Norwalk, OH 
Great Blue Heron Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #11 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 229ft.   -- / --   3 / 229ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best course in area

2-4    8/24/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: icandisc
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: Scenery is wonderful
LONG holes add challenge
Lots of water and other natural challenges
Restrooms and water
Nice park with fishing, swingsets, walking trails -- you can bring others who don't play with you without fear of bordem
Cons: Losing a disc in the water sucks
Not a beginner friendly course
Course maintenance seems to be an issue at times
Other Thoughts: This course has come along nicely since I first played, but often seems to suffer from issues. Storms ravage the area, or grass gets overgrown; nothing that prevents me from wanting to play the course, but it should be noted. Folks complaining about the layout and getting lost I think exaggerate the issue a little. There is a nice course map next to hole #1, but I agree I would need to wander a bit to find some holes. This is simply due to the size of the course and the location it is played in. Not a con to me, but if you want to be able to see the next hole from the pin you threw to, this isn't the course for you.

 Good Course that could be Great

1    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: scbuckifan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - In a nice park
- Good parking
- OK tee signs with an arrow toward next tee
- Hooks on tee sign stakes
- Good use of land and terrain

This has awesome potential. The Great Blue Heron DGC has a very nice mix of open, wooded, short, long, easy and hard pin placements with very nice scenery throughout the course and park. With just a little bit of work, the flow of the back 9 could (and must) be corrected and then a new map needs to make its way to this website, then all will be good and this will be a premier location. Even with the nice tee signs that do indicate the general direction of the next tee, the back 9 is a nightmare to navigate for new players to the course. Holes listed as long are now short (12) and short holes are now very long (18) and we never found hole 13.
Cons: - Overall flow of the course needs to be reviewed, esp. the back 9
- The map needs to be used to navigate the course for newbies, esp the back 9 BUT the map is not currently correct!
- Hole 12 is now much shorter, We never found Hole 13, I think Hole 18 is now 700' and we never found the basket, Hole 20 had the basket for 21 so we were very confused.
- Front 9 was easy to navigate with the map (but you do need it for the first time around) but the back 9 was totally confusing and we got "lost" at least 3 times even with the map and the previous reviews!
Other Thoughts: Course was very wet due to the very wet fall. It is playable, just have older shoes and a towel to wipe of your disks and hands. Holes 11 and 12 very wet. The course is currently playing fairly short as most pins are in the "B" location.

If you are in the Norwalk area, a stop to play the Great (Good) Blue Heron DGC is a good idea as it is a good course. We played the day after Christmas and had a fun and enjoyable day. We had the course to ourselves. Just be prepared to get lost on the confusing back 9. With just a little work, the flow can be corrected, a new map uploaded and the Great Blue Heron would move from good to Great!

P.S. If you can consistently throw over 300', have fun with the Pro Tee Pad for Hole 21 (it is scary to look at), if you can't, take the long walk around to the AM tee pad and whimp out like we did :-) - and save your $10-$15!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fix up a few things and this is a great one

1    9/24/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some really nice big holes
Friendly locals
Great views
Challenging
Nice park, well taken care of
Nice mix of shot types
Cons: Confusing
Poor signs
tough to navigate
Other Thoughts: This course is fun but you better bring a map or play with someone who is familiar. I just happened to get lucky and run into a friendly local player who was kind enough to stop and let us catch up and he played with us. Real cool guy, he swears by this course and thinks it's one of the best he's ever seen. I disagree with him on that one but I was certainly happy to have him around.

Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed this place it just needs some work. Terrible signs combined with a poor course flow makes for a frustrating round.

The holes themselves are pretty fun. They wind through a park, into the woods briefly, through several rows of pine trees and around a reservoir. It has nice tee pads, good catchers, and nice mix of distances and at times has some good views. The holes I played were fairly long but I'm told they moved for a tournament and they're normally longer. I'm a better than average player but I'm far from great and I thought the distances were just about perfect.

It has 20+ holes and they take really good care
of it. It's trash free and mowed. There were only a handful of other people there when I played and the guy I was with said it not normally busy. So you don't have to wait

I would play this course a lot if I lived nearby but I wouldn't make it a priority if your a road tripper. I also would probably stay away from this one for a while if you want to bring kids or are just learning how to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 BLUE HERON: MADE ME BLUE

1    9/10/2010   7/13/2011
Review By: innovajohnny5
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic and a joy just to walk it. If you like the hard throws this is your place. My son and I are not experienced enough to truly enjoy this course. In time. I do admit though the regulars that play this course are friendly. We ran into a fellow dger and he said he "plays here all the time". We asked where hole 3 was.....and...he drew us a map on the spot and my son and I continued playing. That was pretty cool of him. The view of the lake and inlets are quite nice. Its a nice park. The "wall of trees" is worth playing just for that.
Cons: Not well marked at all. Very confusing when we went. Maybe when they have tournaments they fix it up a bit. After that it falls apart. I dont know if its from abuse or neglect or "just for tournaments" This park could be Ohio's gem for dgers if there was someone to care for it. I live in Cleveland - don't look at me.
Other Thoughts: If you are a well experienced disc golfer, by all means you rate this course a little higher. My son (age 16 at the time) and I played here last year. We are not power throwers by any means but for the recreational dger it was a difficult course. Maybe in a few years we might appreciate the challenge more. It was frustrating. Especially trying to throw over the inlet at 300 plus feet-not so much. ker plunk! If you are not well seasoned with disc golf don't try the course expecting good results. It is definitely a course for the advanced players. Do I regret going? heck no. My son and I had a blast as we always do. The look he gave me when I double bogied on #17 was priceless. Play Great Blue Heron! It's worth it even if you only do it one time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mix of distance and technical shots. Concrete tees. Beautiful lake setting , with playgrounds pavilions and bathrooms. Lots of other activities as well.
Cons: No signage
Holes 11, 13, 15 ,19 have no tee pads
Very confusing layout , holes were obviously moved around .
Hole 11 is pretty much a crap shoot.
Other Thoughts: For the lefty's and the beginners , water is in play on a few holes. However if you mange to hit water anywhere in the front....like i did on hole 2 , just go get it ...the water is not that deep.

Hole 9 ...be careful on your approach shot...about 5ft behind the basket it drops off straight into the water.

They have added a hole (or its temporary , not sure) between 14 & 15.. It has no tee pad and the basket is not numbered ...and is roughly about 175ft.

According to locals hole 19 seems to be a unique hole (or a house rule , if thats what ya wanna call it) that has fairway about 20ft wide and is roughly 150ft long. You have to split 2 trees, and stay in the fairway. Anything lefty or right of trees is OB...concrete as well.

A big thanks to the locals who let us follow them, if not for them we would have never finished the course.
I think with a little help , and maybe some hole fixes in the front this might be really sweet course

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a stop

5/22/2008   5/30/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic and well maintained course. Large concrete tee pads available for 99% of the holes. There are also quite a few challenging shots that have you throwing through the woods or precariously close to the edge of the lake. Very nice scorecards/maps available by the first tee as well.
Cons: I couldn't find hole #17 at all. Also, the layout of the course will definitely be confusing for first timers so be sure to print a map. Even with the map, some tees can be a little tough to find since there aren't any tee signs or above ground indications of where tees are.
Other Thoughts: I think the lake may have been higher than usual when I played the course so some of the baskets that were practically in the lake may not always be quite so close to the water. Also, the #21 long tee was insane, I'd estimate you have to clear 300' - 350' of water. Again, that just may be due to the lake being a little more full that usual but either way you have to have a heck of a good shot to make it over. #21 also has a short tee for those not wanting to risk losing a disc. One of my Wraiths decided to make that hole its final resting place though.

Also, the #13 basket is pretty cool. It hangs from a chain attached to a large tree. I'm sure that adds an extra bit of challenge on those windy days.

There are plenty of interesting holes, such as #14's hallway of trees (reminiscent of IUP College Lodge #15) and each hole presents a challenge of some sort be it the lake, trees or just the length of the hole.

Overall I found this course quite enjoyable and it's certainly worth a round or two if you're in the area. It may not be the most challenging course in the world for some players but I doubt you'll find anyone that will disagree when I say it was a FUN course and at the end of the day, I think that counts for a lot.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.