Rockwall, TX 
Harry Myers DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 283ft.   3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Best course east of the mid cities

5+    8/25/2015   9/12/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Grounds kept immaculate year round
-Designed by the greatest course designer in the world, so the course flow is fantastic
-The best teepads, signage, and baskets possible, along with longer and shorter tees, as well as multiple pin positions
-Beautiful course with various trees, rocks, hills, slopes, water hazards, etc.
-Incredible variation which challenges even the best pro players
-There is a water park, kids park, baseball fields, swimming pool, covered tables, great fishing, jogging trails, and more. Just a lot to do at the park
-There are many tournaments here including minis, regular tourneys, and major A-tier pro tournaments
-There are many top level players out here on a regular basis
-Another awesome course is less than 5 minutes away (the cedars)
-There are plenty of things to do around the area from restaurants, bars, retail stores, hotels, etc.
-This course will require every throw there is and in every situation. There are no "throw-away" or "gimme" holes.
Cons: -There is an area that you have to walk from the pin on hole 8 across the fairway of hole 3 that could present an issue...such as a destroyer lodged in your temple. So be careful
-As any top level course, there is a very real danger of losing discs...and on so many holes too.
-There are a fair amount if snakes out there, both in water and on land.
-While some people may appreciate this more than others...there is often a police presence (as rockwall is known for) frequently at the park. Use this info to your benefit.
-There are a couple of areas where walkways come close to the field of play, so watch out for pedestrians
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in any direction for about 45 minutes. If your are east of Dallas, this is where you want to play. It's a gorgeous course that has phenomenal replayability. Having the cedars course only 5 minutes away makes for a great 1-2 punch for those traveling or looking for some great play on the weekend.

This was my home course for a long time, so be good to it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

My favorite NE Dallas course

5+    8/2/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: Tokeeffe79
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mid and long holes. Clean Park. Wooded and open at different spots and we'll worn. This is a great course and park for friends and family. The first half is mostly wooded and opens up after hole 9. Has long and short Tees. My favorite is hole 17 just a nice long open hole.
Cons: Ran into a Bob cat once. Ha! He let us play through.
Other Thoughts: On those crazy hot days you can finish with a run through the splash pad. Make room kiddos!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    4/9/2015   4/12/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 146  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park that doesn't seem like something you'd stumble on given its location. It has a nice lake in the middle that doesn't really come into play with the disc golf but is visible from the later holes.

There are two tee pads on most holes, all concrete. I played the longer blue tees. The design from these tees was, for the most part, terrific, featuring many multiple-throw holes.

Hole 3 was a huge 900-foot hole, starting with a full downhill throw that needs to land left of a wooded area. The fairway makes a 90-degree turn around the woods, over a couple small humps, and into a lightly wooded tunnel. Great hole.

Holes 4 through about 10 have some nice wooded holes in the gulleys. You could tell they were well worn in with no annoying ticky tack branches. You got what you deserved with your throws.

The course opens up somewhat after that, although only hole 17 is a true open bomber. There was some great variety of length, with a few aceable holes. The elevation here is used well.

Navigation was easy. I've never seen better next-tee signs. They are permanent large wood signs. Tee signs were good.
Cons: No major cons. A few of the later holes were fine but underwhelming.

This was one of the busier courses I played in the area, but I assume there was a tournament coming up because there were a lot of top pros practicing.
Other Thoughts: This was a very challenging course from the long tees, but not in a beat-down kind of way. This is another top-notch public park course in the DFW area, and maybe the best example of it.

As an aside, how am I the first trusted reviewer to reviewer this course in three years? This is absolutely a must visit if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Place to Play

5+    9/17/2014   9/29/2014
Review By: nateoman5
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate and great signage always pointing you in the right direction.

Beautiful scenery and park with people fishing, running, and splash park for kiddos.

Challenging with variety of hole types with both long and short drive opportunities.

2 driving pads on most hole for your choice of more challenging long drives or easier shorter drives.

Lots of shade to protect you from the hot sun.
Cons: Stay away from course after rain because some of the course sits in a valley and will retain water.

If you're like me, at som point you will throw in the woods, watch out for Poison Ivy.
Other Thoughts: By far the best course I have played in DFW.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course/pretty course!

1    8/8/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: toph112
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well kept up
Great scenery
Lots of variations of holes (Short, Long, Open, Obstacles)
Tee boxes with long and short options
Other Thoughts: There are some cool but tough holes for the beginner/amateur player.
This course is a little more "athletic" than some of the other courses in DFW that I have played.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great course

5+    3/23/2014   3/29/2014
Review By: JakeGad
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Good catchers
- Long and short drive pads
- Concrete drive pads
- Excellent variation in shots
- Good use of land / elevation (given it's TX)
Cons: - Some holes are very generous in rating (just knock them down)
- Usually a wait
Other Thoughts: I love this course; good mix on long/short, open/tight, hyzer/annie.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A bit over rated...

1    6/15/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 57  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2014
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The course is located in a very nice city park with many facilities on site. A mix of holes, including very long ones as well as shorter holes. The holes don't favor any type of thrower over any other, and it makes you pull out a lot of shots. The tee signs, as you would expect on a Houck course, are awesome. For the most part a very easy course to follow.
Cons: Mr. Houck and I seem to have a disagreement on Par on the longer holes. This course has many par 4's and par 5's, and most of those seem overly generous on the par. Hole 1 has no business being a Par 4. In fact, we had someone in our group with birdies or eagles on all of the par 4 or 5 holes, the entire group being first time players at Harry Myers. I'm not sure if the pars are inflated to help people feel better about their score, or to increase the 'Epicness' of the course.


After discussing it with others, I think the par issue is due to both set of tees having the same par. It's a reasonable par for the longs, but the shorts are just absurd with those. It's the same issue you see at other Houck courses, such as McCord.
Other Thoughts: I'm not very big on holes that are extremely long just for the sake of being long. I'm not really entertained by having to hit 3 consecutive 350' drives. And I really thing the inflated par 4 and 5 holes have to knock the rating down a bit.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Could Play Every Week

1    3/23/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: Prafeston
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Walked up to #1 Blue tee and could tell right away I was going to like it. A group of trees obstructs your lines and makes your first throw one you've already got to put some thought into.

The course had a nice mix of tight wooded shots and more open shots. There was also a good use of the land. Couple of the wholes had several elevation changes an turns.

Almost every hole had short and long tees that looked like they provided completely different views of the course. (Except for a few of the really short holes that just used the same tee.) The tees were also very well marked. Signs pointing to them and good hole signage posted at each tee.

Nice big park so the holes weren't bumping into each other a whole lot. Parking lot is setup nice to start on #1 and finish on #18.
Cons: Not a whole lot of negatives to say about this course.

I went on a day that has overcast and a little sprinkling of rain, but I could see how on a nice summer/spring day the park could be crowded and non-DGers might get in the way.

Don't remember the number, but one of the tees you had to walk across the fairway of another hole to get to from the basket of the hole you just finished.

Would have been nice to see the lake come into play a few times.
Other Thoughts: Seems like a really well laid out course at a scenic park. I wouldn't mind this being my home course and playing it every week!

Some really cool holes on the front nine. Loved #6 with the basket tucked behind a tree.

Overall a great course with a nice mix of short, long, open, and wooded holes. Saw some mentioning the back nine being boring, but I liked how it opened up so you could really chuck some drivers. And they weren't so open it was just lame. There were still trees in the field that you had to avoid as well as some more elevation changes.

I was visiting from MO and it reminded me a lot of my home course. I will definitely try to come back here next time I'm visiting my family in the Dallas area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very Challenging

1    11/17/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
- Great tee boxes and signage
- Multiple tees for most holes
- Good mix of challenging lines to hit
- Nice variety of tight tunnel shots, elevation changes, dog legs, trees, and distance
- Having a strong forehand and backhand is definitely an advantage on this course (makes me realize I need to practice my forehand more)
- Picturesque scenery and well maintained park with other facilities and recreation options
- Some minor flow issues... had to cross through the fairway of other holes at times, such as between holes 6 and 7, and holes 8 and 9
- Water hazards could have come into play more, which can create higher risk/reward situations
- A lot of random park pedestrians getting in the way on a few holes
Other Thoughts:
- Note to tournament players: Just because you're in a tournament and pushing a baby stroller full of redundant discs doesn't mean you should completely ignore standard disc golf etiquette. If the group behind you is playing at twice your pace, volunteer to let them play through. Don't act stuck up like you're better than everyone else, because you're playing on a public course and your sport isn't wealthy enough to afford to reserve it for themselves. Disc golf has a generally good reputation with etiquette, but some of these tournaments can really bring out the douches.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great front nine, mediocre back 9

1    4/12/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park with rolling hills. Elevation comes into play on many holes, adding some fun downhill shots and a few tricky greens with rollaway potential. The fromt 9 plays pretty technical, with some tighter lines to hit and some thick rough in spots that punishes errant shots. The back 9 opens up and offers more distance and some fun chances to air it out.

The dual tees offer some different lines and decent distance differences. They make the course a little more accessible to different levels of players. Both sets of tees are large concrete pads with good grip and plenty of room. The baskets are in good shape, and the signage is good with distance and hole layout.
Cons: There are some long walks between holes, and one takes you directly across another fairway. There are a few holes that are pretty close to one another. The back 9 has a walking path that could potentially come into play, and some of the fairways seem to get some walking traffic from picnicking families.

The back 9 is a bit of a letdown after the fun variety of the front. It plays a little too open and repetitive, and doesn't use the water available to add some risk/reward opportunity.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and worth a stop if you're in the area. I almost bumped this one down to a 3.5 because of the end of the course, but there's still enough variety and fun throughout the beginning and middle of the course to make it deserving of the 4.

Beginners will find the wooded holes a little punitive with thick rough, but reasonable lengths. The open holes can be long, but overall the short tees are within reason for newer players. More experienced throwers will find some nice challenges from the long tees.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.