Crowley, TX 
Bicentennial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 443ft.   3 / 328ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Red Tee Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Home Course Lots to say

5+    8/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: Tiny
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2012
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Edited: Just changed the rating. I didn't realize I had it at "Phenominal." It's Very Good, and if there wasn't so much foot traffic and had all the teepads, and good signage I may bump it to 4.5.

1. Great Lay Out
2. Different Array of Shots Needed
3. No holes entirely too long/short
4. Great use of the terrain
5. Maintained enough to enjoy your time there
6. Not super packed at any given time
7. Locals are generally nice
8. Wooded and Open shots
9. More fun the more you play it.
10. Practice basket is out of the way and last hole ends up across the creek from it. (fun for Closest to Basket bets if you bet on stuff with buddies)
Cons: 1. 1-3/ 14-20 have pedestrians and kids playing in the park.
2. Burrs if you shank a disc into the brush.
3. Hard to navigate if you've never played it (bring a map or a local [ Contact me if you're playing this course, I'd love to show you it's wonders])
4. Some holes are too easy
5. Very few of the locals DO NOT understand Disc Golf Etiquette [I'm trying to teach them]
6. Dirty creek in some part[Gives you more reason to stay out of it]
7. Fences on 5,6,7,8,10 (They hate disc golfers, atleast the bad ones.)
8. Texas can get really hot and humid
9. Not easy to find going to first time I'd expect.
10. Not all holes have concrete teepads, and most of the signs have been vandalized.
Other Thoughts: I'm going to tell you how I feel about each hole and what to expect.

Getting to the park could prove challenging if you don't come through often. Hole one starts on the south side of the park.

Hole One: The Pedestrian Battle Royale - This hole has 5 potential trees that could be a problem, it's a straight shot across the creek. The basket is on the side of the hill, the hill itself is rather rocky, so watch your step. This is generally a high populated hole, pedestrians are bound to be at the bench under the shade tree cross the creek in the fairway. (I move this bench 7/10 times I play it, and they keep moving back into the fairway. It's like they want to be in the way.)

Hole Two: The Firetruck of Love- This one was hard to find for me the first time. It's south of the basket of hole one. There is a Jungle Gym that looks like a firetruck if you can't spot the teepad. The basket is up the hill to the east. The street to the right comes into play if you aren't careful. There are 4 trees that could pose a problem. It's not my favorite hole.

Hole Three: The Distance Hole - I believe this is our longest hole at the course. It's teepad is north of the basket for hole two. The regular tee is past the bench on the right. Water comes into play again on this hole. There is a bad area to be in if you shank it to the right, BURRS EVERYWHERE. There are 4 trees on the fairway that could be problem if you aren't careful or accurate. Pedestrians aren't usually here unless they are jogging/bicycling or playing in the water (gross). The basket is hard to spot. It's near the creek straight in front of you. (basically look straight off the tee pad, you'll see the tree in the middle, and then a second tree right behind it. It's behind that tree.) Wind is a big factor on this hole.

Hole 3b: The Not Really a Hole Hole- There is no concrete teepad for this hole, It's actually using a spare basket for what I'm lead to believe is 18blue. Locals play it as if it were 4, We call it 3b because there is no sign and 4 has a sign. It's a short sweet hole, that is usually the biggest water hazard other than 18. The basket is straight along the creek, about 200ft? It's easy to spot. 3-4 trees during this hole.

Hole Four: Hidden Basket at the End of the Fairway - Hole 4 teepad is east of basket 3b. It's a straight fairway with the basket tucked into the trees at the end of the fairway. Heavy burrs way to the right if you shank it horribly. To find the basket, stand on the teepad, then take 3-4 large steps to the right off the teepad, then look along the tree line starting at the hill going towards you. It's pretty straight forward. Careful for players playing hole 15, if they can't control their disc and throw too hard, they can end up on that fairway.

Hole Five: The Blind Side- Pedestrians leave play for a bit. You are now entering the wooded part of the course. Hole 5 is along the path north of basket for hole 4. There SHOULD be a trashcan at this point. You are teeing off up a hill, the basket is blind to your eyes. You throw up the hill, then you throw down a hill towards the houses. Unless you can throw excessively far, or you have a massive meathook throw, you should end up a the top of the hill or down the hill some. Other than teeing off there are no trees in your way. The hill climbing up is steep and rocky, so wear some good shoes for climbing rocks.

Hole Six: The Hills Have a Basket- Sad day, there is NO teepad for this hole. After five's basket, you walk along the path to the right. You'll be a 10-15 yards away from fences. (You'll know you are in the right spot if a dog starts barking excessively loud.) There is a small gulch you will see wooden poles for some teepads, I personally use the one on top of the hill (unmarked). The basket is Northeast. It's on the side of the hill, If you shank to your left, you could possibly hit hole thirteen's teepad. There is very little room for error when throwing this drive. The basket on the side of a steeeeeeep hill. This one is pretty self explanatory when you find the teeing area.

Hole Seven: The Lost Steps Of Reiki - After hole 6 you walk down a path northeast. It's a 2 foot wide trail, it'll lead you to your next teepad. (Carry a map, have a tour guide, or ask a local, we're pretty friendly). The hole is another uphill shot. The basket can be seen if you take 1 large step of the tee pad to right. It's to the right of the opening at the top of the hill. There is brush to the left and right. It's not fun to search through, laying up is always a good option for first time through the course. Also another steep incline to walk up. Rocky and has some "stairs". I don't use them because they are steep and hard to walk up.

Hole Eight: Downhill Fun Run - This is one of my personal favorite holes. The teepad is east of the basket of hole seven. It's a downhill throw. You should be able to see it from the teepad. It's straight forward slightly to the right. You have a couple options for this hole, I throw tomahawk over the trees. There are 3-4 trees directly in front of you that are at the bottom of the hill. It's pretty basic other than the super steep hill that basically causes you to run faster than you want down the hill.

Hole Nine: Chief Straight Arrow - The basket is east of the basket of hole eight. There is very difficult hyzer paths, I don't believe there is any anhyzer paths for this hole. (right handed backhand) Standing on the teepad you can see the basket.

Hole Ten: Hope you can Aim - If you walk past the basket on the trail, you'll run into the hole ten pro tee. If you look further you'll see a blue bench where the regular tee is located. Looking down the teepad, you'll see an opening, the basket is in the trees. It's hard to see if you don't know where to look. If you want me to show you with a picture, PM me. I got time I'll draw it for you. If you over throw or don't throw into the fairway, your second shot will be extremely difficult. When navigating from tee to basket, there is a couple paths. Generally you can walk along the path until you get to a mudding trail, then step over into the fairway.

Hole Eleven: Trees EVERYWHERE - To get to this hole is probably the most challenging. You make a 180 turn and walk towards the mudding trail, except you turn right instead of walk towards the tee of 10. You have to walk through a small wooded area that you question the first time. You'll see another blue bench near the pro-tee. After you leave the wooded path, make a right and you'll see the regular tee. The basket can only be seen standing left of the teepad straight forward. There is a sweet hyzer line if you can hit it on the right side of the fairway, too far thrown you'll hit a tree or end up in a lot of brush.

Hole Twelve: The Gulch of Frogs- After the basket of hole eleven, you walk along the dirt road path to the west. You'll see the teepad pretty easily. Along your right there is Big Gulch. In the gulch there are tons of baby frogs, you don't want to end up there. The basket is located up the dirt path, in an enclave of trees. It's difficult to see the basket. There is 1 massive tree about half way, that is low hanging that will deny any of your shots if you aren't careful. If you shank it across the gulch (god forbid), the brush over there feels like vietnam (or so I'd expect). Play this hole safe and stay on the dirt road.

Hole Thirteen: The Unlucky Hole- To find this, follow the dirt road west/southwest. You'll spot the pro tee easily. A little further is the regular tee. This shot is one of the more tricky ones. And the basket is hard to see until you get within putting. There is a tree line to your right. About 250 the basket is on the side of the hill. You'll be throwing up and down the hill. It's not very steep, but it is a big hill. The hill is about 175ft long. Safest throw is get it to land on top of the hill closest to the tree line without ending up in it. When on top of the hill, you should see hole 14's protee. I suggest walking forward or having a friend to play spotter for you. It's a difficult throw because you are blind 2/3 of the throws to get there. It's about 1/2 down the hill when you get there and the trees can be rough to go through if you shank into woods.

Hole Fourteen: I can see the Light - Pedestrians come back into play lightly. After hole 13 you walk into the tree line there is a small path. (If you are unsure, you can walk up the hill to the protee and walk down there, It's just rough to walk down due to it being super steep) This is one of the shorter holes, easily birdied. There are 5-6 lines that I've found to throw. It's a straight shot if you can throw it straight. You can do a slight hyzer throw, and end up close to the basket. The brush to the right will have poison ivy, so watch out throwing into there.

Hole Fifteen: Old Glory - Directly pasted hole 14's basket is the teepad for 15. To your right is the protee, the regular tee is to the left. Recently vandals have spray painted the tee pad. I'm hoping to get it removed, If not I'll remove it myself. The basket is difficult to see. This is a dogleg right. There is trees to your left and right. You have to throw out between two trees, and put a little bit of anhyzer to make it land so you have a shot for a birdie, if not you're working with a difficult second throw.

Hole Sixteen: Tree-nied your Ace- If you walk towards west of the basket on 15, you'll find 16. It's a pretty basic hole. You have your low hanging tree over the teepad, you got 5 trees in the fairway, and you have a tree line to the right. You can see this basket from the tee pad. Generally on this hole you will have tailwinds based on the design.

Hole Seventeen: Don't Shank Right - The regular tee is straight past the basket of 16, If you look left while walking you'll see a big honking tree. The basket is along the creek at the end where it bends. The teepad is over a small hill, you'll be in a tight closed area while teeing off. If you shank into the SUPER rough. You will almost guaranteed get your feet wet searching for your disc. I've lost 1 disc on this hole, it is not to be taken lightly.

Hole Eighteen: The Dreaded River/Bridge/Tree Combo- This teepad is found following the creek after the basket on hole 17. This hole is dreadful yet my personal favorite of any hole I've played. It has risk/reward factor, it has difficulty. It's wonderful. There will almost always be pedestrians on this hole. Standing on the tee pad you'll notice a few things. 1, you are throwing across the river, 2, there is a bridge in front of the basket, 3, there are ill placed trees for the throw, 4, there is thorny bushes in front of you and 5, It's not the easiest of shots. Generally you'll have headwind. If you cannot see the basket, walk up and find it, you will want to for this hole. If you throw too much anhyzer you'll make the shot more difficult than it has to be, if you try to lay up on this side of the river, you'll have a gnarly hyzer shot to make, if you go for the gold with a straight shot, the winds will surprise you and maybe even push your disc into the trees and then the water. If you hit the bridge, you will here a very loud thud. This is a great hole. I've ended up in the water more than I'd care to admit. To get to other side, cross the bridge. Watch for kids fishing next to teepad, I've been accidentally hooked before by a fly fisher. (not sure why he was fly fishing in a tiny little creek with tons of brush)

Hole Nineteen: Perfect Line = Ace - after the basket on 18, follow the creek and you'll find hole 19's teepad. The protee is located in an awkward spot, you have to actually cross back across the bridge and walk right. I haven't played it yet. This one is pretty straight forward. The basket is straight forward, on the side of a small hill. Winds are strong here, and unpredictable. The creek is in play again, but unless you are throwing meat hooks you'll be fine.

Hole Twenty: The Spectator Hole - To find hole 20's teepad, you walk towards the pavilion (on the right), the tee pad will be on your left. The basket for this hole is across the river, be the blue bench in front of a big tree. It's an open shot, and pedestrians are almost ALWAYS in the way. You can scream fore, watch out, heads up, coming in hot, run for the hills, they will not move at all. And it's only on this hole. I don't get it. There are powerlines above you that you can hear hum, if you throw to high, you can hit them and your disc will fall into the creek. To cross this creek, there are many paths. You have the immediate one, down the hill to your left, it's rather dry. Then you have another 20-30 yards up across some stones. then another 10-20 yards up across the low river. The winds are brutal here for light discs. Pretty basic hole other than crossing the creek.

Unmarked Closest to the Basket: Black Ace - How I normally do this hole. I stand behind the blue bench and we all throw 1-2 discs at the practice basket. There is generally people in the way but they are passing. You throw 1-2 discs and who ever gets closer wins the bet, if you bet, you can do it for bragging rights. I call this hole the Black Ace, because if you make it, it really doesn't count. After that throw, you can see your car and you've just completed Bicentennial's Course.

If you need anymore info on this course, or would like to play a game, just PM and I'd love to show you the course! :D Happy Golfings.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course With a Variety

5+    7/23/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Myersman93
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great Variety of holes, uphill/downhill, heavily/lightly wooded, and some pretty open holes with a creek running throughout the course.
Amazing Concrete Tees donated by various families to help the course look more professional. Pro/Am tees at almost every hole, with girls tees thrown in every now and then.
Catchers are decent and usually never fail, same kind a Veterans Park.
Cons: The area of the OB line can be rediculously tall grass with Burr Bushes everywhere that leave Burrs that stick to your clothes. But they are easy to avoid as long you don't grip-lock.
The water is pretty sick, so you don't want to get in there by any means.
It's a public park, so there are sometimes people jogging, or just sitting in the way of the hole. You have to be careful to not hit children playing on the playground next to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and My friends and I love playing it more than Z-Boaz or Veterans. But it's a great course and is very fun to play. Sometimes it can be extremely windy due to the surrounding area, which can make it an extremely hard course to play.
Go check it out, conditions are great right now.
It's right off the Rendon-Crowley exit and is very easy to find. Good luck to future players, my best is +4 so far.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Elevating your Game with some Elevation

5+    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: rynehester
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This coarse makes great usage of the hills and the creek that roles through it. The one thing that this coarse overs is variety. There are open shots on flat ground, blind shots off hills, Up hill shots, down hill shots, Shots over water. If you wanting a place to challenge you and help you step up your game than this is a great coarse for you.
Cons: This is suppose to be a 21 hole coarse but there are only 20 pins and tee pads. If you don't watch you disc in can be easy to lose one. There is a lot of elevation so you will be walking a lot and often up hill so bring you hiking boots.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety

1    4/12/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park with some multi-use areas at the beginning and end and more disc golf exclusive areas in the middle. A handful of holes play in grassy fields with scattered trees. These offer some nice length to contend with, and a few have steep elevation changes to add some fun and challenge. The shots along the power line also have some nice elevation, and offer some tricky roll away potential on a few greens.

The middle of the course through the forested area offers some nice technical shots with defined fairways and enough trees off the intended lines to really punish many errant shots. The creek comes into play on several holes, it wasn't deep enough to lose discs in, but the steep banks and ob potential make for a nice risk/reward option on the holes over and along it.

Both the open and wooded holes called for a balance of right and left turning shots that test a lot of different line shaping skills. The tees are large concrete pads, and were in great shape. Dual tees offer big differences on some holes, changing things up quite a bit and making the course accessible to a wider skill range. The signs at both sets of tees are top notch, with hole layout and distance and an arrow toward the next tee.
Cons: There are some navigation issues, especially with some unmarked added holes and some longer walks that aren't marked beyond a general direction to start walking from the previous basket. The dual pin placements add some variety, but aren't marked on the tee signs. With lots of blind holes in the woods including some that have real length, it can get old to scout ahead that many times to find the pin.

The grass was really long in the trees, knee high in many places on and along the fairways. It's frustrating to throw a good shot down the middle and still spend time searching. The power line area was full of tall weeds as well. We saw lots of trash throughout the course, definitely takes away from the natural feel.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the short tees tough but fair, with reasonable distances but some tight and punishing lines. More experienced players will be challenged from the longs, with a good variety of lines to hit and a nice mix of longer and shorter shots. I enjoyed a lot of the shots here, I would definitely recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: HoopHound
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Starting holes are nice - concrete tees are ample and well marked.
Cons: Print a map and take it with you. Signage goes to nothing after you leave the earliest holes. Not sure why this course is rated 3 unless it's folks using their imagination as to the potential of this course.
Other Thoughts: Just needs signage and a little tender loving care - I'm sure the locals will bring it along soon enough.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Totally Wrong Expectations

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: mmoorman12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Terrain and teeboxes (most holes). Looks like sponsors came thru with $ for very nice concrete tees... Signs are very nice, where they exist... good start, lots of upside on this course, but lots of work left to make it a 3 star (as rated).
Cons: Unbelievably bad experience trying to navigate this course. Early holes were fine, but off the beaten path, very poorly laid out. Hole transitions can hardly be considered logical, and without signage, expect to walk an extra half mile during the round looking for tees/holes.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging but Fun!

1    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of different challenges and elevations that make for good exercise. Tees are concrete with 3 different options. Nice park overall.
Cons: Some tees can be tricky as far as location. Lots of trees in some areas. Not for beginners, but for those that at least have some experience.
Other Thoughts: My first time here with 5 of my friends and really enjoyed the day playing. I would come back again, but it's a little too far from where I'm located.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 like Zboaz w/o the crowds

5+    3/13/2011   11/30/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great, challenging layout with 21 holes (including 3B)
-major elevation changes, up and down
-variety of distance and terrain, wide open to tightly wooded
-dual concrete tees (and dirt rec tees)
-great Houck signs, baskets in good condition, alternate pin locations
-creek in play on 8 holes (1, 3, 3B, 12, 17, 18, 19, 20)
-practice basket
-lots of parking
-trash cans, restrooms, covered picnic tables, soccer fields, kiosk with map
-not crowded
Cons: -navigation is tricky in spots, new signs help
-poison ivy
-children playing can get in the way on the first and last few holes
-backyards in play on a few holes in the front, DO NOT JUMP THE FENCES!
Other Thoughts: This is a long and challenging course that is very similar to Zboaz but with far less traffic. Major elevation changes, a creek in play, tight wooded lanes, windows to hit on drives and zones to hit for placement on upshots all add the to the challenge out here.

The course warms up with a few open holes at the start before heading towards the back of the park for some of the more wooded holes. Hole 3 is a huge downhill bomb and 3B plays along the creek just past hole 3. Most of the middle of the course is made up of tight wooded holes with well defined fairways and little schule. The last several holes return to the open area but play along the creek. I especially like the downhill drive on holes 10 & 14 and the approach on hole 18 with the bridge in the way.

The dual concrete tees, alternate pin positions, great Houck signs, and general amenities make this course a joy to play. The wind can be very challenging out here but at least it doesn't affect you on the wooded shots so much. The lack of crowds also make this course a very attractive option if you want to play Zboaz but don't want to wait on every tee box.

Overall an excellent course with tons of variety and lots of fun shots. Worth the drive to check out and they also run some great tournaments out here. Friendly locals and weekly minis on Tuesdays and Saturdays.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course full of Variety

1    11/17/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: Sideshow
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course, it has many different challenges. Several holes are hard to see around sunset so make sure you have an idea where they are before you begin. A few holes are currently under construction a little bit, but otherwise a great course. It is located in a wide open park with some holes located in a wooded and hilly area. Hole #1 is located just off the right side of the parking lot.
Cons: I had a hard time locating the direction a few of the baskets were in even after looking at the map located on the tee. This could have been due to the fact that it was near sunset. Went out on a Thursday late afternoon and there were only a few other golfers there.
Other Thoughts: Once a few of the holes have there construction finished this could be a really fun and challenging course to play!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bicentennial

5+    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Doupie620
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You will need every throw
Not a lot of traffic
Tourneys are fair
Cons: Some of the hills require a Sherpa (for me...I'm fat)
Water holes are diabolical
When un-mowed, grass will eat your discs
Placement of #3 basket is Sadistic...move it back.
Other Thoughts: Home Course...still learning the game. This course will force you into learning all the throws.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.