Gunnison, CO 
Gunnison Elementary DGC Share
Uploaded By: ttimblin Hole #4 (Taken 10/2013)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Located between basket #3 and the football field. Basket is behind the tall shrubs.



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Visitor review

2-4    10/9/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: ttimblin
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open course with great scenery of the large rock bluff.
Cons: Tee boxes are not marked, making it practically impossible to figure out "what goes where", if you would like to play more than the original nine, a local would have to show you the way.

Mostly all open field shots with very little obstacles, making this course mostly a non challenging experience.

Tee box for basket one is impossible to find unless someone shows you were it is located.

Many small plants/shrubs/weeds along the course make locating your disk a chore at times.
Other Thoughts: If you over throw basket 5 to the right, do not wait, go look for your disk immediately, the knee high grass swallows disks, making them hard to find.

If you just throw pass #6, you will then have to shoot back up, as the basket sits on a mound.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected for school course

1    7/25/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: getchofil
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
Pros: Good use of playable space. The course played 14 holes, where some doubled as two baskets. As previously mentioned 7 and 8 were two good holes that weren't your usual head on shot, not quite a full on blind shot but close. Both pretty fun shot.
Cons: A few of the baskets doubled as two holes, kinda fun to lengthen the course but causes issues we groups collide. Ran into a small group that we had a good time putting in from opposite sides of the field. Pretty flat field and a little tricky to navigate with little signage and tough to locate dirt tee pads.

Better than most school courses

1    7/23/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: little oz
Played: 62  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is nice that this exists at a school, to introduce kids to the sport.
Good distances on the holes, most over 300'
Holes 7 & 8 play through dense brush and water comes in to play.
Cons: Navigation was very difficult after the first 3 holes.
Without tee signs, i couldn't tell which basket i was throwing at, or how far the distances were. I pretty much played safari golf between holes 3-6.
Some baskets have multiple numbers (Basket #1 also has #14 on the other side). If you don't know that there are 14 tee boxes (i only found around 10 of them), you are out of luck.
Tee boxes are lumpy rocky. I don't mind natural boxes, and the land here is very rocky, so it's probably a result of natural forces.
Other Thoughts: It seems odd that a school course would have such long distances, as kids might get discouraged. It would best to have a local with you the first time, but it's a nice stop on the way through town and i'm glad it is there. The course at Western State down the street requires MAA membership (which i guess is the student body).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Neat and Quick

1    7/6/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: cohunter
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is awesome to have a a school. The PE teacher must love the fact that they can take the kids out and play whenever they want.
There were no other golfers on the course when we played, had it to ourselves for a short quick round.
The layout makes the course easy to follow, wide open not having to worry about losing a disc.
No shots over 300' so great for the beginner.
Cons: No signs for tee-boxes so you had to guess which basket to throw at. Dirt tee-boxes that are short and uneven.
Lots of bugs, gnats and mosquitoes mainly.
Other Thoughts: Easy little course that was a perfect pit stop on a long drive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Exceeded Expectations

1    7/9/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -First of all, I believe that this course has gone through a major redesign since the last reviews as instead of nine holes now there are 14 holes on this course.
-Good amount of distance on this course, as all but four of the holes are less than 300 feet and many of the holes are over 350 feet.
-The holes really let you air it out, but the designers of the course did a good job of integrating the brush and slight elevation they had into the course design.
-Nice brand new looking Innova Discatcher baskets
-Each hole has a nice laminated sign at the teepad that tells you the hole number and distance of the hole
-Each teepad is pointed at the basket so it is usually pretty easy to find out which basket you are throwing at
-Benches sprinkled throughout the course
Cons: -The teepads are natural, and several of the teepads are terribly rutted with rocks in them, but you can usually throw off to the side of the teepad with out many issues.
-Many of the holes are straight out from the teepad
-Several of the fairways cross over each other and the last 5 holes of the 14 holes reuse some of the baskets. This could be a big problem if the course were crowded but when we were out there on a Saturday night it was not very crowded so this is not too big of a problem
Other Thoughts: This course exceeded my expectations. When I think of a course at an elementary, middle or high school, I think of a course that usually has very little design and is basically baskets in a field. This course is not that. It provides quite a few opportunities to just let the disc rip and several of the holes have some good obstacles in the way. If you are passing through the Gunnison area and need a quick rest stop I highly suggest giving this course a quick play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a quick outing and beautiful views.

1    7/21/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: jsaturley1
Played: 32  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a quick, fun course that anyone passing through the area should squeeze into their schedule.
- Easy to follow layout.
- Very little risk of losing discs.
- Baskets are in great shape and easy to identify.
- Beautiful views of the mountains.
Cons: Let's face it, this isn't what you expect out of a 'mountain course.' There aren't any narrow shots through trees, big drop-offs, etc. Those of you expecting another Beaver Ranch- or Crested Butte-type course will be disappointed.
- Mostly flat.
- Some missing signs.
- Tee pads are not flat.
Other Thoughts: Pretty good for a quick play on a summer day. It only took me 30 mins. to do the whole course and there wasn't much traffic from other players. Check it out!

Avoid the swamp and dense foliage near the stormdrain and road between holes 7 and 8.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

2-4    7/4/2010   7/8/2009
Review By: Shieldwolf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Baskets are in good shape. Good for a quick game. Course is in much better shape than the other course (Mountaineer DGC) in Gunnison.
Cons: Mostly flat and open. Natural Tee pads not marked very well. Very little signage.
Other Thoughts: A nice little course. For an elementary school the holes are of descent distance (250 - 350 ft). Download the course map for easy navigation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.