Tulsa (Broken Arrow), OK
Haikey Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: Aggiepi Hole #1 (Taken 10/2012)
4 / 520ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Distance Test in Tulsa

1    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 46  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Out of the 5 courses I have played in Tulsa, this is where you have your distance tested the most. The great part about that though, is they aren't wide open distance holes, there are trees everywhere to make sure you still have accuracy while bombing it. There are plenty of par 4's and some par 5's on this course, which is great. While having a ton of distance there are also some short holes that offer a good chance of a 2 if you can navigate around the even denser sets of trees. For a first timer, the course flows fairly well.
Cons: While this course has a big difference in hole lengths, it is not as interesting as other Tulsa courses. it doesn't come off as fun as Hunter or Blackhawk because you don't have beautiful shots, or super technical holes. Some holes with OB would make this more interesting. This is a very flat course. This course often runs along a jogging trail, so be careful of pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: Despite its flatness, this is a pretty good course. I would say its a 3.30, so I marked it as a 3.5. This course isn't a must play if you're in Tulsa, but its still a quality course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not as boring as Dovillio

1    7/18/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, it has all 18 baskets, nice pads (with alternates on many holes, and decent signs.

The old growth trees give you plenty of room to throw, while still challenging your accuracy.

A few really interesting holes keep this course from becoming just a boring throwfest. Holes 6,7,14, and 16 were all fun.

There were several play areas close by for the children.
Cons: Although I understand limitations are involved in city Parks, some of the walks between holes were really long and some were confusing.

A couple of signs were outdated because of changes to the layout.

The repetition in many of the holes made it seem like you were throwing the same hole multiple times.
Other Thoughts: Haikey was long. I played in mid July. I ran out of drink before I finished. Don't do that.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate

1    12/28/2012   5/11/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a decent sized city park, with a decent amount of trees here and there. There are some benches and pavilions and such, so there might be some interference here and there on a busy day.
- Good amount of trees present here to force a whole lotta line shaping. Some of the holes are very, very tight, like a skinny wooded hyzer on #6, tight gaps off the tee on #7 and #9, a bunch of trees to get around either way on #12, and a gap directly off of #15. Accuracy very important on these holes. Lots of other holes have more scattered trees, very few holes are open overall. Hyzers, annys, low ceilings, some holes that encourage a dogleg hole shape, plenty of chances to have a drive knocked down.
- Some hazardous areas present as well, like a creek/ditch with trees to go over on #14 and #16. Also some well protected pin positions due to placement near big trees or patches of jail. These are places you don't want to end up.
- Lots of length here, there are two holes over 400', two over 500', and one more at 645'. Bring those drivers!!! Also four shorties under 250', with technical lines. But, luckily, there are long holes that have tighter lines to keep things interesting.
- Nice concrete pads, good baskets. Tee signs are good but some are missing. Definitely want to look at the map ahead of time, if not bring one along somehow.
Cons: - Land here is pretty much as flat as it gets, start to finish. Maybe a few holes have some sort of slope, but it's negligible.
- Crossing the road after #4, and again after #8, is a little annoying. Layout is kind of jacked up in other places, like #12's pin located right by #10's pad.
Other Thoughts: - Typical park style course that has a nice bonus of some very long holes, as well as some very technical ones. A nice combination of length and accuracy needed, with some hazardous areas to avoid. Not too shabby!
- Course might be a touch too hard for beginners; potential for frustration is definitely there. Best suited for intermediate/expert players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Evolving course

5+    8/13/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You get to let it rip on most holes. Usually well maintained.
Cons: Your arm will get tired on this course from big arming shot at after shot. Seems like the course changes every time I play it. Gets boring to play with not much variety.
Other Thoughts: I don't play this course much because of the distance from my house and the lack of variety to the course overall. But I will say if you're in Tulsa, it's worth playing.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Haikey Creek

5+    5/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed challenging course with multiple pin placements on several holes. If you have a big arm it will work to your advantage on this course. But several of the holes are shorter more technical shots in some pretty dense trees. You pretty much can't lose your disc on this course.
Cons: A couple of the holes have the shorter tee pads - not really a big deal for most people. This course doesn't drain well in some places. No elevation change. No water obstacles. Some of the pars are kind of odd - I just play them as threes anyway.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty well designed course. It probably doesn't cater to beginner players as it is a long course for the most part.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun and reasonably challenging course

1    7/28/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: RJDunkman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes with some longer holes, including some that aren't wide open and require some precision, a few holes with dense trees that require a decent hyzer shot, and some other shorter ones that require a lot of precision.

This course is playable by people of all skill levels. There are several shots that require enough precision to keep skilled players interested, and enough more open areas for less experienced players.

It's pretty hard to lose a disc out there unless you throw a really errant shot out of bounds.

Not much pedestrian traffic on the course as the rest of the recreation area is a decent distance away.
Cons: Some of the tee pad signs are missing and it's there are a couple spots where several holes converge or you have to cross a road so it's a little confusing where the next tee box is. I would have had to wander a few times if not for having the aerial map available on my phone.

No elevation change and no water that really comes into play or other obstacles except trees. A creek does wind through the park but does not impact many, if any, shots.

Some of the par rankings are odd. Neither par 5 should be more than a 4, and a couple of the par 4s should be 3, but you can adjust your score as you see fit.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that is playable for anyone and still challenging enough to keep skilled players interested. I will definitely go back again when I'm in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great diversity!!!

1    10/21/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: B_Rad_79
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course had a wide range of holes. A couple holes were pretty long (around 600ft) while most were around the 400 ft range. Some of the holes were open with few trees while some of them had many trees on the fairway. A really nice mix of challenging shots. This is a really beautiful park, not a lot of pedestrians to watch out for because the playground equipment is quite a ways from the course.
Cons: Some of the signs were faded and somewhat difficult to follow. I couldn't find one of the holes but a local showed me where it was. This may have been my own error in reading the sign.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good all around course

5+    10/1/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: mike ewladt
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: has a good mix of trees,long open shots and birdable holes,not many places to loose a disc since they remade a few holes
Cons: missing basket at 15,a few holes have pretty long walks to next tee,you doo get a few holes that are close to the treatment plant so the smell can be unpleasant at times

  Great, Well Maintained

5+    3/20/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: KYJohnson88
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
Pros: Very well maintained park, about half the holes are heavily wooded which is beautiful in the summer and fall
Cons: No elevation changes at all; signs at the tee pads would be nice, lots of pedestrians walking the park as well
Other Thoughts: I rated this 3.5 because the abscence of any elevation. This is a great park though as you'll see people walking their dogs or having cookouts so you might encounter some pedestrian interference. I like this course cause it presents a challenge with about half of the holes are heavily wooded.

 

2-4    6/16/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Janbobbo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.9 Years
Pros: Located in a nice park with a bunch of big trees. The design of the course is well thought out and gives you a good and fair challenge on each hole. The course was well maintained and the tees were in good shape.
Cons: The course lacks elevation changes and although the holes are well designed, the park just not exciting enough to offer any signature holes that you will remember for a long time.
Other Thoughts: I participated in Haikey Creek Classic 2010 and while I'm not sure which 12 holes are part of the original course or if infact there are 18 playable holes during all time we played 24 holes so my review is based on that. This course deserves the 3.5 considering it's so well thought out and designed on a piece of land which is not ideal for a top quality disc golf course. With that in mind I don't see so much potential in improving the course that much.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.