Hamilton, IL 
Hamilton Share
Uploaded By: Keokuk Discer Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / --   3 / 210ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: The basket is in the ditch, well behind the tree.



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    6/28/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: tonken
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
Pros: Easy to navigate the course as a first timer. Lots of tight shots around the trees. Nice neighborhood. Good beginner course or someone looking for a quick play. Easily under 30 minutes for a round.
Cons: For squeezing in the 9 holes into the park, they did a good job with the layout they had.
Other Thoughts: Almost had an ace on 9. As an occasional player who is getting back into it, it's quite exciting to almost hit one.

Warm up for Wildcat Springs

1    7/14/2013   3/14/2014
Review By: wfisher74
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: Giving this 3 stars for 2 main reasons. 1. Its a great test of short/mid-range shots if you want to warm up for Wildcat springs. There are right to left, left to right, uphill, downhill, straight tunnels and a few tight hyzers, so you get a great mix without wearing out your arm. 2. This course is great for what it is.....a short beginners course. Concrete tees, good signage, forgiving but not wide open. If the only course in town was WS, than no one in that town would start playing DG. This course would be great for ace races, beginners and practice. Its not intended to be a 18 hole intermediate course so why rate it as one?
Cons: Not alot, there are a few repeated shots for just 9, as others mentioned, a few holes are near a public road and there is a playground near a few of the holes. Do not bring a driver or even a FD if you can throw a midi more than 250 as you may launch it over a road or into the kiddy area.
Other Thoughts: I cant comment on the condition as I played it a year ago, and it was mid summer so the ground was dry, grass was cut nicely and dirt patches were not muddy. I could see though there are places where water could/would pool and create a swampy area.


5+    10/24/2012   3/24/2013
Review By: sniper81
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great small course lot of skill shots
all tee boxes are cement
Cons: some holes are close to the road so if you over shoot a hole you might hit a car passing by
Other Thoughts: great small course, you could warm up on it before you go the monster wildcat springs course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/2/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: Jintaq
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great small game course. Good elevation. Variety of skill shots required. Good practice course. I love it for a starting course for my discing road trips.
Cons: Distance drivers really not needed here.
Other Thoughts: A fun little course, but it can't compare to Wildcat Springs course just nearby.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    9/11/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a nice little REC course, just down the street from Wildcat Springs.
-Nice signs
-Concrete Teepads
-Separated from the playgrounds and common areas.
-Short, allowing for a quick round
-Excellent course for practice.
-Good use of the terrain
-Park available for those that may have kids
-Good distance shots
-Perfect for beginners, or those looking to get a warmup round in before going to Wildcat.
-Nice neighborhood course, in a park.
Cons: -Two baskets are right next to a road, one of which is right next to a very busy road.
-Some park goers may wander into your shot.
-For some reason, they have the distance in Yards instead of feet.
Other Thoughts: This course is what it is, a small park rec course. It was fun, and better than I had expected, but if you are looking for a big course, then Wildcat springs is just a few blocks down the road. It was worth checking out, since I was going to Wildcat. If you are going to Wildcat, it doesn't take long to play here. So playing both courses shouldn't be an issue. Go, have fun, and just enjoy it for what it's worth.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Short Course

5+    5/30/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: PeytlegsCK2005
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained with clear sign markings. Very easy to find, and good for beginners. Good practice course for intermediates. Makes great use of available space. Very close to other courses. Inventive hole design.
Cons: Very short. Gets muddy on a few holes if it has been raining.
Other Thoughts: I play this course regularly when I get bored of playing at the Keokuk course. I will keep playing there. If you have a difficult time on Wildcat (the closest course), then this could be a good course for you.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Leave the Katana At Home

1    6/7/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick to play, easy to navigate, makes excellent use of available elevation and trees, excellent use of available space, water in play on 2 holes, nice long, flat, paved tee pads with good signage
Cons: Short (i.e. not much space in park). It was a little odd to see distances in yards rather than feet, but whatever.
Other Thoughts: I was driving down the road on my way across the country and spotted a basket. Had to pull over and play and was pleasantly surprised. So much so that I had to play another 9 before leaving. Shot a minus 4 and a minus 5 and can honestly say if I lived here I think I could shoot an 18 on this course. Every hole very birdie-able for an intermediate like me. Favorite hole is # 4. I birdied it twice but it's a tough shot. I also liked # 8. I was disappointed that I didn't birdie # 1 either time. Definitely worth a play if you're passing through or if you're a local. Not quite a destination course by any means, but a nice place to play a round. Shortest hole is something like 64 yards, longest like 104 yards. You won't get lost and you won't lose a disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/5/2008   1/16/2009
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signage and is well taken care of. Lots of obstacles to shoot around.
Cons: Really short and holes 1 and 3 get really soggy when it rains.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for beginners and kids. Most of the holes are ace-able, so this is a good course for Ace Hunts.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/24/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: phatrinks
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very short course with woods to keep it interesting and some elevation change as well.
Cons: Too short but there's not much room for anything else.
Other Thoughts: Great pitch-n-putt course to get warmed up with on the way to the other Hamilton course, Wildcat Springs.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.