Crowley, TX 
Bicentennial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 373ft.   3 / 318ft.   3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Billy Goat’s Ruff

5+    12/17/2009   9/15/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 219  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Get your Goat on, because there are some fantastic elevation changes. This is a beautiful course! The baskets are all in great shape. There are 3 sets of tees. The longs and middles are now cement tees. Some of the holes have some tight tree lines to deal with and some are wide open. But regardless, there seems to be some obstacles risk/reward,on almost every hole. The layout of the course is a hiking adventure. This is not a course for the faint of heart; you will hike. Accuracy is needed and there are plenty of technical shots. A few holes will force you to consider which route to take. I don't see losing discs here too often as much of the woods and fairways have been cleaned up really well. There seems to be lots of trashcans at the beginning and end of the course. Parking is also great for this course. Bicentennial is also in a section of the park on it's own, so avoiding people is a non-issue.
Cons: The tee signs still need to be updated & the longs don't even have signage yet. The short tee pads can get muddy after a rain as they are still dirt. The route going form hole to hole is a bit tough and having someone who has played it before going with you will be a huge help. It would be nice to see more trashcans in the middle of the course and I didn't see any restrooms close by.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is excellant. All and all, I can say the layout and complexity of each hole has made this an instant favorite for me. I wouldn't even tell you to visit Fort Worth without hitting Bicentennial. I will probably bump my rating up to 4.5 once the concrete tee pads are completely finished for the middle tees to cover the rainy days. I know this has been a ton of work by the local players to get this course in the shape it is and we are thankful for that!

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Unusual for a TX course...in a good way.

2-4    5/10/2007   8/26/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent shot variety is the first things that stood out in my mind after playing. Through the course of a round (from any of the 3 sets of tees), you'll use almost every shot in your bag.

Lots of elevation changes!!! Some holes have extreme elevation (for the area...nothing like a ski slope course), others have just slight changes, but almost every hole brings elevation into play somehow. This is fairly unusual for a Texas course, especially one near the DFW Metroplex.

MANY technical shots...I can't remember a single "gimme" birdie on the course! Several holes border on sadistic from the long tees, which I find quite enjoyable. All of the wooded holes are memorable and unique, and the hill-to-hill hole (can't remember what # it is) is very fun from the long tee!

There is a nice creek that is used very smartly on a few holes, but it's shallow enough to get your plastic back if you land in the drink.

All in all, great course for Adv/Pro players, might be a little challenging for lower divisions, but doesn't mean it wouldn't be fun :)
Cons: The course can be difficult to navigate your first time through it you go it alone. I managed to eventually find all the holes by myself, but it was a little frustrating (still well worth the effort though).

Some people might dislike the dirt/natural teepads on the short and long tees (the medium tees all have concrete now from what I'm told...those came mostly from donations made my local golfers).

Not for the lazy golfer!!!
Other Thoughts: Brice and the rest of the Crowley crew have done an amazing job on improving this course over the last few years...and the city is totally behind them. The course recently got a grant somewhere in the neighborhood of $20K for improvements to the DG course, so there will be another 9 holes (maybe more) coming soon! Look for this to become one of the state's premier courses over the next few years.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Very pleasantly suprised!

5+    7/28/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 116  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2010
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very pretty course! 20 holes to play. There were a lot of holes where the elevation changes by about 40 to 50 feet...some shooting uphill and some shooting downhill. This was the best part about the course for me...a pretty rare thing for Texas disc golf. The vast majority of the holes were wooded and required precise throws to be successful. There are plenty of holes to unleash on, which is a must for a good course I think. There aren't any major hazards where you can lose discs except for the creek which only comes into play on 17, 18, and 19. The creek is pretty clear and I haven't ever seen it very high, so with a pole or a little wading it is pretty easy to get a disc back. The long tees were fantastic! I enjoy playing them more than the whites. Most of the mid-distance tee pads were concrete. This was a very good course that was challenging and had a good mix of holes requiring lots of different shots. Concrete tee boxes on all red and white tee locations.
Cons: The short blue tees do not yet have concrete tee boxes. A little bit tough to navigate your first time out.. Better navigation guides, concrete tee pads for all teeboxes, and permanent signs that show par, distance, hole #, and pin position would greatly improve this course. There are only temporary signs up on some of the holes for now. Getting from 10 to 11 was a pain as well. Short tees are way too close...maybe good for beginners. The concrete tee pads aren't extremely smooth, making them very slick after a rain.
Other Thoughts: This course totally surprised me. When I first drove up I thought, "Oh great, another wide open course in a neighborhood park!" I was wrong. Even the few holes that had somewhat open fairways were great. I played the long tees because they looked like a lot more fun than the middle distance and short tees. Some of the shorts looked way too close. I've been out to this course several times now, close to 45 minutes from home, and it is worth the trip every time!

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 crowly

5/21/2008   6/12/2008
Review By: hopper58
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A map of entire course is found at start of course (may consider taking a picture of two of it for the back holes) Great change of playing enviorement as first 5 or 6 are open, next 8 or 9 are wooded, and then opens back up on the end of the course. course is getting concrete tees, i think it was only missing 4 or 5 tee pads now (cant wait til all are in) Plays nice since you have 3 tees to choose from, course does stay away from the rest of the park so you shouldnt have to worry about not players walking into flight path.
Cons: hard for 1st timers to follow in some areas, baskets are marked different as tee pad, some areas need to be mowed/maintained better (think hole 8) you are throwing (blindly) with a steep elevation change (comparable to z boaz #9), if you hook right or left be prepared to walk around for awhile looking for your disc in knee high weeds, some holes may not be in place due to vandals
Other Thoughts: the open holes play alot tougher on windy days...which in fort worth is almost every day

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Almost there...

3/8/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: kette_master
Played: 92  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has so much to offer. There are open and tight fairways. The elevation is killer. There are three teeing locations per hole - beginner, intermediate, pro. The pro teeing areas live-up to the rating.
Cons: The baskets aren't marked correctly. It is difficult to get from basket to next teepad even with a map. No teepads. The teeing locations aren't marked.
Other Thoughts: The DGers in Crowley have a nice course to offer. It would be easier for non-locals to get around the course if there were markings for navigation. I look forward to playing this course again after the teepads are in place.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.