Crowley, TX 
Bicentennial DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #3 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 579ft.   3 / 460ft.   3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee: Straight downhill and long. Creek to the left. 2 pin positions.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Totally Wrong Expectations

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: mmoorman12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Terrain and teeboxes (most holes). Looks like sponsors came thru with $ for very nice concrete tees... Signs are very nice, where they exist... good start, lots of upside on this course, but lots of work left to make it a 3 star (as rated).
Cons: Unbelievably bad experience trying to navigate this course. Early holes were fine, but off the beaten path, very poorly laid out. Hole transitions can hardly be considered logical, and without signage, expect to walk an extra half mile during the round looking for tees/holes.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging but Fun!

1    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of different challenges and elevations that make for good exercise. Tees are concrete with 3 different options. Nice park overall.
Cons: Some tees can be tricky as far as location. Lots of trees in some areas. Not for beginners, but for those that at least have some experience.
Other Thoughts: My first time here with 5 of my friends and really enjoyed the day playing. I would come back again, but it's a little too far from where I'm located.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 like Zboaz w/o the crowds

5+    3/13/2011   11/30/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 253  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great, challenging layout with 21 holes (including 3B)
-major elevation changes, up and down
-variety of distance and terrain, wide open to tightly wooded
-dual concrete tees (and dirt rec tees)
-great Houck signs, baskets in good condition, alternate pin locations
-creek in play on 8 holes (1, 3, 3B, 12, 17, 18, 19, 20)
-practice basket
-lots of parking
-trash cans, restrooms, covered picnic tables, soccer fields, kiosk with map
-not crowded
Cons: -navigation is tricky in spots, new signs help
-poison ivy
-children playing can get in the way on the first and last few holes
-backyards in play on a few holes in the front, DO NOT JUMP THE FENCES!
Other Thoughts: This is a long and challenging course that is very similar to Zboaz but with far less traffic. Major elevation changes, a creek in play, tight wooded lanes, windows to hit on drives and zones to hit for placement on upshots all add the to the challenge out here.

The course warms up with a few open holes at the start before heading towards the back of the park for some of the more wooded holes. Hole 3 is a huge downhill bomb and 3B plays along the creek just past hole 3. Most of the middle of the course is made up of tight wooded holes with well defined fairways and little schule. The last several holes return to the open area but play along the creek. I especially like the downhill drive on holes 10 & 14 and the approach on hole 18 with the bridge in the way.

The dual concrete tees, alternate pin positions, great Houck signs, and general amenities make this course a joy to play. The wind can be very challenging out here but at least it doesn't affect you on the wooded shots so much. The lack of crowds also make this course a very attractive option if you want to play Zboaz but don't want to wait on every tee box.

Overall an excellent course with tons of variety and lots of fun shots. Worth the drive to check out and they also run some great tournaments out here. Friendly locals and weekly minis on Tuesdays and Saturdays.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course full of Variety

1    11/17/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: Sideshow
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course, it has many different challenges. Several holes are hard to see around sunset so make sure you have an idea where they are before you begin. A few holes are currently under construction a little bit, but otherwise a great course. It is located in a wide open park with some holes located in a wooded and hilly area. Hole #1 is located just off the right side of the parking lot.
Cons: I had a hard time locating the direction a few of the baskets were in even after looking at the map located on the tee. This could have been due to the fact that it was near sunset. Went out on a Thursday late afternoon and there were only a few other golfers there.
Other Thoughts: Once a few of the holes have there construction finished this could be a really fun and challenging course to play!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bicentennial

5+    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Doupie620
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You will need every throw
Not a lot of traffic
Tourneys are fair
Cons: Some of the hills require a Sherpa (for me...I'm fat)
Water holes are diabolical
When un-mowed, grass will eat your discs
Placement of #3 basket is Sadistic...move it back.
Other Thoughts: Home Course...still learning the game. This course will force you into learning all the throws.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Billy Goat Ranch #2

1    1/18/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 928  Reviewed: 479  Exp: 7.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice trapezoidal concrete teepads . . . best in the business!!! Watch for the colored posts on the ground for the old tees (red and blue).

2) Nice new Houck Signs, I thoroughly enjoyed being a tra/elling disc golfer in Texas because of Houck's signs.

3) Creek comes into play on at least 4 or 5 holes. I always welcome the added challenge of some risk/reward with water.

4) Shelter a/ailable near the parking lot and the first hole.

5) #13 is a really unique hole and I had a real good ace run on it because the disc was 10' past the basket! I lo/e anhyzer shots!!!!

6) Donor marble plaques are a nice touch.

7) Blue post in the ground near the tee areas help with na/igation.

8) Nice use of ele/ation on this course.

9) Good balance of shots and obstacles on this course, lots of different shots needed here, and simply a well designed course that will challenge you from beginning to end, but you will enjoy the challenge.

10) Bathrooms a/ailable near the parking lot. Entrance sign to the course is nice to see along with a rules sign.

6) Interesting use of a major power line row . . . I ha/e seent his in TX a few times and it was really well done here. It pro/ides a great place for a basket perch or a tee area!

7)
Cons: 1) Baskets seemed really tough to see in the woods especially because they sortof blended into the mulch on the ground. This could be sol/ed and I think i remember they tried to make it better with some pain on the basket, but it wasn't enough.

2) Maintenance is a little lacking in the turf and fairway areas. The wooded holes will always strugle but when things get bare, mulch should really be used to reduce further compaction and erosion.

3) The first few holes are the weakest, but I can understand why they ha/e them and at least it is a good warmup because they are nearly wide open.

4) Na/igation can be a little tricky at times, but look for the tee signs and you will be fine!
Other Thoughts: O/erall this is a great course. It is better maintained the Z Boaz but doesn't quite offer as much challenge. It has a good /ariety and was well designed. I would probably gi/e this a 3.75 if I could but I feel a 3.5 would be too harsh and there just warent that many negati/es. It is more just underwhelming but it is a solid course so I am sticking with the 4.0 rating. Comparable to Z Boaz, just in a different way.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    3/16/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: tland447
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -lots of different types of throws involved
-very relaxing
-3 different tees
-different elevations
-practice basket
Cons: -only 1 bridge to cross the creek
-hard to find the tees to 2 and 5
Other Thoughts: I would recomend this course to pros and beginners alike. If you enjoy the chance to throw hyzers, anhyzers, up hills, down hills and just having a great time, this is a excellent course!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

2-4    3/13/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: pchitti
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great hole layout, uses everything that available, and makes you use everything you have. Uncrowded, combination of open long, tight technical, and long technical.Two concrete tee pads for all holes. Natural tee pad for beginners every hole.
WIND WIND WIND!!!!
Cons: Unfriendly neighbors to course.(guns have been pulled for retrieving discs, was on the roof though)
A couple holes are what I consider hope and poke. Elevation changes can be brutal for walking course, not cart friendly.
A lot of signs have been damaged by local area ruffians.
Can be tough to navigate as this course is HUGE!
WIND WIND WIND!!!!
Other Thoughts: I played both long and short, plus a 30 hole layout for the Crowley DD event. Loved the temp holes as much as the regular holes. They need to become perm holes. Total played 102 holes there this weekend. With the constant wind you can get very frustrated. Its a great learning experience if you don't normally play in the wind.

Will be back to play this event and course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 not equal to z boaz

1    1/21/2011   1/21/2011
Review By: z boaz ace 22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: distance and elevation change. good tree lines good t box options not crowded like z boaz
Cons: hard to find and very windy but fun i lost a nuke and that is up setting very tight in the wood and the maps are not precise
Other Thoughts: its not as good as z boaz because zboaz is king in this area

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

A little bit of everything

5+    11/27/2010   12/17/2010
Review By: sheamous
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will give you a great disc golf experience every time. You'll enjoy its many positives, such as large a variety of holes, set in a beautiful and big park, almost every type of shot required to shoot well, multiple hole and tee locations, as well as some of the greatest tee pads in all of North Texas. You'll have everything from downhill bombs and blind shots, uphill elevator approaches, throws along deep ravines, thick technical tree sections and shots across a wide/deep stream. (Really tough to get across from the back tees) There are plenty of signs, holes are easy to find, lots of trash cans to throw away litter, and there is a large parking lot near hole 1 and the practice baskets.
Cons: Careful on the holes underneath the power lines, you could run into dirt bike riders as well as throw an errant disc into a backyard of an unfriendly resident. Later parts of the course come very close to the soccer fields. Joggers, walkers, and family gatherings are all in play the last five or so holes.
Other Thoughts: This has become one of my new favorite courses in the metroplex.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.