Plymouth, WI 
H.A. Meyer Nature Park Share
Uploaded By: Stardoggy Hole #5 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Basket to left, in a pocket in the woods.



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Down the block

5+    8/12/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 89  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I actually live on the one block street that leads up to this park, and have played this course more times than I can count. While this course isn't the biggest test of skill, it is a nice 9 hole in a great park, all while having very little traffic.
Hole 1: Short (210') RHFH shot around the edge of the woods. Kind of a comeback shot, as the basket it tucked into a corner.
Hole 2: Another RHFH shot (about 230ish), up a 40' (approx.) hill, with the basket tucked to the right. Anything off the fairway (about 10' wide) means you're digging through the heavy stuff. Not fun.
Hole 3: Semi-tunnel shot, straight down the line. Not a lot of danger at about 170'.
Hole 4: Best hole on the course. Down a 60' hill, 290' to the hole, which sits 5' in front of the river. Oh, with trees all along the shot lines.
Hole 5: 315' along the tree line (on the left), with the basket tucked into a pocket on the left. A late hyzer will put you in a great spot here.
Hole 6: 225' straight ahead shot. Not a lot of mystery, just don't sail it left, or you'll be in the thick stuff.
Hole 7: 132' completely obstructed shot into a cluster of trees. No real line here...either a high tomahawk, or some luck is needed here. This could be a great hole if anyone would chop out the path a little. As it stands now, it's kind of a joke.
Hole 8: 300' straight, wide open shot meadow shot. A little bit downhill, but it doesn't really make any difference here.
Hole 9: 438' straight line shot, with the basket in the middle of some tall pines. Not an overly tough hole, aside from the distance.
Hole 10: Not a posted hole, but some locals (me included) play back to hole 1's basket from the light pole just past the park pathway. I'd say it plays about 330' depending on where you decide to throw from.
Cons: It's too bad that this is only a 9 holer. As has been said before, there are some great woods that could be utilized for some GREAT play. There are some private property issues that may play into this, though. I don't love the asphalt tee pads...they tend to be slick when it's wet. There is also some more land across the river that could be used. Maybe not enough space to knock out another 9, but 5 or 6 new holes would be great.
Other Thoughts: Worth a play if you're close. You'll use some shot variety, and you can knock out two spins in pretty short order, as there is rarely much traffic.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course

1    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: yegods
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Some what short, but still fun to play. I could throw #4 all day and never tire of it. Not to crowded.
Cons: Nothing that can't be changed; like buying DGA baskets, adding new holes.
Other Thoughts: Yes the baskets were homemade; all 9 for $90. There is so much room for improment if someone local took it on. On the hill above hole 3 there is a huge wooded area complete with valley that would make for some killer holes. You could easily fit 9 or more 300 ft-500ft holes. I'm thankful for what they city has provided.

 

1    5/15/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of shots
Good elevation changes
Conctete tees
Very easy navigation
Cons: Short tee pads
Baskets looked small but that could just be me
No dirrection on tee sign of where the hole was
Other Thoughts: An all around decent course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It's a nice little course with a kids park

5+    4/19/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Lokis Tyro
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You need to play accurately here which makes this a fun and rewarding place to play. There's a spectacularly fun downhill shot towards the river (if you go in you might be able to retrieve your disc if it's within the first 10 feet if you're willing to go in. The longer holes can be harder than they look for amateur players. Headwinds seem to be common on number 9 which ups the challenge and makes a deuce go straight to your head. Overall it's an exciting fast-paced course. 7 can be a great hole to practice tomahawk or short s-curve flights that you're forced into. Recently concreted tee pads.
Cons: It can be easy for inexperienced players to lose their discs during the summer and fall when the undergrowth is thick as you can imagine with plenty of burdock on hole 2, 3 and 5 has some sort of plant that swallows discs off to the left, don't go there!
Other Thoughts: It's a good looking place and a fun play and if you hustle you can get through it in about 25 minutes with a partner. There is a porta-john that's always there if you need it. I'm giving this course a high score because it definitely deserves a higher average. It may only be a 9-hole but the varying throws are exciting. I don't think this course would be much of a challenge for pros but it's worth playing at least once if you're in the area just for the downhill shot at the river. I'm guessing the elevation change from tee pad to goal is roughly 75 feet. If you have a common misfire it would be wise not to use green or yellow discs on holes 2 and 3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 D+ = Dudů.with a little spice to make it interesting

1    6/27/2010   2/27/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(Holes 3 & 5 are somewhat tight but short enough where it is tough to envision real trouble for poor execution. All holes are pretty straightforward and do not take much to figure out.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C-
(2-3 of nine are a length that are rewarding, but none of those are taxing and therefore less than fully rewarding.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == D+
(A few holes are slightly interesting by use of terrain. Downhill hole 4 at 273' is my favorite. I found 131' hole 7 uniquely comical in that you have to throw a bushwacking overhand up-n-over to get to the basket that is (was?) in pretty dense underbrush.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
(This course had a real scruffy feeling to it in parts. It has a nice stream running along side it that adds a nice element, but it does not come into play. You really only notice it when throwing towards it on 4 and when walking along the long 408' hole nine and then on the long walk back to the car.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Was This a Joke? It DOES Start With "HA"!

2-4    6/21/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Good use of elevation, where applicable.
2. Located in a very nice park.
3. Several different shot types required to take a good score.
4. Hole #4 was probably the only memorable hole out here. Finesse, water in play, awesome elevation.
Cons: 1. The baskets were a big issue for me. They're installed very poorly, sticking out 4-6 inches higher than what would be considered regulation.
2. Poor signage. The first tee is right off the parking lot, but the sign is missing, so it might not be obvious where you have to start. To add to that, the signs that DO exist only indicate hole number and YARDAGE (not feet; where are we, on a ball golf course?) Hole 5 can be confusing because it's blind off the tee and behind some trees to the left, so you may think the basket of #8 in the open field is where you're shooting.
3. The tees are ridiculous. Wood frames filled with gravel, rutted out and eroded, about 6 x 6...outright dangerous to play from them in some areas!
4. What in the hell was Hole #7? Granted, I had a decent tomahawk and parked this for a deuce, but my wife and kids didn't even bother playing. Absolutely no discernible fairway or landing area except in a 3-foot radius around the basket, and if you don't have an overhand shot you're screwed. No way should this hole exist without some SERIOUS trimming.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty large multi-use park, and when you see some of the wooded areas not utilized between #2 and #3, you almost wonder where the other 9 holes are that could have been installed out here with some thought and dedication to putting in a decent course. Some holes ARE well designed and require finesse, but it's just such a bland course with ridiculous "fairways" that it's like the course was just plopped in and forgotten about (except for all those poor Plymouth kids, whom I pity for having only this to call their home course). The best thing they could do for this course is to yank it all out of the ground and start over, put some thought into it (the city park signs directing you to the "Frisbee Golf Course" made me think that devoted disc golfers had very little to do with the design and installation). Go ahead and play this if you're in the area, but don't go out of your way...if you've got a craving for a 9-holer, try Kiel, or even Pigeon River Elementary.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Frisbee Golf Course

1    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large park with varying topography and features. DIsc golf is totally removed from the rest of the park except for on #9 where you have to go back across the path leading deeper into the park.

2) Has signage directing you to the course. Just follow the Frisbee Golf Course signs out on the main road.

3) Elevation change on 2 holes (#2 goes up a sideslope and to the right making rollaways a possibility and an anhyzer a chance to flip back and go back down the slope. Tucked baskets around corners on 2 holes (#1 to the right and #5 to the left), 3 fairly open holes with a little more distance and 2 tight wooded fairways (#3 and #7). Great variety in shot making requirements. You wouldn't think it but you need to bring all your shots to this course to do well.

4) Easy course to navigate despite the missing tee signs. Tee signs that are there are simple listing only the yardage (not feet). No map on the sign but most holes are visible or easily findable for a new player.

Cons: 1) Not very beginner friendly because of holes #2 (Slope and elevation change), #3 (Tight fairway with a sharp dropoff to the left side), #4 (Massive elevation drop and rushing river only 10 feet past the basket), #7 (Ridiculously tight hole with almost no shot except a tamahawk, and most people can't make that throw)

2) No teepad would be better than what is there because the gravel filled pits just fill with water and rut out.

3) Signage missing on #1,7 and 8.

4) Baskets leave a lot to be desired, different sized chains. Some chains so large and heavy the disc barely moves them so you better hit center chains for the disc to stay in. They have obviously been used for a long time. They have also been painted with that old grey paint my grandpa used to paint everything with. I think it was lead based or something!!!!????

5) Turf is nonexistant on #2, 3, 4 in the woods and on the slopes, but the rest of the course is in pretty good shape. The usual paths are bare.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't sure what to expect out of this course because when I pulled up I didn't see any baskets, nor tee areas. I read the description on here and it said first tee to the right of the parking lot. I still didn't see a basket until I walked forward to see around the bend to the right. I was glad to see the basket because ti looked like a cool park and I was then excited to play this course. I enjoyed the shot making necessary. #1 Huge anny with a Roadrunner. #2 Another anny needed but more distance because you are going up about 40 vertical feet against a sideslope too. #3 Straight putter or midrange shot with trouble left and a smattering of trees in your way to the basket. #4 awesome drop of at least 50-60 vertical feet to a basket tucked about 10 feet from the rushing river waters edge. #5 Fairly long hole with a basket tucked around and set back into the woods on the left. #6 Shorter hole with the basket about 15-20 feet past a wetland area, pretty simple hole, #7 Ridiculously tight fairway with scrub blocking a low shot completely. A Tamahawk would have been a nice shot choice if I knew how to throw them. I threw a spike hyzer with my Viper and ended up in some thick stuff despite it being only 131 feet. #8 Straight forward long hole, rip it and shoot for birdie or par. #9 Another long hole playing back across the path to a basket tucked amongst some large evergreen trees.

This course gets a 1.5 disc rating because of the fun factor and variability in the course. The maintenance could be greatly improved and that would take it up another 1/2 disc. I don't see it as a 2 disc course without some serious improvement on maintenance . . . such as pruning or brush removal . . .an the repair or addition of some amenities.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.