Crowley, TX 
Bicentennial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 277ft.   3 / 277ft.   3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Well worth the drive

1    9/4/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great layout. After you figure out where number 2 was, it was easy sailing from there.

2. Makes great use of the terrain. Lots of elevational changes. You have to make good judgement on distance to keep up with the elevation in both directions.

3. Puts a creek in the way for many (1/3 of the holes). Water is very low so its easy to see and fetch disc. Creek is also not steep so thats a plus.

4. Great choice of placement for ltees. There are 3 levels (Pro, Intermediate, and Beginner).

5. Pro and Intermediate tees are paved, beginner is not, but no one should be playing from the beginner tees.

6. Signs are clear and easy to understand

7. Course is nice and clean with plenty of trash cans to throw away stuff.
Cons: 1. In general the course is easy to navigate, but I can see where there are a few holes that are hard to find, and which basket to shoot for can sometimes be challenging.

2. The last few holes have pedestrians that walk their dogs or play. This may cause some delays.

3. A few of the pro tees seem easier than the intermediate.
Other Thoughts: All and all this is one awesome course. I enjoyed this one quite a bit. This is one of the few courses where I feel that you can have one or two bad tosses and you can recover from them. It really does keep you guessing and bring all your tosses, it will require all of them. Lastly, this is a 20 hole course!!!! and extremely long.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Becentenial (Crowley) Rundown!!!

5+    1/6/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -All conrete t-pads. Most holes have a set
-Now has great signage!!!
-2+ Pin possitions per hole, recently added new ones
-Wide range of shots
-Terrain variety
-Very well mapped out course, makes great use of the trees, water, and hills
-Great doubles course
-Very well manicured and decently clean
-Usually no hole wait... any time of day
Cons: -Occasional festivals, picnics, or soccer practice keeps you from playING the last few holes...though rare
-"Slippery / squishy when wet"...not so much the boxes, but the course itself for sure
-Lots of places to lose plastic when water is high after a rain (being Golden Retriever prepared is a good thing on this course)
-Police do patrol this park frequently, so watch out Disc Golfers
-Mosquitos are BAD!!! when the conditions are right...bring bug spray
-Poison ivY compatible
Other Thoughts: There really isn't much bad to say about this course, if there is, it pretty much corresponds with the usual irritations of the game...muddy when rainy, mosquitos, etc.

Both the front and back 9 are loaded with shot variety; water holes, short (but not to short) holes, long holes, ups and downs, and under/over stable shots. Bring it all 'cause this course can eat you up. Not greatly challenging, but the challenge is there if things aren't going your way.

THIS IS MY FAVORITE COURSE TO DATE!!!, and everyone should play it. It would also cut down on a lot of Z Boaz traffic if more would play.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Billy Goat’s Ruff

5+    12/17/2009   9/15/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Get your Goat on, because there are some fantastic elevation changes. This is a beautiful course! The baskets are all in great shape. There are 3 sets of tees. The longs and middles are now cement tees. Some of the holes have some tight tree lines to deal with and some are wide open. But regardless, there seems to be some obstacles risk/reward,on almost every hole. The layout of the course is a hiking adventure. This is not a course for the faint of heart; you will hike. Accuracy is needed and there are plenty of technical shots. A few holes will force you to consider which route to take. I don't see losing discs here too often as much of the woods and fairways have been cleaned up really well. There seems to be lots of trashcans at the beginning and end of the course. Parking is also great for this course. Bicentennial is also in a section of the park on it's own, so avoiding people is a non-issue.
Cons: The tee signs still need to be updated & the longs don't even have signage yet. The short tee pads can get muddy after a rain as they are still dirt. The route going form hole to hole is a bit tough and having someone who has played it before going with you will be a huge help. It would be nice to see more trashcans in the middle of the course and I didn't see any restrooms close by.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is excellant. All and all, I can say the layout and complexity of each hole has made this an instant favorite for me. I wouldn't even tell you to visit Fort Worth without hitting Bicentennial. I will probably bump my rating up to 4.5 once the concrete tee pads are completely finished for the middle tees to cover the rainy days. I know this has been a ton of work by the local players to get this course in the shape it is and we are thankful for that!

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.