Columbus, OH 
Griggs Reservoir Park Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Intermediate Course

5+    8/22/2015   8/22/2015
Review By: SaintAjora
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good forehand shots. There are a couple of shots that will really give the good players a tough time. Easy to play.
Cons: Many shots are wide open. Not a lot of trees/obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I got here a lot regularly. Send a PM

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I mean, it's still disc golf

5+    6/2/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: zetterbeard
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good course location. Located right near Upper Arlington, easy to get in and out of.

-Decent signage, every tee box has a sign with the hole number and distance.

-For the low rating this course has, it does have a few good holes. 9 and 10 are really fun and will actually pose a good challenge.
Cons: -A lot of the cons have been mentioned but I'll drop my own variations of them here:

-The vast majority of the holes are a straight shoot across a 220-270 ft green. Not much variation, maybe they'll follow the tree line, maybe there will be a few trees here and there, but the course is pretty boring. If you can put any sort of control on your drive, you should be able to have a bird opportunity on most of the holes here.

Because the course is packed in so tightly, it can be difficult to know which basket you're supposed to be throwing at. There are multiple tees where it's pretty vague which hole you're supposed to be throwing at, so it can be quite confusing.

-Lots of traffic, both DG players and walkers. There's a long path that runs the length of the course and people walking on it will definitely slow you down. As far as DG traffic goes, this course get friggin' PACKED. Griggs should take a twosome no more than 45-60, but if you go at a bad time, you could be out there for close to two hours. If you're wanting to play Griggs, go before 3-4pm on weekdays (if possible). Not sure about weekends, but I imagine it can get busy on weekends.
Other Thoughts: -I mean, it's Griggs. You're not going to get anything special here. It's disc golf, it's close, especially if you live in the center/ west side of Columbus. Don't come here with high expectations. Really the only reason to play this course, in my opinion, is if you live close by and want to play some disc golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Meh, mostly

5+    5/4/2015   5/6/2015
Review By: Mulligan
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm not going to bother to right a complete review here, cause I think most things have been covered... but anyone giving this a 4 star review is completely delusional. I think a 2 star is pretty much right on.
Pros of this course are its got a few technical shots to the right that are fun for fore handers and good training ground for RHBH folks. Its near Disc Golf Mart, and you were going there anyway, so... Overall, a good course to work on form and technique, but only on off peak hours.
Cons: There are locals that seem to think its their job to disrupt disc golf by either personally escorting their dog across a fairway, or allowing it free reign to crap all over the fairway without them. Regardless, the local Upper Arlington bourgeois seem to feel like they own the park and sometimes completely disregard the paved road they could keep their dog on just to mess with disc golfers.

Speaking of... dogs. This park attracts more people with dogs they can't control whatsoever than any I've ever seen. There's no stopping it, so you must accept it or go elsewhere. That just seems to be the vibe here.

Then, there is the traffic. Easily the busiest course in the area. Really tough sometimes to gauge when a good time to play might be. A lot of folks that are new or very occasional that don't know the etiquette play here often, too, which can be frustrating.

In terms of the course layout... its okay.. just, okay. Nothing to write home about. Maybe 5-6 interesting-ish holes, but overall fairly generic. In certain areas, if you drop it in the river that is off to one side... adios!
Other Thoughts: Theres a local guy that goes by River Rat that apparently makes it his job to scour the river for lost discs. That would be great, if he called people back. But, it's known that he doesn't call any numbers unless its someone he personally knows, and I'm disappointed that the local club, and Disc Golf Mart, know him to sell off/keep discs that are marked with other folks numbers he never called and haven't put more pressure for it to stop. I've heard the story too many times, and just had a conversation about this that confirmed it, again. Long story short, if you lose a disc in the water you probably won't get it back, and I can't recommend a course that has this kind of behavior so well documented.
A few years back, I even took it upon myself to come out in wader boots and collect discs to call folks... dude showed up in a wetsuit in his truck. The vibe of such activity is douchey, to say the least.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Riverside "Drive"

5+    4/27/2014   2/4/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 125  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees
2) Multiple pin positions
3) Good mixture of lefty and righty holes
3) Highlight holes: 18
Cons: 1) Not a lot of obstacles to shoot around (trees cut down)
2) Crowded with pedestrians and dg traffic during warmer months
3) MUDDY when wet
4) Tee signs need updated
5) Navigation issues - bring map. Eg. ,hole 5's basket in B position in woods to right - visible basket is 16, not 5.
Other Thoughts: Griggs is sandwiched in between Riverside Drive and the Scioto River on a relatively small rectangular piece of land. It plays in a giant loop, so by the time you get to hole 10, you are far away from your car. It is flat for the most part, with a few slight elevation changes on a handful of holes. The land is dotted with mature trees, but for the most part, it is open.

About 5 years ago, the course received a makeover which greatly enhanced its appeal for the intermediate to advanced player. New target positions were created, and for the most part, the course has stayed in this layout ever since. The tee signs need to be updated to match the new positions though. If you haven't been here before, you should bring a map because there are a few holes that might trip you up. (See above for example).

The course has an OB road that follows the length of the rectangle, creating some more challenge on quite a few holes. There is a nice mix of lefty and righty holes. I would say that the lefty holes are truly lefty holes, not only because of the shape of the hole, but because of the OB road on the left of the fairway...holes 2, 3, 4, 5, 7 and 18 come to mind.

There are a few ace runs and some long holes to navigate as well. Since some of the targets have been moved, the narrow strip of woods in between the course and Riverside Drive is being used to create more obstacles to shoot through/around. The river comes into play on a few holes as well...7, 8, 17, 18, which adds some challenge.

The course is (or was) fun to shoot, but unfortunately, they cut down a lot of the trees on the course (they were infected with the ash borer) from what I heard. The last time I played there was last April and they had already cut down 3 or 4, but there were a lot more that were marked for termination. I haven't been back because I've heard it isn't nearly as much fun now. I'll update my review when I go back this year.

That said, the Columbus Flyers have done what they can to prepare the course for the future by planting new trees...and the placement of those trees will make for a very challenging course someday. Until then, though, the course is in a transitional period.

Because this is the only truly challenging course in the area, it draws a lot of dg traffic, so be prepared to do a lot of waiting (or playing through) during the summer months. And be prepared to wait for walkers (not zombies) and joggers too, as a lot of people come here for R&R as well.

One more thing...this is one of the worst courses to play when the ground is wet. The ground has a lot of dirt exposed and this dirt is very clingy and clay-like when it gets wet. It will stick to your shoes like glue and you will gain 5 pounds in 1 hole because of it. Bring an extra pair of shoes to change into when you're done or drive your old car to the course if it's springtime, or any time you think the ground may be wet.

For now, I give this course a 3, but that is based upon my memory of it before the tree massacre.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Campground Conversion serving dual groups

2-4    10/26/2014   10/27/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 235  Reviewed: 220  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Griggs "Riverside" course in Columbus, OH was clearly installed over the plain along the Scioto river where there once was a campground facility (you encounter the old asphalt drives as you go). It does utilize the available rolling terrain on holes 1-3, and the uphill treeline on 4, 5, 10 & 11, as well as the trees guarding you from putting any in the river on 8 & 18. It is interesting to see that none of the holes really put you at any real risk of going in the river, which might actually be a plus, because retrieval there would be very risky, if not impossible.

Sporting a variety of hole distances (220 to 454 feet in the B positions), the course seems geared to benefit folks with Intermediate distance and above, because it's open enough to set longer arms up for deuce opportunities, while recreational arms (max 'D' 250-280') will often be playing for a three. The course seems to be very popular with (casual playing) young men who can bring their girlfriends out and impress them with long-ish drives (especially if they can drag along a noob buddy to put their skills in perspective. But it also plays well as a tourney course because of the Columbus Flyers' own Paul Jay's creative use of OB, island greens, etc. If you play with strict OB rules for the drive and walkways, there are plenty of opportunities to stray, and add strokes.

Having a nice park kiosk map sign at the first hole, benches where appropriate, one set of level, flush, well-proportioned concrete tee pads (I love the grooved traction strips at the front and back ends!) and decent DGA baskets in either of two pin positions, the infrastructure here at Griggs is sound. There are a lot of baskets out in the open, but the ones set into the woodline create a fun but fair challenge.
Cons: The park entrance could use a sign for newcomers, and they should be encouraged to bring a course map, because of the confusing, crossing flow between 5 to 6 and 16 to 17, plus the somewhat blind pin positions on 4, 5 & 18. When you stand on the 5th tee, the basket you CAN see is for hole 16, yours is just short of there, in the woods, right. And when you stand on the 16th tee looking at a line of three baskets spaced in about 100' increments, your target is the first one (though if it's safe to do so, I suppose bigger arms probably safari on out there!).

Speaking of signage, the course could use an update here. Now that there are multiple pin positions, it would be great to have these upgraded to ones with schematic maps and both (all?) distances included. And though the new basket position on hole ten is excellently placed uphill in the woods, it ain't either of 249' or 265': it's a much longer hole.

Personally, I'm not a huge fan of the fact that the course had to be shoehorned into a very long and narrow strip of land, eliminating the possibility of getting two loops in. The ideal in this situation might have been to figure a way to arrange parking in the middle of the strip, rather than at the south end only.

Finally, there are a few holes (4, 8, 17, 18, maybe others) where you'll need to wait to make sure non-players walking, strolling, and sometimes pausing on the path are clear before you throw. And many of those folks seem a little clueless that you might hit them.
Other Thoughts: This is obviously an established, heavily played course, well enjoyed by the Columbus disc golf scene, and may be the strongest option on the west side of town.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Decent course

1    10/18/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course. The course was fun to play.
Cons: A little hard to follow at times. I found myself throwing to the wrong basket, only to discover a basket tucked up in the woods on at least 2 holes. I found the concrete pads to be a little slick, due to being wet.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

not to shabby

2-4    8/10/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: W7amf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: an average course with a good layout and good scenery. good for a quick game.
Cons: can be crowded and some holes intersect a little.
Other Thoughts: this is a fun course to play a quick game before or after work. you only need a couple discs to play this whole course if you are confident. lots of college kids and runners.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time

2-4    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-In a nice area
-Has benches and trash cans
Cons: -Every shot is the same. Straight ahead. Sometimes slightly to the right and sometimes slightly to the left.
-Only one tee position on all holes
-Gets crowded and the overlapping layout makes it easy for errant throws to hit someone
-Inaccurate tee signs that have also been defaced
-Possible to throw errant shots into the river or the street on some holes
-The tee sign on hole 16 is too close to the tee pad and is a danger to hit your hand on (RHBH)
Other Thoughts: Boring and somewhat dangerous. This course does not have much to offer besides a sketchy layout. The park has many patrons besides disc golfers and they are often on paths right next to the line you are throwing (which is always straight). This course was fitted into the sliver of land that runs along the river so it's just a big narrow rectangle with a disc golf course crammed in. Every shot is repetitive and there's just nothing here to make you want to return.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not Worth the Drive

5+    8/7/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: ForehandAnhyzer
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Griggs is clean and well maintained
- A Decent walkabout
- Some decently long holes
- Concrete tee pads
Cons: - Griggs is very boring and samey
- Most all shots are straight ahead shots on an open fairway
- Confusing to navigate to the next hole
- Crowded and with more than just people trying to disc
- Risk throwing your disc into the water or onto the busy street on several holes.
Other Thoughts: Griggs, to me, is certainly off the list of places to play. It is too far away from where I am and it is just not worth the effort to play. Hoover is a hundred times better of an option. Griggs used to be a bit of a shithole back in the day, glad to see it is now nice and cleaned up, but it still suffers from being contained in its long, rectangular strip of land. All the holes are essentially the same with no real difference throughout the course. I applaud it for being clean, but it is just too boring and not worth the drive.
Also, not sure about others' experiences, but when I played here last, my dog started freaking out - she was getting stung by bees, so I lay my bag down to go try to help her, and when I look back at my bag, my bag is swarmed with bees. We spent 10 minutes trying to find a long enough stick/hatch a plan to get it. I have never before seen anything like this. And this was right around the basket of one of the holes, right next to the walking path. So this is my own experience and anecdote, but I am just wondering if anyone else has been swarmed with bees while discing at Griggs! And they were angry, my friend. Anyway, all of this considered, it is enough to keep me away from Griggs. I would rather take my chances at losing a disc at Simsbury, or practice my form at Evans park for a while than make the drive to UA for a big "Meh!"

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    6/9/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: EvCal10
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice scenery
Great concrete tee pads
Very close to Disc Golf Mart
Plenty of opportunities for local tournaments and league play
Accurate signs
Cons: Sometimes very busy
A couple of holes intersect so the basket placement is confusing
Pathways next to holes so you will sometimes have to avoid non-discers

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.