Towson, MD 
Goucher College DGC Share
Uploaded By: huskie2husker Hole #5 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Quick & fun college 9 hole

1    2/15/2013   2/15/2013
Review By: S. Flavius Mercurius
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beginner friendly, fun, quick to play. Real easy to play through twice for a fast 18. Moderately hilly, with enough trees to provide obstacle and challenge. Some risk-reward opportunities. Course flows relatively well, without any signage or markers. Benches and trash cans at some holes. Concrete tee pads are excellent and provide direction and distance to the basket. It's located on a college campus, so it's remarkably well-maintained with scenic views of both the landscape and female inhabitants.
Cons: Most holes are dogleg rights, varying only in elevation and how sharp the turn. None play through the woods, though errant throws could land there in thick prickers. Many of the fairways intersect so it could be tough to play on busier days. One hole plays close to a road, and another has a basket positioned close to it, so there's a chance an off-line shot could land there.
Other Thoughts: Knew there was a tenth hole there, somewhere, but couldn't find it. And as other reviewers have noted, there is also opportunity to play alternative holes here, or even create your own (perhaps even unintentionally). ..

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for practicing sharp right turns

2-4    6/7/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: demongund
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Very nice landscaping
* Nice, long tees with plaques showing distance and curvature
Cons: * Some holes have you driving right across or near the tees for others. If too many people are playing (5 or so) there may be long waits
* The rough on the right will put you in some poison oak if you don't watch it
Other Thoughts: This course was very pretty and quiet. It is TIGHT though, holes placed pretty close to one another not leaving much room for multiple parties to play without waiting.

Seeing how forgiving this course was, I opted to bring my fiance here to teach her how to throw. Without any dangerous rough (creeks, briars) she had a great time throwing the disc all over :)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  versatile course

5+    12/5/2009   12/11/2009
Review By: GLong
Played: 66  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: concrete tees, good baskets, regular maintenance - better than most 9 hole courses Ive played. the other reviews pretty much nail it. not much traffic on the course and easy to play in a half-hour if you are in a rush and want to get some golf in or have time to kill. its about a mile from the baltimore beltway so if you're travelling through it's worth a quick stop, for sure.
Cons: yup its only 9 holes but if you are hungry for more - play the 'loin 9' (as the locals call it) that I have listed below. the first 4 holes are lefty-oriented but as a righty I enjoy the challenge.
Other Thoughts: Goucher 'Loin 9'

1) 1 tee to 2 pin
2) 3 tee to 4 pin
3) 7 tee to 3 pin
4) 4 tee to 6 pin
5) across the road by the pines (bare spot in the ground) to 5 pin
6) 6 tee to 4 pin
7) 7 tee to 8 pin
8- 2 tee to 7 pin
9) 8 tee to 9 pin

there is a second 'loin 9' as well but it's a little more cryptic, make up your own if you are feeling adventurous.

Second 'Loin 9'
1) 1 tee to 7 pin
2) manhole up hill by parking lot/road near 7 pin to 3 pin
3) walk up hill across road to the weird phallic tree stump past trees and shoot from there to 2 pin
4) manhole to 6 pin (road and across OB)
5) walk along the top of the hill up from 6 pin along road to the end (near the end of the building but still on top of the hill) and shoot to 4 pin (through/around pine trees, road and across OB)
6) phallic stump to 3 pin
7) across the log behind 3 pin to 2 pin
8- manhole to 1 pin
9) on the small berm next to 1 pin, by the bush near berm closer to the 2 tee, throw from the berm to 9 pin

that second nine is tough to explain, hope it can be figured out

(courtesy of glen hatfield, taken from the MD disc golf board)

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

2-4    3/20/2010   11/29/2009
Review By: cblack129
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads with distance and flight path. Impossible to get lost. Plenty of parking. Baskets are in great condition. Most baskets are visible from the tee. There is a little bit of elevation change. Good use of the land that was available to work with. If you get off the fairway and into the woods on some holes, the brush can be very thick.
Cons: Only 9 holes. A few holes cross each other. Could be troublesome if course has a few groups playing. One hole plays right next to a road. An errant throw could end up on the road.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course for beginners or to get in a quick practice round. Definitely worth it to check out if in the area. Playing solo, you can get a round in, in 30 minutes or less. When I played it was thanksgiving weekend, so no college folks around. May be busier when college is in session.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Your mom goes to Goucher College DGC

1    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: huskie2husker
Played: 98  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well taken care of park.
-Easy navigation; no map needed.
Cons: -Somewhat cramped; holes overlap.
-Parking lot and road are a little too close to holes 7 and 8.
-Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: I played this course the same day as Silver Creek DGC and Pine Grove Middle School. I don't live very close to these, but if I was back in the area, Goucher is the only one I would want to go back to. As far as 9-holers go, this one is pretty nice. There are plenty of obstacles and the grass was freshly cut when I played.

Overall, the course moves in a counter-clockwise direction around the park. The first tee is between the basketball and tennis courts. Once you find that you can't get lost since the tee pads have plates that give you the distance and direction of the holes, and the next tee pad is always close by. In fact, sometimes it is too close, even forcing you to cross over or in front of the next tee pad. The day I played, I didn't even see another disc golfer, but I could see how other groups would get in the way. Additionally, a few of the early holes overlap with the later holes, so if there were even 2 groups on the course, you would probably have at least one hole where you were in each other's way.

Apart from that, my only complaint is that 7 forces you to more or less throw over a road, and 8 bring the parking lot into play (The day I played, there was a sign by the parking lot that said "Trustee Meeting Parking." The lot was full of BMWs and Mercedes. I imagine if I was a student there, that would have been the bonus hole).

Really, the only thing preventing me from rating this course higher is that it is only 9 holes, and the layout is cramped. Both of these issues stem from the same problem that there isn't very much space available. I think the course makes great use of what was available and as long as it isn't crowded, it can make for a fun round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and classy

1    11/2/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great flow, course was so easy to navigate and no time is wasted looking for the next tee. Nice long cement tees, and each one has an engraved plaque with the holes distance and the direction of the basket. There was some elevation in play on holes 1 and 6.
Cons: Only 9 holes and most of them are wicked right shots. You don't throw to the left until hole 5.
Be careful where you park on weekdays. Most parking requires permits.
Some overlapping of the fairways may cause frustration when course is busy.
Some throws go uncomfortably close to the faculty and permit lots or the road.
Other Thoughts: Hole 6 was the only memorable hole. The rest were very similar to each other.
but it is a nice place for a quick round.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.