Columbus, OH 
Griggs Reservoir Park Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #10
4 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The Digs at Griggs

1    4/2/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park along the Scioto River, well mowed/maintained complete with signs on most holes and benches. Terrain and nice, big deciduous trees make for some attractive and fairly interesting holes. Some of the holes run along a busy road (Riverside Rd.) but the trees that line the road are perfect for blocking discs, nevertheless I managed to grip lock a midrange completely over the 4 lane highway into the opposite ditch. Fortunately a passerby courteously informed me that "I suck" as he drove by as I was unaware. Hey, I hadn't played in a while, give a brother a break.

Baskets are in nice shape and there are plenty of other discgolfers to hang out with and the Scioto is a nice sized river. Occasional boulder and ridge add to the quality but holes are pretty open with the occasional old growth tree dotting the fairway. Great big cement tees with plenty of benches make this a chill course. Trash cans too.
Cons: Pars are assigned poorly. There were more than a few par 4's that were ~ 300' or less which led to a -10 my 2nd round (I'm not that great, Int. level). All holes should have been a par 3 except for maybe #18 which had some length. The biggest con is safety related because the course is very popular and the holes are really close to each other which led to some hectic rounds. Hole variety is fairly lacking, they tend to be either straight ahead, and straight and slightly left/right. Multiple pins in sight can lead to confusion as to what basket you are throwing to on a few holes. I didn't see a bathroom but you're not far from civilization.
Other Thoughts: This course is a little too crowded for my tastes, I'd have to hit it up in the morning. It's popularity isn't its fault though. It is a very charming park but the close proximity of fairways and tees next to each other can make it a chore when you have to do safety checks every hole. It doesn't require a great amount of skill to score well either and that makes it fun but also tedious after a while. I'd play it again though.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/14/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: Fleshgordon
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun fast-paced course in a nice park setting. Open but has some well placed trees to make it a bit more interesting. Easy to find and close to quite a few other courses.
Cons: Crowded with a chance of power-walkers. A lot of the wooded area is full of a canopy style tree that can hide your disc up in the leaves
Other Thoughts: A great course to hit up if your playing Hambrick. And its always a good confidence builder if your playing the course par. In my opinion this is a par 3 course. The holes are all fairly open but do require a good bit of accuracy. With some good/hidden pin placement you will need to avoid some well placed lumber to hit a good approach shot. Always a good time and you can get a round in in less than hour

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flat and Open

5+    8/17/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to Navigate
Recent upgrades, almost all of them are an improvement
Well Kept
Cons: Crowded
Most holes are similar, open field and flat with some trees in the way.
The Park Floods a lot in the spring
Other Thoughts: When I try to describe this course I make it sound bad. But nothing could be further from the truth. I like this place a lot. It is mostly open and flat so it would not be the kind of course I typically enjoy, but I like playing here I'm just not sure exactly why

Most of the hole are in the 250-300 range so you don't have to have a huge arm to do well. You should have no problem finding the next hole, (you can see the next 7 holes most of the time) The Park itself is pretty nice, free of trash and always mowed. Being right next to the river you would think there would be a bug problem but that's not the case, I've never had a problem.

More than once I've seen the course flooded when the river rises. I've even been there and seen hole 18 completely under water.

It's a popular course and it's usually crowded so be ready for lines. Also they have tournaments there on Wednesdays at 6pm and Sunday at 11am. Open to any skill level.

Also just down the Street there is a Disc Golf Mart. It's easily the best Disc Golf store in the Columbus area. I always buy my stuff there. Lets try to keep the owner in business. he seems like a nice guy.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 good use of land

5+    8/14/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 166  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice pads and baskets

Newly placed pins add challenge and style

Quick and easy to get to
Cons: Thin strip of land leads to traffic issues

Heavily crowded on nice days

Very little elevation changes or significant dog legs
Other Thoughts: Decent course. I would play it a lot more often if it weren't so packed all the time.

There are plenty of nice holes and, considering the land available, a nice mix of shots. The long holes are long enough to need a good arm and the short ones are sweet ace opportunities. The course is full of deuces.

Just this year, they changed some pin placements for the first time. The "new course" is a nice upgrade. There are now some "cubby" style holes that call for some strong putting.

For the most part, its a strait forward course. There are no real tunnel style shots and most drives are wide open. Tree and water hazards are there, but not a real factor.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Griggs - Renovated

5+    8/21/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: saylor.50
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + I consider Griggs Reservoir an excellent course for those learning to play the game. It provides the opportunity for the new and inexperienced player to hone their skills without an obsessive amount of difficult shots along the way. This is not to say, however, that the experienced player should skip this course. While it is not at the level of other area courses, it can still provide a challenge and can require the use of various shots (and an excellent spot for practicing hyzers).

+ The parking situation is excellent. In three years of playing here, I have never experienced any trouble.

+ Concrete tees are a bonus and the course itself is very well maintained.

+ Even during the peak weekday evening hours, the a round can be played in less than ninety minutes.
Cons: - Lack of facilities.

- Can be crowed during the weeknights and weekends. Along a popular walking/bike route and pedestrians can be a problem.

- The course can feel overly-compacted in some areas.

- No practice basket (though it is common to see people using the #2 basket to warm-up).
Other Thoughts: While not a championship caliber course, Griggs is a great place for recreational disc golf. After the first three holes, the terrain is flat and easily walked. Be aware of the river height as it can/will come into play on multiple holes.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun but busy

1    9/15/2008   8/13/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small flat area with scattered mature trees, and some thicker brush along the sides. There isn't any real natural elevation, but there are some fun man-made bunkers and mounds that add some fun challenges on some holes. Most of the holes are pretty open, but a few play along the brush to blind pins adding a little variety.

Though the course was pretty open, the trees were used well to leave different kinds of lines on various holes, for a surprising amount of variation throughout the course. There weren't any really long holes, but there was a nice mix of ace run holes and holes with a little more length.

There are nice concrete tee pads on every hole, and they are plenty large enough for the length of holes on the course. The tees are marked with hole number and distance, and the course is pretty easy to navigate. The baskets were older, but caught ok still. There are alternate pin positions on all the holes that looked like they would add some really different looks, and change the course quite a bit.
Cons: The course makes good use of the available space, but it is a pretty tiny area to cram in 18 holes of disc golf. This means that there isn't a lot of length or separation, and often holes play a little close to one another and to other tees.

This is especially an issue because of how crowded the course seems to get, there are definitely some safety issues if you're not paying attention. Also, there is a path that seems to be used for walking, and there were times we had to wait for pedestrians to move before we could play a hole.

The alternate pin positions are really nice, but the hole signs need updated to show the different distances, and to show which position the baskets are currently in. This made navigation a little more difficult, especially on the blind holes where scouting was necessary the first time through.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun for a nice easy round, and is a wonderful place to bring new players. There aren't a lot of places to lose discs, and the course is definitely beginner friendly. More experienced players won't find a ton of challenge, but there are some interesting holes, and lots of friendly company.

This isn't the top course in the Columbus area, but if you've got time this course is worth a stop. Don't drive too far just for this one, but try to make time for it while you're in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Always love this course

5+    5/27/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: Jonasjake
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The funnest course ever played. I loved to wait from hole to hole once in a while. What other course can you go to, besides a tournament and see every variation and level of player talking, cheering, and learning from one another.

Griggs is an excellent place to bring any level player at any time. You can always find or make a friend. I'll always think of Griggs as my home course, regardless of where I am. Very relaxed and courteous atmosphere.
Cons: Just wish it was a hair longer, but space is limited.
Other Thoughts: New pin locations were more challenging. The regular wholes are challenging, if you play O.B. I think some visitors are unaware.

The disc golf store where Mike helped me select disks is greatly missed. You will rarely find a store like it (yet to find one in Maryland).

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/5/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: kev32650
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've played this course many times in visits to Columbus (I'm from Chicago) and have to say that the new pin placements have definitely improved the course. Almost every hole with the exception of 3,10, and 18 were to my memory longer and more challenging than the previous pin placements. I really like the baskets tucked up in the bushes. It means a well placed drive is essential to ensure a 3 and only great drives will get the 2.

This is a great course to get out and play an easy round with little elevation change and relatively short holes. Just a walk in the park.
Cons: There's only so much land to work with and the course designers have done a nice job, but more variety would be nice. The tees don't always point toward the basket which is a little akward. Some of the tee signs have been updated with a sharpie but many show the distance for the "A" position only. I'm sure that will change with time.
Course was crowded on Sunday afternoon, just be prepared.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the stop, especially with the new variety. Check out the disc store before your round and test out new discs. Great course for beginner to intermediate players.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New and Improved

5+    6/2/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2011
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Very Well-Maintained
Two Pin Placements Per Hole
Nice Concrete Tee Pads
Good Location
Fully Stocked Disc Golf Store Nearby (1 Mile South)
Disc Also At Gas Station Nearby (.8 Mile North)
Ample Parking
Benches and Trashcans Throughout
Requires a Good Variety of Shots
Good Variety of Distances
Cons:
Can Get Crowded
Attracts a Lot Dis-Courteous Golfers
Other Park Users Can/Will Interfere
Have to Cross Fairways to Next Tee
Baskets Are Getting Rough
Too Open
Many Holes Are Very Similar
Prone to Flooding
Other Thoughts:
This is a decent local course. The entrance to the course can be easily missed if you aren't looking for it, but it is about 1000 feet north of Lane Avenue on Riverside Drive, just past the apartment complex at the intersection.

The course is a nice park-like setting. Grassy and flat, they made good use of the land they had to work with. The first hole is next to the bulletin board near the parking lot. Navigating the course isn't too bad, but there are a few places where you must cross the park and other fairways to get to the next tee causing a little confusion, but all the tee pads are visable from the previous basket.

The new placements add challenge and a great new feel to this course. Holes have a pretty good variety as far as distance is concerned, but most of the holes seem to be either straight shots, or anhyzers, but there are a couple good hyzer shots as well.

This course is definitely worth playing if you are in the area, but if you have a limited time Brent Hambrick, as well as the additions of Alum Creek and Pickerington, are much better options.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Griggs a.k.a. riverside

5+    5/17/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: klyph76
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well-maintained course and closer to the city than most other parks in the area. I find the course challenging enough to keep me coming back, especially with the new pin placements. Good jog guys!
Cons: This park always seems to be busy. If you're not very patient, try playing either before noon or after 7 pm (during summer months).
Other Thoughts: I look forward to playing the Wednesday Doubles that are held every wednesday at 6 p.m.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.