Norman, OK 
Griffin Park Share
Uploaded By: Heathen Hole #3 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 276ft.   3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Nice lines

1    4/16/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with few distractions or conflicts with other users once you get away from the parking lot and dog park. Many of the holes play through fairly narrow gaps with small trees and thick brush waiting to punish errant shots. These holes offer a nice mix of left and right turning holes that felt pretty balanced. A couple holes have really creative layouts where a landing zone is available for safe par play and riskier lines are available with harsher punishment if you go for the birdie.

The more open holes offer longer distances including a couple shots where you can air out a long drive. The last hole plays down off a small hill, it's a great finishing hole where you'll want to throw a few drives and watch them fly. The dual tees offer a nice mix of hole lengths depending on what kind of challenge you're looking for. The long tees are nice concrete pads, and the baskets are in good shape.
Cons: There were a few holes where the grass was pretty overgrown when I played, it can be a little frustrating to have to search for a good shot in the middle of the fairway. The signs were ok, but it seems like there's been a redesign so much of the course had numbering off by one, especially confusing with baskets numbered differently from tees. A couple of the distances didn't match the hole at all.

The walk from 18 back to the parking lot is pretty excessive, and it's even longer if you choose not to cut across a couple other fairways on the way. Navigation can be a little tricky in spots, and the map currently available here doesn't exactly match the layout that I played. The short tees are natural, some looked to be a bit rough and others were a little tricky to find. A couple of the longs were tucked away from the obvious path and necessitated some backtracking to find.
Other Thoughts: There are some really nice lines to hit here, and the dual tees make it a great course to test differently skilled players. Beginners might find even the shorts pretty tough and punitive, with tight lines to hit and some long shots even from the reds. Experienced players will find a couple throw away holes, but for the most part the long layout will challenge and test a good variety of disc golf skills.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great complement to NE Lions

1    3/24/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice concrete long tees, natural short tees
-chainstar baskets and tee signs in good condition
-great layout, challenging and fun
-great variety of terrain & distance, lots of shots required, lots of elevation
-well-maintained, grass is mowed, not a lot of trash
-pretty good navigation, mostly obvious, directional markers on the each basket to the next tee (some only have one marker, the gold and red are frequently in different directions from the last basket)
-great elevated basket on hole 8, fun elevated tee on 18
-plenty of parking
-dog park and sports fields
-across the street from NE Lions
Cons: -the rough is rough
-trash cans throughout the course would be good
-long walk back to the parking lot after 18
-no restrooms or water fountains
-poison ivy
-a few tricky navigation spots, signs should clarify where you need to be, a few "next tee" signs on the back 9 would be a big help
Other Thoughts: This course is a great complement to NE Lions across the road. Not only because they are so close but they also exemplify the old and the new. This is a much more modern course than NE Lions with longer holes and a different feel. However, like NE Lions the premium here is on accuracy.

I played the long layout but I saw some of the looks from the red tees and I couldn't believe how tight some of those shots are. This course really does play totally differently from the different pads.

Lots of elevation is used well throughout the course and it gets tighter and more technical as the course progresses. Open fairways with a park-like feel give way to tightly wooded fairways with lots of tunnel shots, left and right or both! (hole 14?)

Definitely one of the best in the OKC area. Very challenging and lots of variety. If you have time for only one course it should be this or NE Lions, depending on your preference of course type.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Enter the Dog Park

2-4    1/21/2012   1/27/2012
Review By: WoogieBoogie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 3/14/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off if you are a noob or noobish at disc golf then i would recommend sticking to red tees not the concrete as these add about 100 feet on average to the hole. Not too hard to find your way around, however if it is the first time playing the course remember to turn into the dog park from 12th, not the park (park). The holes themselves provide quite a challenge. I would not recommend playing right after rain.
Cons: If you are new to the course it can be difficult to find some of the concrete tees however the AM (red) pads are much more fluidly connected to where its obvious, not so with the pro (concrete) pads. Water isn't really an issue unless its just rained in which case you may have to deal with a creek that runs through about 3 holes and gets to about waist height.
Other Thoughts: Really nice course, if your feeling frisky after 18 you can always drive the 30 seconds to Lions across the street and hit up another 18 there. If your not comfortable with hilly terrain (bum ankle,knee, or hip) then this may not be the course for you. *Update* There is now a practice basket a few feet from the first tee, should improve course scores.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    10/23/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Had a great time playing this course. Truly a scenic trip through some Oklahoma wilderness. The course is a challenge, but not in a frustrating way. I had to use my back hand, sidearm and overhand shots to efficiently complete the 18. Can't wait to get back up there and play again.
Cons: Course is a bit under construction. most of the holes have two tee boxes. Most of those holes only have a concrete tee box for the longer distance. I wouldn't recommend playing after a rain.
It's obvious a fairly resent "redisign" has been done. At some point, the baskets numbering is thrown off - 8 is really 9....9 really 10. I don't like to think too much when playing, so I got an "ice cream" headache trying to figure out where I was and where I needed to go
Other Thoughts: Take the map provided by this wonderful site. The next holes are not always obvious. At 14, take a left, cross the small paved road and walk until you reach the fence line to the 15th tee(s).
If you find a red starfire on 15, enjoy!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tough in a good way

1    4/20/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: kc135golfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Offers more variety than any courses I have tried so far
- tee boxes are in great shape
- park was very clean
- course layout forces you to work throws you may not use often
- Great use of landscape to create challenge
Cons: - Poison Ivy
- Thick brush should you miss the fairways
- Poison Ivy
- some of the signage is missing making a little tough to figure out where to go next if you are not familiar with the course layout
- Poison Ivy
Other Thoughts: They layout of this course offers alot of risk vs. reward. Some of the throws can be very tough and tight but when you manage to get it right it feels great. I even managed to finally try out a few tomahawk throws with great success over some of the blocking trees. If you can keep your throws low and straight you will do well in the back end of the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course

1    7/14/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several challenging holes.
Lots of land to work with.
A few tee boxes (and more forms ready for cement)
Cons: Needs tee signs
Needs tee boxes

Needs to be mowed (they were mowing when I was out there)

WAY to long of a walk from 18 to 1. (specially on a very hot day after playing 2 other courses)
Other Thoughts: This is a long time work in progress. As you can read in the description, the course was just changed up this year.

Hole #1's regular tee box was a pretty good hole. It was very rough though. I also noticed a short position that looked like a fun tunnel shot. (I didn't play it)

#2 was a long hole across an open field. It needs to be mowed badly and it took me 15 min to find my drive.

#3 (new hole) was a nice hole that they put some fallen trees in front of the basket. The tee is on the side of a hill with the green area at the end of that hill. Overthrow the hole and you are in trouble.

#4 good hole and your typical type of disc golf hole.
#5 GREAT hole with well defined fairway.
for the most part, the rest of the holes until #15 are using the natural fairways in the park. Miss the fairway and you are in deep dodo (trust me, I was more than once)
#15 has a clowns mouth mandatory. They are basically making you throw though a pachinko set of trees.

#16 was so overgrown (because of the new hill) I threw a simple drive and upshot for my par.

#18 could be a signature hole. It is still rough because of the construction of the damn, but it was a fun hole to play. Throwing off a large dirt pile, down to the Damn. only those with big arms will throw there drive into the pond, the rest of us will have to watch our upshot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Rough is a Patch-Work Quilt

1    6/7/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many of the holes here have open pin placements, but they are still tough to get too. If you throw lots of thumbers and tomahawks, this course may not be as difficult for you. However, if those are not in your arsenal, this course will require some accuracy off the tees. There is a great balance of left & right turning holes. The picture hole must be the new 18th hole. It is a shot off a hilltop toward the dam. It is rather amazing looking. The course seemed to be well maintained and the fairways were cut down nicely and they were out mowing that day as well. This does have long and short concrete pads. (Actually, at the time of this review, almost all the tee pads were done & the molds were in place on the few that were left to do. They have been updating this course some and improvements were still being made.)
Cons: The roughs are like having dense woods in patches along the way. It is amazing that the fairways are this clean and the rough/obstacle type woods can be this well defined and in sections. The rough is dense enough to cause a disc loss, so keep that in mind. Navigation is somewhat tricky. Having a the map uploaded July of 2008 is helpful, but having a guide is suggested as this place is getting many changes. Some of these pads need to be repaired. There were a couple with enough cracks in them that it at least made you check your footing. There are some tee signs missing and some that needed updates.
Other Thoughts: The walk form 18 to the parking lot is longer than most courses, but nothing really worth complaining about. Currently, there is only 3 holes over 400 feet. This is also one of those things that is not really a negative, but should be mentioned. The Fun Factor here was decent. Those rather tall woodsy roughs were a bit annoying sometimes, but hey that is what made this place kind of unique. I hadn't yet seen a course carved out this cleanly before. I was constantly astounded by the layout. It was obviously lots of work. Norman, OK, was a good place for a stop over.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Borderline Evil Difficult

5+    7/8/2013   6/8/2010
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crazy variety of shots. Plenty of great examples of effective utilization of fairways and greens. Well maintained, usually. Baskets in good shape and good concrete tee boxes (on the Gold course). Fairly easy to navigate. Online map. Benches and shade are fairly abundant (after the first few holes). Ample garbage cans (that need to be used more) Little bit of a walk at times, but nothing onerous.
Cons: Roughs are rough. Lose a disc and either have a friend with a rabbit's foot or kiss it good-bye. No water threats to speak of except some casual water in a few low areas and the small creek on 14 thru 17. The three-mile plateau you are throwing across on 1 thru 3 has some depressions that fill up and stay wet for several days after a storm. The "Red" and "Gold" tees/placements offer a good variety. This is a course that is constantly being worked on/tweaked by the local club and has generally been improved upon as time goes on.

Online maps may not reflect some of the more recent changes to the course.

Signage isn't that good and is non-existant at times (especially for the Red tees).

Rumors of poison ivy, but I haven't encountered it personally.

Earth pads for the Red course that generally are just a designated spot of dirt, not much of a pad.
The walk from 18 to the pavilion isn't that bad, but it's not a convenient green-to-car hop either.

Extremely technical and frustrating to beginning players for about 75% of the course. Fun at times, but if you haven't been doing this long, don't keep score, just enjoy the course.

Fairly popular course that has it's fair share of trash. More than Lions, but less than Colonial (the other two local courses).
Other Thoughts: Played it several times with multiple skill level players in my group, but mostly beginners/recreational players. Frustrating course but it's still a disc golf course so I enjoyed it for the challenge it presents but the rough is a real detractor from most rounds. Just a few notches above my skill level.

The map and the photos here are not necessarily reflective of the current course. Both need to be updated by a member of the local club.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Griffin Summer 2012

5+    6/2/2012   6/11/2009
Review By: Sports_Fan_Stan
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Griffin's original "gold course" caters to experienced players with plenty of holes that can be over-powered with a big arm. Most shots from the "gold" tees feature a well defined fairway line for low-shots as well as lines over the trees. In 2011, the much shorter "red course" was added featuring different angles and tighter lines through the trees. The "red" layout removes a few hikes between holes and takes less time to play. Red #4 and #11 are simple and short ace runs. In contrast, Gold #11's fairway narrows to road width basically requiring a high-line that must carry nearly 300-feet of trees. The 8th hole has two baskets to pick from. During tournament play, the "red course" would play the basket on top of the "Matterhorn." The long 17th hole gets tougher if the tee shot finishes in the lowlands by the creek bed. Both layouts finish up with an elevated tee shot on #18 that is usually downwind to the basket 450-feet away. Most every tee has a place to sit and rest.
Cons: The city has decided that the hill for #18 tee is a temporary feature. So, this course will undergo yet another change to #18 in the future. The course is regularly mowed but many areas are purposefully allowed to grow in order to support this urban wilderness. Signage is often incorrect and confusing due to the multiple layout changes to accommodate upgrades around the park. Beware; the Red #2 tee is in the middle of the Gold #1 fairway which can cause a delay while golfers clear. With the addition of the lake, #18 will always be a short hike from the parking lot. There are no public bathrooms or drinking water nearby.
Other Thoughts: This is an update of a 2-year old review. In that time, many changes and upgrades have occurred. The course map here on DGCR is kept as updated as possible. The city is quite helpful and cooperative with the local club and is planning to add concrete tees for the "red course." It is often a tough choice to decide if we are going to play Griffin or the nearby Lions. Griffin being the tougher of the two tends to have fewer players on the course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good but not great

2-4    7/6/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for the Adv/Pro player. Lots of shots that challenge your bag, both long and short. Not a big boomer course but that does help, accuracy is more important here. I like the mowed fairways because of the reward of not having to climb in the tall grass and ticks. It is not an easy course and makes you feel better when shooting a good round but ont overly hard for the beginner. Good tees and baskets as well. My favorite of the three courses in Norman, cant wait to get back there again.
Cons: Talk grass made for some ticks. Hot in the summer time. Hard to navigate first time out, have a little patience, It will be worth it. Long way from the car so bring lots of fluid during the summer.
Other Thoughts: It cant get thick in areas so keep an eye on your plastic or use a spotter. You will know the holes when you get to them.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.