Rockwall, TX 
Harry Myers DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 273ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Blue Tee Sign

Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Dirty Harry

1    4/12/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 134  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with nice concrete tees, 11 holes had dual tees. Good use of available elevation and provides a variety of shot requirements. Fairways were well groomed and defined and course is well maintained. Some good risk vs reward choices. Some of the best course signage I've ever seen made for some easy navigation. Nice bathrooms and water fountains by the parking lot.
Cons: Poison ivy and some thick rough makes disc loss a decent possibility. Non disc golfers in the park can get in the way and the park is fairly busy.
Other Thoughts: This course has some great scenic quality while also having some bite to playing. The holes can range from fairly short to really long so there is a good mix of pars and all the holes are fairly technical. I felt this course lacked in the fun factor department where a lot of the shots are basically forced so you can't really get creative with your shots.

I imagine this is probably the best tournament course in the DWF area. I'd highly recommend anyone in the area to play this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/9/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: BigN8r
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is my home course so I admit I'm biased. The first nine through the woods will test your aim. The back nine you can grip and rip. Very well maintained and clean. Great place to have a picnic before you start or after as your start and end by the pavilion and sprinkler park.
Cons: Can get muddy if has been wet on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: Love it.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Go big or go bogey.

2-4    4/16/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: HUGE HUGE course
Very well maintained
Holes have long and short tees
Trash cans on nearly ever hole
Water fountains
Great course for left and right handed players
Cons: None that I can think off
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course! It is off the main road so its nice and peaceful, they take very very good care of it, all the holes on the course have a good amount of challenge and it doesn't favor right or left handed players more than the other. The first 9 holes are more wooded where you have to follow lines and the back 9 open up for big arm throwers.
Over all if you love disc golf play this course! I would not recommend it to new players because it could be too much for them though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another classic Houck course

2-4    1/7/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 225  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2012
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great dual concrete tees on most holes
-lots of epic, signature holes
-quality Houck signs, abundant directional signs
-lots of elevation, rolling hills
-great basket placements, lots of danger near the greens
-great mix of long, multi-shot holes and shorter, tight, technical holes
-legit par 4's and 5's, mostly longer holes but a few ace runs as well
-plenty of parking, lots of trash cans, water fountains, restrooms
-multi-use park with sport fields, etc.
Cons: -a few places where fairways are pretty close together
-walk from basket 8 to tee 9 crosses fairway 3
-several tricky navigational spots but ample signs directing you to the correct basket, next tee, etc.

and if we're nitpicking:
-this place would be incredible with a little bit more water. it is disappointing that the lake between 17 & 18 wasn't utilized.
-hole 18 is a bit lackluster for the final hole on such an epic course. it would be nice if 17 were the last hole or if 18 had a long tee where you shot across the lake.
Other Thoughts: This amazing Championship-caliber course is another testament to the brilliant designs of John Houck. It has all the signature Houck elements: epic multi-throw holes, narrow wooded lanes with a tree right where you would like to throw, great use of the available land and elevation, dual tees that add very challenging looks from the tips that also change the tee shot, legit par 4's and 5's, awesome Houck signs with distance and detailed maps. It is hard to ask for more out of a course.

The course is very challenging, especially from the long tees, but the fairways are fair, as are the pars. There is great variety in fairway shapes and shots required. The course is basically laid out in two areas. The front 9 has very distinctive feel with lots of elevation and lots of wooded obstacles. Hole 2 has a fun downhill drive to a well guarded basket and hole 3 is an amazing par 5. The back 9 is a bit more open and plays mostly through a lightly wooded meadow with rolling hills. You'll need to hit your dueces on the shorter 4-8 and 12-15 because many of the remaining holes require some serious distance.

Some have said that the back 9 doesn't live up to the front 9 but I like the variety of terrain and the different feel that each area has. There are little things here and there you could complain about but the overall experience here is tremendous. This is definitely one of the top courses in the Metroplex and I would recommend it to anyone, locals or visitors, as a must-play course.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


1    1/2/2012   1/4/2012
Review By: pfluegel
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very rewarding course, well signed with a variety of different shots, a few ace potential shots and some spots for a big arm. Elevation changes, water hazards, this course has it all!
Cons: Only one restroom for the whole course, right by hole one, that being said, plenty of bushes...
Other Thoughts: My favorite course

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/28/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: JJustinB
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained park. Its very clean and the fairways almost make you feel like you're on a regular golf course. Good tee pads and signs, which make it easy to get around. Good mix of long and short holes, and there is also a good mix of wooded and open holes. There is a great group of locals that will help you out if you ask. If you have a monster arm, there is also a set of back tees which you can play.
Cons: Because this is more than a disc golf course, there are sometimes other people on the course. I've actually had to tell a family that they shouldn't have their lunch under a tree on hole 8. The course is missing water holes, except for when the holes in the river bottom flood (especially on hole 6).
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course, and because its only minutes from my house, I play it a lot. This course will help you develop your arm if you're a short knocker.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid TX Course

1    7/17/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: The otto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
Pros: This course is by far the best overall course I have played in TX. First, the course was overall in very good shape. Save for a few of the early wooded holes which had some trash, the course was clean and well maintained. The signage was superb, both in directing players to the next and and in describing each hole. Good mix of distances for the holes, and good shot variety. I played from the long tees, and often the tee was vastly different from the short, and the signage was neccesary. In addition, adequate elevation change and great use of the elevation change on the course. Favorite hole was 1, touchy hyzer with fast green
Cons: The only thing missing from this course is no fault of the course, and thats simply more elevation change. I think the course rewards most good shots. There are a few holes which could have better lines, holes 2 and 11 come to mind.


2-4    12/16/2012   7/8/2011
Review By: JezCat
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2013
Pros: This is my favorite course to play because of the variety of shots it gives you. Some long holes and some shorter ones, both right and left doglegs, tight section of wooded holes that will test your accuracy and control, a few elevation changes and not much risk of losing a disc. My favorite is the signature hole #3. Easy to follow and clean. Advanced and beginner tees.
Cons: Windy on most days except on the wooded holes of course. Some poison ivy in those woods so bring sanitizer or wipes. Could use a water hazard or two for extra variety but I hate losing discs so I'm fine with it.
Other Thoughts: I've had my worst outing and one of my best on this course on consecutive trips. This course is a must play. Hope you enjoy this course as much as I do.

 Woods and Drives

5+    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: wtrace
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, some long drives, some shorter finesse shots. A great challenge for all types of players. Never really very crowded and it can be done pretty quickly as long as you don't spend too much time looking for discs.
Cons: Lots of brush and thicket on about half the holes, so sometimes there will be a minor throw error which will cause distress looking for the disc in the thicker parts.
Other Thoughts: The people are generally friendly and as long as you pay attention you wont lose a disc. Sometimes ti gets a little windy, but I would say driving anything up to 45 minutes to an hour is definitely worth going to this course. I go about once or twice a week.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Tremendous Course

5+    4/20/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: captmarshie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course so I'm extremely lucky. I've played it since it was installed so I feel I know pretty well what the pros and cons are. Excellent use of features of the land. Some water shots, plenty of wooded shots, distance, elevation changes. It's also easy to navigate with great sign-age. Wood steps installed and a bridge over the water so getting around is pretty easy. Very well maintained year round.
Cons: Moving from 8 to 9, you cross over 3's fairway. In the spring and summer, the foilage gets very thick and can make losing a disc very easy. Often times, people are just walking around the fairways not paying attention which can get very annoying. It can get pretty congested and tends to bottleneck around 3 but flows pretty well after that.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a great course. It's challenging to say the least, but it has something for all skill levels so beginners shouldn't be scared away. Definitely worth the drive to Rockwall. Out of all the courses I've played, this one is easily the best in my opinion. Give it a shot, you won't regret it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.