Rockwall, TX 
Harry Myers DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  It's the best Jerry...the Best!

5+    2/26/2011   10/9/2010
Review By: kylewarner42
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/6/2011
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Hopefully you've eaten your Wheaties prior to taking on this challenging course. T-Rex type arms should just stay home or expect to score 90+. This course is the best maintained course in the DFW area, minimal trash, frequently mowed, mature trees, beautifully manicured, ascetically pleasing. The elevations vary throughout this course. You have to bring out your entire arsenal to master this beast, but it isn't impossible to shoot a good score. There are many different hole types, from relatively wide open, to threading a needle. This course had to be designed by a seasoned vet.
Cons: No holes are over water. Crowded on weekends (with good weather).
Other Thoughts: There is a multi-mile walking trail, a huge play castle/jungle gym (for kids), Skateboard Park, Softball/Baseball, and Football fields, swimming pool (fees apply for the pool), several ponds (for fishing) all in the same area. Even if you have a family that doesn't enjoy throwing disc, it'd be a fun filled day for the entire family as long as you enjoy the outdoors.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Home Sweet Home

5+    11/27/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: nary
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This is my home course so forgive my partiality. That being said, this is one of, if not THE best course I've ever played. It is very long, even from the short tees. The long tees are ridiculous! Lot's of elevation changes and trees. I am so lucky to live minutes away from this gorgeous course!
Cons: Muddy at times, with alot of mosquitoes in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Hole #3 is the hardest hole I've ever played, it is a beast!

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  The Course I Compare all others to

5+    8/19/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: zapbryann
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Alright, I feel spoiled as this is my home course. When it was first built is when I decided to try out disc golf. It was frustrating to say the least my first couple times out because of the difficulty level of the course, but after playing it enough it has to be my favorite course. Has as many Par 4s and 5s as any other course ive played on. Holes 1,2, and 3 let you bomb it, with an easy birdie hole for 1 if you get your drive down the fairway(and not rolled down the left side to the old creekbed) Hole 3 is one of the longest holes ive ever played, and still struggle to shoot a 5 on it all the time. Holes 4, 8, 14, and 15 are my favorite par 3s to play, great for a curved backhand shot. It took the maintenance a couple months to start mowing the course but its been pretty well kept ever since. The best thing about the course is that its built on a huge plot of land, so the holes dont interweave too much.
Cons: Mosquitos, Posion Ivy. Holes 5,6,7 are the worst, so be sure to bring your OFF. Can get busy later once everyones off work, so go early in the day.
Other Thoughts: I only give it a 5, because this is what I compare all other courses to.

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch - Man Course

5+    6/20/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.7 Years
86 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: OK, let me start off by saying this course is only available for playing by the manliest of men (or women). My friend, if it was possible for a course to sprout chest hair and a five o'clock shadow, this place would look like Tom Selleck. It is just that manly.

It was never intended to drive to the mall so you can pick up that adorable shirt at Abercrombie & Fitch and play 18 holes in under one hour.

It wasn't meant to transport you to yoga class or Linens & Things while you pitch and putt. No, that's what your other courses are for. If that's the kind of place you're looking for, then just do us all a favor and stop reading right now. I mean it. Just stop.

This course was engineered by 3rd degree ninja super-warriors in the highest mountains of Japan to serve the needs of the man that cheats death on a daily basis. They didn't even consider superfluous nancy boy amenities like water (real men don't get thirsty).

There's only 18 holes that separate you on this hellcat from Planet Kicktale. Trust me, when you break par on this course your wife and the offspring that carry your name will talk about it for centuries. It will live on as a monument to your machismo.

Now, go look in the mirror and tell me what you see. If it's a rugged, no regrets, super brute he-man macho Chuck Norris stunt double, then go after this course.
Cons: Well, when I find one I will let you know.

Tell me something is wrong with this course and that's liable to earn you a Burmese-roundhouse-sphincter-kick with a follow up three fingered eye-jab. Would it hurt? Heck yeah. Let's just say you won't be the prettiest guy at the weekly MINI anymore.
Other Thoughts: Play the long tees for a real man course and count everything as a par 3.

86 of 110 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive - A must play.

1    3/15/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
25 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic layout and design by John Houck. This course plays tight technical holes that are densely wooded to long monster open holes complete with elevation changes between shots. The layout forces a player to use every shot in their bag to produce big payoffs or big trouble.

The tees are large concrete pads playing to DisCatcher pins (much easier to see than the Mach III's) that are great for players new to the course. Every hole has a two tee options for par and pro par players, and each tee is comes complete with full color sign showing the hole design and yardage.

Sign, signs, and more signs. The holes are big and crisscross over each other - but if a new player to the course is observant - they shouldn't get lost since there are ample signs pointing to pins and upcoming tee boxes.

I've heard about drainage issues on this course, but I played it after Dallas received about 5" of rain over a week, and I never had a single issue on one or the rest of the course.

(Yes, this is a positive) - Hole three - this baby is one B.M.F. It plays almost 700' from the front and 824' from the pros. A person throws from an elevated box on setting up for a big dog leg right and into the depression in the land. From there you enjoy a blind pin shot (look for the sign) over some water and large hill guarded by growth on either side. You will not forget this hole.

BEST HOLE/S: #3; #4
Cons: If this place had a little more water, I think it could satisfy every player. Even then I'm trying to find a negative about this course. This is a serious course that will challenge every playing level, although newer disc golfers may get discouraged after a while (especially during hole three). Of course - new players may also get spoiled if this is what they'll compare all other courses too.

Parking is easy, but finding the first tee would be a little easier to find if there was a nice course map by the parking lot. We found the first and last holes by a little trial an error when first arriving to the park.

WORST HOLE/S: #17
Other Thoughts: Harry Myers is championship caliber course - period. It has all the elements a player wants to improve their game and become a better player. My buddy even said hole five felt a little DeLaveaga(ish) with it's tight wooded tees over an elevated tee box.

I think what sets this course apart from other courses is its diversity. On one hole you're playing in the deep forest curving around trees and hoping to stay out of the swampy mess, and later you'll play a Texas hill country hole with good elevation on a wide and rough countryside terrain.

Also, given the fact that there are two equally thought out tee placements, 36 holes is a great option, and I'm sad I didn't have time to test the pro par locations. If you do get in 36 - plan on making a day of it, because the course feels long and will work you.

Given all of this, Harry Myers deserves my first 5 star rating ever because I played Towne Lake DGC, Alex Clark Memorial DGC, B.B. Owen Park, and Porter Park DGC in the same day - and in that great company this course still stands alone.

25 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Over The Hills and Through the Woods...

1    7/17/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2010
24 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will be on your favorite list. You'll know it the minute you pull into the park. It looks like a ball golf course. There were bathrooms and the trashcans were everywhere. So, needless to say it was very clean. The holes have their par settings at a realistic level. The first part of the course is mostly in the woods and the second half opens up to some beautiful fairways. You will be teeing off with some tight tunnel shots, a few left to right, a few right to left, and you might even choose to tomahawk off the tee on one or two holes. This is hands down, one of the most amazing layouts. The trek through the woods had a nice pathway and played tight. There are some elevation changes (not too dramatic), but it sure made some of the holes play long and some shorter than expected. There is a great variation of long and short length holes. So you can air some out and finesse others. All the baskets and signage were in tiptop shape. The even have some signs directing you to the next tee after walking away from the baskets.
Cons: A negative would be the OB on #17. There is an OB area to the right that is marked on the sign, but its physical landmarks are from some baby trees. It is there to protect the amphitheater off to the right on that hole (it is way off to the right). But they really need more trees to make the sign's view of the OB a little easier to follow. I suppose I should also mention that on hole #9 you do have to cross through hole #3's fairway to get to the next tee. However, it did not seem like too big a deal. As always, keep an eye out for for poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: You don't really see regular park-goers except at the very beginning and right near the end. I personally found this to be well worth the 60-mile drive we took to get there. I don't think there is much you can do to improve this place/ I am most certainly going back to play this course again!

24 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 

6/29/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: slacker
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2008
7 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Very well maintained park. Good mix long and short holes, easy to navagate btween holes.
Cons: Hole #3 marked as 883 ft. a little dificult to locate pin as sign shows long bend to the right that is actualy hard right turn.
Other Thoughts: signs are all in place and give you a good representation of hole layout.

7 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

11/9/2007   11/21/2007
Review By: gregbrowning
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautifully sculpted course. Lots of variety and balance between styles (wooded/open/flat/terrain) and length (range from 199' to 834') of holes. There is a great deal of risk/reward coupled with multiple options from the tee, which in my opinion makes a course great.Two legit par 5 holes along with several par 4 holes. This type of course is the future of our sport. Another great piece of work from John Houck.
Cons: The only negative I found was having to cross #3's fairway to get to #9's tee, but since #3 is a par 5, this shouldn't be too much of an issue in tournament or casual play.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.