Rockwall, TX 
Harry Myers DGC Share
Uploaded By: RustyP Hole #8
3 / 214ft.   3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Excellent Place to Play

5+    9/17/2014   9/29/2014
Review By: nateoman5
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate and great signage always pointing you in the right direction.

Beautiful scenery and park with people fishing, running, and splash park for kiddos.

Challenging with variety of hole types with both long and short drive opportunities.

2 driving pads on most hole for your choice of more challenging long drives or easier shorter drives.

Lots of shade to protect you from the hot sun.
Cons: Stay away from course after rain because some of the course sits in a valley and will retain water.

If you're like me, at som point you will throw in the woods, watch out for Poison Ivy.
Other Thoughts: By far the best course I have played in DFW.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun course/pretty course!

1    8/8/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: toph112
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well kept up
Great scenery
Lots of variations of holes (Short, Long, Open, Obstacles)
Tee boxes with long and short options
Other Thoughts: There are some cool but tough holes for the beginner/amateur player.
This course is a little more "athletic" than some of the other courses in DFW that I have played.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great course

5+    3/23/2014   3/29/2014
Review By: JakeGad
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Good catchers
- Long and short drive pads
- Concrete drive pads
- Excellent variation in shots
- Good use of land / elevation (given it's TX)
Cons: - Some holes are very generous in rating (just knock them down)
- Usually a wait
Other Thoughts: I love this course; good mix on long/short, open/tight, hyzer/annie.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A bit over rated...

1    6/15/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 52  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2014
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course is located in a very nice city park with many facilities on site. A mix of holes, including very long ones as well as shorter holes. The holes don't favor any type of thrower over any other, and it makes you pull out a lot of shots. The tee signs, as you would expect on a Houck course, are awesome. For the most part a very easy course to follow.
Cons: Mr. Houck and I seem to have a disagreement on Par on the longer holes. This course has many par 4's and par 5's, and most of those seem overly generous on the par. Hole 1 has no business being a Par 4. In fact, we had someone in our group with birdies or eagles on all of the par 4 or 5 holes, the entire group being first time players at Harry Myers. I'm not sure if the pars are inflated to help people feel better about their score, or to increase the 'Epicness' of the course.

-EDIT

After discussing it with others, I think the par issue is due to both set of tees having the same par. It's a reasonable par for the longs, but the shorts are just absurd with those. It's the same issue you see at other Houck courses, such as McCord.
Other Thoughts: I'm not very big on holes that are extremely long just for the sake of being long. I'm not really entertained by having to hit 3 consecutive 350' drives. And I really thing the inflated par 4 and 5 holes have to knock the rating down a bit.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Could Play Every Week

1    3/23/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: Prafeston
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Walked up to #1 Blue tee and could tell right away I was going to like it. A group of trees obstructs your lines and makes your first throw one you've already got to put some thought into.

The course had a nice mix of tight wooded shots and more open shots. There was also a good use of the land. Couple of the wholes had several elevation changes an turns.

Almost every hole had short and long tees that looked like they provided completely different views of the course. (Except for a few of the really short holes that just used the same tee.) The tees were also very well marked. Signs pointing to them and good hole signage posted at each tee.

Nice big park so the holes weren't bumping into each other a whole lot. Parking lot is setup nice to start on #1 and finish on #18.
Cons: Not a whole lot of negatives to say about this course.

I went on a day that has overcast and a little sprinkling of rain, but I could see how on a nice summer/spring day the park could be crowded and non-DGers might get in the way.

Don't remember the number, but one of the tees you had to walk across the fairway of another hole to get to from the basket of the hole you just finished.

Would have been nice to see the lake come into play a few times.
Other Thoughts: Seems like a really well laid out course at a scenic park. I wouldn't mind this being my home course and playing it every week!

Some really cool holes on the front nine. Loved #6 with the basket tucked behind a tree.

Overall a great course with a nice mix of short, long, open, and wooded holes. Saw some mentioning the back nine being boring, but I liked how it opened up so you could really chuck some drivers. And they weren't so open it was just lame. There were still trees in the field that you had to avoid as well as some more elevation changes.

I was visiting from MO and it reminded me a lot of my home course. I will definitely try to come back here next time I'm visiting my family in the Dallas area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very Challenging

1    11/17/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 49  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Great tee boxes and signage
- Multiple tees for most holes
- Good mix of challenging lines to hit
- Nice variety of tight tunnel shots, elevation changes, dog legs, trees, and distance
- Having a strong forehand and backhand is definitely an advantage on this course (makes me realize I need to practice my forehand more)
- Picturesque scenery and well maintained park with other facilities and recreation options
Cons:
- Some minor flow issues... had to cross through the fairway of other holes at times, such as between holes 6 and 7, and holes 8 and 9
- Water hazards could have come into play more, which can create higher risk/reward situations
- A lot of random park pedestrians getting in the way on a few holes
Other Thoughts:
- Note to tournament players: Just because you're in a tournament and pushing a baby stroller full of redundant discs doesn't mean you should completely ignore standard disc golf etiquette. If the group behind you is playing at twice your pace, volunteer to let them play through. Don't act stuck up like you're better than everyone else, because you're playing on a public course and your sport isn't wealthy enough to afford to reserve it for themselves. Disc golf has a generally good reputation with etiquette, but some of these tournaments can really bring out the douches.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great front nine, mediocre back 9

1    4/12/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park with rolling hills. Elevation comes into play on many holes, adding some fun downhill shots and a few tricky greens with rollaway potential. The fromt 9 plays pretty technical, with some tighter lines to hit and some thick rough in spots that punishes errant shots. The back 9 opens up and offers more distance and some fun chances to air it out.

The dual tees offer some different lines and decent distance differences. They make the course a little more accessible to different levels of players. Both sets of tees are large concrete pads with good grip and plenty of room. The baskets are in good shape, and the signage is good with distance and hole layout.
Cons: There are some long walks between holes, and one takes you directly across another fairway. There are a few holes that are pretty close to one another. The back 9 has a walking path that could potentially come into play, and some of the fairways seem to get some walking traffic from picnicking families.

The back 9 is a bit of a letdown after the fun variety of the front. It plays a little too open and repetitive, and doesn't use the water available to add some risk/reward opportunity.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and worth a stop if you're in the area. I almost bumped this one down to a 3.5 because of the end of the course, but there's still enough variety and fun throughout the beginning and middle of the course to make it deserving of the 4.

Beginners will find the wooded holes a little punitive with thick rough, but reasonable lengths. The open holes can be long, but overall the short tees are within reason for newer players. More experienced throwers will find some nice challenges from the long tees.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dirty Harry

1    4/12/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with nice concrete tees, 11 holes had dual tees. Good use of available elevation and provides a variety of shot requirements. Fairways were well groomed and defined and course is well maintained. Some good risk vs reward choices. Some of the best course signage I've ever seen made for some easy navigation. Nice bathrooms and water fountains by the parking lot.
Cons: Poison ivy and some thick rough makes disc loss a decent possibility. Non disc golfers in the park can get in the way and the park is fairly busy.
Other Thoughts: This course has some great scenic quality while also having some bite to playing. The holes can range from fairly short to really long so there is a good mix of pars and all the holes are fairly technical. I felt this course lacked in the fun factor department where a lot of the shots are basically forced so you can't really get creative with your shots.

I imagine this is probably the best tournament course in the DWF area. I'd highly recommend anyone in the area to play this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/9/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: BigN8r
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is my home course so I admit I'm biased. The first nine through the woods will test your aim. The back nine you can grip and rip. Very well maintained and clean. Great place to have a picnic before you start or after as your start and end by the pavilion and sprinkler park.
Cons: Can get muddy if has been wet on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: Love it.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Go big or go bogey.

2-4    4/16/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: HUGE HUGE course
Very well maintained
Holes have long and short tees
Trash cans on nearly ever hole
Water fountains
Bathrooms
Great course for left and right handed players
Cons: None that I can think off
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course! It is off the main road so its nice and peaceful, they take very very good care of it, all the holes on the course have a good amount of challenge and it doesn't favor right or left handed players more than the other. The first 9 holes are more wooded where you have to follow lines and the back 9 open up for big arm throwers.
Over all if you love disc golf play this course! I would not recommend it to new players because it could be too much for them though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.