course is really small and if there are a number of people playing, watch out! There are a couple of holes that would possibly benefit from putting a mandatory sign because if you want, you can throw certain paths that would make the hole easier. Although the course does use a variety of shots, I would say the course leans heavily on right hand anhyzer shots. Because the course wraps around a certain part of the campus, the course keeps moving to the right.
Other Thoughts: The fact that they have their own disc golf course on campus is pretty awesome. Even if it is in a small little area, those who play will benefit from having a nice practice course. This would be a good place to bring someone who has never played before as it is not long and you don't need many discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice short outing

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: dcleve
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 8/12/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes, while mostly short, are techncally challenging. I found each of the holes to play significantly differently from each other. The course is well maintained, with no poison ivy.
Cons: The bidggest downside I found was that the baskets are pretty much always out of sight of the tees. It is frustrating to play a course where you cannot see where the target is, and often cannot see where your disc lands.
Other Thoughts: Some posters complained about the strong right curve bias (benefits lefties), the shortness, and the sameness. Only the first four holes have this strong right curve, and each of them played very differently for me. And the back half of the course (5-9) are longer, stretching my old duffer of an arm.
I dueced the first hole (rare for me), and was afraid it was too easy a course. But after the round I went back and rethrew hole 1 a dozen times, and found the anhyzer over the corner of the tennis courts tricky to repeat, with only two throws landing within the outer range of my putting (and I missed them both).
The crowding problem was no issue, as I was the only player on the course that Saturday afternoon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, Right-Leaning Manicured Course

11/23/2007   11/26/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Upkeep, variety
Cons: Most fairways either cross or overlap others.
Other Thoughts: The tight nine-hole course on the campus of Goucher College has two distinguishing features - upkeep, and right turns. Every hole features one nice teepad, with a diagram of the hole and length info engraved onto a metal plate at the base of each teepad. The landscape is cut grass and nice established trees, with some elevation to deal with. And each of the first four holes requires a controlled right turn of varying length and degree of difficulty, and only one of the nine holes plays to the more usual righthand/backhand tendency of negotiating a left turn.

The Goucher College course plays on a winding strip of land that runs between the main campus road and a forest that provides a buffer for the school's stables. So the landscape has two main effects on the course. First, it's tight. On each of the nine holes your tee shot has the potential to affect any play occurring on at least one and perhaps two or three other holes. So I wouldn't want to share the course with too many other groups. Second, while five or six of the course's nine holes play among some trees and thus require some control on your drives, several of the holes also play alongside a thick stand of woods and underbrush. Thus, any shots that get away from you or get caught in the wind can be severely penalized, as these thorny woods will squelch any hope of a good recovery shot.

Overall, if you don't have to share the course with too many others, Goucher College is a great place to get in a quick round. It's got great teepads, several woods type holes, one good downhill hole, one good uphill hole, and two holes that are close to 400 feet, which is surprising considering the minimal amount of space the course is on.

Favorite Hole - #5 - Longest hole on course goes down a long incline and around a steep hill to the left.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.