Columbus, OH 
Griggs Reservoir Park Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #4 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Mid-Fairway: Taken from just around the treeline about halfway to the basket.



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Convenient and Clean

5+    7/13/2008   7/13/2010
Review By: Manana
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/7/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Well maintained grass
-Local disc club is proactive in upgrading course (ie cement pads)
-Shortest drive for 18 holes on the west side
-Random doubles twice weekly always have a good draw
-Good for beginners (especially if you have to loan your discs to them)
-Non golfing pedestrian traffic is thin and usually aware of the activities around
-Locals have pro pads for a few holes (not cement when I played last)
Cons: -Straight and narrow park lends to a lack of hole diversity
-Flat
-Hole 8 can be swallowed by the river after heavy showers
-Usually crowded
Other Thoughts: I played this course consistently out of convenience 5 years and it grew on me the more I played it. I always pay it a visit when I am in town. Occasionally the river can make the park smell awful since the Scioto is not the cleanest river.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 High Exposure

5+    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Visible/accessible off a major road
+ nice tees with benches
+ most holes require line placement to avoid trees
+ right to left, straight on, and left to right shots all needed
+ Pretty good flow that has you finish near where you started
Cons: - Signage needs updated
- layout means that a few holes have fairways and baskets that get very close to other holes' fairways and baskets
- many baskets missing number plates
Other Thoughts: Got to love that this course introduces so many people to disc golf as its the only course in the area that can be seen and accessed from a major road (33/Riverside Dr.) Even if it isn't necessarily the best course for a beginner to learn on.

I quite enjoy the first 3 holes as they feature elevation changes and a healthy amount of trees to avoid. After that though none of the holes strike me as all that memorable until you get back around to 18. Not to say they are bad holes by any means ... just that they aren't anything special. The park is pretty darn nice and well shielded by trees from 33. The river adds a nice scenic touch but never really comes into play and is also pretty well guarded by trees.

My two main gripes are with the signs and the layout of a few holes in the middle. The signs don't share any information on the layout of the hole other than what number it is and the distance. However most of the baskets have been relocated so the distances are no longer accurate. Also once you get past hole 4 a good number of baskets are in view from the tees and while its mostly logical which one you are supposed to be shooting at, if you haven't checked the map or have someone who knows the course with you, you don't know for sure as many of those baskets lack number plates and the signs don't show you what kind of shot it is. Also, some of the holes in the middle run too close to each other for my taste. But not much to do about it as every bit of land available for the course has been utilized and there just aren't enough trees to make every single hole feel secluded from the others.

Overall its a quality course and worth playing if you're in the area. I can't honestly say its one of my favorites but if someone asked me if I wanted to go get a round in at Griggs I'd go without hesitation.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Griggs Reservoir at Riverside

2-4    4/9/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: BuckeyeMike
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good Mix of Left, Right, & Straight holes.
-Challenging.
-Concrete tee pads.
-Wooded Basket areas.
-Benches & Picnic tables.
-Good use of trees, hills, & rocks as obstacles on holes.
-Elevated baskets
Cons: -Missing hole numbers on baskets.
-Easy to mix up which basket goes with each hole (see first Con).
-Some tee signs are just a small post with hand written info.
-Holes run close too each other.
-Random concrete & gravel areas that interfere with holes.
-No Course sign, which makes it easy to drive past.
-The Course in general doesn't seem well maintained.
-Usually Crowded.
-An Overused course.
-Drive way and Parking areas have quite a few pot holes.

4/15/10 Update: I went to play Griggs today and It was PACKED with people! The first 3 holes alone averaged 3-4 groups of people in line for each hole.
Make sure you go in the morning or during dinner!
Other Thoughts: -Fun and Challenging holes.

-Course Needs new tee signs
-Course Needs numbers on baskets.
-A little bit of clean up would go along way.
-The course is way too busy, which affects the way the course looks and plays!

-If cleaned & fixed up a little, Griggs could be one of the top courses in Columbus!

-I would like to see more use of the woods, maybe a wooded tunnel hole in between the 4th and 5th hole.

-Dublin, Hilliard, Upper Arlington, and the OSU Campus area really need more Disc Golf Courses ASAP! It will cut down on the traffic on Griggs!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Digs at Griggs

1    4/2/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.4 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park along the Scioto River, well mowed/maintained complete with signs on most holes and benches. Terrain and nice, big deciduous trees make for some attractive and fairly interesting holes. Some of the holes run along a busy road (Riverside Rd.) but the trees that line the road are perfect for blocking discs, nevertheless I managed to grip lock a midrange completely over the 4 lane highway into the opposite ditch. Fortunately a passerby courteously informed me that "I suck" as he drove by as I was unaware. Hey, I hadn't played in a while, give a brother a break.

Baskets are in nice shape and there are plenty of other discgolfers to hang out with and the Scioto is a nice sized river. Occasional boulder and ridge add to the quality but holes are pretty open with the occasional old growth tree dotting the fairway. Great big cement tees with plenty of benches make this a chill course. Trash cans too.
Cons: Pars are assigned poorly. There were more than a few par 4's that were ~ 300' or less which led to a -10 my 2nd round (I'm not that great, Int. level). All holes should have been a par 3 except for maybe #18 which had some length. The biggest con is safety related because the course is very popular and the holes are really close to each other which led to some hectic rounds. Hole variety is fairly lacking, they tend to be either straight ahead, and straight and slightly left/right. Multiple pins in sight can lead to confusion as to what basket you are throwing to on a few holes. I didn't see a bathroom but you're not far from civilization.
Other Thoughts: This course is a little too crowded for my tastes, I'd have to hit it up in the morning. It's popularity isn't its fault though. It is a very charming park but the close proximity of fairways and tees next to each other can make it a chore when you have to do safety checks every hole. It doesn't require a great amount of skill to score well either and that makes it fun but also tedious after a while. I'd play it again though.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/14/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: Fleshgordon
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun fast-paced course in a nice park setting. Open but has some well placed trees to make it a bit more interesting. Easy to find and close to quite a few other courses.
Cons: Crowded with a chance of power-walkers. A lot of the wooded area is full of a canopy style tree that can hide your disc up in the leaves
Other Thoughts: A great course to hit up if your playing Hambrick. And its always a good confidence builder if your playing the course par. In my opinion this is a par 3 course. The holes are all fairly open but do require a good bit of accuracy. With some good/hidden pin placement you will need to avoid some well placed lumber to hit a good approach shot. Always a good time and you can get a round in in less than hour

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flat and Open

5+    8/17/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to Navigate
Recent upgrades, almost all of them are an improvement
Well Kept
Cons: Crowded
Most holes are similar, open field and flat with some trees in the way.
The Park Floods a lot in the spring
Other Thoughts: When I try to describe this course I make it sound bad. But nothing could be further from the truth. I like this place a lot. It is mostly open and flat so it would not be the kind of course I typically enjoy, but I like playing here I'm just not sure exactly why

Most of the hole are in the 250-300 range so you don't have to have a huge arm to do well. You should have no problem finding the next hole, (you can see the next 7 holes most of the time) The Park itself is pretty nice, free of trash and always mowed. Being right next to the river you would think there would be a bug problem but that's not the case, I've never had a problem.

More than once I've seen the course flooded when the river rises. I've even been there and seen hole 18 completely under water.

It's a popular course and it's usually crowded so be ready for lines. Also they have tournaments there on Wednesdays at 6pm and Sunday at 11am. Open to any skill level.

Also just down the Street there is a Disc Golf Mart. It's easily the best Disc Golf store in the Columbus area. I always buy my stuff there. Lets try to keep the owner in business. he seems like a nice guy.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 good use of land

5+    8/14/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 176  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice pads and baskets

Newly placed pins add challenge and style

Quick and easy to get to
Cons: Thin strip of land leads to traffic issues

Heavily crowded on nice days

Very little elevation changes or significant dog legs
Other Thoughts: Decent course. I would play it a lot more often if it weren't so packed all the time.

There are plenty of nice holes and, considering the land available, a nice mix of shots. The long holes are long enough to need a good arm and the short ones are sweet ace opportunities. The course is full of deuces.

Just this year, they changed some pin placements for the first time. The "new course" is a nice upgrade. There are now some "cubby" style holes that call for some strong putting.

For the most part, its a strait forward course. There are no real tunnel style shots and most drives are wide open. Tree and water hazards are there, but not a real factor.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Griggs - Renovated

5+    8/21/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: saylor.50
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + I consider Griggs Reservoir an excellent course for those learning to play the game. It provides the opportunity for the new and inexperienced player to hone their skills without an obsessive amount of difficult shots along the way. This is not to say, however, that the experienced player should skip this course. While it is not at the level of other area courses, it can still provide a challenge and can require the use of various shots (and an excellent spot for practicing hyzers).

+ The parking situation is excellent. In three years of playing here, I have never experienced any trouble.

+ Concrete tees are a bonus and the course itself is very well maintained.

+ Even during the peak weekday evening hours, the a round can be played in less than ninety minutes.
Cons: - Lack of facilities.

- Can be crowed during the weeknights and weekends. Along a popular walking/bike route and pedestrians can be a problem.

- The course can feel overly-compacted in some areas.

- No practice basket (though it is common to see people using the #2 basket to warm-up).
Other Thoughts: While not a championship caliber course, Griggs is a great place for recreational disc golf. After the first three holes, the terrain is flat and easily walked. Be aware of the river height as it can/will come into play on multiple holes.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fun but busy

1    9/15/2008   8/13/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small flat area with scattered mature trees, and some thicker brush along the sides. There isn't any real natural elevation, but there are some fun man-made bunkers and mounds that add some fun challenges on some holes. Most of the holes are pretty open, but a few play along the brush to blind pins adding a little variety.

Though the course was pretty open, the trees were used well to leave different kinds of lines on various holes, for a surprising amount of variation throughout the course. There weren't any really long holes, but there was a nice mix of ace run holes and holes with a little more length.

There are nice concrete tee pads on every hole, and they are plenty large enough for the length of holes on the course. The tees are marked with hole number and distance, and the course is pretty easy to navigate. The baskets were older, but caught ok still. There are alternate pin positions on all the holes that looked like they would add some really different looks, and change the course quite a bit.
Cons: The course makes good use of the available space, but it is a pretty tiny area to cram in 18 holes of disc golf. This means that there isn't a lot of length or separation, and often holes play a little close to one another and to other tees.

This is especially an issue because of how crowded the course seems to get, there are definitely some safety issues if you're not paying attention. Also, there is a path that seems to be used for walking, and there were times we had to wait for pedestrians to move before we could play a hole.

The alternate pin positions are really nice, but the hole signs need updated to show the different distances, and to show which position the baskets are currently in. This made navigation a little more difficult, especially on the blind holes where scouting was necessary the first time through.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun for a nice easy round, and is a wonderful place to bring new players. There aren't a lot of places to lose discs, and the course is definitely beginner friendly. More experienced players won't find a ton of challenge, but there are some interesting holes, and lots of friendly company.

This isn't the top course in the Columbus area, but if you've got time this course is worth a stop. Don't drive too far just for this one, but try to make time for it while you're in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Always love this course

5+    5/27/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: Jonasjake
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The funnest course ever played. I loved to wait from hole to hole once in a while. What other course can you go to, besides a tournament and see every variation and level of player talking, cheering, and learning from one another.

Griggs is an excellent place to bring any level player at any time. You can always find or make a friend. I'll always think of Griggs as my home course, regardless of where I am. Very relaxed and courteous atmosphere.
Cons: Just wish it was a hair longer, but space is limited.
Other Thoughts: New pin locations were more challenging. The regular wholes are challenging, if you play O.B. I think some visitors are unaware.

The disc golf store where Mike helped me select disks is greatly missed. You will rarely find a store like it (yet to find one in Maryland).

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.