Norman, OK 
Griffin Park Share
Uploaded By: Heathen Hole #15 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 281ft.   3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great Tourney Course

5+    9/5/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities:
Dual Tees on almost every hole.
Concrete tees for Longs (Gold)
Good Baskets
Practice Basket near entrance
Some Teesigns
Baskets marked for next tee (tape on basket)
Plenty of benches/trashcans
Well mowed
Nice Pavilion and Parking area for Tourneys

Play:
Great distance variety
Hole Variety
Some right/left/straight
Some open/technical/tight
Some up/down/flat
Awesome risk/reward on most holes

Feel:
A great course to test your skill set.
Some chances to Bomb and great to work on line-shaping.
Good for intermediate to Advanced/Pro
Very challenging almost frustrating

Favorite Hole(s): #13 red, #13 gold
This hole is very fun and totally different from each tee. Both are challenging and will make you play smart.

Cons: Dirt Tees on shorts (Red)
Few real, useful Teesigns
Several holes feel repetetive in the middle of the round
Dog Park next door (some people think the course is leash-free also.)
Trash not rare enough (C'mon people use the trashcan, there's one at the next tee.)
Could use navigational aids
Looooong walk from 18 to the Gate/parking
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course makes for a round of challenge, triumph, and frustration. Is set up well for Tourneys and will cause great scoring differences. Good to take a group to.

Its just missing something. This is a hard course to review for me. I base my "disc rating" heavily on fun factor and this course falls a little short of what it could be. Still a great course to play, but if I'm playing by myself, I will go to one of the more "fun" courses in the area. If I'm looking to challenge myself or see how I play against others in my group, we'll come here. I'll have fun in spite of the course instead of because of the course.

If you want the oppurtunity to play one of the most challenging courses in OK, swing by or make this trip. Make a full day of it and play the other Norman courses along with Noble for some serious DG Fun.

PM me and let me know how my reviews can be "more helpful."

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

NEEDS WORK

1    5/31/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: judealan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice variety of different shots (open field, trees)
Cons: Fairways uncut
Tees and Baskets not numbered correctly
Easy to get lost
Trash everywhere
Other Thoughts: Overall a very frustrating coarse. Wont go back for a long time

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Griffin Park...

2-4    5/27/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a challenge to a wide variety of players. There are a good mix of holes. There are some short, technical holes that would be tough for the power players, and then there are some long, open drives that would be tough for the players with just a short game. Then there are the holes that take aspects from both. It's a line that's tough to hit, and it's long. There's also a good variety in hole shape. There's a great balance between hyzer and anhyzer shots. I felt like I threw every disc in my bag those rounds. Even though there weren't any super short easy ace holes, there were still several opportunities to get an ace. Hitting the basket during a tournament can really bring your mood up from a crappy round. Hills were used very nicely. Hole 18 comes to mind. You're teeing off from the top of a big hill and it's a huge drive that you can really air it out. Besides the dog park in the early holes, disc golf is pretty much the only thing there. You won't have to worry about joggers or bikers at this course. Pin placements were very good at this course. Hole 8 was on top of a huge mound and made putting for a birdie very challenging. A lot of other pins were guarded by four or five trees, giving what would be an easy hole some challenge by requiring a good placement of your drive.

Long pads were concrete and short pads were natural. Both were very easy to tee off from. Baskets were Chainstar and worked great. No spit-outs when I played. There were a few water pumps around the course.
Cons: Signs were not very good at all. Some of the holes seemed kind of pointless and just trying to get you to the next hole. The walk from 18 to the parking lot was ridiculous. I don't remember seeing any bathrooms at the course. The rough was very thick and hard to get out of (or even get to your disc!).
Other Thoughts: This course is a great complement to Lions park. There are some open holes to air it out, but they were balanced by the short, technical holes. Overall, I loved this course. I had a great time playing there, and I would definitely play this again.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant Surprise in OKC

1    6/15/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 88  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a fantastic mix of holes. Open, tight, left, right, straight, uphill, and downhill. These holes flow together quite well, in that I never reached for the same disc or shot for more than two holes in a row. A number of holes had multiple routes, each with its own benefits and drawbacks to test shot selection and execution.

Cosmetically, the fairways were nicely maintained, most holes had dual pads and the long pads were cement on all holes except 18. A number of holes also had some custom seating, which was a unique touch that I enjoyed.
Cons: Signage was lacking, and many holes were mis-numbered. I certainly would have lost track if I hadn't been keeping score. I also failed to find the long pad on 4, and had to do a bit of walking to find a few more of the long pads.
Other Thoughts: Short pads were natural, but I played the longs so I can't comment on their quality. Standout hole is #8, "Mt. Kuhar" as I called it. The basket is perched atop a mound 15' tall, so any missed putt is likely to cost you. Run it at your own risk.

Overall, Griffin park is a fairly challenging and well balanced par three course. I would have preferred some longer, true par 4s and 5s, but I am not certain that would be feasible given land constraints. It is in my opinion the best course in OKC, and I definitely recommend stopping by if you're in the area.

Bonus - Turns out my brother put my putt on hole 8 on Youtube. That was my birdie putt, and I did get up and down to save four.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zkAgnXNEH8c

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice lines

1    4/16/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with few distractions or conflicts with other users once you get away from the parking lot and dog park. Many of the holes play through fairly narrow gaps with small trees and thick brush waiting to punish errant shots. These holes offer a nice mix of left and right turning holes that felt pretty balanced. A couple holes have really creative layouts where a landing zone is available for safe par play and riskier lines are available with harsher punishment if you go for the birdie.

The more open holes offer longer distances including a couple shots where you can air out a long drive. The last hole plays down off a small hill, it's a great finishing hole where you'll want to throw a few drives and watch them fly. The dual tees offer a nice mix of hole lengths depending on what kind of challenge you're looking for. The long tees are nice concrete pads, and the baskets are in good shape.
Cons: There were a few holes where the grass was pretty overgrown when I played, it can be a little frustrating to have to search for a good shot in the middle of the fairway. The signs were ok, but it seems like there's been a redesign so much of the course had numbering off by one, especially confusing with baskets numbered differently from tees. A couple of the distances didn't match the hole at all.

The walk from 18 back to the parking lot is pretty excessive, and it's even longer if you choose not to cut across a couple other fairways on the way. Navigation can be a little tricky in spots, and the map currently available here doesn't exactly match the layout that I played. The short tees are natural, some looked to be a bit rough and others were a little tricky to find. A couple of the longs were tucked away from the obvious path and necessitated some backtracking to find.
Other Thoughts: There are some really nice lines to hit here, and the dual tees make it a great course to test differently skilled players. Beginners might find even the shorts pretty tough and punitive, with tight lines to hit and some long shots even from the reds. Experienced players will find a couple throw away holes, but for the most part the long layout will challenge and test a good variety of disc golf skills.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great complement to NE Lions

1    3/24/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice concrete long tees, natural short tees
-chainstar baskets and tee signs in good condition
-great layout, challenging and fun
-great variety of terrain & distance, lots of shots required, lots of elevation
-well-maintained, grass is mowed, not a lot of trash
-pretty good navigation, mostly obvious, directional markers on the each basket to the next tee (some only have one marker, the gold and red are frequently in different directions from the last basket)
-great elevated basket on hole 8, fun elevated tee on 18
-plenty of parking
-dog park and sports fields
-across the street from NE Lions
Cons: -the rough is rough
-trash cans throughout the course would be good
-long walk back to the parking lot after 18
-no restrooms or water fountains
-poison ivy
-a few tricky navigation spots, signs should clarify where you need to be, a few "next tee" signs on the back 9 would be a big help
Other Thoughts: This course is a great complement to NE Lions across the road. Not only because they are so close but they also exemplify the old and the new. This is a much more modern course than NE Lions with longer holes and a different feel. However, like NE Lions the premium here is on accuracy.

I played the long layout but I saw some of the looks from the red tees and I couldn't believe how tight some of those shots are. This course really does play totally differently from the different pads.

Lots of elevation is used well throughout the course and it gets tighter and more technical as the course progresses. Open fairways with a park-like feel give way to tightly wooded fairways with lots of tunnel shots, left and right or both! (hole 14?)

Definitely one of the best in the OKC area. Very challenging and lots of variety. If you have time for only one course it should be this or NE Lions, depending on your preference of course type.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Enter the Dog Park

2-4    1/21/2012   1/27/2012
Review By: WoogieBoogie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 3/14/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off if you are a noob or noobish at disc golf then i would recommend sticking to red tees not the concrete as these add about 100 feet on average to the hole. Not too hard to find your way around, however if it is the first time playing the course remember to turn into the dog park from 12th, not the park (park). The holes themselves provide quite a challenge. I would not recommend playing right after rain.
Cons: If you are new to the course it can be difficult to find some of the concrete tees however the AM (red) pads are much more fluidly connected to where its obvious, not so with the pro (concrete) pads. Water isn't really an issue unless its just rained in which case you may have to deal with a creek that runs through about 3 holes and gets to about waist height.
Other Thoughts: Really nice course, if your feeling frisky after 18 you can always drive the 30 seconds to Lions across the street and hit up another 18 there. If your not comfortable with hilly terrain (bum ankle,knee, or hip) then this may not be the course for you. *Update* There is now a practice basket a few feet from the first tee, should improve course scores.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

5+    1/5/2012   1/5/2012
Review By: rwmurrow
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of challenge in this course. You can really air out some shots. You use many types of throws throughout. Not very crowded. There are TWO TEEBOXES for most holes! Sometimes the "red" tee is a completely different shot, making for some awesome new holes.
Cons: This course only has cons if your a baby. JK. This is a long course and can be very tiring. Not very beginner friendly.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    10/23/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Had a great time playing this course. Truly a scenic trip through some Oklahoma wilderness. The course is a challenge, but not in a frustrating way. I had to use my back hand, sidearm and overhand shots to efficiently complete the 18. Can't wait to get back up there and play again.
Cons: Course is a bit under construction. most of the holes have two tee boxes. Most of those holes only have a concrete tee box for the longer distance. I wouldn't recommend playing after a rain.
It's obvious a fairly resent "redisign" has been done. At some point, the baskets numbering is thrown off - 8 is really 9....9 really 10. I don't like to think too much when playing, so I got an "ice cream" headache trying to figure out where I was and where I needed to go
Other Thoughts: Take the map provided by this wonderful site. The next holes are not always obvious. At 14, take a left, cross the small paved road and walk until you reach the fence line to the 15th tee(s).
If you find a red starfire on 15, enjoy!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Griffin Park.

2-4    7/30/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: tylermcdaniel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging shots.
Good tees for the first couple holes. Plenty of benches.
Cons: Very large and spread out.
Most of the baskets are mis-numbered.
Confusing at first to find the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Liked the course but was a little to big.
Better directions would help a lot.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.