Columbus, OH 
Griggs Reservoir Park Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #13 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Decent course

1    10/18/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course. The course was fun to play.
Cons: A little hard to follow at times. I found myself throwing to the wrong basket, only to discover a basket tucked up in the woods on at least 2 holes. I found the concrete pads to be a little slick, due to being wet.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

not to shabby

2-4    8/10/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: W7amf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: an average course with a good layout and good scenery. good for a quick game.
Cons: can be crowded and some holes intersect a little.
Other Thoughts: this is a fun course to play a quick game before or after work. you only need a couple discs to play this whole course if you are confident. lots of college kids and runners.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    9/24/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: NCapo18
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Distance for each hole
-Lots of trees
-Good variation of throws
Cons: -Trees are slowly being cut down because of the emerald ash borer.
-You can easily lose discs in the bushes
-No maps on holes
Other Thoughts: I probably play this course the most because it is the closest to my house. Good variation of throws. You can throw a 2 on most all holes or ace. Holes 4 and 5 are much harder now that they are more tucked back in the woods making it almost impossible to ace. Trees are being cut down because of the ash borer but they are planting new ones. Course may be bad for awhile once all the trees are cut down because there is a lot of them. The bushes make it easy to lose discs because they have a canopy which they land on and you can't see your disc. There are a few holes in which water is in play. When the water is down you can find discs. Don't come on Wednesday nights unless you wanna play in a tournament with the columbus flyers, they take up the whole course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Has Great Potential

2-4    7/21/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Adequate teepads and baskets.

-OB road makes your round more exciting if you choose to use it.

-Although the tee signs were primitive, they were all there.

-A block away from Disc Golf Mart, where you can grab scorecards.

-Challenging holes, but not frustrating. There were newbies and experienced players in my group today and no one thought the course was too easy/hard.

-Great use of the woods for protected baskets.
Cons:
-I've experienced a "fishy" smell when playing near the creek.

-It is very difficult to find the course the first time, as you don't see much of the course from the road.

-The course gets muddy and eventually floods while it's raining (See http://www.dgcoursereview.com....php?t=30456)

-Parking lot has lots of pot holes
Other Thoughts:
If this course was fixed up a little, It could easily be rated a 4. It is a refreshing change from the rest of the Columbus scene, although I would not put it on the same level as the Brent Hambrick course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/9/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: nickolas
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has been updated to make it a little tougher and conceal some of the pin placements further into the trees. It's a nice park with big mature trees and it's right off of a main road in the city. It's real easy to get to.
Cons: It's always busy. There isn't enough shot diversity, nearly every hole forces a certain shot. The first (roughly nine holes) go in one direction and the next (roughly 9) come back the other way so the shots all go left to right and then vice versa. The course is heavily travelled and it shows. There seems to always be a problem with people breaking limbs to improve a shot or manipulating the course. A lot of the holes are straightforward and forgettable.
Other Thoughts: This is a course we tried to play every once in a while because it's so close but other course play faster and better in the area. It's just alright.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Griggs Reservoir (HD) Disc Golf Course Review -- Buckeye Disc Golf

5+    9/9/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: Buckeye Disc Golf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3dCEqh5Y6U

Check Out our Video Review of Griggs Reservoir Disc Golf Course!
Other Thoughts: Enjoy our Video Review! More to Come!

Subscribe to Us on Youtube! http://www.youtube.com/buckeyediscgolf

Check Us Out at Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pa...172398?ref=ts
!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/20/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: OhioDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A good use of 18 holes right next to disc mart. Right next to OSU if you need a easier round. Griggs still remains to be a popular course.
Cons: If it rains just once in the week you play it can be very muddy. This can be so popular that this course can be crowded. Bad water problems!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Convenient and Clean

5+    7/13/2008   7/13/2010
Review By: Manana
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/7/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Well maintained grass
-Local disc club is proactive in upgrading course (ie cement pads)
-Shortest drive for 18 holes on the west side
-Random doubles twice weekly always have a good draw
-Good for beginners (especially if you have to loan your discs to them)
-Non golfing pedestrian traffic is thin and usually aware of the activities around
-Locals have pro pads for a few holes (not cement when I played last)
Cons: -Straight and narrow park lends to a lack of hole diversity
-Flat
-Hole 8 can be swallowed by the river after heavy showers
-Usually crowded
Other Thoughts: I played this course consistently out of convenience 5 years and it grew on me the more I played it. I always pay it a visit when I am in town. Occasionally the river can make the park smell awful since the Scioto is not the cleanest river.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 High Exposure

5+    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Visible/accessible off a major road
+ nice tees with benches
+ most holes require line placement to avoid trees
+ right to left, straight on, and left to right shots all needed
+ Pretty good flow that has you finish near where you started
Cons: - Signage needs updated
- layout means that a few holes have fairways and baskets that get very close to other holes' fairways and baskets
- many baskets missing number plates
Other Thoughts: Got to love that this course introduces so many people to disc golf as its the only course in the area that can be seen and accessed from a major road (33/Riverside Dr.) Even if it isn't necessarily the best course for a beginner to learn on.

I quite enjoy the first 3 holes as they feature elevation changes and a healthy amount of trees to avoid. After that though none of the holes strike me as all that memorable until you get back around to 18. Not to say they are bad holes by any means ... just that they aren't anything special. The park is pretty darn nice and well shielded by trees from 33. The river adds a nice scenic touch but never really comes into play and is also pretty well guarded by trees.

My two main gripes are with the signs and the layout of a few holes in the middle. The signs don't share any information on the layout of the hole other than what number it is and the distance. However most of the baskets have been relocated so the distances are no longer accurate. Also once you get past hole 4 a good number of baskets are in view from the tees and while its mostly logical which one you are supposed to be shooting at, if you haven't checked the map or have someone who knows the course with you, you don't know for sure as many of those baskets lack number plates and the signs don't show you what kind of shot it is. Also, some of the holes in the middle run too close to each other for my taste. But not much to do about it as every bit of land available for the course has been utilized and there just aren't enough trees to make every single hole feel secluded from the others.

Overall its a quality course and worth playing if you're in the area. I can't honestly say its one of my favorites but if someone asked me if I wanted to go get a round in at Griggs I'd go without hesitation.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Digs at Griggs

1    4/2/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.4 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park along the Scioto River, well mowed/maintained complete with signs on most holes and benches. Terrain and nice, big deciduous trees make for some attractive and fairly interesting holes. Some of the holes run along a busy road (Riverside Rd.) but the trees that line the road are perfect for blocking discs, nevertheless I managed to grip lock a midrange completely over the 4 lane highway into the opposite ditch. Fortunately a passerby courteously informed me that "I suck" as he drove by as I was unaware. Hey, I hadn't played in a while, give a brother a break.

Baskets are in nice shape and there are plenty of other discgolfers to hang out with and the Scioto is a nice sized river. Occasional boulder and ridge add to the quality but holes are pretty open with the occasional old growth tree dotting the fairway. Great big cement tees with plenty of benches make this a chill course. Trash cans too.
Cons: Pars are assigned poorly. There were more than a few par 4's that were ~ 300' or less which led to a -10 my 2nd round (I'm not that great, Int. level). All holes should have been a par 3 except for maybe #18 which had some length. The biggest con is safety related because the course is very popular and the holes are really close to each other which led to some hectic rounds. Hole variety is fairly lacking, they tend to be either straight ahead, and straight and slightly left/right. Multiple pins in sight can lead to confusion as to what basket you are throwing to on a few holes. I didn't see a bathroom but you're not far from civilization.
Other Thoughts: This course is a little too crowded for my tastes, I'd have to hit it up in the morning. It's popularity isn't its fault though. It is a very charming park but the close proximity of fairways and tees next to each other can make it a chore when you have to do safety checks every hole. It doesn't require a great amount of skill to score well either and that makes it fun but also tedious after a while. I'd play it again though.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.