Disc Golf Center
Crowley, TX
Bicentennial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 322ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 191ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wow

2-4    3/13/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: pchitti
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great hole layout, uses everything that available, and makes you use everything you have. Uncrowded, combination of open long, tight technical, and long technical.Two concrete tee pads for all holes. Natural tee pad for beginners every hole.
WIND WIND WIND!!!!
Cons: Unfriendly neighbors to course.(guns have been pulled for retrieving discs, was on the roof though)
A couple holes are what I consider hope and poke. Elevation changes can be brutal for walking course, not cart friendly.
A lot of signs have been damaged by local area ruffians.
Can be tough to navigate as this course is HUGE!
WIND WIND WIND!!!!
Other Thoughts: I played both long and short, plus a 30 hole layout for the Crowley DD event. Loved the temp holes as much as the regular holes. They need to become perm holes. Total played 102 holes there this weekend. With the constant wind you can get very frustrated. Its a great learning experience if you don't normally play in the wind.

Will be back to play this event and course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 not equal to z boaz

1    1/21/2011   1/21/2011
Review By: z boaz ace 22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: distance and elevation change. good tree lines good t box options not crowded like z boaz
Cons: hard to find and very windy but fun i lost a nuke and that is up setting very tight in the wood and the maps are not precise
Other Thoughts: its not as good as z boaz because zboaz is king in this area

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything

2-4    11/27/2010   12/17/2010
Review By: sheamous
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will give you a great disc golf experience every time. You'll enjoy its many positives such as large a variety of holes, set in a beautiful and big park, almost every type of shot required to shoot well, multiple hole and tee locations, as well as some of the greatest tee pads in all of North Texas. You'll have everything from downhill bombs and blind shots, uphill elevator approaches, throws along deep ravines, thick technical tree sections and shots across a wide/deep stream. (Really tough to get across from the back tees) There are plenty of signs, holes are easy to find, lots of trash cans to throw away litter, and there is a large parking lot near hole 1 and the practice baskets.
Cons: Careful on the holes underneath the power lines, you could run into dirt bike riders as well as throw an errant disc into a backyard of an unfriendly resident. The area back in this area is pretty sketchy as you get far away from the main park. Later parts of the course come very close to the soccer fields. Joggers, walkers, and family gatherings are all in play the last five or so holes.
Other Thoughts: This has become one of my new favorite courses in the metroplex.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Improvements

5+    9/15/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: gek76
Played: 35  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads for Intermediate and Pro. Very nice new signs. Most holes are fun and challenging. Elevation changes, throw up hill on a couple of holes. Throw down hill on a couple of others. Water Hazards aren't disc swallowing. No "Lets make a par 5 to get back to the parking lot" type holes, instead they just added more holes to play, meaning 20+ holes! Practice putting basket.
Cons: For some reason this park seems like it is 10 degrees hotter then anywhere else during the summer. Lots of tall grass and undergrowth on a few holes. Even a good throw on hole 10 might land in some tall grass( 3-4 feet tall ). Hole 6 runs near the back of some homes. Owners not friendly to disc golfers. If disc goes over the fence it is lost.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the closest courses to where I live. I have appreciated all the improvements made to the course over the years. Wish there was more tree cover like Z-Boaz. It is Dog Friendly. Not Stroller Friendly. They have made a good course from the terrain available.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the drive

1    9/4/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 122  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great layout. After you figure out where number 2 was, it was easy sailing from there.

2. Makes great use of the terrain. Lots of elevational changes. You have to make good judgement on distance to keep up with the elevation in both directions.

3. Puts a creek in the way for many (1/3 of the holes). Water is very low so its easy to see and fetch disc. Creek is also not steep so thats a plus.

4. Great choice of placement for ltees. There are 3 levels (Pro, Intermediate, and Beginner).

5. Pro and Intermediate tees are paved, beginner is not, but no one should be playing from the beginner tees.

6. Signs are clear and easy to understand

7. Course is nice and clean with plenty of trash cans to throw away stuff.
Cons: 1. In general the course is easy to navigate, but I can see where there are a few holes that are hard to find, and which basket to shoot for can sometimes be challenging.

2. The last few holes have pedestrians that walk their dogs or play. This may cause some delays.

3. A few of the pro tees seem easier than the intermediate.
Other Thoughts: All and all this is one awesome course. I enjoyed this one quite a bit. This is one of the few courses where I feel that you can have one or two bad tosses and you can recover from them. It really does keep you guessing and bring all your tosses, it will require all of them. Lastly, this is a 20 hole course!!!! and extremely long.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First Time to Review Bare With Me

1    6/27/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like all the elevation changes and I felt they used the layout of the Electrical Easement very well. The cource was clean and a lot of the under brush was trimmed away. (not allergic to Poison Ivy so I really don't know what it looks like). The lay out of the course was easy to follow. We played from the middle Tees and it was just right for me.
Cons: The only con I could think of is I know there's 21 holes there. I thought a sign to show that your've played 18 would have helped.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course met some nice people. I will play this course again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic long course!

2-4    5/10/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
-Lots of difficult shots
-Lots of elevation changes
-20 Holes
-Locals are great
-Restrooms!
-#18, most sheltered pin I have ever encountered. Best to throw a RHBH hyser over the bridge and hope it doesn't skip in the water. There should be a golf club still hidden over there somewhere.
-Tons of precision shots required.
-Playground for the kiddos.
-Brand new tee signs. These are really great signs actually. Just remember to see where the next tee box is
-Looks like there are a few new tee boxes as well.
-Multiple boxes and pins.
-Pins seem to move around often.
Cons:
-It is hell on a windy day.
-Some boxes are difficult to find
-The high wires on 4 and 9.
-Poison Ivy grows pretty well here.
-Can get extremely muddy after a rain.
-Non disc golf people getting in your way.
Other Thoughts:
Fun course! Love the fact that it is 20 holes. Most courses around here are 18. Technically there are 21, there is a red box in between 2 and 3. Its short, but water is involved. I skipped that one due to the fact that i had no clue what it was. First timers I would recommend finding someone who has played the course before as it is difficult finding the next holes, especially, 4-5-6. The course is well planned out to utilize the natural terrain. I have now played the course from both tee box locations. I must say, the course changes it's demeanor when playing from the long boxes.

This is a great course for anyone from a beginner playing from the front tees, to the average player playing from the middle tess, and the advanced player playing from the long tees. It really makes you chose your lines and rewards a hit line tremendously. Miss your line though, and you may be in serious score trouble.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Seeing what the Bi is all about

1    4/3/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Had a great time today, playing here for the first time. Definitely a very busy park, but most traffic stays outta the way. Once you get past the first couple holes the course becomes a lot more interesting. I love the layout.Tons of different shots to pull. I'm a sidearmer so I enjoy an open hole or two here and there. This course is worth the drive and like some of the others said it is way, I mean WAY, less crowded than Z-Boaz. Especially on a 75 degree Saturday!!!!!!

Plus this place is great to bring a beginner. 3 set's of Tee pads.Very Nice
Cons: *It was a little difficult finding a few of the holes, they could benefit from some small signage, but the hole numbers were on the Tee pads.
*Very thick brush, I can see where poison Oak, Ivy and Sumac could thrive out here!
*Some very "creepy" people, nothing against Crowley, but there were some strange happenings going on around me. Don't get me wrong, I felt safe, but something was a little off.
*One hole, I had to ask people to watch out, it is a very busy park, with picnics and such You have to watch out for pedestrians, they will walk in front of of some Chains that are tucked in trees.
*5.0's are out!!!!! I saw a couple people being talked to up by 10 Tee pad. So be safe and be careful!!!
Other Thoughts: Overall I really like this course. This is a definite place I will be back to. Especially when the weathers nice and Z-Boaz is looking like a 4-hr round!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sweetness

5+    1/22/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has everything. There are tight tunnel shots and then there are so places to stretch out your arm. This course will make you a better player in a hurry due to the layout. The elevation is used very well not only off of the tee but on ups/putts and makes the course interesting and makes for a good workout. The baskets are nice and the concrete pads add a big bonus compared to what they used to be. The fun factor is high here because you can throw holes different every time you come out and it doent get boring.
Cons: Navigation can be hard at times and you will be walking around looking for the next tee. No actual tee signs so there is no picture of the hole to help the first timers either. Grass can get tall in areas making it hard to find plastic. During the summer it get very hot out here and its a long way back to the parking lot so bring all of your food and cold drinks with you. Poison Ivy can get bad during the warmer months so beware as well.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and always have fun here. I wish it wasnt so far away from where I live but this is a must over Zboaz during the weekend because it is not nearly as crowded. Enjoy

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to Crowley

1    1/22/2010   1/22/2010
Review By: cbeckett22
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Brand new tee signs on every hole show distance, hole layout, and different target positions. (some of the nicest signs I have seen in the DFW)
-3 tee pads for almost every hole, and there are 21 holes.
-All white and red tees are now concrete.(but not 3b)
-Lots of good elevation shots.
-Creek comes into play on 1, 12, 17, 18, 19, and 20, which ups the difficulty level a bit. (13, 18, 19, 20, and 21, if you play 3b as hole 4, which is how I always play it.) Also a con if you're a beginner.
-A lot of the holes have multiple target positions.
-Fun course for beginners as well as seasoned vets.
-Not a lot of traffic for such a nice course.
-Plenty of trash cans, and spots to relax.
-Well kept course.
-2 playground areas at the front of the course for the kiddos.
-An all around nice park, and a great hike.
Cons: -Blue tees are not concrete. Neither is hole 3B.
-Poison Oak, Ivy, and Sumac can be found back in the wooded holes, so keep it on the fairway.(I seem to get into poison ivy every other time I play this course.)
--Creek comes into play on 1, 12, 17, 18, 19, and 20, which ups the difficulty level a bit. (13, 18, 19, 20, and 21, if you play 3b as hole 4, which is how I always play it.) Also a pro if you're pretty good.

Other Thoughts: This is the course I started on so it will always be special to me.

I hear they will be adding at least 9 more holes sometime in the future.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.