Ruidoso, NM 
Grindstone Park Share
Uploaded By: t's kitty Hole #4 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun challenging course

2-4    7/13/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: jamesp123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is in a beautiful secluded wooded area. Although it is heavily wooded there seems to be a a fairway on every hole. So if you can stay on the fairway you should be fine.Basket 9 is a straight up ace run.
All teepads were cement and signage was very good with maps and distance.
There is also a port a potty and recycle bins on site.
Cons: The front 9 definitely seems to favor a thrower that has a fade to the right.You really need to watch where your disc lands you could have a real bad time finding your disc. If you lose your disc make sure you look in the trees and not just the ground. I saw 2 players lose discs to the tall pines.The back 9 are rugged make sure you have good shoes.
Other Thoughts: This was a an excellent challenging fun course.If you are ever in the area you need to play here. you wont be disappointed

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Has To Be One Of The Best In New Mexico!

1    4/2/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can see why they're playing the state championships here this year. A lot of work has gone into making this a first rate course, especially on the front nine. I was really impressed by the engineering that went into all the stairs. The trapazoid teepads are large, grooved for rain/snow run-off and are extra big. There ar some really great, challenging basket placements here where a missed putt can result in another stroke or two.
# 9 was am awesome hole forcing you to really think about your shot placement. I think it would be a great finishing hole here not that # 18 isn't bad either.
Although I didn't see many garbage cans, I was thrilled to not see ONE bottle or can strewn in the brush anywhere on this course! KUDOS to all who play here.
# 17 and 18 were two great finishing holes.
Cons: I wasn't real thrilled with (what I understand) is athe new basket placement for # 3. I found that to be a little bit overkill so far past the # 4 teepad.
I loved the front nine. The back nine was merely good, in my humble opinion
Other Thoughts: I'd give the front nine a 4.5 and the back nine a more pedestrian like 3.5. So when I average them together, the course gets a an excellent rating of 4.0. It is a touch heavy on slight anhyser fades but has so many great basket placements (# 1, # 8, # 9, # 17 and # 18) and a couple of nice ACE runs to make for a really fun day at the disc golf course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Grindstone

2-4    11/20/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: pimpcapnc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: this course has lots of elevation and well placed pins. lots of beautiful shots that you can only get in a mountain town like this one. well thought out holes with various amounts of challenge to each hole.
Cons: if you are not in some kinda shape this course will wear you out. if its windy this course is really tough

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Setting

1    7/21/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: ricklev
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great place to take a walk in the park
-Contours, trees, creek, valleys
-Weather mostly very nice
Cons: -Hard to figure out where to park (we went too far and ended up at the lake)
-SIgns for holes are not that easy to follow (couldn't figure out hole #7 or #9)
-95 degrees and hot when we were there
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful setting. Enjoy the walk and the disc golf.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    6/26/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: DiscHead6
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very nicely kept up. New cement tee boxes were just about ready the last time I played so should be good to go next time I go.
Cons: Being that im a beginner it was a bit tough but still fun to play. Havent tried the back 9 yet.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 AWESOME

2-4    5/28/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: ric86chava@yahoo.com
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has very nice distance which will challenge your accuracy. Multiple tee boxes, plenty of elevation changes. The pine trees make for beautiful scenery as well guardians for baskets. A must play course. If you need help around course the locals are very friendly and more than willing to play a round.
Cons: If you're not used to climbing steep wooded terrain it will wind you quickly with most of the back nine playing from top of one hill climbing down a ravine and back up to baskets. Shot accuracy a must here or you are in some thick thorny rough (they are clearing it.) NOT FOR BEGINNERS !!
Other Thoughts: With a few more years and course maturity will become a premier course in the country. From Suddereth Road look for sign to INN OF THE MOUNTAIN GODS Resort and Casino turn here and follow signs to Grindstone Lake.Course is below dam on left.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.