Ozark, MO 
Grubaugh Park Share
Uploaded By: birdman101 Hole #13 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 236ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good, but way overrated on this site...

1    1/8/2013   1/8/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a very pretty park. The neighborhood is good, and I feel I would be willing to play by myself at anytime of the day. The use of elevation here is great. It is not as elevated as some make it out to be, but you do have to be wary of roll-aways near the baskets. This is a great park for people in the process of learning the game as only 2 holes didnt require a mid-range or an ultra-slow fairway driver. The holes are positioned well enough to make a lot of the trees interesting to play around. This course also flows very logically for the most part. Best of all I met a nice local who was willing to play the round with me and show me the course.
Cons: The first main con isn't of the course itself, its of the rating on here. How can a course that averages 240 feet have 2 ratings of a 4.5 and one of a 5.0 (not to mention the multips 4.0 ratings). Those are meant for the best courses in the world. It made me want to make my rating lower to average this out. There is no way this course is over a 3.2. Anyways, that being said, a main con is the lack of distance. I only needed a disc faster than a speed 6 on two holes. Those two holes seemed forced and unlike the rest of the course. There were a couple spots where I would not have known exactly where to go after completing a hole.
Other Thoughts: Once again the people who rated this a 4.5/5 and a perfect 5/5 (and even a 4) are honestly out of their minds. Normally I don't get negative like this in my reviews, but its unfortunate they did that because now this course will never have the proper rating. This was a very interesting and fun layout, but the lack of distance and overall variety makes this a 3.2 for me, which rounds to a 3 (especially because two certain individuals over-rating it). Fun course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginer course

5+    12/4/2011   1/22/2012
Review By: Bender
Played: 68  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Enough elevation and trees to make it interesting. It is a miniature Waterworks Park, KC. It is a great place to take the Wife or g/f who might not play very often. They will find it a fun and easy course to play. Never had any beef with Johnny law for drinking a few brews during the round. Good course if you wanna practice upshots and putter shots off the tee.
Cons: Course is really short, and not very challenging. The two holes that let you stretch your arm out a little bit are wide open.
Other Thoughts: Fun place to take the ladies. My girl loves this course which is usually about the only time I play this course. One of the more fun courses in the area to play due to the trees and elevation. Just wish all the holes were longer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

1    7/3/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had fun playing this course. The terrain is quite open with some mature trees and quite a few immature trees that will really take this course up a notch as those continue to grow. The terrain is relatively hilly, especially on the front nine. Much of the back nine is flat. The park was very well maintained...and seems to be a great park for your wife to take the kids and play as well. There is an epic playground there=) As well as a very nice water park.
The course has nice concrete tee pads and signage on each hole as well as bag hangers. The course is very easy to navigate. We didn't have a map and there was only once or twice where we spent a minute trying to figure out where to go.
Most of the holes are in the 240-330 distance range, which makes almost every hole reachable. There were a few longer holes that gave you opportunity to grip and rip. The baskets were in very good shape and on quite a few of them, they had added a 3rd set of chains.
Cons: These complaints are probably a bit nit picky, but they were things I noticed:
1. The tee pads are concrete, but they seemed pretty short to me. While you don't NEED a big run up, some people like it and there isn't much room to roam.
2. The course was not crowded, but if it had been, there were a few holes where one hole was throwing over places where you would be playing the next hole. In general, a few sketchy design elements like that. You have to throw over the road a few times, as well as multiple walking paths and there were quite a few people out exercising.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a really fun course with some challenge. it had lots of little touches that you don't always see on a course like this and the park was great. Nice place to spend an hour throwing discs and working on your midrange game. I definitely recommend it over the other courses in the area that I have played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

1    3/13/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 104  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I went to this course expecting to play a 9 hole course and was pleasantly surprised to find that it is now a full 18 hole course. Cement tees were still quite new and tee signs weren't in place, don't know if that's in the works or not. Easy to navigate course as there are black arrows painted at the base of the baskets that point toward the next tee. Short holes that offer enough interest with the trees and elevation changes in a nicely kept park. Good use of the park terrain and a couple of interesting pin placements.
Cons: Holes are all pretty short, but they offer plenty of ace opportunities. Almost impossible to go over par on any of the holes. Some of the pin placements play a little too safe and could have easliy been stretched out to make for some longer holes. A couple of holes play too close to other holes and one hole actually plays across the fairway of another.
Other Thoughts: A nice course for beginners to learn on and for seasoned players to work one their accuracy and short games. Just a few minutes off of Hwy 65 so this is a good course to stop by and kill an hour if you're passing through the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short course

1    10/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: beaker
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting terrain changes. Tee and hole placements force some tight shots. A good place to work on your short game. Tees are paved, though sometimes integrated with a walking path.
Cons: Tees are only marked in the ground and can be difficult to find the 1st time around. Frequently crosses over a walking path in a multi-use park which could be a problem if anyone is around.
Other Thoughts: Probably the most fun course in Springfield, though not for people who want to throw long. Most the holes can be reached on a decent (well-aimed) drive.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just fine

2-4    4/21/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: dwellman
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Impressive use of available space and terrain. Beginner friendly. Real baskets.
Cons: None really. Some say it's too short or only 9 holes. If you (more experienced players) want (more of) a challenge, you go across the way to Nixa (McCauley Park).
Other Thoughts: Kind of did not intend to play this course, but Sunset Park in Branson was basically a lake. So we drove up to Ozark. Played in the late evening. No one else around. Got two rounds in in less than an hour (even parking a disc in a tree on hole 3-- thank God for numerous baseball sized rocks). I like the fact that there can still be beginner friendly courses not using the dreadful Innova DISCatcher (with "bogey band [tm]").

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center