Crowley, TX 
Bicentennial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 3/2013)
4 / 480ft.   3 / 340ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Sweetness

5+    1/22/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has everything. There are tight tunnel shots and then there are so places to stretch out your arm. This course will make you a better player in a hurry due to the layout. The elevation is used very well not only off of the tee but on ups/putts and makes the course interesting and makes for a good workout. The baskets are nice and the concrete pads add a big bonus compared to what they used to be. The fun factor is high here because you can throw holes different every time you come out and it doent get boring.
Cons: Navigation can be hard at times and you will be walking around looking for the next tee. No actual tee signs so there is no picture of the hole to help the first timers either. Grass can get tall in areas making it hard to find plastic. During the summer it get very hot out here and its a long way back to the parking lot so bring all of your food and cold drinks with you. Poison Ivy can get bad during the warmer months so beware as well.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and always have fun here. I wish it wasnt so far away from where I live but this is a must over Zboaz during the weekend because it is not nearly as crowded. Enjoy

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to Crowley

1    1/22/2010   1/22/2010
Review By: cbeckett22
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Brand new tee signs on every hole show distance, hole layout, and different target positions. (some of the nicest signs I have seen in the DFW)
-3 tee pads for almost every hole, and there are 21 holes.
-All white and red tees are now concrete.(but not 3b)
-Lots of good elevation shots.
-Creek comes into play on 1, 12, 17, 18, 19, and 20, which ups the difficulty level a bit. (13, 18, 19, 20, and 21, if you play 3b as hole 4, which is how I always play it.) Also a con if you're a beginner.
-A lot of the holes have multiple target positions.
-Fun course for beginners as well as seasoned vets.
-Not a lot of traffic for such a nice course.
-Plenty of trash cans, and spots to relax.
-Well kept course.
-2 playground areas at the front of the course for the kiddos.
-An all around nice park, and a great hike.
Cons: -Blue tees are not concrete. Neither is hole 3B.
-Poison Oak, Ivy, and Sumac can be found back in the wooded holes, so keep it on the fairway.(I seem to get into poison ivy every other time I play this course.)
--Creek comes into play on 1, 12, 17, 18, 19, and 20, which ups the difficulty level a bit. (13, 18, 19, 20, and 21, if you play 3b as hole 4, which is how I always play it.) Also a pro if you're pretty good.

Other Thoughts: This is the course I started on so it will always be special to me.

I hear they will be adding at least 9 more holes sometime in the future.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Becentenial (Crowley) Rundown!!!

5+    1/6/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -All conrete t-pads. Most holes have a set
-Now has great signage!!!
-2+ Pin possitions per hole, recently added new ones
-Wide range of shots
-Terrain variety
-Very well mapped out course, makes great use of the trees, water, and hills
-Great doubles course
-Very well manicured and decently clean
-Usually no hole wait... any time of day
Cons: -Occasional festivals, picnics, or soccer practice keeps you from playING the last few holes...though rare
-"Slippery / squishy when wet"...not so much the boxes, but the course itself for sure
-Lots of places to lose plastic when water is high after a rain (being Golden Retriever prepared is a good thing on this course)
-Police do patrol this park frequently, so watch out Disc Golfers
-Mosquitos are BAD!!! when the conditions are right...bring bug spray
-Poison ivY compatible
Other Thoughts: There really isn't much bad to say about this course, if there is, it pretty much corresponds with the usual irritations of the game...muddy when rainy, mosquitos, etc.

Both the front and back 9 are loaded with shot variety; water holes, short (but not to short) holes, long holes, ups and downs, and under/over stable shots. Bring it all 'cause this course can eat you up. Not greatly challenging, but the challenge is there if things aren't going your way.

THIS IS MY FAVORITE COURSE TO DATE!!!, and everyone should play it. It would also cut down on a lot of Z Boaz traffic if more would play.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Equal to ZBoaz

5+    12/28/2009   1/1/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 85  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New Tee Boxes
Challenging Elevation Changes
Tight Tunnel Shots
Cons: Can Be Muddy on Middle Section
Cops Patrol With K9 Drug Sniffers
Other Thoughts: Have been stopped by police before to check for people drinking alcohol. Also, there have been arrests for pot smoking.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    7/8/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 tee pads for each hole give great options for different levels of players. great variety of holes with some more open holes, many with heavy woods, water in play several times and some very major elevation changes. New building with bathrooms at the course. 20 holes now with plans to get to 24 soon.
Cons: Only one of the 3 tee pads is concrete at present time. navigation is a big issue. we had played the course many times before but with changes it was still hard to find our way sometimes. The hill climbing on this course is brutal if you are not in shape.
Other Thoughts: One of the very best courses in the area in my opinion. I love the choices that 3 tee pads give you. Not for the faint of heart as the heat is very bad up at the top part of the course (white rocks reflecting the heat) and the up and downhill movement is physically challenging.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 decent course

1    5/12/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I enjoyed the elevation changes on the holes, either you throw up or down steep hills, makes for a good challenge. Then towards the end of the course it is more open and flattens out a bit. Heavily wooded holes in the middle of the course force you to throw through some tight gaps. Large teepads make it easier, and now with dual cement teepads on each hole.
Cons: Lots of issues with this park. It was very dirty and graffiti was everywhere on the teepads. The fairways were very weedy and the mosquitos are dangerous. I felt unsafe. Again with the navigation issues, had to walk several fairways to know where I was going to throw. Teesigns would be of great benifit to those newer to the course. The holes at the end of the course just seem out of place, as though they were added as an afterthought to get more holes in the ground.
Other Thoughts: There are some difficult shots on this course. Land wrong on a hill and your disc may roll a bit. I enjoyed the middle section of the course being thick with trees. Maybe not a beginner friendly course with some more difficult holes, but a more experienced player may enjoy the challenge of finding those tight lines.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety!!!

1    2/7/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great diversity of shots and terrain. Multiplte teepads and pin locations. Awesome use of elevation. You will use every shot in your bag on this course. Good number of garbage cans scattered throughout the course.
Cons: Would be nice to see all the teepads get concrete, but you can see the course designers are working at it. The only real problem I saw was some dificulty in navigation... This course could definately use a map or some signage to help out... The other thing I noticed was that being in a multi-use park you may have to wait for other park users to clear your area of play especially on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: A really fun course! I enjoyed being able to open up on some of the long holes and also enjoyed the torment of hearing my disc's whack into trees on some of the more technical holes. If you are in the area or even if your not this course is definately worth the trip!!!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging!

5+    1/28/2012   12/24/2008
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging course with almost every kind of shot variety you can think of. With twenty holes of pure pleasure, there are a good mixture of long shots, short shots, tunnel shots, left and right shots. Elevation plays a big part throughout most of the front holes on the course and will have you throwing up and down rocky cliffs with the pin protected very well with trees. The signs are very helpful here, giving you all the hole information and directing you to the next tee. There are multiple pin positions and two sets of concrete tee pads for beginners or more advanced players to work on different levels of game. There is a creek that comes into play on several holes on this course. With a bad drive off the tee, you could possibly be OB in the water on a few holes, being that the creek runs right along the side of the fairway. For the most part it is a fun and very challenging course. There are restrooms on sight and plenty of parking here so that should not be a problem.
Cons: This course could use more trashcans on some holes. I seen a little bit of trash and debris on some of the elevated cliff holes and some graffiti on the wall. There were a couple of holes that had the tee signs missing which made it kind of difficult to know which basket to throw to.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course if you are in the area. This course can be hard and challenging for beginners so be prepared to play a tough course. This is one of the toughest courses on the Fort Worth side of the Metroplex.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Billy Goat’s Ruff

5+    12/17/2009   9/15/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Get your Goat on, because there are some fantastic elevation changes. This is a beautiful course! The baskets are all in great shape. There are 3 sets of tees. The longs and middles are now cement tees. Some of the holes have some tight tree lines to deal with and some are wide open. But regardless, there seems to be some obstacles risk/reward,on almost every hole. The layout of the course is a hiking adventure. This is not a course for the faint of heart; you will hike. Accuracy is needed and there are plenty of technical shots. A few holes will force you to consider which route to take. I don't see losing discs here too often as much of the woods and fairways have been cleaned up really well. There seems to be lots of trashcans at the beginning and end of the course. Parking is also great for this course. Bicentennial is also in a section of the park on it's own, so avoiding people is a non-issue.
Cons: The tee signs still need to be updated & the longs don't even have signage yet. The short tee pads can get muddy after a rain as they are still dirt. The route going form hole to hole is a bit tough and having someone who has played it before going with you will be a huge help. It would be nice to see more trashcans in the middle of the course and I didn't see any restrooms close by.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is excellant. All and all, I can say the layout and complexity of each hole has made this an instant favorite for me. I wouldn't even tell you to visit Fort Worth without hitting Bicentennial. I will probably bump my rating up to 4.5 once the concrete tee pads are completely finished for the middle tees to cover the rainy days. I know this has been a ton of work by the local players to get this course in the shape it is and we are thankful for that!

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Unusual for a TX course...in a good way.

2-4    5/10/2007   8/26/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent shot variety is the first things that stood out in my mind after playing. Through the course of a round (from any of the 3 sets of tees), you'll use almost every shot in your bag.

Lots of elevation changes!!! Some holes have extreme elevation (for the area...nothing like a ski slope course), others have just slight changes, but almost every hole brings elevation into play somehow. This is fairly unusual for a Texas course, especially one near the DFW Metroplex.

MANY technical shots...I can't remember a single "gimme" birdie on the course! Several holes border on sadistic from the long tees, which I find quite enjoyable. All of the wooded holes are memorable and unique, and the hill-to-hill hole (can't remember what # it is) is very fun from the long tee!

There is a nice creek that is used very smartly on a few holes, but it's shallow enough to get your plastic back if you land in the drink.

All in all, great course for Adv/Pro players, might be a little challenging for lower divisions, but doesn't mean it wouldn't be fun :)
Cons: The course can be difficult to navigate your first time through it you go it alone. I managed to eventually find all the holes by myself, but it was a little frustrating (still well worth the effort though).

Some people might dislike the dirt/natural teepads on the short and long tees (the medium tees all have concrete now from what I'm told...those came mostly from donations made my local golfers).

Not for the lazy golfer!!!
Other Thoughts: Brice and the rest of the Crowley crew have done an amazing job on improving this course over the last few years...and the city is totally behind them. The course recently got a grant somewhere in the neighborhood of $20K for improvements to the DG course, so there will be another 9 holes (maybe more) coming soon! Look for this to become one of the state's premier courses over the next few years.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.