Safety Harbor, FL 
Gregg Paas Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: arajski Hole #3 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 206ft.   3 / 245ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Course in Critical Condition!

1    4/29/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some baskets...

In the woods...
Cons: The course is completely overgrown. Baskets hard to find, and/or missing. Tee pads overgrown and/or missing.
Other Thoughts: This course could be a fun little romp in the woods, with some tlc. Until then I would recommend Azaila for a fun little 9 holer in this area. Or of course Cliff Stevens/Coachman.

If you must play this one, its going to be a junglefied safari romp!

(If someone cleans this place up, please let me know, and I will be glad to play it again and update my review).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

First Church of the Flying Discs

2-4    6/10/2013   4/29/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: See Update under "Other Thoughts".

-Entry level course on Church property

This is one of my few reviews that I don't feel the need to break down in to points. It' is an entry level course, and it would be good for the church, to whom the property belongs. Beginners, Kids, and non-players should enjoy the course. Though it will probably be the regulars that know this course, will enjoy it for what it is. Church functions may get good use out of this course, as well as players from the local neighborhood. It's also located near Cliff Stephens and NE coachman, so it could be a good place to warm up.
Tip: As you are coming into the church parking lot, before you get to the parking area on the left, look to the right. You'll see a path way into the woods. That is where the #2 Fairway starts. Since there is no #1 basket, it's hard to figure out where to start.
Cons: The course is very overgrown, and you could spend a lot of time looking for your discs in the tall overgrown grass. The first basket is still missing, and supposedly there are teepads. The missing basket also makes it hard to locate where the course actually starts. We found one Red marker. It was a small flat plate on the ground. We didn't see any more of them, but there were a lot of leaves on the ground. A little TLC here could go a long here on this course. Then again, the locals may know this course backwards and forwards.
Other Thoughts: UPDATE 6/10/2013 I went out to play this course again, just cause it had been awhile since my last visit. I walked all over that course, and there was not a basket to be found. Teepads are still there, but I didn't see one basket. I feel bad for the church if they were all stolen. If that's the case, I really hope they catch the punks that stole the baskets. If they were pulled for some reason, please let me know and I will remove this updated. Hope for a quick return!

I'm not going to be harsh on this course, because someone put the effort into installing a course. A course that actually does have some potential to be more than it is. (keyword:Potential) I'm just going to say that it is what it is, so before you decide to play here know what you are getting into. It's small, overgrown, and it comes with its frustrations. The only reason I played here was to get another notch in the proverbial played belt. Now I do think it would be very cool to attend a church that had a Disc Golf course. So major kudos to the church for installing the course. If there is some TLC given here, trim back the grass, and replace #1 Basket it would be a decent little place to play. They make these changes, I would be willing to boost my rating.
Final thought: If you are in the neighborhood, you want to add a notch to your "Played" belt, and you are willing to deal with the frustrations, then give it a try.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Could be an Amazing Course

1    12/28/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: arajski
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's free. That's about it.
Cons: Grounds - The grounds are not kept up at all. The weeds and plants have flooded some fairways making them unplayable. Mostly all of the carpet tee pads are drowning in dirt and plants. It is a shame because the course would be an amazing little 9 hole course with decent varied and fun lanes.

Completion - The basket to hole one was stolen. Not really playable. (I couldn't find the pads anyway)

Environment - I spent more time looking for the next hole and picking plant stickers off my shorts than actually playing disc golf. I couldn't find the first hole and it took so long to play 2-7 that I left before I tried to play 8 and 9.

Signage - I saw two signs that kind of helped. But with the tee pads being buried, it didn't matter.
Other Thoughts: This course could be amazing. I agree with other reviewers, this could be a great training course if it was taken care of. I would make a stop at this course before or after Cliff Stevens just for fun if it were cleaned up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 course removed

1    10/30/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: cyberspace wrangler
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2011
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: baskets were removed and the course was overgrown. it was fun wooded course. anyone know why it was removed
Cons: baskets were removed and the course was overgrown.
Other Thoughts: baskets were removed and the course was overgrown.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being a minister, I am all about a church having a course on its property. I wish this could happen more often. The parking is right next to hole 1, which is always a plus. Its proximity to Cliff and Coachman make it one to play if you live in the area but probably not one to play if you are visiting...you would be better off playing the other 18 hole courses in the county. This course will challenge your shot management due to how thick the underbrush is.
Cons: This course is in serious need of attention. The next tee signs are in bad shape and several are missing, leaving you wandering all over the place to find the next hole.

The fairways need trimmed and general maintenance needs to be done all over this course.

Hole 1's basket is missing and still hasn't been replaced.

The holes need signage on the property, something you can see from a distance to point you to the tees. This could be as simple as a 2X2 stake in the ground with the hole number on it right next to the carpet tee areas, to at least get you close. So many times I was clueless where I was going. I couldn't play consistently from the E tees because many were impossible to find.
Other Thoughts: Great concept but needs work. This may be in part due to laws regarding removal of vegetation on the property. So maybe their hands are somewhat tied on upkeep. If you live in the area and need another course to try out, go for it. If your time is limited you are better off elsewhere.

If I lived closer, I would volunteer to help them with some of the upkeep. Maybe I will volunteer to add some better signage this summer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome property and great design, just needs ocassional maintenance.

1    1/3/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Course is on some pretty awesome property. It is diverse in the plant life on the property from sawtooth palmettos, to tall palms, some hardwoods and some scrub trees/shrubs. This make the course feel very diverse.

2) Course has diversity in shot shapes and selection justa s much as it has in foliage and plant material. There are a couple holes that are fairly wide open, some that are open but blind baskets from the tees, and some tightly wooded holes. Some of the tightly wooded holes have low ceilings also that keep the spike hyzer or high shots from being a good play.

3) 5 sets of tees on all holes, some even have a sixth teepad. This is an awesome concept, shortening holes to what is usable by whoever is playing. This is a little outside the box that says all people must play from 1 or 2 tees. These tees get shorter on every hole, but they also give you a different look at the basket on many holes.

4) Church is open to disc golfers as long as they are respectful of the property, the plant life, and christian ideals and philosophies. I hope people respect that request by the church, just as they have given their property to disc golfers.

5) There is not a single throwaway hole. It is challenging on every hole and for that matter every sho takes some thinking (except the drive on #1, just huk it up there in the open and leave yourself a short approach or a long putt.

6) Baskets are in good shape and catch very well.

7) Course design was excellent or better. They used an awesome section of the outer perimter of their property. It was obvious it was done by someone who knows about the game.

8) Hole distances were good between holes, and they were also good from tee to tee. It is nice to have 5 or 6 tees for sure, and it is also nice to have hole distances that range from 200ish to 400ish. I like that variety and it provides its own challenge.
Cons: 1) Tees are carpet . . . it is better than dirt in that you can plant and not have to worry about twigs or slipping, but at the same time they are lumpy and some are being overgrown with turf and other plant material.

2) #1 basket is missing . . . not sure why but I woul dguess it was from theft. What a shame if it was since it is a church property, some people just can't help but take advantage of a church that may be invisible to the police and general public. It is protected and quiet and someone must have taken advantage of that fact.

3) Not sure what was going on, but it appeared that there was a homeless person who had made his home between #5 and 6. There was a grocery cart with a blue tarp over the top of the cart. I threw my drive a little right on 5 and noticed it, was leary of playing 6, but had to walk all the way up to the end of the dogleg to see the basket anyways, and it appeared noone was there. I hope the church knows about this as I would hate for something to happen to one of the kids on the course, or anyone for that matter. On the other hand it does look like a nice quiet place to call home when you have no home, so maybe they have a deal with this person.

4) Pole on #5 (which has the second sign about destroying plant material is right in the fairway on a tight gap hole. Not sure if the tree stump it was leaning against was an integral part of the design of that hole, but if the tree was cut down initially or for design reasons the pole should not be there. If on the other handle they placed the sign next to a tree that had receiving vandalism, or inappropriate pruning then I am ok with the sign and post.

5) Not at all beginner friendly because of tightness and the hole shapes and foliage density and type. Tee distances is not the biggest issue on this course, it is more about the tightness and plant material and placement.
Other Thoughts: All I can say about this course is it is an awesome property and it has a ton of potential I just think some maintenace could be used in keeping the sawtooth palmettos from taking over and making the gaps tighter would be worth some effort. Concrete tees would make this course so much better in my eyes too, but, truthfully the carpet tees are not slippery (despite being off int he woods on most holes). I have to give this course a 2 like the other people, but I do realize that the potential of the property with a little maintenance could easily make this course a 3. Hopefully they will see the value in going in and clearing out some of the palmettos and scrub shrubs. I had a great time, and it challenged me the whole way. I hope they take care of the apparent homeless person situation, so that it does not become a distraction to all people who play the course. I played the E (5th) tee since I didnt always see a 6th tee. I didnt expect a ton coming into this course but I had time to play it today so I did.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/22/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: jeremytf
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 28.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though a small course, there are challenging holes. It's not very busy and very easy to get to.
Cons: While it's a good course to appreciate FL plantlife, it's overgrown enough to make it easy to lose discs, especially because many of the holes are blind shots. I lost one and almost lost another. There are also not very many holes where you can really let loose and drive, because almost all of the holes are tight with trees. There are no signs, so no idea how long the holes are...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the visit if you're bored with Cliff/Coachman

1    3/8/2006   5/8/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great location. Four sets of tee markers per hole. Holes have some unique angles to them and provide a good technical challenge.

Cons: A few opportunities to lose discs without spotters. Some nasty schule. Can be swampy at times. A bit tricky to locate all the tee markers.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.