Course Extinct
Knightdale, NC 
Green Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Short and straight with OB fence to the right.



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Waste

1    10/29/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: NH Disc Dude
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: None
Cons: No baskets! Hole 1 has a mangled basket, after that I couldn't find more than a piece of wood trim shoved into the mounting hole for the basket. I gave up at hole four when I couldn't find any thing close to a fairway.
Other Thoughts: I stopped here on my way back to Raleigh from Zebulon thinking I could get nine more in before dinner, nope. This place might have had a course here once but it's so overgrown and the signage was useless. Maybe this is due to vandals (missing baskets) but it looks like no one has trimmed a bush since 2001. Maybe someday they will fix it up, but for now stay away it's a waste of time. As I'm in NC for vaca I was disappointed that this course was unplayable as it is 10 minutes from were I was staying.

 Left Behind

5+    1/30/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will challenge higher skill level players, and we could use more courses like this in the Triangle. The Course Level =: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 950). Hole 8 is a wickedly hard par 4 that's one of the toughest in all of North Carolina.
There's a solid design with a good mix of fairway shapes (3 Straight/ 2 Left/ 4 Right). It has very good length variety too (1 of 200/ 3 of 201-299/ 3 of 301-399/ 1 of 415/ 1 of 525). The terrain is mostly wooded, with some elevation changes but 5 flat holes.
The Neuse river behind basket 6 and tee 7 adds quite a bit to the beauty of the course.
Cons: -Navigation is now horrendous. If it's your first time don't even attempt it without a guide! You'd have a incredibly hard time finding many of the tees. The tees are natural and only marked by bricks flush to the ground that easily get covered over with dirt. Tee 3 has always been tough to find and tees 6 and 9 were covered over. The old signs were minimal but I don't remember even seeing any there this time. At it's best finding tee 5 was always hard because it was near a confusing intersection with 8 and 9, and now it's even harder.
-Baskets: Quite a few have peeling paint, dirt, and black mold on the chastity belt from lack of use. Number 1 is mangled and has rusted chains.
-The basket on hole 6, near the Neuse River, has been stolen and not been replaced for several years. (It would sure seem easy to load it onto an ATV and escape down the trail right next to it.)
-Even in its prime they had a hard time keeping the fairways mowed in the summer. I never played there in the summer because the grass in some fairways was so long that you needed a spotter to find your disc even if it was in the fairway!
-Unsightly manmade structures next to some fairways make it lose aesthetic appeal. Hole 1 has a rusty barbed wire topped fence guarding the club pool down the whole right side of the fairway. Holes 4 & 9 have an old dilapidated tennis court on the side of their fairways. It's really ugly.
-Small safety issues-- the drive of hole 6 crosses fairway 8. It could be an issue if there were ever a lot of people out there.
Other Thoughts: Sadly, the course seems like an abandoned child left on Raleigh's doorstep. It's being neglected and may be dying. I always thought this course had lots of potential, but it just never caught on, partly because it's only 9 holes. When I played there it seemed like no one had even been there for several months because many tees were covered with fallen leaves. Once upon a time, there was a mailbox at hole 1 that had course maps and score cards, but that's long gone. Now the course is like a ghost town, and you half expect to see a tumbleweed blowing by.

It sure doesn't help that the ATV riders seem to be really active out by the river and are leaving tons of tracks on the fairways.

Although the course is in decline, like an abandoned house it still has a strong design foundation and would be worth renovating. Green Pines has always held promise of being a good course. I can almost hear it weakly crying out "I'm not dead yet." Maybe an Extreme Makeover: DG Course Edition team will come in and rescue it. Until then, I hate to say it, but if it's your first time I wouldn't venture out there without a guide because it would just be too hard to find your way around. That's sad.

You can read more of my reviews at the Yahoo group "DG Course Reviews", http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...urseReviews/. Look in the Files section there for my Overall Rating notes and Hole-by-hole ratings too.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't bother

1    10/17/2008   4/8/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The hole layouts would be fairly good if you could ignore all the cons.
Cons: The first few holes are easy to find (tee #1 is right by parking lot), but after that it can be a little rough because the holes are not well signed, if at all.

Course is not maintained well at all. As mentioned, signage is poor to nonexistent; the standards and tees are in similarly poor condition. Playing here in the middle of the fall there was extremely long grass that made the "open" holes miserable for finding your disc. There were also extremely large spiders (fist sized) and spider webs that would block walkways all over the place. The tennis courts are in extreme disrepair and it is rather hard to get your disc back, so avoid having it land in or around these at all costs.

The first hole plays alongside the fenced in pool/recreation area. If this is closed you have to climb a tall fence topped by barbed wire to get the disc back.
Other Thoughts: I remember hearing that RADL had taken over management of this course around the end of 2008, so perhaps for the 2009 season it will be brought up to the standards of the other area courses. As the other reviewer mentioned it would be a decent, quick 9-hole course if someone put the time into it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 it's kinda fun...

5+    9/20/2008   2/4/2009
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 146  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 19.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -there are baskets in the place, only 8, but they are there
-hole 9 is a pretty cool slight up-hill with the basket perched on some boulders
Cons: -The course weaves in and out of what is labeled as Private Property, making it kind of confusing to walk because you're never sure if you're trespassing or not
-basket #6 is missing and has been since I've lived in the state (12/07)
-the course up-keep is horrendous, i'm pretty sure they don't do anything to it
-there's a tennis court on the left side of hole 3 that is good at catching discs and the pile of shrubs on the far side of the courts still has one of mine
- there are 4-wheeler tracks throughout, and it's pretty well known that the place is used more for 4-wheeling than disc golf
Other Thoughts: if the course were maintained better and the basket 6 were replaced it could be a really fun 9 hole course

and it's right across the street from Sunshine Acres, a nice private course in Knightdale

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.