Norman, OK
Griffin Park Share
Uploaded By: Heathen Hole #1 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 366ft.   3 / 446ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Tough in a good way

1    4/20/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: kc135golfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Offers more variety than any courses I have tried so far
- tee boxes are in great shape
- park was very clean
- course layout forces you to work throws you may not use often
- Great use of landscape to create challenge
Cons: - Poison Ivy
- Thick brush should you miss the fairways
- Poison Ivy
- some of the signage is missing making a little tough to figure out where to go next if you are not familiar with the course layout
- Poison Ivy
Other Thoughts: They layout of this course offers alot of risk vs. reward. Some of the throws can be very tough and tight but when you manage to get it right it feels great. I even managed to finally try out a few tomahawk throws with great success over some of the blocking trees. If you can keep your throws low and straight you will do well in the back end of the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course

1    7/14/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several challenging holes.
Lots of land to work with.
A few tee boxes (and more forms ready for cement)
Cons: Needs tee signs
Needs tee boxes

Needs to be mowed (they were mowing when I was out there)

WAY to long of a walk from 18 to 1. (specially on a very hot day after playing 2 other courses)
Other Thoughts: This is a long time work in progress. As you can read in the description, the course was just changed up this year.

Hole #1's regular tee box was a pretty good hole. It was very rough though. I also noticed a short position that looked like a fun tunnel shot. (I didn't play it)

#2 was a long hole across an open field. It needs to be mowed badly and it took me 15 min to find my drive.

#3 (new hole) was a nice hole that they put some fallen trees in front of the basket. The tee is on the side of a hill with the green area at the end of that hill. Overthrow the hole and you are in trouble.

#4 good hole and your typical type of disc golf hole.
#5 GREAT hole with well defined fairway.
for the most part, the rest of the holes until #15 are using the natural fairways in the park. Miss the fairway and you are in deep dodo (trust me, I was more than once)
#15 has a clowns mouth mandatory. They are basically making you throw though a pachinko set of trees.

#16 was so overgrown (because of the new hill) I threw a simple drive and upshot for my par.

#18 could be a signature hole. It is still rough because of the construction of the damn, but it was a fun hole to play. Throwing off a large dirt pile, down to the Damn. only those with big arms will throw there drive into the pond, the rest of us will have to watch our upshot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Rough is a Patch-Work Quilt

1    6/7/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 204  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many of the holes here have open pin placements, but they are still tough to get too. If you throw lots of thumbers and tomahawks, this course may not be as difficult for you. However, if those are not in your arsenal, this course will require some accuracy off the tees. There is a great balance of left & right turning holes. The picture hole must be the new 18th hole. It is a shot off a hilltop toward the dam. It is rather amazing looking. The course seemed to be well maintained and the fairways were cut down nicely and they were out mowing that day as well. This does have long and short concrete pads. (Actually, at the time of this review, almost all the tee pads were done & the molds were in place on the few that were left to do. They have been updating this course some and improvements were still being made.)
Cons: The roughs are like having dense woods in patches along the way. It is amazing that the fairways are this clean and the rough/obstacle type woods can be this well defined and in sections. The rough is dense enough to cause a disc loss, so keep that in mind. Navigation is somewhat tricky. Having a the map uploaded July of 2008 is helpful, but having a guide is suggested as this place is getting many changes. Some of these pads need to be repaired. There were a couple with enough cracks in them that it at least made you check your footing. There are some tee signs missing and some that needed updates.
Other Thoughts: The walk form 18 to the parking lot is longer than most courses, but nothing really worth complaining about. Currently, there is only 3 holes over 400 feet. This is also one of those things that is not really a negative, but should be mentioned. The Fun Factor here was decent. Those rather tall woodsy roughs were a bit annoying sometimes, but hey that is what made this place kind of unique. I hadn't yet seen a course carved out this cleanly before. I was constantly astounded by the layout. It was obviously lots of work. Norman, OK, was a good place for a stop over.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Borderline Evil Difficult

5+    7/8/2013   6/8/2010
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crazy variety of shots. Plenty of great examples of effective utilization of fairways and greens. Well maintained, usually. Baskets in good shape and good concrete tee boxes (on the Gold course). Fairly easy to navigate. Online map. Benches and shade are fairly abundant (after the first few holes). Ample garbage cans (that need to be used more) Little bit of a walk at times, but nothing onerous.
Cons: Roughs are rough. Lose a disc and either have a friend with a rabbit's foot or kiss it good-bye. No water threats to speak of except some casual water in a few low areas and the small creek on 14 thru 17. The three-mile plateau you are throwing across on 1 thru 3 has some depressions that fill up and stay wet for several days after a storm. The "Red" and "Gold" tees/placements offer a good variety. This is a course that is constantly being worked on/tweaked by the local club and has generally been improved upon as time goes on.

Online maps may not reflect some of the more recent changes to the course.

Signage isn't that good and is non-existant at times (especially for the Red tees).

Rumors of poison ivy, but I haven't encountered it personally.

Earth pads for the Red course that generally are just a designated spot of dirt, not much of a pad.
The walk from 18 to the pavilion isn't that bad, but it's not a convenient green-to-car hop either.

Extremely technical and frustrating to beginning players for about 75% of the course. Fun at times, but if you haven't been doing this long, don't keep score, just enjoy the course.

Fairly popular course that has it's fair share of trash. More than Lions, but less than Colonial (the other two local courses).
Other Thoughts: Played it several times with multiple skill level players in my group, but mostly beginners/recreational players. Frustrating course but it's still a disc golf course so I enjoyed it for the challenge it presents but the rough is a real detractor from most rounds. Just a few notches above my skill level.

The map and the photos here are not necessarily reflective of the current course. Both need to be updated by a member of the local club.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Mau5 was here

5+    5/2/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: Mau5
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Honestly this is the best course in Norman without a doubt. There is nothing else really to say. If you play disc golf you need to play this course. It very difficult and so friggin technical. The course will make you pay for every single bad shot, seriously you screw up your drive on most of the holes and you can be sure to get a 5 or a 6 on most unless you make an amazing out of the woods shot. I absolutely love this course. Its really more 50% Love 50% Hate this course.
Cons: I've only finished the course under par a couple of times. Probably why I like this course so much.
Other Thoughts: Don't play a practice round here..Really go play a practice round or two at Lions thats like 30 seconds up Robinson from it and then play a money round with your group here. Makes for an interesting day.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just Beginning

2-4    7/21/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: okiebullgod
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Keep in mind I'm writing this review as a beginner. I've probably only played a half dozen rounds. The course is less crowded than others in the area (a plus since not as many people can watch you shank one), it's also easier to follow the holes than others in Norman. This course will teach you to throw straight or pay the consequences. Also, there are a couple of well water hydrants on the front 9.
Cons: There is some dirt work and construction going on, but they have made some fun interim holes. In my mind the only cons are the "stick tights" the little burrs that stick all over you. As long as you stay on the fairway it's not a problem though
Other Thoughts: This course was much more suitable to me to learn on than Colonial was. It is easier to follow and less crowded.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Griffin Summer 2012

5+    6/2/2012   6/11/2009
Review By: Sports_Fan_Stan
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Griffin's original "gold course" caters to experienced players with plenty of holes that can be over-powered with a big arm. Most shots from the "gold" tees feature a well defined fairway line for low-shots as well as lines over the trees. In 2011, the much shorter "red course" was added featuring different angles and tighter lines through the trees. The "red" layout removes a few hikes between holes and takes less time to play. Red #4 and #11 are simple and short ace runs. In contrast, Gold #11's fairway narrows to road width basically requiring a high-line that must carry nearly 300-feet of trees. The 8th hole has two baskets to pick from. During tournament play, the "red course" would play the basket on top of the "Matterhorn." The long 17th hole gets tougher if the tee shot finishes in the lowlands by the creek bed. Both layouts finish up with an elevated tee shot on #18 that is usually downwind to the basket 450-feet away. Most every tee has a place to sit and rest.
Cons: The city has decided that the hill for #18 tee is a temporary feature. So, this course will undergo yet another change to #18 in the future. The course is regularly mowed but many areas are purposefully allowed to grow in order to support this urban wilderness. Signage is often incorrect and confusing due to the multiple layout changes to accommodate upgrades around the park. Beware; the Red #2 tee is in the middle of the Gold #1 fairway which can cause a delay while golfers clear. With the addition of the lake, #18 will always be a short hike from the parking lot. There are no public bathrooms or drinking water nearby.
Other Thoughts: This is an update of a 2-year old review. In that time, many changes and upgrades have occurred. The course map here on DGCR is kept as updated as possible. The city is quite helpful and cooperative with the local club and is planning to add concrete tees for the "red course." It is often a tough choice to decide if we are going to play Griffin or the nearby Lions. Griffin being the tougher of the two tends to have fewer players on the course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good but not great

2-4    7/6/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for the Adv/Pro player. Lots of shots that challenge your bag, both long and short. Not a big boomer course but that does help, accuracy is more important here. I like the mowed fairways because of the reward of not having to climb in the tall grass and ticks. It is not an easy course and makes you feel better when shooting a good round but ont overly hard for the beginner. Good tees and baskets as well. My favorite of the three courses in Norman, cant wait to get back there again.
Cons: Talk grass made for some ticks. Hot in the summer time. Hard to navigate first time out, have a little patience, It will be worth it. Long way from the car so bring lots of fluid during the summer.
Other Thoughts: It cant get thick in areas so keep an eye on your plastic or use a spotter. You will know the holes when you get to them.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 construction-but still worth it

1    9/9/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging design with lots of variety teaches new shots. Even though there is thick rough, I only spotted poison ivy in one spot and it wasn't much. Good length, big arms don't get too many chances (besides #2) to run away with it, but it does help to have some D. Nothing too short either. Plays through new-growth forest and prairie like land, with mowed grass fairways usually clear of trees using turns and branches as obstacles.
Cons: It claimed to be evenly balanced, but I found it favoring RHBH shots, maybe not too much overall, but definitely on the front 9. Tees can get muddy quick due to the grass being worn out around them. Hard to find #14's tee. No restroom at this part of the park.
Other Thoughts: Currently, holes #1-2 have large muddy areas (when wet) due to park construction. #14 had water so deep in the fairway it wasn't realistic to walk it, but you can PARK the hole then walk around to the basket. #17 had no basket, but I think there was an alt. basket that was unexplained over to the left. #18 was unplayable due to active heavy equipment.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Griffin - Too Narrow and Thick

3/11/2008   3/11/2008
Review By: DG_Wizard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a convenient place to play. It is a challenging course, and has adequate facilities (trash cans, benches, bathrooms, etc.) It has a nice flow, and the holes are out of the way of joggers, etc. Most of the time there is a copy of the course map at the entrance. Concrete tee pads and signs are nice.
Cons: This course is long. #2 is about 800+ feet. It is also extremely thick in summer months. It is very easy to lose discs. Some fairways are too narrow in very wooded areas in my opinion. I also don't like the fact that there seem to be a group of vandals that like to come out and trash the baskets. They have been known to be bent, covered in graffiti, missing chains or tops, or even dug up completely. I know of a couple that have been replaced several times. If you aren't going to play, at least don't ruin it for the rest of us! Some parallel fairways are too close together.
Other Thoughts: I like this course, and I play it occaisionally for a change of scenery. I like Lion's Park better, which is practically across the street. Entrance to the Griffin DGC is right next to the fenced in dog park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.