Rockwall, TX 
Harry Myers DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 214ft.   3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Blue Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun course/pretty course!

1    8/8/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: toph112
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well kept up
Great scenery
Lots of variations of holes (Short, Long, Open, Obstacles)
Tee boxes with long and short options
Other Thoughts: There are some cool but tough holes for the beginner/amateur player.
This course is a little more "athletic" than some of the other courses in DFW that I have played.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A bit over rated...

1    6/15/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2014
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course is located in a very nice city park with many facilities on site. A mix of holes, including very long ones as well as shorter holes. The holes don't favor any type of thrower over any other, and it makes you pull out a lot of shots. The tee signs, as you would expect on a Houck course, are awesome. For the most part a very easy course to follow.
Cons: Mr. Houck and I seem to have a disagreement on Par on the longer holes. This course has many par 4's and par 5's, and most of those seem overly generous on the par. Hole 1 has no business being a Par 4. In fact, we had someone in our group with birdies or eagles on all of the par 4 or 5 holes, the entire group being first time players at Harry Myers. I'm not sure if the pars are inflated to help people feel better about their score, or to increase the 'Epicness' of the course.

-EDIT

After discussing it with others, I think the par issue is due to both set of tees having the same par. It's a reasonable par for the longs, but the shorts are just absurd with those. It's the same issue you see at other Houck courses, such as McCord.
Other Thoughts: I'm not very big on holes that are extremely long just for the sake of being long. I'm not really entertained by having to hit 3 consecutive 350' drives. And I really thing the inflated par 4 and 5 holes have to knock the rating down a bit.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very Challenging

1    11/17/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 49  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Great tee boxes and signage
- Multiple tees for most holes
- Good mix of challenging lines to hit
- Nice variety of tight tunnel shots, elevation changes, dog legs, trees, and distance
- Having a strong forehand and backhand is definitely an advantage on this course (makes me realize I need to practice my forehand more)
- Picturesque scenery and well maintained park with other facilities and recreation options
Cons:
- Some minor flow issues... had to cross through the fairway of other holes at times, such as between holes 6 and 7, and holes 8 and 9
- Water hazards could have come into play more, which can create higher risk/reward situations
- A lot of random park pedestrians getting in the way on a few holes
Other Thoughts:
- Note to tournament players: Just because you're in a tournament and pushing a baby stroller full of redundant discs doesn't mean you should completely ignore standard disc golf etiquette. If the group behind you is playing at twice your pace, volunteer to let them play through. Don't act stuck up like you're better than everyone else, because you're playing on a public course and your sport isn't wealthy enough to afford to reserve it for themselves. Disc golf has a generally good reputation with etiquette, but some of these tournaments can really bring out the douches.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great front nine, mediocre back 9

1    4/12/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park with rolling hills. Elevation comes into play on many holes, adding some fun downhill shots and a few tricky greens with rollaway potential. The fromt 9 plays pretty technical, with some tighter lines to hit and some thick rough in spots that punishes errant shots. The back 9 opens up and offers more distance and some fun chances to air it out.

The dual tees offer some different lines and decent distance differences. They make the course a little more accessible to different levels of players. Both sets of tees are large concrete pads with good grip and plenty of room. The baskets are in good shape, and the signage is good with distance and hole layout.
Cons: There are some long walks between holes, and one takes you directly across another fairway. There are a few holes that are pretty close to one another. The back 9 has a walking path that could potentially come into play, and some of the fairways seem to get some walking traffic from picnicking families.

The back 9 is a bit of a letdown after the fun variety of the front. It plays a little too open and repetitive, and doesn't use the water available to add some risk/reward opportunity.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and worth a stop if you're in the area. I almost bumped this one down to a 3.5 because of the end of the course, but there's still enough variety and fun throughout the beginning and middle of the course to make it deserving of the 4.

Beginners will find the wooded holes a little punitive with thick rough, but reasonable lengths. The open holes can be long, but overall the short tees are within reason for newer players. More experienced throwers will find some nice challenges from the long tees.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dirty Harry

1    4/12/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with nice concrete tees, 11 holes had dual tees. Good use of available elevation and provides a variety of shot requirements. Fairways were well groomed and defined and course is well maintained. Some good risk vs reward choices. Some of the best course signage I've ever seen made for some easy navigation. Nice bathrooms and water fountains by the parking lot.
Cons: Poison ivy and some thick rough makes disc loss a decent possibility. Non disc golfers in the park can get in the way and the park is fairly busy.
Other Thoughts: This course has some great scenic quality while also having some bite to playing. The holes can range from fairly short to really long so there is a good mix of pars and all the holes are fairly technical. I felt this course lacked in the fun factor department where a lot of the shots are basically forced so you can't really get creative with your shots.

I imagine this is probably the best tournament course in the DWF area. I'd highly recommend anyone in the area to play this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/9/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: BigN8r
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is my home course so I admit I'm biased. The first nine through the woods will test your aim. The back nine you can grip and rip. Very well maintained and clean. Great place to have a picnic before you start or after as your start and end by the pavilion and sprinkler park.
Cons: Can get muddy if has been wet on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: Love it.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Another classic Houck course

2-4    1/7/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 212  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2012
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great dual concrete tees on most holes
-lots of epic, signature holes
-quality Houck signs, abundant directional signs
-lots of elevation, rolling hills
-great basket placements, lots of danger near the greens
-great mix of long, multi-shot holes and shorter, tight, technical holes
-legit par 4's and 5's, mostly longer holes but a few ace runs as well
-plenty of parking, lots of trash cans, water fountains, restrooms
-multi-use park with sport fields, etc.
Cons: -a few places where fairways are pretty close together
-walk from basket 8 to tee 9 crosses fairway 3
-several tricky navigational spots but ample signs directing you to the correct basket, next tee, etc.

and if we're nitpicking:
-this place would be incredible with a little bit more water. it is disappointing that the lake between 17 & 18 wasn't utilized.
-hole 18 is a bit lackluster for the final hole on such an epic course. it would be nice if 17 were the last hole or if 18 had a long tee where you shot across the lake.
Other Thoughts: This amazing Championship-caliber course is another testament to the brilliant designs of John Houck. It has all the signature Houck elements: epic multi-throw holes, narrow wooded lanes with a tree right where you would like to throw, great use of the available land and elevation, dual tees that add very challenging looks from the tips that also change the tee shot, legit par 4's and 5's, awesome Houck signs with distance and detailed maps. It is hard to ask for more out of a course.

The course is very challenging, especially from the long tees, but the fairways are fair, as are the pars. There is great variety in fairway shapes and shots required. The course is basically laid out in two areas. The front 9 has very distinctive feel with lots of elevation and lots of wooded obstacles. Hole 2 has a fun downhill drive to a well guarded basket and hole 3 is an amazing par 5. The back 9 is a bit more open and plays mostly through a lightly wooded meadow with rolling hills. You'll need to hit your dueces on the shorter 4-8 and 12-15 because many of the remaining holes require some serious distance.

Some have said that the back 9 doesn't live up to the front 9 but I like the variety of terrain and the different feel that each area has. There are little things here and there you could complain about but the overall experience here is tremendous. This is definitely one of the top courses in the Metroplex and I would recommend it to anyone, locals or visitors, as a must-play course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/28/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: JJustinB
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained park. Its very clean and the fairways almost make you feel like you're on a regular golf course. Good tee pads and signs, which make it easy to get around. Good mix of long and short holes, and there is also a good mix of wooded and open holes. There is a great group of locals that will help you out if you ask. If you have a monster arm, there is also a set of back tees which you can play.
Cons: Because this is more than a disc golf course, there are sometimes other people on the course. I've actually had to tell a family that they shouldn't have their lunch under a tree on hole 8. The course is missing water holes, except for when the holes in the river bottom flood (especially on hole 6).
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course, and because its only minutes from my house, I play it a lot. This course will help you develop your arm if you're a short knocker.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What's a snake bunker????

1    6/1/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved the course!!! Well maintained and has a variety of shots. Nice park, and worth the 1 and half drive from East Texas.

The course is pretty easy to navigate, so first timers should be able to make it around with no issues.
Cons: A buddy of mine threw his disc in the water behind #1 basket. As we walked walked down there we noticed something a little peculiar. 4 yes 4 water mocassins swimming around his disc. They weren't big, but a small mocassin is worse than a full grown one!!!! Anyway, I got the disc back and then we went and talked to maintenance. They told us to be carefull because they are apparently EVERY where!!!

It's understandable when you come in and modernize an area so fast. Rockwall has grown quickly and the snakes just have nowhere else to go.

SO BE CAREFUL OUT HERE!!!!

It's fun and worth the round just keep your eyes peeled!!!
Other Thoughts: Fun course, will definitely return.

Keep your eyes open for snakes and CHALLENGE yourself and play the back tees!!!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/2/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a really fun course with a lot of hole variation. Good transition between long and short holes as well as open shot to wooded shots. Lots of signs to let you know where the next tee box is and the next basket is located.
Cons: A lot of rude locals. I don't know how many times we almost got hit by a flying disc because people just cannot wait to throw. Not only that, they never gave a warning shout when they threw.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.