Ashippun, WI 
Harnischfeger Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 206ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice variety 9 hole

1    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 148  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 10.4 Years
Pros: Course is set in a large multi-use park. The course stays away from all the other park activities though which is nice. There are concrete tee pads on every hole. These are all level and plenty large enough. The flow of the course is very easy to follow. The first hole starts by the large kiosk on the northwest side of the parking area. It throws through an old swingset with the swings removed. This was a cool feature. The baskets are Mach 5's that are all in good shape and caught well. The tee signs are large 4"x 4"'s about five feet tall. These are easy to spot. Most of the maps were missing though. There is some good distance to this course too. There are a number of 300'ish or longer holes. The course starts open, moves into the woods, then finishes open again. Good variety though. The course is permanent and can be played year round which is always a plus.
Cons: The bugs can get pretty nasty with the swampy area near holes 1 through 3. Nothing they can do about this but just beware and be prepared. Not having a tee sign on hole 3 made it confusing to find the basket as you can't see it from the tee. It would just be nice if they had signs on all holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a real nice 9 hole course set in what seems like the middle of nowhere WI. It's very peaceful and secluded feeling. It's not worth going too far out of your way to play, and you'd most likely have to go a ways out of your way to get here. There's not much in the immediate vicinity as far as larger cities. For what it is it's a real fun course and I'd definitely recommend it if nearby.

 Old Employee Park

2-4    1/5/2012   8/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice variety of shots required to do well. There are some longer holes that force you to be accurate with a long throw. There are a few tight wooded holes and you have to be able to anhyzer or hyzer them, or be able to use a sidearm effectively to avoid certain trees and obstacles.

2) Some of the holes offer a reasonable challenge. The first hole requires a shot through an old swingset (with the swings removed) frame and a couple trees right past the basket that help to protect it.

3) Signage is adequate. You know where you are going after each hole pretty easily because you can look for the pavers or concrete pieces sunk in the ground by each tee. The mowed area between holes also help you find the next hole without too much deliberation. A lot of places have other paths crossing that you might begin to walk down and turn around, but this course it is clear where you need to go. UPDATE: A few of the homemade wood signs are missing . .. it may not even be vandalism, but because the wood has cracked as a few of the ones that were there looked like they might be on their last legs. I dropped them $5 maybe they can put it towards new signs now that hey have concrete.

4) This course is almost completely isolated from the other activities in this park which is nice. It is always nice to not have to worry about hitting or throwing near someone doing something else.

5) Portopotty over by the big barn is available and a soda machine at the building near where you park.

6) I enjoyed holes #3, 4, 5, 6 the most they had the most interest and the best challenge. I only had one birdie today but I am sure they are available to an average player on more than 1 hole, I just needed to learn the course the first time. Bogeys also come easily with one mistake, one turnover, one tree ricochet, or a bad putt.

7) UPDATE: Tees are concrete . . . this is new since i was here two years ago and this makes it a real positive. Because the ground is often wet there the teepads make that course much more playable at different times of the year.

8) Pay to Play $1 per round per person . . . I dropped in $5 to thank them for the concrete teepads, maybe they will eventually get around to replacing the tee signs too. It's got to do some good to ask for some money even if not everyone pays.
Cons: 1) The last three holes don't have a lot of interst in my opinion. They are simply wide open throw it close holes. You need to have a little bit of an arm to reach #7 and #8 for an easy birdie putt, but I would like to see some more challenge with a couple of well placed trees.

2) Rough areas to the sides of a few of these holes is punishing and dangerous. I am ok with prairie grass as a deep rough, but these areas have been overtaken by thistle and clover, and probably some noxious weeds. Not much can be done about it now, but just be careful as you walk through the rough areas on #2, 3, and 6.

3) Scorecards are missing in the mailbox, which if you are going to offer them, make sure they are available.
Other Thoughts: This is not a horrible course for where it is located. I am sure it rarely gets used except by people who stay in the park for camping. It is in the middle of nowhere from most small towns even. It is fairly scenic as you walk through some prairie, play through some woods, and then back out into the open mowed turf again. No water on the course is in play, but that is ok, the natural rough areas are almost wetland like in their looks and vegetation.

A little bit of maintenance might improve this course a little bit, but then again the wetland like unmaintained areas are pretty unique and cool.

I bumped up the rating to 2.5 with the installation of the concrete teepads because that would have been my biggest gripe about the course in the past. Now I would say replace the tee signs and you have yourself a pretty decent course. Its got the variety that many courses do not have.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 D+ = Doesn't have much happenin' for a 9 holer

1    4/16/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

6/17/2007   7/9/2008
Review By: Iceman
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is your average disc golf course. It starts out with a hole that goes though a playground. The next hole is a field shot with a fairly thick row of trees and grass up the middle which you can either backhand or sidearm around. Holes #3, 4, 5 and 6 are wooded. #3 and #6 only slightly wooded, whereas #4 + #5 are tight "hallway" shots with thicker woods on each side. Then the remaining hole are wide open field shots that "test your arm", but I don't think any are over 300'. This is a nice course because it is out in the country and is normally quiet. This is a great change if you hate being rushed through your play by crowed city courses. Free scorecards are even provided with pencils on the first tee.
Cons: It is a bit out of the way if you are coming from either Milwaukee or Madison. Also, half of the course is either built on a swamp or near a river or something, meaning that in the spring, or after heavy rain, half there place floods. You may want to try to find out conditions before you commit to the drive.
Other Thoughts: It is rumored that nine holes are set to be added.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.