Columbus, OH 
Griggs Reservoir Park Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #14 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 At the Griggs

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good tee pads!
Like the rough lines on the ends of the tee pads.
Good use of surrounding trees.
Cons: Difficult to determine course flow that first time.
No course maps or individual hole maps.
Parking lot is a mess! (Pot holes, etc,)
Grass needed mowed!
Very level course needs some elevation changes!
Other Thoughts: Could be a good course just needs some maintenance and clean up. Construction in the area also messes things up. Out and back design is pretty boring!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Has Great Potential

2-4    7/21/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Adequate teepads and baskets.

-OB road makes your round more exciting if you choose to use it.

-Although the tee signs were primitive, they were all there.

-A block away from Disc Golf Mart, where you can grab scorecards.

-Challenging holes, but not frustrating. There were newbies and experienced players in my group today and no one thought the course was too easy/hard.

-Great use of the woods for protected baskets.
Cons:
-I've experienced a "fishy" smell when playing near the creek.

-It is very difficult to find the course the first time, as you don't see much of the course from the road.

-The course gets muddy and eventually floods while it's raining (See http://www.dgcoursereview.com....php?t=30456)

-Parking lot has lots of pot holes
Other Thoughts:
If this course was fixed up a little, It could easily be rated a 4. It is a refreshing change from the rest of the Columbus scene, although I would not put it on the same level as the Brent Hambrick course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Griggs

1    7/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: AsaKhoury
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Back 9 are somewhat challenging
Good concrete pads
Signs provide distance and par
Provides good shade on really hot days
Cons: No real elevation changes
Waiting, waiting... and more waiting.
Some shots are on the edge of rough so some disc hunting may occur.
RECENT: Hole 18 has a massive uprooted tree laying across the entire fairway, it makes for a real difficult shot but also a cool obstacle for those optimistic people.
Other Thoughts: Not a course to play everyday, the foot traffic gets pretty bad on most days. There is a disc store about a mile down the road which makes it a good course for you to play after you get a new disc.

  

5+    4/9/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: nickolas
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12 Years
Pros: The course has been updated to make it a little tougher and conceal some of the pin placements further into the trees. It's a nice park with big mature trees and it's right off of a main road in the city. It's real easy to get to.
Cons: It's always busy. There isn't enough shot diversity, nearly every hole forces a certain shot. The first (roughly nine holes) go in one direction and the next (roughly 9) come back the other way so the shots all go left to right and then vice versa. The course is heavily travelled and it shows. There seems to always be a problem with people breaking limbs to improve a shot or manipulating the course. A lot of the holes are straightforward and forgettable.
Other Thoughts: This is a course we tried to play every once in a while because it's so close but other course play faster and better in the area. It's just alright.

 Fun Course

1    3/26/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: Nemer06
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A wide variety of shots
the tee pads are nice
The course layout is very cool
Some good distance shots
It has a very cool location with the river on one side
Cons: When it rains a lot it definetly floods up.
Police roll through the course a lot.
It could use a course map.
Other Thoughts: it wasnt really busy when i went but with a course that is as cool as this one im guessing it will get pretty busy come summertime.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/16/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: kcoates
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of right to left, left to right, straight shots
Pretty decent tee pads and baskets
Multiple Tee positions
Maintained very well
Cons: No real long bombers except 18 which is pretty tight with the river off the right side
Can get crowded in the summer months
Other Thoughts: I play Griggs quite a bit and I enjoy the mix of shots it has. Utilizes the woods in a few spots but not overly woodsy. Twice a week there are random doubles that make it a fun challenge. Better course than OSU to work on your game because there are more than just hyzer shots. Only bad thing would be the crowd that can get there but it's never been that big of an issue for me.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Griggs Reservoir (HD) Disc Golf Course Review -- Buckeye Disc Golf

5+    9/9/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: Buckeye Disc Golf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3dCEqh5Y6U

Check Out our Video Review of Griggs Reservoir Disc Golf Course!
Other Thoughts: Enjoy our Video Review! More to Come!

Subscribe to Us on Youtube! http://www.youtube.com/buckeyediscgolf

Check Us Out at Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pa...172398?ref=ts
!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/20/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: OhioDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A good use of 18 holes right next to disc mart. Right next to OSU if you need a easier round. Griggs still remains to be a popular course.
Cons: If it rains just once in the week you play it can be very muddy. This can be so popular that this course can be crowded. Bad water problems!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Convenient and Clean

5+    7/13/2008   7/13/2010
Review By: Manana
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/7/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Well maintained grass
-Local disc club is proactive in upgrading course (ie cement pads)
-Shortest drive for 18 holes on the west side
-Random doubles twice weekly always have a good draw
-Good for beginners (especially if you have to loan your discs to them)
-Non golfing pedestrian traffic is thin and usually aware of the activities around
-Locals have pro pads for a few holes (not cement when I played last)
Cons: -Straight and narrow park lends to a lack of hole diversity
-Flat
-Hole 8 can be swallowed by the river after heavy showers
-Usually crowded
Other Thoughts: I played this course consistently out of convenience 5 years and it grew on me the more I played it. I always pay it a visit when I am in town. Occasionally the river can make the park smell awful since the Scioto is not the cleanest river.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 High Exposure

5+    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Visible/accessible off a major road
+ nice tees with benches
+ most holes require line placement to avoid trees
+ right to left, straight on, and left to right shots all needed
+ Pretty good flow that has you finish near where you started
Cons: - Signage needs updated
- layout means that a few holes have fairways and baskets that get very close to other holes' fairways and baskets
- many baskets missing number plates
Other Thoughts: Got to love that this course introduces so many people to disc golf as its the only course in the area that can be seen and accessed from a major road (33/Riverside Dr.) Even if it isn't necessarily the best course for a beginner to learn on.

I quite enjoy the first 3 holes as they feature elevation changes and a healthy amount of trees to avoid. After that though none of the holes strike me as all that memorable until you get back around to 18. Not to say they are bad holes by any means ... just that they aren't anything special. The park is pretty darn nice and well shielded by trees from 33. The river adds a nice scenic touch but never really comes into play and is also pretty well guarded by trees.

My two main gripes are with the signs and the layout of a few holes in the middle. The signs don't share any information on the layout of the hole other than what number it is and the distance. However most of the baskets have been relocated so the distances are no longer accurate. Also once you get past hole 4 a good number of baskets are in view from the tees and while its mostly logical which one you are supposed to be shooting at, if you haven't checked the map or have someone who knows the course with you, you don't know for sure as many of those baskets lack number plates and the signs don't show you what kind of shot it is. Also, some of the holes in the middle run too close to each other for my taste. But not much to do about it as every bit of land available for the course has been utilized and there just aren't enough trees to make every single hole feel secluded from the others.

Overall its a quality course and worth playing if you're in the area. I can't honestly say its one of my favorites but if someone asked me if I wanted to go get a round in at Griggs I'd go without hesitation.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.