Crowley, TX
Bicentennial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 344ft.   3 / 302ft.   3 / 254ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Becentenial (Crowley) Rundown!!!

5+    1/6/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -All conrete t-pads. Most holes have a set
-Now has great signage!!!
-2+ Pin possitions per hole, recently added new ones
-Wide range of shots
-Terrain variety
-Very well mapped out course, makes great use of the trees, water, and hills
-Great doubles course
-Very well manicured and decently clean
-Usually no hole wait... any time of day
Cons: -Occasional festivals, picnics, or soccer practice keeps you from playING the last few holes...though rare
-"Slippery / squishy when wet"...not so much the boxes, but the course itself for sure
-Lots of places to lose plastic when water is high after a rain (being Golden Retriever prepared is a good thing on this course)
-Police do patrol this park frequently, so watch out Disc Golfers
-Mosquitos are BAD!!! when the conditions are right...bring bug spray
-Poison ivY compatible
Other Thoughts: There really isn't much bad to say about this course, if there is, it pretty much corresponds with the usual irritations of the game...muddy when rainy, mosquitos, etc.

Both the front and back 9 are loaded with shot variety; water holes, short (but not to short) holes, long holes, ups and downs, and under/over stable shots. Bring it all 'cause this course can eat you up. Not greatly challenging, but the challenge is there if things aren't going your way.

THIS IS MY FAVORITE COURSE TO DATE!!!, and everyone should play it. It would also cut down on a lot of Z Boaz traffic if more would play.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Equal to ZBoaz

5+    12/28/2009   1/1/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 80  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New Tee Boxes
Challenging Elevation Changes
Tight Tunnel Shots
Cons: Can Be Muddy on Middle Section
Cops Patrol With K9 Drug Sniffers
Other Thoughts: Have been stopped by police before to check for people drinking alcohol. Also, there have been arrests for pot smoking.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    7/8/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 84  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 13.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 tee pads for each hole give great options for different levels of players. great variety of holes with some more open holes, many with heavy woods, water in play several times and some very major elevation changes. New building with bathrooms at the course. 20 holes now with plans to get to 24 soon.
Cons: Only one of the 3 tee pads is concrete at present time. navigation is a big issue. we had played the course many times before but with changes it was still hard to find our way sometimes. The hill climbing on this course is brutal if you are not in shape.
Other Thoughts: One of the very best courses in the area in my opinion. I love the choices that 3 tee pads give you. Not for the faint of heart as the heat is very bad up at the top part of the course (white rocks reflecting the heat) and the up and downhill movement is physically challenging.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 decent course

1    5/12/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I enjoyed the elevation changes on the holes, either you throw up or down steep hills, makes for a good challenge. Then towards the end of the course it is more open and flattens out a bit. Heavily wooded holes in the middle of the course force you to throw through some tight gaps. Large teepads make it easier, and now with dual cement teepads on each hole.
Cons: Lots of issues with this park. It was very dirty and graffiti was everywhere on the teepads. The fairways were very weedy and the mosquitos are dangerous. I felt unsafe. Again with the navigation issues, had to walk several fairways to know where I was going to throw. Teesigns would be of great benifit to those newer to the course. The holes at the end of the course just seem out of place, as though they were added as an afterthought to get more holes in the ground.
Other Thoughts: There are some difficult shots on this course. Land wrong on a hill and your disc may roll a bit. I enjoyed the middle section of the course being thick with trees. Maybe not a beginner friendly course with some more difficult holes, but a more experienced player may enjoy the challenge of finding those tight lines.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety!!!

1    2/7/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great diversity of shots and terrain. Multiplte teepads and pin locations. Awesome use of elevation. You will use every shot in your bag on this course. Good number of garbage cans scattered throughout the course.
Cons: Would be nice to see all the teepads get concrete, but you can see the course designers are working at it. The only real problem I saw was some dificulty in navigation... This course could definately use a map or some signage to help out... The other thing I noticed was that being in a multi-use park you may have to wait for other park users to clear your area of play especially on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: A really fun course! I enjoyed being able to open up on some of the long holes and also enjoyed the torment of hearing my disc's whack into trees on some of the more technical holes. If you are in the area or even if your not this course is definately worth the trip!!!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging!

5+    1/28/2012   12/24/2008
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging course with almost every kind of shot variety you can think of. With twenty holes of pure pleasure, there are a good mixture of long shots, short shots, tunnel shots, left and right shots. Elevation plays a big part throughout most of the front holes on the course and will have you throwing up and down rocky cliffs with the pin protected very well with trees. The signs are very helpful here, giving you all the hole information and directing you to the next tee. There are multiple pin positions and two sets of concrete tee pads for beginners or more advanced players to work on different levels of game. There is a creek that comes into play on several holes on this course. With a bad drive off the tee, you could possibly be OB in the water on a few holes, being that the creek runs right along the side of the fairway. For the most part it is a fun and very challenging course. There are restrooms on sight and plenty of parking here so that should not be a problem.
Cons: This course could use more trashcans on some holes. I seen a little bit of trash and debris on some of the elevated cliff holes and some graffiti on the wall. There were a couple of holes that had the tee signs missing which made it kind of difficult to know which basket to throw to.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course if you are in the area. This course can be hard and challenging for beginners so be prepared to play a tough course. This is one of the toughest courses on the Fort Worth side of the Metroplex.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Billy Goat’s Ruff

5+    12/17/2009   9/15/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 207  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Get your Goat on, because there are some fantastic elevation changes. This is a beautiful course! The baskets are all in great shape. There are 3 sets of tees. The longs and middles are now cement tees. Some of the holes have some tight tree lines to deal with and some are wide open. But regardless, there seems to be some obstacles risk/reward,on almost every hole. The layout of the course is a hiking adventure. This is not a course for the faint of heart; you will hike. Accuracy is needed and there are plenty of technical shots. A few holes will force you to consider which route to take. I don't see losing discs here too often as much of the woods and fairways have been cleaned up really well. There seems to be lots of trashcans at the beginning and end of the course. Parking is also great for this course. Bicentennial is also in a section of the park on it's own, so avoiding people is a non-issue.
Cons: The tee signs still need to be updated & the longs don't even have signage yet. The short tee pads can get muddy after a rain as they are still dirt. The route going form hole to hole is a bit tough and having someone who has played it before going with you will be a huge help. It would be nice to see more trashcans in the middle of the course and I didn't see any restrooms close by.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is excellant. All and all, I can say the layout and complexity of each hole has made this an instant favorite for me. I wouldn't even tell you to visit Fort Worth without hitting Bicentennial. I will probably bump my rating up to 4.5 once the concrete tee pads are completely finished for the middle tees to cover the rainy days. I know this has been a ton of work by the local players to get this course in the shape it is and we are thankful for that!

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Unusual for a TX course...in a good way.

2-4    5/10/2007   8/26/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent shot variety is the first things that stood out in my mind after playing. Through the course of a round (from any of the 3 sets of tees), you'll use almost every shot in your bag.

Lots of elevation changes!!! Some holes have extreme elevation (for the area...nothing like a ski slope course), others have just slight changes, but almost every hole brings elevation into play somehow. This is fairly unusual for a Texas course, especially one near the DFW Metroplex.

MANY technical shots...I can't remember a single "gimme" birdie on the course! Several holes border on sadistic from the long tees, which I find quite enjoyable. All of the wooded holes are memorable and unique, and the hill-to-hill hole (can't remember what # it is) is very fun from the long tee!

There is a nice creek that is used very smartly on a few holes, but it's shallow enough to get your plastic back if you land in the drink.

All in all, great course for Adv/Pro players, might be a little challenging for lower divisions, but doesn't mean it wouldn't be fun :)
Cons: The course can be difficult to navigate your first time through it you go it alone. I managed to eventually find all the holes by myself, but it was a little frustrating (still well worth the effort though).

Some people might dislike the dirt/natural teepads on the short and long tees (the medium tees all have concrete now from what I'm told...those came mostly from donations made my local golfers).

Not for the lazy golfer!!!
Other Thoughts: Brice and the rest of the Crowley crew have done an amazing job on improving this course over the last few years...and the city is totally behind them. The course recently got a grant somewhere in the neighborhood of $20K for improvements to the DG course, so there will be another 9 holes (maybe more) coming soon! Look for this to become one of the state's premier courses over the next few years.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Very pleasantly suprised!

5+    7/28/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 103  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2010
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very pretty course! 20 holes to play. There were a lot of holes where the elevation changes by about 40 to 50 feet...some shooting uphill and some shooting downhill. This was the best part about the course for me...a pretty rare thing for Texas disc golf. The vast majority of the holes were wooded and required precise throws to be successful. There are plenty of holes to unleash on, which is a must for a good course I think. There aren't any major hazards where you can lose discs except for the creek which only comes into play on 17, 18, and 19. The creek is pretty clear and I haven't ever seen it very high, so with a pole or a little wading it is pretty easy to get a disc back. The long tees were fantastic! I enjoy playing them more than the whites. Most of the mid-distance tee pads were concrete. This was a very good course that was challenging and had a good mix of holes requiring lots of different shots. Concrete tee boxes on all red and white tee locations.
Cons: The short blue tees do not yet have concrete tee boxes. A little bit tough to navigate your first time out.. Better navigation guides, concrete tee pads for all teeboxes, and permanent signs that show par, distance, hole #, and pin position would greatly improve this course. There are only temporary signs up on some of the holes for now. Getting from 10 to 11 was a pain as well. Short tees are way too close...maybe good for beginners. The concrete tee pads aren't extremely smooth, making them very slick after a rain.
Other Thoughts: This course totally surprised me. When I first drove up I thought, "Oh great, another wide open course in a neighborhood park!" I was wrong. Even the few holes that had somewhat open fairways were great. I played the long tees because they looked like a lot more fun than the middle distance and short tees. Some of the shorts looked way too close. I've been out to this course several times now, close to 45 minutes from home, and it is worth the trip every time!

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 crowly

5/21/2008   6/12/2008
Review By: hopper58
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.9 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A map of entire course is found at start of course (may consider taking a picture of two of it for the back holes) Great change of playing enviorement as first 5 or 6 are open, next 8 or 9 are wooded, and then opens back up on the end of the course. course is getting concrete tees, i think it was only missing 4 or 5 tee pads now (cant wait til all are in) Plays nice since you have 3 tees to choose from, course does stay away from the rest of the park so you shouldnt have to worry about not players walking into flight path.
Cons: hard for 1st timers to follow in some areas, baskets are marked different as tee pad, some areas need to be mowed/maintained better (think hole 8) you are throwing (blindly) with a steep elevation change (comparable to z boaz #9), if you hook right or left be prepared to walk around for awhile looking for your disc in knee high weeds, some holes may not be in place due to vandals
Other Thoughts: the open holes play alot tougher on windy days...which in fort worth is almost every day

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.