Columbus, OH 
Griggs Reservoir Park Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Decent course

1    10/18/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Nice course. The course was fun to play.
Cons: A little hard to follow at times. I found myself throwing to the wrong basket, only to discover a basket tucked up in the woods on at least 2 holes. I found the concrete pads to be a little slick, due to being wet.

not to shabby

2-4    8/10/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: W7amf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.7 Years
Pros: an average course with a good layout and good scenery. good for a quick game.
Cons: can be crowded and some holes intersect a little.
Other Thoughts: this is a fun course to play a quick game before or after work. you only need a couple discs to play this whole course if you are confident. lots of college kids and runners.

Don't waste your time

2-4    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-In a nice area
-Has benches and trash cans
Cons: -Every shot is the same. Straight ahead. Sometimes slightly to the right and sometimes slightly to the left.
-Only one tee position on all holes
-Gets crowded and the overlapping layout makes it easy for errant throws to hit someone
-Inaccurate tee signs that have also been defaced
-Possible to throw errant shots into the river or the street on some holes
-The tee sign on hole 16 is too close to the tee pad and is a danger to hit your hand on (RHBH)
Other Thoughts: Boring and somewhat dangerous. This course does not have much to offer besides a sketchy layout. The park has many patrons besides disc golfers and they are often on paths right next to the line you are throwing (which is always straight). This course was fitted into the sliver of land that runs along the river so it's just a big narrow rectangle with a disc golf course crammed in. Every shot is repetitive and there's just nothing here to make you want to return.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth the Drive

5+    8/7/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: ForehandAnhyzer
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Griggs is clean and well maintained
- A Decent walkabout
- Some decently long holes
- Concrete tee pads
Cons: - Griggs is very boring and samey
- Most all shots are straight ahead shots on an open fairway
- Confusing to navigate to the next hole
- Crowded and with more than just people trying to disc
- Risk throwing your disc into the water or onto the busy street on several holes.
Other Thoughts: Griggs, to me, is certainly off the list of places to play. It is too far away from where I am and it is just not worth the effort to play. Hoover is a hundred times better of an option. Griggs used to be a bit of a shithole back in the day, glad to see it is now nice and cleaned up, but it still suffers from being contained in its long, rectangular strip of land. All the holes are essentially the same with no real difference throughout the course. I applaud it for being clean, but it is just too boring and not worth the drive.
Also, not sure about others' experiences, but when I played here last, my dog started freaking out - she was getting stung by bees, so I lay my bag down to go try to help her, and when I look back at my bag, my bag is swarmed with bees. We spent 10 minutes trying to find a long enough stick/hatch a plan to get it. I have never before seen anything like this. And this was right around the basket of one of the holes, right next to the walking path. So this is my own experience and anecdote, but I am just wondering if anyone else has been swarmed with bees while discing at Griggs! And they were angry, my friend. Anyway, all of this considered, it is enough to keep me away from Griggs. I would rather take my chances at losing a disc at Simsbury, or practice my form at Evans park for a while than make the drive to UA for a big "Meh!"

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    6/9/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: EvCal10
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice scenery
Great concrete tee pads
Very close to Disc Golf Mart
Plenty of opportunities for local tournaments and league play
Accurate signs
Cons: Sometimes very busy
A couple of holes intersect so the basket placement is confusing
Pathways next to holes so you will sometimes have to avoid non-discers

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nothing special

5+    5/1/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee pads

Close proximity to a good disc golf store.
Cons: Damaged/missing/inaccurate signs

Boring layout frequently overrun by non discer's who don't understand that their leisurely stroll along the river is forcing you to either wait to throw or risk hitting them.

Jogging/Bike trail runs right though the center of the course, basically dividing it in two lengthwise. This forces the same decisions as I mentioned in the previous con.

Long "out and back" layout with tees close together in some places, and too close to pins in others.
Other Thoughts: Overall Griggs is a solid beginners course, with it's open layout and few trees to punish errant shots. Unfortunately it's proximity to OSU's campus ensures it's frequently crowded with players of all levels, which makes using it as a training ground for newer players problematic.

There are two weekly doubles leagues here as well, so don't bother trying to get on Monday or Wednesday evenings unless you want to play doubles. On the bright side most of the players in these leagues are friendly and welcoming to newcomers, so don't be afraid to come out.

While having to wait on other users of the park to clear your throwing lanes can be frustrating, there is a decent amount of "scenery" on the trail, so it's not always bad.

I'd really like to rate Griggs higher, but other than doubles or tossing a few holes to test a disc I bought at Disc Golf Mart I really don't play here. Mainly this is because Griggs is lacking in personality, and just doesn't have anything that makes it stand out above the crowd in Columbus. When I'm deciding where to play a round, it's just never what I think of. If I want to stay close to Columbus at the cost of dealing with crowds I'll go play Hoover, and have a more memorable round. If I really want to play a good course I'll head down to Pickerington and hit up Simsbury.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Played almost every day this week update.

2-4    3/4/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: drblam
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good length, and croncrete tee pads.

Update: I really enjoy the mixed of anny and hyzer holes on the course. Also, more porta potties than the last time I was here, and the locals (mostly the players with bags, not the single disc-ers, go figure) have been very nice and are willing to help if you get lost.
Cons: Poor repair. Bad signage. Overcrowded on any weekday. Made more difficult with strange basket placement which adds to navigation problems.

Updated: many of the baskets appear to be in their "easy" positions, possibly. The problem is, the signs that are present show distances and par numbers that simply don't make any since. Hole 3, for example, says 327 par 4, which makes sense when the pin is in the original position and is a hard anny. Now, it is a soft anny at about 250ft. And should be a par 3.
Other Thoughts: Seems like the course makes more sense as a juggalo convention camping ground than a disc golf course.

Updated: signs that show both pin positions and their correct lengths and pars, as well as numbers on the baskets could really push this course up to a high three/low 4.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

5+    9/24/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: NCapo18
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Distance for each hole
-Lots of trees
-Good variation of throws
Cons: -Trees are slowly being cut down because of the emerald ash borer.
-You can easily lose discs in the bushes
-No maps on holes
Other Thoughts: I probably play this course the most because it is the closest to my house. Good variation of throws. You can throw a 2 on most all holes or ace. Holes 4 and 5 are much harder now that they are more tucked back in the woods making it almost impossible to ace. Trees are being cut down because of the ash borer but they are planting new ones. Course may be bad for awhile once all the trees are cut down because there is a lot of them. The bushes make it easy to lose discs because they have a canopy which they land on and you can't see your disc. There are a few holes in which water is in play. When the water is down you can find discs. Don't come on Wednesday nights unless you wanna play in a tournament with the columbus flyers, they take up the whole course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open and Short

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 173  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads and decent signage although some distances are inaccurate. 2 was 50 feet longer than it said on the sign. Holes 3 and 18 stand out to me as being pretty cool. 3 is a long right turning shot slightly uphill and 18 is a bomb of a par three with water right.
Cons: This course is very short and open. There is not much line forcing except for a few stray trees. The greens present challenge at times because rough is so close to the basket which is not my favorite way to add difficulty. 17 is a completely blind hole
Other Thoughts: The land does not lend itself to a great course but I think it could be redesigned and become a better course. It feels like an older style lid course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rough

1    6/9/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: catchermccord
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good, solid tee pads
-Nice baskets
-Disc Golf Mart is just down the road
Cons: -Signage, if not stolen/missing, is horrible on each hole
-No course map
-No "next tee" signs
-No hole #s on the baskets, difficult to tell which hole is which
Other Thoughts: I was not a fan of Griggs Reservior. I live about an hour away and it was the first course I have played at in Columbus so there isn't much to compare it to with the surrounding area (having a disc golf store down the road is a nice plus, highly recommend going there). The course has many similar holes. and nothing that is a real challenge except distance. If you are looking to play a round in Columbus, I wouldn't recommend this course because I am sure there is something better near by (Hoover).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.