Norwalk, OH 
Great Blue Heron Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #19 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 328ft.   -- / --   3 / 328ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  great blue hering forever

5+    12/16/2010   12/18/2010
Review By: zippo13132001
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: perm tee pads and all but 4 holes great lines not a putter only course has some long throws
Cons: no main map at begining of course bad leader needs new guys to run it and no closes disc stores
Other Thoughts: great course play it offten plays difrent every time u play it get map print off before u go if new

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Heron Review

2-4    7/1/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: HIGHFLYER
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Holes are challenging and the layout since the tounament has improved it immensely.

-Tees are excellent

-Course is championship level, and offers beautiful vistas.
Cons: -The reason it did not recieve a 4* from me is because even though they put in signs, most do not have the hole numbers. 21 and 22 are not well marked and was not able to play them.

-Map a REQUIREMENT if you are a casual player!

-Hole 12 does not have a sign from the concrete tee and was so long that it made it very hard to play without the knowledge of the pin position.

-Lots of water for beginners, be prepared to bring a disc you are willing to part with.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

"Great" Course

1    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 52  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -scenic vistas everywhere you look
-tee-pads are the best i've ever seen
-hanging basket is classic sweetness
-warm inviting park with bathrooms and playground
-tunnel shots and open shots sometimes making you decide which way to throw it
-wooded but grass fairways
-water holes
-great pin positions
-locals were nice, helped me find a disc
-first couple tees have seating, most tees have hooks to hang your bag
-some of these holes could really be on a magazine cover, 2 or 3 "signature" holes here, 21 and 14 come to mind
Cons: -no signs - layout,distances or numbers
-some vandalism written on posts
-first time playing you will see a lot of baskets and tees, unable to find correct tee
-minimal elevation changes
-blind shot on either 3 or 4 - safety hazard
-no next tee signs or practice basket
-park gets high traffic - people and cars
-no other courses nearby
-hole 21 (pro tee) has long walk around a lake after shot, unless your in the water and then you probably just walk to your car trying to get over the loss of your favorite longest driver.
Other Thoughts: overall, with a little work and time, this course could be top notch. signs should be a high priority for this disc golf course. honestly if this course had hole numbers on the baskets and distances it would get 4 stars by me

UPDATE:
Played this course again for the "2010 Fire in the Sky" tourny, they now have new, full color signs at every teepad with pro/am distances, map of hole, alt. pin locations, and par.

I increased my rating to a four, as i said i would if they got signs.

some side notes: Course actually has 23 holes (not sure if this is tourny only, 2 of the holes are not on the map). Navigating this course is still a challenge (needs next tee signs at each basket), 2 baskets are crappy (no big issue tho) and not all the holes have cement teepads (although most do).

Truely is a "GREAT" course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the time

1    8/29/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: th1sjust1n
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2009
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: +Strong technical play
+Park is very nice and scenic
+Water in play on several holes
+Local players are very nice and helpful
+Many holes have concrete teepads
Cons: --Course layout is horrid !!
--No tee signs to speak of !!
-Course is not maintained well compared to other courses
-Holes with natural tees dont even have a front marker
-Additional holes 19-21 are pointless
-Inconsistent basket types
-Many blind holes and at least two 'throw and pray' holes
-No trash cans on course
Other Thoughts: I took a chance on this course on my way home from a Lake Erie trip. I should have just kept on driving.

I'll start by saying that if you don't have a course map you are SCREWED playing here if new to the course. This does however bring me to one of the positives I noted. After driving around for 10 minutes trying to figure out where #1 was my wife and I stopped to talk with 3 local guys on the course. They were very helpful and took the time to give us the basic layout and general course knowledge. Without them I might have left by hole 5 or 6. Props to the local DG'ers!

The whole course layout is just terrible. If you combine the fact that there are no signs at all with the pin-to-tee layout...it's just worthless. If you are new to the course and don't have a map it, forget it. The info board at hole #1 had no maps to take (understandable) but also didn't have a larger map posted on the board. It's total guesswork.

Blind holes on a course that has no map posted, no signs with hole layout, not even a distance marker...it just stinks. There were actually paper plates stapled to posts at some of the tees with the hole number and distance. Is that what they do for tournaments?!? I don't know how you even play a tournament here.

Hole #11 and #12 are 'throw and pray' holes. 11 more so than 12 but I don't know how anyone does anything but just toss and pray the disc makes it in the vicinity of the basket.

The whole dang place is just confusing and so hard to navigate. Some of the tees you can stand there and possibly throw at 2-3 different pins. After hole #13 it was a crap shoot figuring out where to throw and where to go for the next tee. Actually, most of the course was like that.

There are just several important things about this course that needs to be addressed ASAP. Get tee signs up!!! Please, please, please! If there were signs with hole layout, distance, and next tee direction that would go a LONG way to making things better. IMO they should just get rid of 19-21. With all the other things that could be done to the course those extra holes do absolutely nothing for it. Take #21 for example. What the heck!?! You have to throw across water (which is cool) but then in order to get to the basket you have to take a 10 minute walk to get to the basket area!! Seriously!? Forget the extra stuff and focus on the core course 18. Get concrete pads installed or at least a marked tee box on all the holes. Put a large map up on the info board at hole #1.

I feel like I'm ranting on and on but we just did not have any fun at this course. For me it was a struggle. I figure that if you're a local player and know the course well then some of my complaints might be null but that just doesn't cut it. This is by far the worst course I've played to date. It does however have some good things going for it but some things that I consider basic DG course elements are missing.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mix of distance and technical shots. Concrete tees. Beautiful lake setting , with playgrounds pavilions and bathrooms. Lots of other activities as well.
Cons: No signage
Holes 11, 13, 15 ,19 have no tee pads
Very confusing layout , holes were obviously moved around .
Hole 11 is pretty much a crap shoot.
Other Thoughts: For the lefty's and the beginners , water is in play on a few holes. However if you mange to hit water anywhere in the front....like i did on hole 2 , just go get it ...the water is not that deep.

Hole 9 ...be careful on your approach shot...about 5ft behind the basket it drops off straight into the water.

They have added a hole (or its temporary , not sure) between 14 & 15.. It has no tee pad and the basket is not numbered ...and is roughly about 175ft.

According to locals hole 19 seems to be a unique hole (or a house rule , if thats what ya wanna call it) that has fairway about 20ft wide and is roughly 150ft long. You have to split 2 trees, and stay in the fairway. Anything lefty or right of trees is OB...concrete as well.

A big thanks to the locals who let us follow them, if not for them we would have never finished the course.
I think with a little help , and maybe some hole fixes in the front this might be really sweet course

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic and confusing

1    5/2/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Most holes had nice concrete tee pads
• Scenic park with lake makes for a pleasant game
• Nice blend of skill/distance
• Well maintained park & course
• Friendly, helpful locals
• Kiosk had complimentary maps/scorecards
Cons:
• Course layout is extremely confusing.
• No tee signs/indicators or tee maps
• Not all holes had tee pads, concrete or otherwise.
• Lots of fairway overlap and ambiguous basket placement
• Course is a bit remote from major highways
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a decent course. However I was extremely confused and frustrated as a first-timer on this course as the layout was extremely difficult to decipher, even with a course map and some helpful local players.

Many times I encountered tees where two or more baskets could have been the target. Very confusing as to what you were throwing at, and lots of overlap on the course which could be annoying if/when the course is busy as you would need to wait out for other payers a few holes ahead of you, since you'd be either throwing across them or in the same general area.

Where there were concrete tees, they were nice. I was a bit disoriented by them at first, as they taper towards the hole (I would have assumed the opposite, so as to not require thought of foot placement as you run up for your release).

Many holes were thoughtfully placed along the lake edge, making for a very scenic round. Also makes for some psychological and physical obstacles for these water's edge holes. The back nine had some great wooded holes, offering accuracy challenges. That said, most of the course hugs the main roads and areas of the park, so you'll be throwing over roads and waiting for the occasional car. You never really get deep into the park at all.

Although a multi-use park, the course is plenty separate from the other park-goers and only briefly encroaches the other areas in the 16-18 hole range.

I never found the tee (or tee area) for hole 16, and after looking in vain for the hole 19 tee I just called it a day after a round of 18. The course does loop back to the parking area, if you play all 21 holes.

The park had playgrounds, offered public fishing areas as well as picnic tables and grills. Bathrooms were available near the hole 1 tee, and it had a water fountain. No concession stand or anything like that.

Overall, the confusing layout of the course tipped the scale for me over this potentially enjoyable, and very scenic course. Perhaps if I knew the course better it might have been more of a pleasure to play. The front nine had an odd design of packing in a lot of holes in a very confined area, which gave the front nine a cramped, repetitive feel. And the fact that the course was laid out along most of the main roads in the park was kind of a bummer for such a remote, rural location.

The park is in a pretty rural area of Ohio, and while you are traveling on main roads the whole way, you're off the highway for most of the drive. If you are in the area or traveling through, it's probably worth a visit since there's not much in the way of other disc golf courses for a wide radius, but for a specific trip to this course (as I did), I would have to recommend against. I'm glad to have checked it off my wish list, but I won't be returning.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This layout rocks!

1    11/3/2008   11/9/2008
Review By: spenlee3
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2008
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome course layout, plenty of trees, water and scenic vistas. We arrived late in the day and had to play fast to finish before dark. Will make the trip again to take our time and enjoy. Course was not busy on our day, but looks like it gets plenty of traffic. Don't hesitate to stop by to play this one!
Cons: Lack of tee signs did hamper our outing, but with a map most should have no problem figuring it out.
Other Thoughts: Water level in reservoir was way low, I imagine water would be more of a hazard at higher levels, but we didn't lose any discs.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive

1    9/22/2008   9/23/2008
Review By: basmith42
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Course has a wide variety of holes. It has everything from wide open fields to insanely tight wooded holes. None of the holes crossed the line between hard and "just plain dumb".
-The course is well maintained by the local club and parks department.
Water plays prominently on many hole.
-On most holes, the water provides tension without creating actual on danger. The water on holes 15 and 21 will eat discs that are not well played. The water also adds to the visual appeal.
-Some baskets are well protected making it imperative to plan your shots.
-The tee pads are fantastic! Most holes have wide smooth concrete tapering towards the basket. WOW!
Cons: -Some tees are hard to find. Course would be improved by flags or some sort of indicator showing where the tee box is.
- course is hard to follow without a map. Maps were not available the day we played.
Other Thoughts: This was well worth the hour drive from Cleveland.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a stop

5/22/2008   5/30/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 239  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic and well maintained course. Large concrete tee pads available for 99% of the holes. There are also quite a few challenging shots that have you throwing through the woods or precariously close to the edge of the lake. Very nice scorecards/maps available by the first tee as well.
Cons: I couldn't find hole #17 at all. Also, the layout of the course will definitely be confusing for first timers so be sure to print a map. Even with the map, some tees can be a little tough to find since there aren't any tee signs or above ground indications of where tees are.
Other Thoughts: I think the lake may have been higher than usual when I played the course so some of the baskets that were practically in the lake may not always be quite so close to the water. Also, the #21 long tee was insane, I'd estimate you have to clear 300' - 350' of water. Again, that just may be due to the lake being a little more full that usual but either way you have to have a heck of a good shot to make it over. #21 also has a short tee for those not wanting to risk losing a disc. One of my Wraiths decided to make that hole its final resting place though.

Also, the #13 basket is pretty cool. It hangs from a chain attached to a large tree. I'm sure that adds an extra bit of challenge on those windy days.

There are plenty of interesting holes, such as #14's hallway of trees (reminiscent of IUP College Lodge #15) and each hole presents a challenge of some sort be it the lake, trees or just the length of the hole.

Overall I found this course quite enjoyable and it's certainly worth a round or two if you're in the area. It may not be the most challenging course in the world for some players but I doubt you'll find anyone that will disagree when I say it was a FUN course and at the end of the day, I think that counts for a lot.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.