Crowley, TX 
Bicentennial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #20 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 323ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Blue Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun Course With a Variety

5+    7/23/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Myersman93
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great Variety of holes, uphill/downhill, heavily/lightly wooded, and some pretty open holes with a creek running throughout the course.
Amazing Concrete Tees donated by various families to help the course look more professional. Pro/Am tees at almost every hole, with girls tees thrown in every now and then.
Catchers are decent and usually never fail, same kind a Veterans Park.
Cons: The area of the OB line can be rediculously tall grass with Burr Bushes everywhere that leave Burrs that stick to your clothes. But they are easy to avoid as long you don't grip-lock.
The water is pretty sick, so you don't want to get in there by any means.
It's a public park, so there are sometimes people jogging, or just sitting in the way of the hole. You have to be careful to not hit children playing on the playground next to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and My friends and I love playing it more than Z-Boaz or Veterans. But it's a great course and is very fun to play. Sometimes it can be extremely windy due to the surrounding area, which can make it an extremely hard course to play.
Go check it out, conditions are great right now.
It's right off the Rendon-Crowley exit and is very easy to find. Good luck to future players, my best is +4 so far.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Elevating your Game with some Elevation

5+    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: rynehester
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This coarse makes great usage of the hills and the creek that roles through it. The one thing that this coarse overs is variety. There are open shots on flat ground, blind shots off hills, Up hill shots, down hill shots, Shots over water. If you wanting a place to challenge you and help you step up your game than this is a great coarse for you.
Cons: This is suppose to be a 21 hole coarse but there are only 20 pins and tee pads. If you don't watch you disc in can be easy to lose one. There is a lot of elevation so you will be walking a lot and often up hill so bring you hiking boots.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety

1    4/12/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park with some multi-use areas at the beginning and end and more disc golf exclusive areas in the middle. A handful of holes play in grassy fields with scattered trees. These offer some nice length to contend with, and a few have steep elevation changes to add some fun and challenge. The shots along the power line also have some nice elevation, and offer some tricky roll away potential on a few greens.

The middle of the course through the forested area offers some nice technical shots with defined fairways and enough trees off the intended lines to really punish many errant shots. The creek comes into play on several holes, it wasn't deep enough to lose discs in, but the steep banks and ob potential make for a nice risk/reward option on the holes over and along it.

Both the open and wooded holes called for a balance of right and left turning shots that test a lot of different line shaping skills. The tees are large concrete pads, and were in great shape. Dual tees offer big differences on some holes, changing things up quite a bit and making the course accessible to a wider skill range. The signs at both sets of tees are top notch, with hole layout and distance and an arrow toward the next tee.
Cons: There are some navigation issues, especially with some unmarked added holes and some longer walks that aren't marked beyond a general direction to start walking from the previous basket. The dual pin placements add some variety, but aren't marked on the tee signs. With lots of blind holes in the woods including some that have real length, it can get old to scout ahead that many times to find the pin.

The grass was really long in the trees, knee high in many places on and along the fairways. It's frustrating to throw a good shot down the middle and still spend time searching. The power line area was full of tall weeds as well. We saw lots of trash throughout the course, definitely takes away from the natural feel.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the short tees tough but fair, with reasonable distances but some tight and punishing lines. More experienced players will be challenged from the longs, with a good variety of lines to hit and a nice mix of longer and shorter shots. I enjoyed a lot of the shots here, I would definitely recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: HoopHound
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Starting holes are nice - concrete tees are ample and well marked.
Cons: Print a map and take it with you. Signage goes to nothing after you leave the earliest holes. Not sure why this course is rated 3 unless it's folks using their imagination as to the potential of this course.
Other Thoughts: Just needs signage and a little tender loving care - I'm sure the locals will bring it along soon enough.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Totally Wrong Expectations

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: mmoorman12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Terrain and teeboxes (most holes). Looks like sponsors came thru with $ for very nice concrete tees... Signs are very nice, where they exist... good start, lots of upside on this course, but lots of work left to make it a 3 star (as rated).
Cons: Unbelievably bad experience trying to navigate this course. Early holes were fine, but off the beaten path, very poorly laid out. Hole transitions can hardly be considered logical, and without signage, expect to walk an extra half mile during the round looking for tees/holes.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging but Fun!

1    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of different challenges and elevations that make for good exercise. Tees are concrete with 3 different options. Nice park overall.
Cons: Some tees can be tricky as far as location. Lots of trees in some areas. Not for beginners, but for those that at least have some experience.
Other Thoughts: My first time here with 5 of my friends and really enjoyed the day playing. I would come back again, but it's a little too far from where I'm located.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 like Zboaz w/o the crowds

5+    3/13/2011   11/30/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great, challenging layout with 21 holes (including 3B)
-major elevation changes, up and down
-variety of distance and terrain, wide open to tightly wooded
-dual concrete tees (and dirt rec tees)
-great Houck signs, baskets in good condition, alternate pin locations
-creek in play on 8 holes (1, 3, 3B, 12, 17, 18, 19, 20)
-practice basket
-lots of parking
-trash cans, restrooms, covered picnic tables, soccer fields, kiosk with map
-not crowded
Cons: -navigation is tricky in spots, new signs help
-poison ivy
-children playing can get in the way on the first and last few holes
-backyards in play on a few holes in the front, DO NOT JUMP THE FENCES!
Other Thoughts: This is a long and challenging course that is very similar to Zboaz but with far less traffic. Major elevation changes, a creek in play, tight wooded lanes, windows to hit on drives and zones to hit for placement on upshots all add the to the challenge out here.

The course warms up with a few open holes at the start before heading towards the back of the park for some of the more wooded holes. Hole 3 is a huge downhill bomb and 3B plays along the creek just past hole 3. Most of the middle of the course is made up of tight wooded holes with well defined fairways and little schule. The last several holes return to the open area but play along the creek. I especially like the downhill drive on holes 10 & 14 and the approach on hole 18 with the bridge in the way.

The dual concrete tees, alternate pin positions, great Houck signs, and general amenities make this course a joy to play. The wind can be very challenging out here but at least it doesn't affect you on the wooded shots so much. The lack of crowds also make this course a very attractive option if you want to play Zboaz but don't want to wait on every tee box.

Overall an excellent course with tons of variety and lots of fun shots. Worth the drive to check out and they also run some great tournaments out here. Friendly locals and weekly minis on Tuesdays and Saturdays.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course full of Variety

1    11/17/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: Sideshow
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course, it has many different challenges. Several holes are hard to see around sunset so make sure you have an idea where they are before you begin. A few holes are currently under construction a little bit, but otherwise a great course. It is located in a wide open park with some holes located in a wooded and hilly area. Hole #1 is located just off the right side of the parking lot.
Cons: I had a hard time locating the direction a few of the baskets were in even after looking at the map located on the tee. This could have been due to the fact that it was near sunset. Went out on a Thursday late afternoon and there were only a few other golfers there.
Other Thoughts: Once a few of the holes have there construction finished this could be a really fun and challenging course to play!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bicentennial

5+    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Doupie620
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You will need every throw
Not a lot of traffic
Tourneys are fair
Cons: Some of the hills require a Sherpa (for me...I'm fat)
Water holes are diabolical
When un-mowed, grass will eat your discs
Placement of #3 basket is Sadistic...move it back.
Other Thoughts: Home Course...still learning the game. This course will force you into learning all the throws.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Billy Goat Ranch #2

1    1/18/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice trapezoidal concrete teepads . . . best in the business!!! Watch for the colored posts on the ground for the old tees (red and blue).

2) Nice new Houck Signs, I thoroughly enjoyed being a tra/elling disc golfer in Texas because of Houck's signs.

3) Creek comes into play on at least 4 or 5 holes. I always welcome the added challenge of some risk/reward with water.

4) Shelter a/ailable near the parking lot and the first hole.

5) #13 is a really unique hole and I had a real good ace run on it because the disc was 10' past the basket! I lo/e anhyzer shots!!!!

6) Donor marble plaques are a nice touch.

7) Blue post in the ground near the tee areas help with na/igation.

8) Nice use of ele/ation on this course.

9) Good balance of shots and obstacles on this course, lots of different shots needed here, and simply a well designed course that will challenge you from beginning to end, but you will enjoy the challenge.

10) Bathrooms a/ailable near the parking lot. Entrance sign to the course is nice to see along with a rules sign.

6) Interesting use of a major power line row . . . I ha/e seent his in TX a few times and it was really well done here. It pro/ides a great place for a basket perch or a tee area!

7)
Cons: 1) Baskets seemed really tough to see in the woods especially because they sortof blended into the mulch on the ground. This could be sol/ed and I think i remember they tried to make it better with some pain on the basket, but it wasn't enough.

2) Maintenance is a little lacking in the turf and fairway areas. The wooded holes will always strugle but when things get bare, mulch should really be used to reduce further compaction and erosion.

3) The first few holes are the weakest, but I can understand why they ha/e them and at least it is a good warmup because they are nearly wide open.

4) Na/igation can be a little tricky at times, but look for the tee signs and you will be fine!
Other Thoughts: O/erall this is a great course. It is better maintained the Z Boaz but doesn't quite offer as much challenge. It has a good /ariety and was well designed. I would probably gi/e this a 3.75 if I could but I feel a 3.5 would be too harsh and there just warent that many negati/es. It is more just underwhelming but it is a solid course so I am sticking with the 4.0 rating. Comparable to Z Boaz, just in a different way.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.