Tulsa (Broken Arrow), OK 
Haikey Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: Aggiepi Hole #7 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 246ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not as boring as Dovillio

1    7/18/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, it has all 18 baskets, nice pads (with alternates on many holes, and decent signs.

The old growth trees give you plenty of room to throw, while still challenging your accuracy.

A few really interesting holes keep this course from becoming just a boring throwfest. Holes 6,7,14, and 16 were all fun.

There were several play areas close by for the children.
Cons: Although I understand limitations are involved in city Parks, some of the walks between holes were really long and some were confusing.

A couple of signs were outdated because of changes to the layout.

The repetition in many of the holes made it seem like you were throwing the same hole multiple times.
Other Thoughts: Haikey was long. I played in mid July. I ran out of drink before I finished. Don't do that.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate

1    12/28/2012   5/11/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 416  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a decent sized city park, with a decent amount of trees here and there. There are some benches and pavilions and such, so there might be some interference here and there on a busy day.
- Good amount of trees present here to force a whole lotta line shaping. Some of the holes are very, very tight, like a skinny wooded hyzer on #6, tight gaps off the tee on #7 and #9, a bunch of trees to get around either way on #12, and a gap directly off of #15. Accuracy very important on these holes. Lots of other holes have more scattered trees, very few holes are open overall. Hyzers, annys, low ceilings, some holes that encourage a dogleg hole shape, plenty of chances to have a drive knocked down.
- Some hazardous areas present as well, like a creek/ditch with trees to go over on #14 and #16. Also some well protected pin positions due to placement near big trees or patches of jail. These are places you don't want to end up.
- Lots of length here, there are two holes over 400', two over 500', and one more at 645'. Bring those drivers!!! Also four shorties under 250', with technical lines. But, luckily, there are long holes that have tighter lines to keep things interesting.
- Nice concrete pads, good baskets. Tee signs are good but some are missing. Definitely want to look at the map ahead of time, if not bring one along somehow.
Cons: - Land here is pretty much as flat as it gets, start to finish. Maybe a few holes have some sort of slope, but it's negligible.
- Crossing the road after #4, and again after #8, is a little annoying. Layout is kind of jacked up in other places, like #12's pin located right by #10's pad.
Other Thoughts: - Typical park style course that has a nice bonus of some very long holes, as well as some very technical ones. A nice combination of length and accuracy needed, with some hazardous areas to avoid. Not too shabby!
- Course might be a touch too hard for beginners; potential for frustration is definitely there. Best suited for intermediate/expert players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Evolving course

5+    8/13/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You get to let it rip on most holes. Usually well maintained.
Cons: Your arm will get tired on this course from big arming shot at after shot. Seems like the course changes every time I play it. Gets boring to play with not much variety.
Other Thoughts: I don't play this course much because of the distance from my house and the lack of variety to the course overall. But I will say if you're in Tulsa, it's worth playing.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, well-kept park

1    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many concrete tee pads (but not all), plenty of length and in great shape. Mach baskets in pretty good condition. Tee signs are mostly there, but I was told by a local that the course had some holes removed, and now was back up to 18. It was apparent that many of the holes had been recently rearranged. Even so, it was not hard to navigate, other than knowing that after hole 4, you have to cross the street for 5-7, than back across for 8-18.

The grounds appear well-maintained and recently mown, although curiously a large patch of 2's fairway seemed have been just "left" uncut in the most recent mowing. I noticed a couple other spots that were conspicuously un-mowed, looking like they just missed it.

As stated in another review, the pictures made me believe that the course was more heavily treed than it was. There are quite a few big trees (which pose as obstacles on many holes), but overall it is pretty open.

My memorable holes:
8 - Shortest hole on the course, so you'd think it's simple, right? You'd be wrong though, there is a wall of trees standing between you and the basket, with very few holes with which to thread the needle.
9 - Tunnel shot off the tee, then it just keeps going and going, over 500 feet to a basket out in the open. It takes a near perfect shot off the tee just to have an open upshot to the basket!
13 - Sweet, well-defined, right curving fairway lined with tall trees, perfect for a gentle RHBH flex shot. Basket is just shy of some thick shule on the bank of Haikey Creek, so don't overthrow your upshot.
14 - Long carry off the tee over open field toward a stand of trees. What you can't tell from the tee though is that the basket is not actually just "among" the trees, the trees line a small stream and the basket is on the other side. One of the few holes I've see where you can clearly see the basket, but I don't think ANYONE will ever ace it.
17 - Longest hole on the course at over 600 feet. Throw over a lot of open ground before approaching a basket surrounded on all side by a number of large trees with low-hanging branches.
Cons: Like most of the other courses I've played in Tulsa, Haikey also suffers from a lack of formidable terrain. Pretty much trees and some small streams are all you have to deal with, and it's almost perfectly flat.

The "added" holes across the road appear to be just that, "extra" holes that were just thrown in. Also, on all of the relocated holes, there is just a worn spot where people have been throwing from, just in front of the signs. Those tee boxes are not marked at all, which will work short term, as I assume they will eventually get concrete pads like the other holes.

Tee signs look somewhat thrown together, as I assume just about every basket was moved in the shuffle, and only white duct tape with marker writing denotes the new distance and hole name. At least the distances seem pretty accurate.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3 could be improved to a 3.5 if they tee signs would be re-done and the missing concrete tees installed. This course just didn't have a lot of real estate to deal with, but for the most part uses what obstacles are there to its advantage and creates a real challenge to a clear line on most holes.

I see in another review that the address may be off, but I used the GPS coordinates and they were spot-on. I also could not find any kind of map or hole layout, obviously since many of the holes were rearranged that might not yet have been created. That being said, course navigation was still not a problem.

This course is just minutes off the highway, and is most definitely worth the time to play if you are in the vicinity.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Haikey Creek Park

1    5/21/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: Marshall M
Played: 83  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained mature park.
Good, pads, signs, layout.
Good mix of short and long holes.
Cons: Only 12 holes. I talked to some locals and they said after an ice storm hit Tulsa some time back, the city closed off the other holes that go through the trees down by the creek (awesome looking area).
Other Thoughts: I put the Haikey creek park address in my gps and it took me to a ball field park just north of the course. If you go by the address keep going South and you cant miss the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.