Disc Golf Store
Rockwall, TX 
Harry Myers DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1 (Taken 3/2013)
4 / 342ft.   4 / 468ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Blue Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful Course!

1    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice concrete tee pads
-Nice baskets
-Great signage with all hole info
-Great signs to direct you to the next tee
-Awesome elevation changes
-Great course design, most of the pins are
nicely tucked
-Beautiful scenery
-Lefty friendly
-Nice mix of short and long shots
-Very long and challenging
-Very well taken cared of
-Great parking
Cons: I don't have to many to name
-No practice basket
-Can get very muddy after a good rain
-Can get really crowded on the weekends

Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this course. The course is a challenge from the beginning to the end and had a good variety of shots. The course had good basket locations and beautiful scenery through the whole course. This is another must play if you are in the area.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

5+    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: jackson
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained park with a family atmosphere. The holes are varied which keeps your attention. There are plenty of elevation changes and enough tree hazards to keep you coming back for more. It takes about an hour and a half for two golfers to complete the course.
Cons: My only complaint is that you don't have to throw over water and some punks have damaged some of the signs.
Other Thoughts: You can get free score cards for this course at "The Center" at Washington/205.

A tip for hole 5: Don't throw first. Let your buddie throw his driver and hit a tree. You can then walk up and toss your putter or midrange and land right in the middle of the fairway on your way to a par.

A tip for hole 11: The tree/shrub line along the left of the fairway is a disc eater. Stay right. Or if you are a real man, throw a cammo disc.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  The Course I Compare all others to

5+    8/19/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: zapbryann
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Alright, I feel spoiled as this is my home course. When it was first built is when I decided to try out disc golf. It was frustrating to say the least my first couple times out because of the difficulty level of the course, but after playing it enough it has to be my favorite course. Has as many Par 4s and 5s as any other course ive played on. Holes 1,2, and 3 let you bomb it, with an easy birdie hole for 1 if you get your drive down the fairway(and not rolled down the left side to the old creekbed) Hole 3 is one of the longest holes ive ever played, and still struggle to shoot a 5 on it all the time. Holes 4, 8, 14, and 15 are my favorite par 3s to play, great for a curved backhand shot. It took the maintenance a couple months to start mowing the course but its been pretty well kept ever since. The best thing about the course is that its built on a huge plot of land, so the holes dont interweave too much.
Cons: Mosquitos, Posion Ivy. Holes 5,6,7 are the worst, so be sure to bring your OFF. Can get busy later once everyones off work, so go early in the day.
Other Thoughts: I only give it a 5, because this is what I compare all other courses to.

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    6/27/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: Carter
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Harry Myers is one of the only courses i've played that has par 5's, 4's and short birdie holes, and it's well designed with plenty of shot variety. I love the idea of playing a disc course like a ball course, setting up shots on the par 5's and 4's. It requires you to lay up and play smart shots requiring a degree of thought and strategy that is not necessary playing short birdie or die par 3 courses. The maintenance is spot on and navigation is non-issue. This course is an absolute "must play" if you are traveling to the metroplex to play!!
Cons: Almost none, other than some hood rats graffiti'd most of the tee signs. It just burns me up to see that kind of disrespect. Also, a fair amount of trash is left out there, not as bad as some other metroplex courses, but disappointing nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: Playing this course has humbled me quite a bit. Hats of to the designers and the great parks department employees who keep the course maintained so well.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/27/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Chunks
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Great course in a great park with wonderful amenities.
*If I was just ranking the front 9 this course would get a 5. There is a great mix of long open holes with well defined fairways and tight technical holes mixed in with some change in elevation (as least as much as you could expect in Dallas).
*Course is very fair...make a good shot and you have a chance to score well. Poor shot selection and poor execution are punished.
*I love that this course has a mix of legit par 3's 4's and 5's.
*Long and not as long tees on most holes with nice concrete tee pads.
*18 DiscCatchers...
*Almost impossible to get lost...there are signs to every tee from pin and even signs that point you towards green on a few holes that are hard to find.
*Hole 3- might be one of my favorite all-time holes. A great drive followed by another phenomenal drive and you might just have an outside chance for a 3. Take a 4 and you are still feeling like you just birdied.
Cons: *Not much shade on the back 9, can make for a HOT round.
*OB lines on 17 are not always painted clearly.
*During the fall there are several other events that take over the park (Cross Country races etc...)
Other Thoughts: This course is as good as DFW has to offer. It will wear you out physically and mentally!

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch - Man Course

5+    6/20/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.6 Years
86 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: OK, let me start off by saying this course is only available for playing by the manliest of men (or women). My friend, if it was possible for a course to sprout chest hair and a five o'clock shadow, this place would look like Tom Selleck. It is just that manly.

It was never intended to drive to the mall so you can pick up that adorable shirt at Abercrombie & Fitch and play 18 holes in under one hour.

It wasn't meant to transport you to yoga class or Linens & Things while you pitch and putt. No, that's what your other courses are for. If that's the kind of place you're looking for, then just do us all a favor and stop reading right now. I mean it. Just stop.

This course was engineered by 3rd degree ninja super-warriors in the highest mountains of Japan to serve the needs of the man that cheats death on a daily basis. They didn't even consider superfluous nancy boy amenities like water (real men don't get thirsty).

There's only 18 holes that separate you on this hellcat from Planet Kicktale. Trust me, when you break par on this course your wife and the offspring that carry your name will talk about it for centuries. It will live on as a monument to your machismo.

Now, go look in the mirror and tell me what you see. If it's a rugged, no regrets, super brute he-man macho Chuck Norris stunt double, then go after this course.
Cons: Well, when I find one I will let you know.

Tell me something is wrong with this course and that's liable to earn you a Burmese-roundhouse-sphincter-kick with a follow up three fingered eye-jab. Would it hurt? Heck yeah. Let's just say you won't be the prettiest guy at the weekly MINI anymore.
Other Thoughts: Play the long tees for a real man course and count everything as a par 3.

86 of 110 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Course

2-4    4/19/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
26 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Excellent top notch course by the master of design John Houck. Large concrete tee pads on both long and short tees. Double chain Discatcher Pro baskets. The best tee signs in the business (with OB markings), as well as secondary signs pointing to the next tee where necessary. Multiple restroom facilities. Tons of other things to do in the park to keep everyone in the family entertained.

This course is long and challenging. Multiple par 4 and 5 holes that really mean it. Nice elevation changes on many holes. The first three holes set the tone for the round with #1 teeing off through some tough close trees and a basket sitting on the shoreline of a small pond. #2 is a long downhill drive which more than likely leaves you with a long uphill approach. And #3 is the sickest hole I've ever played: 800+' with two signs directing you how to get to the basket along the way. Carding a '3' on that hole is next to impossible for mere mortals, and a '4' takes three perfect shots to get there. Most of the short holes are pretty tight with the exception of #8, but if you go long there beware the drop-off. #16 is a beautiful hole: 573' uphill through multiple tree lines with the yellow basket gleaming in the distance. #17 is a great penultimate hole playing 800+' around OB trees really letting you crush two or three throws.
Cons:
Poison ivy abounds in the off-fairway rough. The route from basket #8 to tee #9 requires you to cross the fairway of #3 so be on the lookout. Most of the off-fairway rough is severely punishing affording little chance of making a saving shot. Hole #8 is has "Mando" scribbled on the tee sign; I asked Mr. Houck about that and he said there's no official mando, but it was intended to be an anhyzer shot and the parks department was supposed to plant some more trees blocking the hyzer shot and protecting the sidewalk, but that never happened. It'd be nice if several of the tee signs, specifically #3, had some intermediate distances on them. When the power lines are buzzing it detracts from the aesthetics of the course. The OB trees on #17 need better markings. One legit knock on the course might be that there aren't enough anyhzer shots to make it more balanced.
Other Thoughts:
You won't usually get any pedestrian interference while playing as the course stays away from the other park amenities for the most part. But there is a trail through the latter half of the holes so be aware of that. This course is a blast to play and frustrating at the same time because of the difficulty. Hole #9 owns me as I've carded a '7' both rounds so far. Playing this course close to par is an accomplishment. I'd love this course to be close to where I lived.

26 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course with par 4s

2-4    4/26/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.5 Years
20 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The best thing about this course is the challenge level. There are several holes that are true par 4s and at least a couple that are par 5s from the long tees. Hole 3 is a gorgeous hole. You shoot long down a hill about 300 feet (more like 350-400 from the long tee) and then you dogleg right around some tall trees and little valley to the right. If you lay up there, you are then shooting through a tight window over another small valley about another 400 feet into a tight window into where the basket is located back down a small hill into a wooded area. I really dig this hole. There are several holes that are really memorable standout holes. Hole 1, especially from the long, 2, 3, and 9 are all exceptional holes that I really enjoy playing. The course is located in a very well kept park with lots of fun things to do. Plenty of room to warm up before a round. There are shorts and long tees to choose from, although several holes have just the one tee box. There are high quality concrete tees with plenty of room for a run up. Quality signs that give par, distance, and denote obs and mandos. There are signs posted to help you navigate your way to the next hole as well. There is water on the course, but doesn't really come into play unless you have a very bad shot. Obs and mandos are fair. Tournament quality course. Baskets are quality and often are set in a way that you have risk/reward factors to consider in running for your putt. There are at least two buildings with restrooms that are clean and maintained. Gazebos on location for shade and grabbing a bite to eat. There are two parking lots to choose from that are near hole one. The one that is further from the ball fields are acutally closer to the tee box for 1. Very fun course to play!
Cons: The back 9 is somewhat blah compared to the front 9. It is still a lot of fun and has some long holes that you can unload on, but not as good as the front 9 in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for snakes by the basket for hole 5 and the tee box for 6, I nearly jumped on a water moccasin the first time that I played this course. Also, watch out for thorn bushes, they are vicious. I got cut up quite a bit trying to play a lie that was in a thorn bush in a tournament. Other reviewers have mentioned the tree line that is marking ob on hole 17. When I played the hole, the trees were spray painted orange, so locating the ob line was no problem at all. Once you know where the line is, it is no problem seeing it. You may want to ask a local about it or just disregard it all together if you don't care about playing the ob line. This is a very tough course, especially from the longs, and especially when it is windy.

20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Great Sunday

5+    4/11/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Unlearn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great terrain and layout, from the beginning to the end. A lot of varied obstacles and elevation changes. I have read on here that it is not a beginner course but this is my home course and being a beginner, I love it. It has spoiled me for anything less. We play it weekly and with a fairly large group and it plays very casually and challenging. All holes are well labeled, great tees and the grounds are maintained well.
Cons: Hole 1 is a little hard to find. But not many cons.
Other Thoughts: It is well worth the drive, there is great playground and spray park for the kids. It is a good place for the fam even if they don't play. It is a great walking course and is a lot of fun.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Tough Course

1    3/23/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love the evelation changes on this course. This course has short, long, tight, open, and water holes. The signage of the course was spot on including where the next tee was. I was able you use every disc in my bag. Also used every shot, back hand, forehand, thumber, tomahawk, and a roller. The park was every clean and well maintained.
Cons: Crossing fairways were a problem. One of my party was headed to the next tee and almost got hit from someone teeing off from the 3rd hole. If you get caught in some of the brush off the fairways. There is absolutly no way to get out, it is thick. You might as well take the drop walk out of the brush and try again. We couldn't find the first hole.
Other Thoughts: I need to go back and play this course again. I was all gung ho for the first 7 holes then I was just really frustraited. It is definitely not a beginner course.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.