Disc Golf Store
Towson, MD 
Goucher College DGC Share
Uploaded By: huskie2husker Hole #7 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 392ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 from the dogleg



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Nice Little Course

2-4    3/20/2010   11/29/2009
Review By: cblack129
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads with distance and flight path. Impossible to get lost. Plenty of parking. Baskets are in great condition. Most baskets are visible from the tee. There is a little bit of elevation change. Good use of the land that was available to work with. If you get off the fairway and into the woods on some holes, the brush can be very thick.
Cons: Only 9 holes. A few holes cross each other. Could be troublesome if course has a few groups playing. One hole plays right next to a road. An errant throw could end up on the road.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course for beginners or to get in a quick practice round. Definitely worth it to check out if in the area. Playing solo, you can get a round in, in 30 minutes or less. When I played it was thanksgiving weekend, so no college folks around. May be busier when college is in session.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A nice short outing

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: dcleve
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 8/12/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes, while mostly short, are techncally challenging. I found each of the holes to play significantly differently from each other. The course is well maintained, with no poison ivy.
Cons: The bidggest downside I found was that the baskets are pretty much always out of sight of the tees. It is frustrating to play a course where you cannot see where the target is, and often cannot see where your disc lands.
Other Thoughts: Some posters complained about the strong right curve bias (benefits lefties), the shortness, and the sameness. Only the first four holes have this strong right curve, and each of them played very differently for me. And the back half of the course (5-9) are longer, stretching my old duffer of an arm.
I dueced the first hole (rare for me), and was afraid it was too easy a course. But after the round I went back and rethrew hole 1 a dozen times, and found the anhyzer over the corner of the tennis courts tricky to repeat, with only two throws landing within the outer range of my putting (and I missed them both).
The crowding problem was no issue, as I was the only player on the course that Saturday afternoon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short one

1    6/8/2008   6/8/2009
Review By: brooksjames80
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice landscape and design.
Good variety of throws for the amount of holes.
Cons: Too short.
Parking seems to be an issue. There seems to be signs for parking passes only. ??? I could be wrong.
Other Thoughts: Course has some potential if more holes were added.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Your mom goes to Goucher College DGC

1    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: huskie2husker
Played: 93  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well taken care of park.
-Easy navigation; no map needed.
Cons: -Somewhat cramped; holes overlap.
-Parking lot and road are a little too close to holes 7 and 8.
-Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: I played this course the same day as Silver Creek DGC and Pine Grove Middle School. I don't live very close to these, but if I was back in the area, Goucher is the only one I would want to go back to. As far as 9-holers go, this one is pretty nice. There are plenty of obstacles and the grass was freshly cut when I played.

Overall, the course moves in a counter-clockwise direction around the park. The first tee is between the basketball and tennis courts. Once you find that you can't get lost since the tee pads have plates that give you the distance and direction of the holes, and the next tee pad is always close by. In fact, sometimes it is too close, even forcing you to cross over or in front of the next tee pad. The day I played, I didn't even see another disc golfer, but I could see how other groups would get in the way. Additionally, a few of the early holes overlap with the later holes, so if there were even 2 groups on the course, you would probably have at least one hole where you were in each other's way.

Apart from that, my only complaint is that 7 forces you to more or less throw over a road, and 8 bring the parking lot into play (The day I played, there was a sign by the parking lot that said "Trustee Meeting Parking." The lot was full of BMWs and Mercedes. I imagine if I was a student there, that would have been the bonus hole).

Really, the only thing preventing me from rating this course higher is that it is only 9 holes, and the layout is cramped. Both of these issues stem from the same problem that there isn't very much space available. I think the course makes great use of what was available and as long as it isn't crowded, it can make for a fun round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Repeat after me

2-4    11/28/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Medallion at each tee pad describing hole
Easy-to-follow natural flow
Minimal chance to lose a disc
Quick to play (less than 30 minutes)
Near amenities
Cons: Only nine holes
No public bathrooms
Repetitive
Other Thoughts: Tee pad #1/basket #9 between tennis courts and outdoor basketball court

Holes 1-4 are all ~275 feet right turns
Holes 5-8 are all ~275 feet left turns
Hole 9 is a ~275 feet right turn

Good course for beginners

Good course for single-disc competition - my friend and I are debating doing a Cheetah (him) v. Cobra (me) bout in the future

Favourite hole #7: requires, for me anyway, the most challenging/long second shot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and classy

1    11/2/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great flow, course was so easy to navigate and no time is wasted looking for the next tee. Nice long cement tees, and each one has an engraved plaque with the holes distance and the direction of the basket. There was some elevation in play on holes 1 and 6.
Cons: Only 9 holes and most of them are wicked right shots. You don't throw to the left until hole 5.
Be careful where you park on weekdays. Most parking requires permits.
Some overlapping of the fairways may cause frustration when course is busy.
Some throws go uncomfortably close to the faculty and permit lots or the road.
Other Thoughts: Hole 6 was the only memorable hole. The rest were very similar to each other.
but it is a nice place for a quick round.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Play

3/24/2008   3/24/2008
Review By: comcast eric
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick round of 9 or even 18, Well maintained mostly to the right throws required
Cons: TIGHT! more than 3 groups on this course you would be running a risk of bonking someone on another hole
Other Thoughts: Jaymon says it all! Quite a neat little course cramed into a small area but they really did make the most of it. There are alternate tees but are not marked well (if at all) Baskets are very near to several of the following holes tees. The plate on the tee box is awesome really lets you know where your going. Fun course if you have an hour to kill. LOTS of potential for safari holes

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, Right-Leaning Manicured Course

11/23/2007   11/26/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Upkeep, variety
Cons: Most fairways either cross or overlap others.
Other Thoughts: The tight nine-hole course on the campus of Goucher College has two distinguishing features - upkeep, and right turns. Every hole features one nice teepad, with a diagram of the hole and length info engraved onto a metal plate at the base of each teepad. The landscape is cut grass and nice established trees, with some elevation to deal with. And each of the first four holes requires a controlled right turn of varying length and degree of difficulty, and only one of the nine holes plays to the more usual righthand/backhand tendency of negotiating a left turn.

The Goucher College course plays on a winding strip of land that runs between the main campus road and a forest that provides a buffer for the school's stables. So the landscape has two main effects on the course. First, it's tight. On each of the nine holes your tee shot has the potential to affect any play occurring on at least one and perhaps two or three other holes. So I wouldn't want to share the course with too many other groups. Second, while five or six of the course's nine holes play among some trees and thus require some control on your drives, several of the holes also play alongside a thick stand of woods and underbrush. Thus, any shots that get away from you or get caught in the wind can be severely penalized, as these thorny woods will squelch any hope of a good recovery shot.

Overall, if you don't have to share the course with too many others, Goucher College is a great place to get in a quick round. It's got great teepads, several woods type holes, one good downhill hole, one good uphill hole, and two holes that are close to 400 feet, which is surprising considering the minimal amount of space the course is on.

Favorite Hole - #5 - Longest hole on course goes down a long incline and around a steep hill to the left.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.